206876 User submitted reviews online!!
Devils Lake State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (608) 356-8301
CGID5321

Devils Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
535
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   10   8   9   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$23
This is a beautiful park with unbelievable views. There are many beautiful hiking trails that take you to high bluffs that provide a spectacular view of the park. The lake is beautiful. Unfortunately, it was too cold to get in it. There are 2 swim beaches and boat, kayak, paddle boat, and canoe rentals. There are 3 convenience stores in the park that stock most things you may have forgotten or run out of. Wi-Fi is available in the north and south end. Convenience store/coffee house areas with plenty of seating available. We were not able to get any TV channels at our campsite, but we don't usually watch TV anyway. We stayed in the Quartzite campground, but also went through a few of the other campgrounds and each is full of big, beautiful sites. There were 3 clean shower houses just in our campground alone, which only has about 70 sites. Leveling was a bit of an issue. This is a huge, beautiful park with so much to offer and we will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
I believe this is the oldest State Park in the USA but don't quote me on that. The staff is informative and friendly and we had a terrific back in site near the lavatories. Fire pit was great and firewood available at the gate (fee). We would definitely stay again. Lots of old growth trees, a beautiful lake, excellent roads and access off the highway and we really felt like we were camping in the woods. A true state park experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
We were able to get a walk-in site in the Quartzite loop for Labor Day weekend. Prior reviewer was right, lots of sites (including ours) were un-level and required some effort. But, the sites were large overall. Also, the trails and lake were very enjoyable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
We camp here annually, usually on a non-electric site. Each site in the Ice Age loop is separated by trees and bushes so it offers a little more privacy. It's a beautiful and well maintained state park. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
The sites were big but they were so unlevel that we had a very difficult time setting up our 5th wheel. When we finally did, it looked like IT was tilted but its just that the ground was so sloped (both front to back and side to side). I am not sure how a motorhome would be able to compensate enough. We were in Quartzite, since the other campgrounds were closed. Our neighbors kept letting their dogs off their leash (as did several others) even after I asked them not to because I have a cat out on the leash. Most of the time we had no cell signal (AT&T) but we did get 2 channels on the TV. The dump station had very low hanging branches, causing us to scratch the top of our trailer. If you don't have a National Park Pass or Wisconsin State pass, you'll have to get one to camp here, adding to the cost. Next time I'd probably stay somewhere else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
The distance between sites was huge! There are 3 different campgrounds, so it would be a good idea to check them all out before deciding on a site. There is no water hookup, so you must fill your fresh water tank before you set up at your site. There is no Wi-Fi available at the campsite. There is one at the campground store. Since this State Park is part of the Ice Age National Trail, the Federal Golden Access card can be used here. It got me reduced rates. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We've been here a number of times, one of our favorites state parks. Many sites from heavily shaded to full sun. Bathrooms and showers are generally well kept but they do fall behind a bit during the morning rush. You do want to go off-peak times if you want a hot water shower. Lots of activities available from hiking, rock climbing, fishing, and swimming. Nature Center is small but interesting. Basement floor has a historical exhibit that gives a good overview but probably appeals more to adults. This is one of the most popular parks in the WI system so if you're looking for peace and quiet during the summer months, you won't find it here on the weekends. Weekdays are better, but still crowded. Kids love it. Close to Baraboo for supplies and a few good places to eat. 15-20 min. away from WI. Dells, the tourist trap of the world but a great diversion for the kids if you run into bad weather. Many good places to eat there if you're so inclined. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
It is a fantastic place to camp! Even though we like to try other campgrounds now & then, Devil's Lake always is a wonderful experience. It rained every day off & on but we still had a great time. We had nice camping neighbors. The facilities include clean bathrooms and beautiful Lake to swim in. There is great hiking too. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
An excellent park! There is a lake that has a swimming beach (though due to heavy rains the beach was under water). There is no drainage into the lake so it is clean without E. Coli issues. Plenty of bathrooms around. There's plenty of wooded sites but even the open sites are spacious and offer some trees. This is close to the Dells. There is also a camp store that meets your needs. This is prime camping here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$17
Devil’s Lake State Park, near Baraboo, WI. Stayed here for two days in late June 2007. Quite a nice state park campground, including being big-rig friendly with many of their sites. Electricity only. Great hiking on the grounds of the state park, including a somewhat challenging east and west bluff trail with about a 500 foot rise in elevation. Stunning views at the summits of each climb. Devil’s Lake has lots to offer – swimming, boating (electric motors only), scuba diving, fishing. Great beach area with numerous picnic sites. Clean, quiet, lots to do. For those who need more stimulation, the Wisconsin Dells and all that is offered there is just 12 miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$17
This is a very nice state park. We originally had site 207 which was in a wooded shady area. Because of the weather and bugs we changed to site 100, which is huge open site and worked well for us. The hike up to balance rock was strenuous but worth it! We ended up paying a bit more for the campsite because of fees and being from out of state. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com