220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Shady Firs RV Park & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (360) 497-6108
CGID5344

Shady Firs RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   7   8   9   6   7   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$18
Nice small park with lots of shade. Centrally located between Ranier and Hood. Very low key and very quiet. Good wi-fi. Rate was PA. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
We stayed here in our travel trailer as a base for driving up to Mt. St. Helens. The campground is roomy and the host couple were friendly and helpful. Our stay was quiet and relaxing. We enjoyed this campground and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
This is a nice, clean and well-kept park. There are no full hookups-only water and electric, but they have a dump station for a $5.00 charge. We stayed here with Passport rate for $12.50 per day, which is a great price. We parked on grass that was recently mowed. There are lots of trees for shade and moderate road noise. Owners are very friendly and I would definitely stay here again. This is a great park for a home base to visit Mount Rainier and Mount Saint Helens. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
The name is a misnomer. The mobile home area is completely separate from the RV section. We were offered our choice of sites because of our after Labor Day arrival, they were full for the weekend. Most of the park is shaded by large fir trees that have been trimmed very well for large rigs. Three newer sites offer full hookups but most have only water and electricity. The other sites are among the trees and are very confusing as to the boundaries between sites. Each site has a picnic table. The owners are very friendly and told us to wash the tow and motorhome if we wanted to, just be on the grass. The laundry room machines were very old and the room smelled like cats. We opted to wait for the next park to do laundry. There are other larger parks around and we'd shop around before staying here again other than overnight just because this park appears a work in progress. The access is easy to miss and NOT off of Young Road as the address suggests. Part of the road system is asphalt millings (irregular in dimension and not level) and the rest is gravel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
Long, wide, grassy spaces, most with shade. A good deal with the PA rate. Payment is cash only. A few spots have Satellite reception. Big shower with short hot water supply, could be cleaner. Daytime road noise, quiets down at night. Deer and elk in park sometimes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
This is a very nice, quiet, family run RV Park. The sites are large and grassy. There are many large fir trees. Some sites have mountain views. There are picnic tables & fire rings. Most sites are 30 amp with water. They only have a few full hookup sites but there is a dump station. They sell fire wood and ice but not much else. The owners and manager are very nice and take time to visit with you. It is located near the entrance roads to both MT Rainier National Park and MT Saint Helens National Monument. The bathrooms and showers were reasonably clean and there is a washer and dryer. This is not a fancy resort type park but is a very relaxing place to stay while exploring the area. There is no web site that I could find but the address is 107 Young Rd. just off highway 12 about 2 miles east of Randle WA. Watch carefully for the signs as they are a little difficult to see from highway 12. They share a driveway with their horse blanket shop and that is where you turn in. They are also a Passport America Park. The regular rate for RV's is $25.00. They do not take credit cards, we paid by cash. We stayed a little longer than we planned and would return in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Roads are dirt/minimal gravel. Friendly staff. We needed a battery jump and they were more than willing to help and advise where to go for repairs. Bathroom/showers are old and could be cleaner. Hookups are at the end of the site, beyond your rig. We needed 50' hose and 50' cable. Did not have sewer so we used their dump station. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Nice park for a layover or even a day or two to enjoy the surrounding area attractions. The nearby Packwood Flea Market was a great adventure. It is held Memorial and Labor day weekends. Nice friendly staff, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
This is a nice little park that lives up to its name. The owner managers are friendly and very accommodating. Interior roads are easy to maneuver, sites are spacious and level. The following items keep this park from being rated a 10. (1) Even though PA is accepted at this park except on holidays and the 3rd week in July, it appears the discount is also not accepted if the management thinks they are going to be busy. We stayed at this park the 2nd weekend of August, not a holiday, not the 3rd week of July and were not allowed the PA discount or any discount. (2) No lighting at the entrance. You may never find the entrance to this park at night. Flags are visible during daylight hours, but the entrance is nearly invisible during nighttime hours. (3) Road noise is especially intrusive at the sites along the route 12 perimeter. (4) 30 amp service and no sewer at the site. There are a couple sites with 50 amp service, but the majority has only 30 amp and no sites have sewer hook-up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
We have a standing reservation and meet some of our family and friends here every Labor Day to do the swap meet in Packwood. Pwners are on site and very friendly. Reservations needed for Labor Day weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$13
This is a wonderful Passport park. The spot directly to the right when you enter the park is 50 amp pull through and you get Dish Network. The park is in very tall pine trees. The staff was friendly and check in was easy. The park was very clean and the spots were level. We were close to the road but the traffic slowed in the evening and it didn't bother us. One of the better Passport parks we have stayed in. The owners are on sight and we would stay here again and again. The only drawback is no sewer hook up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This is actually a large forest of firs, so the name of the RV Park covers the situation exactly! We stayed here for 2 nights. The place was deserted and we saw 2 other overnight campers. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The main building is very, very old, but the restrooms and showers were clean and well maintained. They have only a few back-in places with limited hook-up (no sewer), but dumping is easy. If you want to use satellite TV, avoid the shady part of the park. We chose this place to visit Mt.St.Helens, but the road was still closed as the bridge had been washed away some months ago. Mainly for that reason most guests had canceled their reservations. The camping is located next to the highway, but before you know, you miss the entrance and have to make a U-turn. If we ever go to this area again, we will definitely stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$14
$14/night is the Passport America rate, this park accepts CASH only, be prepared. Beautiful, clean, park as described below. Brand new laundry facilities that worked better than any other park I've stayed in, $2 wash/$1.50 dry and dry in one cycle. There are a couple of sites that have cable hookup, I can't imagine that any broadcast channels are available at this remote location. This park really slows down after Labor Day, we were the only ones there the last day of our stay. They do keep a few sites open all year. Check for road closures and plan your trip accordingly, access to Mt St. Helens is not available on FS25, and it's a long way around to the other side. You can make a nice loop visiting Rainier from here via Morton. I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$14
A Passport America campground. The park has water and electric only, no sewer hook-ups - but there is a dump station. Park is well maintained with grass sites and un-paved roads. three quarters of the park is under a canopy of fir trees that are just beautiful and provide great shade, but don't allow satellite access. The front row has less coverage and three or four sites from which satellite is accessible. There is some highway noise, with a lumber mill a block away, but it was not a major concern. Randle is just about halfway between Mt. St. Helens and Mt. Rainier. It is a good stop if you intend to see both parks. The town is very small, but it has a couple of gas stations, a small well-stocked grocery, and several restaurants. Rating would have been higher with sewer hookups, but we will return if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$14
A typical park for Passport America - great for short stays. Very friendly staff, even told us where blackberry bushes were for picking. Some 50 amp sites. Some sites for 'buddy parking' We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
We were only going to stay here for a few days and ended up staying for 11 days. The owners were very nice people and very helpful and informative. There is a market and an RV supply/repair shop a short distance to the west. The park is on well groomed grass so it's not dusty or dirty. The laundry facility has 2 washer and dryers and the room was very clean. I would give this park a 10 if it wasn't for the hwy. noise, but we would stay here again in a heart beat!! We are also Passport America members and there were no restrictions on how long we could stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
Passport America accepted at 10 bucks a night. Laundry available. Vehicle & rig washing ok here. Free firewood for campfires. Grass sites and the campground is very well kept. Management is very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com