218683 User submitted reviews online!!
Oceanview RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (907) 235-3951
CGID5319

Oceanview RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   5   9   8   10   10   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$44
This was a nice park and all the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. It is big rig accessible but tight for rigs 40 ft and over. Wi-fi seemed to work fine when we used it. Usually very late at night and I suspect we were one of few on it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
This park lives up to its name. There is a beautiful view of Kachemak Bay, but not from every site. The sites are tight and the slope is not that steep so from the middle of the park, one RV probably sees only its neighbor. We had Site B6 - on the edge of the bluff with a perfect view. The park advertises 'pull-thru' but only if a rig is not already parked in the site in back. In the 4 days we were in Homer, I saw only 1 big rig be able to pull through to its assigned site. All others backed in. The WiFi was clear and consistently strong (no RV park is very fast). The bathrooms and showers were spotless. The laundry was clean and neat, but expensive ($3) The office people were always helpful and friendly. It is possible to walk directly to the beach from the RV park. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
I have to disagree with the glowing reviews of this park. Everyone that works here is grumpy and does not care. They have guaranteed business. Roads are narrow and steep tough to back in a big rig. The ocean view is not from your inside your rig but rather the roads as the park is laid out for maximum revenue and not to provide views. The cable TV is scrambled digital, this means you need a converter box (they required a $172 security deposit). It also means that if you have 2 TVs you need 2 boxes (and they don't have many boxes). Advertised Internet is spotty and frustrating to try and get something done as it stops working regularly (probably too little bandwidth and too much traffic). The site trash service is actually ugly trash cans at each site, gives the place a "trashy" look. Only 4 washers/dryers for a large park. Some sites have shared water, which means you need a long hose to get to the next site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Originally we wanted to stay on the Homer Spit - we thought that was the way to go. Instead we stayed here and we are glad we did. This park does not have the traffic and noise as do the parks on the spit. This park is close to Old Town Homer and within walking distance to the visitors center, islands & ocean center and more. The gift shop is very nice and the staff is friendly. The view is beautiful. We stayed for 8 days in site #60. We were stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
The view is great and the park was quiet enough for the week we stayed here. The sites are not real close together but close enough that your neighbors and their dogs can irritate you if they stay outside and talk for half the night. The not so great part is the size of the roads, as we had to shimmy our little 33 foot Winnebago into our back-in spot. We watched some people give up trying to back their 35 foot 5th wheels into a tight spot with very little turning space to do so. Some just gave up. And there were pull-thrus available, but apparently not given out for some reason. The pull-thru are really just back to back sites in the center of the park so if one side of all the pull-thrus (about 20) is full then there are really no pull-thru sites available. The park has a leash law as does the town of Homer but as we all know, dog owners think these leash laws apply to everyone but them. So I had to tell a few people to leash their dogs while here, as I know the park owners can’t police the park 24/7. The Wi-Fi is ok depending on how many people are on it. I would stay here again if in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Our review might be a little prejudiced as we were assigned a nice wide and long pull through site separate from the main park. The afternoon check-in person was friendly and helpful. The woman working in the evening was surly and rude. Laundry was woefully inadequate for this size of a park, 4 washers and 4 dryers. Other than that, a very nice place with a beautiful view of the inlet. Would definitely stay here again, providing I had a space in the same part of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
We enjoyed our stay here. The park is gravel and took some leveling of our 5th wheel, but the view was worth it. We were close enough to the water of the bay to watch the tide come in and out. They have a gift shop and close to the harbor and the spit. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Park needs some tender loving care. Sites are tight in every direction and not level. Utilities worked well and are placed properly. Park is good for easy access to all that Homer offers. We camped here in a 40' motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
Nice views of bay. The rate is for 7 nights (50amps/FHU) with a Good SAMs discount. The sites were very tight and short. Since the campground layout is on uphill slope we didn't feel that cramped. Many dogs running free. A trash can and post at the entrance of every site made it difficult to park RV at times. Staff is very friendly. Office has a very nice gift store with decent prices. Park is away from all the hustle and bustle of the spit crowd. You can walk down to the adjoining beach, but the path needs work to be safe. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
This RV park is similar to all the parks I saw in Homer, simply a parking lot with utilities. But it did not seem as dense, and the terraced slots helps to minimize that aspect. We were fortunate and ended up up towards the bottom with just a fabulous view of the bay. So much better than the wind and bedlam on the spit. Ferry works out well, however it is $10 per day per person, so can be a little expensive. Location is great for walking town, shopping, museums and down to beach! Staff was terrific and the place was really very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
This campground was a refreshing change from the "parking lots" we had been in. Grass at almost every site, incredibly gorgeous views, and staff that were friendly, helpful and so very nice. We stayed a week and then extended for a few more days because we liked it so much. They helped us to arrange a fishing trip and a visit to Katmai. They even helped us to find the best value by making calls for us!!! We will stop here ANY time were are near and may come back specifically to stay here. We just loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
I would highly recommend this park. For one thing the view is spectacular, we were in a site 4 from the water. The Wi-Fi is fantastic compared to what we had at Homer Spit, you get right on to the web with no problem. Laundry is great. Didn't use the restroom or showers, so no comment about that. The staff is very nice. We had a not-so-good experience with the Trolley, the man that was called to fill in wasn't what we expected, so they gave us a free ride with the man that was their normal driver. Also, they had a 4th of July celebration at the park, (rain or shine). It was a pot luck, so everyone brought a side dish and they provided deep fried halibut, hamburgers, and hot dogs will all of the fixings. Also they had a raffle (no cost) and many of us received gifts. Very much a family setting, even in the rain. I would recommend this place to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
Nice view away from traffic, much closer to museum, grocery store and walking paths. Staff is friendly and helpful, even with a caravan here for part of our stay. There was plenty of room and we had no problem backing in to our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
Some sites are not level, therefore difficult to level your unit depending on size. The manager allowed us to change sites as the original site was not adequate for a 40 ft motorhome. Some difficulty in getting into some sites with larger units. Staff was helpful. Inadequate cable system, Wi-Fi works OK. Would probably stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
Rate is based on weekly rate, pay for 6 nights and the 7th is free. Difficult to see park from the road, and we drove past then had to turn around and drive back. Sites are on a steep hill and while they are level, access to each site is limited by the road being quite narrow and vehicles extending onto it. Full hookup sites are either back-in or back to back. They do try to use the back to back sites as big rig pull through's. Showers and restrooms were clean considering the number of people staying at the park. We will opt for the Homer Spit experience the next time we are Homer, as this park is a long way away from the spit, though it doesn't have the wind the Spit does. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
This campground is one of the poorest that we stayed at during our Alaskan trip. The sites are extremely narrow, short, and grossly misrepresented. We had made reservations for three nights. There were no refunds available, as we were going to move. There were large motorhomes on either side of us, both with slideouts, when the slideouts were extended, we barely had room to open our entrance door. If we would have had a slideout, it would not have been possible to use it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
There is a nice view, all things worked, most site are used as back-ins. We had no problem leveling at our site If you requested a pull-through they appear to give you the back to back back-ins what the rate is for these is unclear. The back-ins are somewhat tight for big units 40' plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
A good location with views from all sites. If you want 50amps the rate is 50/night. Though cable is advertised it is necessary to get a converter box from the office and connect it to the rear of your TV. The only significant drawback to the park is that the interior road is not paved and the dust generated by those inconsiderate #$&^@ is bothersome. Given the constant wind buffeting encountered at the spit, this park will continue to be my choice when in Homer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
$45 is posted rate, we were part of a caravan. Other recent reviews hit it pretty much on the head. Great views, but a tight park. Took a little work to level. We got our Wi-Fi through a free network, something like SPITwSPOTS. Spit as in the Homer Spit, worked pretty good but will kick you off after an hour. It is provided by Homer. There are also lots of HOMER networks that we could get, but they all charged. Laundry here is 4 washers / 4 dryers. If you are on your own and self contained, go right down on the Spit and see if you can get into the muni campground there. $10 no hookups. There was also a small CG with electric only for $20. The Spit is where all the action is and there are lots of places down there. Watch out for the one high end park that was $80 a night and almost empty while we were here. 11 in our group did the half day halibut fishing and all had there 2 fish limit before 10:00 am. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
This is a very nice and well-maintained park. It overlooks the Kachemak Bay and Kenai mountain range. The staff is friendly and helpful. The sites are sloped and we had to put blocks under the jacks on one side of the RV to level it, which made the entry step high. There wasn't a lot of room to park the car next to the RV. We would stay here again, the view was worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
Nice RV park with a good view. We enjoyed Homer and the beautiful scenery there. The rv park was handy and had full hook up sites which we liked. It was a bit expensive though. Great people, and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
A clean and well-run park with terrific views. Sites are right on top of each other so big MHs may need some extra maneuvering to get in and out. Our lot was not very level (required digging a divot for one side while raising the other). Our sewage hookup was uphill of our site by a few inches, which meant some extra mechanics to drain our tanks. The view was among the best we had for all of the RV parks we visited in Alaska (6 altogether). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$49
As far as views go, this is a great spot to camp. We were only one site away from a true Ocean View, but the view from the bluff was great. It is a short bike ride or drive to the spit and downtown Homer. Why not a higher rating? I had to hike up the big hill to the washroom to get the Wi-Fi to work. And the cost is a little too high. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
Sites overlook the bay and if you walk to the shore you can see "The Spit". You will see many eagles go by. It was quiet with acceptable room. The wifi worked well in the laundry room for free or you could pay and use the town system at your site. You can stay here for about half the cost of out on the spit and only be about 5 minutes away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Prior to taking our trip to Alaska to celebrate my son's 10th wedding anniversary with his family I did my due diligence on-line to secure the best sites for our trip. I made my reservation and confirmed a beach view site on March 9th, 2007. I called several times prior to our arrival to make sure that the reservation was set and we would have the site we wanted. When we arrived on July 17th, 2007 after travelling 4,500 miles from Michigan we were informed that the site we reserved in March, 2007 had been double booked. The young girl behind the counter was very apologetic, but that did not make up for the fact that we were given a take it or leave it offer to move to another site after multiple calls to confirm the reservation. The owner showed up later and when confronted with our disappointment, she did nothing to make things right. In fact, she accused me of being a liar and said that we had reserved the site after the current occupants. Too bad she had not been there earlier when the young woman behind the counter told us that we had just recently been bumped for the current occupants. The owner did not offer any discount for her mistake and we were extremely disappointed. The sites are very narrow and we did not have much room to use in the site we were given. We only stayed one night and moved to Heritage RV park on the spit the next day. Heritage is more expensive, but at least the folks that work there are honest. If you don't mind being bumped or fighting for a site that has been double booked then this is the place to go. Otherwise, there are many other options in Homer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Probably the nicest campground in Homer. Sites are level, terraced into a hill leading down toward the bay with excellent views of the bay and “the Spit” and a trail down to the beach. Free Wi-Fi on their patio. Some folks might prefer camping on “the Spit”, but it was too crowded, too windy and too dusty for our liking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Great views from some sites. The free WiFi didn't reach most of the park. Excellent cable TV. We looked at all the other parks in town, and this was the best. Walk to the beach (though not on the Spit). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Nice park mostly on a slope so each site is at a different level. Good view of the mountains across the bay. Road & sites are gravel. Most are back in sites, with garbage cans at each one. There is a nice deck for group or family gatherings - with a view. Safeway is just up the street; Homer spit is driving distance. Supposedly wi-fi but ours didn't hook up; we didn't check with the office to see if a special code was necessary (cause we have our own.) We'd come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Beautiful view. The terracing of the sites down the hill makes each site VERY narrow. This is not a place to sit outside your RV and enjoy the view - no room. We had a site at the bottom of the hill, so we got a good view and could sit outside, but the hike up the hill was tough. The laundromat ate my money and the office wasn't opened until around 10 a.m. (in late May). Someone came by looking for the owner while I was waiting, and he said she operates on "Homer Time". We didn't want to stay the second night we'd planned and moved to the Heritage RV Park on the Spit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com