223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Elkhorn Ridge RV Resort & Cabins was rated 9 out of 10 based on 88 user reviews. Phone: (605) 722-1800
CGID5354

Elkhorn Ridge RV Resort & Cabins

Camp Information
Sites
222
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   7   10   10   10   10   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$40
Big rigs: If you have to drive an extra 100 miles to camp here, it is worth the drive. This is a pretty new park and they didn't spare any expense in creating the perfect park. I would actually consider this a resort and not a park. The park has 100', paved and level pull-thrus, wide roads, a grassy area at each site with a picnic table, a large modern playground, pet park, lighted basketball and tennis courts, volleyball net, very clean pool area with a hot tub, free wi-fi, 60 TV channels AND a convenient/liquor store, a cafe and gift shop. To top it off, it is located one mile south of I-90 and it was quiet. They honor Good Sam discount. Bonus: there is a championship 9 hole golf course 1.5 miles away and they offer a discount if you are staying at the RV park. Construction for an additional 9 holes was in full swing in Sep 2014. This park, by far, exceeded our expectations. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$52
What a pleasant find! Easy access from the freeway. Paved roads and sites in the park. We were only going to stay overnight, but the clerk told us about all the nearby attractions, so we extended for five nights. What a beautiful area! Of course, we visited Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse, but there are so many interesting areas beyond these. The resort is very clean and thoughtfully arranged. The amenities looked fantastic, but we didn't use any of them since we spent so much time touring the area. Wi-Fi and cable worked well. All hook-ups were well-placed. Gift shop and store were fully stocked. The staff was always polite and helpful. FYI: Be careful with your awnings! The wind is brisk and unpredictable. We felt the wind starting up and while we were retracting our power awning, a gust caught it and loosened the rear arm. This isn't the resort's fault, of course. Just be aware of the winds and act faster than we did. The only improvement I'd make in the resort is the addition of trees so awnings wouldn't be as necessary. Summer is very hot and sunny in the area. I'd definitely return to Elkhorn Ridge. After staying at so many less than acceptable campgrounds, I really appreciated this resort and the areas around it. I would highly recommend Elkhorn Ridge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
We had not planned on staying here but the park we wanted to stay at for several days in Deadwood was fully booked for a special weekend. I still don't understand how this park gets so many 10s. Among the negatives: The sites are not level, the "grass" between sites is mostly weeds, the bathroom and laundry facilities are inadequate for a park this size, and the Wi-Fi network is unreliable. While the pool area and other recreational facilities are exceptional, the design flaws, poor maintenance, and questionable managerial decisions lower the rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
This was our second stay here in three years. This is just about the ultimate in RV parks. Beautiful well maintained facility. Fantastic pool area. Friendly staff. One of our all time favorite stops. My only wish is that they provided fire rings at each site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
Very clean easy in and out. Hot tub, pool, tennis and basketball court. Large dog park. Very well maintained and managed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$52
This is our second stay at this campground. This is a first class resort with accompanying amenities. The cable is exceptional and the grounds are immaculate. The roads and sites are concrete and the landscaping is attractive. It is a little expensive but you get what you pay for. There is adequate grassy areas between sites. The campground is quiet at night and easy to find right off the interstate. The laundry is expensive at $2 per washer or dryer. The internet was a bit iffy at times but usually adequate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$54
We stayed here twice, once on the way out, and then on our return trip. This is a new campground (resort), and the developers have done an excellent job. Convenient to many Black Hills attractions, wide paved interior roads, all sites are paved and spacious, internet and cable TV work well, and it is quiet despite close proximity to I-90. Resort has lots of amenities including tennis court, basketball court, and horseshoes. Only negative I can see is lack of fire rings or pits at individual campsites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$55
Needed a place to stop for a couple nights . Came across this park and was very pleased. Easy access from the Interstate. the staff was really nice, friendly and helpful. Check-in was easily done. The sites are all concrete with full hook-ups and spacious. Had picnic tables and grass areas. Highly recommend and would stay here again. We were in a 38 ft rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$50
This was our second time staying here and we really love it. The park is huge and decent space between spots. We had a pull-through. Grass is scrubby but that is to be expected. Staff was friendly and helpful. We will likely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
Really nice upscale park. Nice level concrete sites with properly placed utilities. Wi-Fi was iffy especially when sending pictures. Bathrooms were spotless, roomy and private. Dog run a great plus. Could use an extra dumpster for the section to the left looking at the office. Check in was fast an efficient. A smile from employees would have made it perfect. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
This is right off I-90 at exit 17, but you can't hear any highway noise. Roads and pads are all paved. There is quite a bit of space between sites. Landscaping is beautiful, but the drought has hurt the grass between the sites. There are trees, but they are too small for shade. The cabins are beautiful, and the landscaping around them is amazing with plants and sculptures. Beautiful. The office is huge and sells beautiful gifts (no Chinese stuff here) limited food items, and alcohol. The wine selection is actually pretty good. Nice large pool area. Staff is great. Two large off lease dog runs. There is also a nature walk. This place is just 10 minutes to Deadwood and a perfect place to stay while visiting the northern end of the Black Hills. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Most of what previous raters said is correct. This is a very new park and the landscaping is immature. However, I did have a grassy site in spite of the previous observations. Dog park is excellent even for medium to large dogs. This is by itself outstanding. Now on the down side. The Wi-Fi is worthless and it is important to me as I work on the road. Also, there are only 4 washing machines and 4 dryers for a park that has over 200 slots. This can, and does, cause problems for those that don't have their own. This park likely assumed that, being a high end park with a high percentage of high end rigs, that they don't need more machines. For me, it's important. This could easily be a 10 rating but for the above limitations. We would stay here again. It is well run and convenient to all or most of the attractions around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
The office staff checking us in was wonderful. Large level sites. Beautiful scenery. Extra large clean pool. WiFi was down the entire time we were there. Small store with a great gift shop. Dog area was good. Tennis courts and basketball area. There isn't any grass, it's basically weeds and dirt. Very close to Deadwood and Sturgis. Big rigs will love this park. If they had grassy sites, it would be a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$52
This park could and should be a 10. The location, design and layout is great. Sites are long enough for very large rigs/tows. Full hookups everywhere. Pool/hot tubs/store/tennis courts/basketball court/fire rings....all great facilities. Staff was friendly. Adjacent 9 hole GC a real plus. There are a few basics that one should be able to expect from a CG that has clearly invested so much in facilities and charges appropriately. Those were lacking here. The long sites are not level at all for big rigs because they slope significantly to one end or the other. The large areas between sites are baked mud and tough prickly weeds. There is virtually no grass at all. Landscaping is spectacular at the entrance only. The fenced dog walk areas are mud and mowed prickly weeds as well. The laundry facilities (4 washers/4 dryers) for the entire park of 189 Units is woefully inadequate. The Wi-Fi was not operational and Verizon coverage here is non-existent so our MiFi didn't work either. I was surprised to find that this park has been operational for quite a few years which is plenty of time to remedy these basic problems. We would likely return to this park for a short overnight stay only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
We stayed here for two weeks in a motor home. There was entertainment for the kiddo. The site was roomy with full hookups. Cable worked well. We did not use the WiFi as it had been damaged in a hail storm and my Internet worked very well without it. Spent our time sightseeing and just relaxing. Wonderful campground. Can't wait to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
This is our first time here in 3 years and, once again, I must disagree with those who give this park a 10. We had a FHU, pull-through site with 70+ channel cable TV. Most sites in the south side of the park are pull-through but most sites on the north side of the park are back ins. I still say most of the sites I have seen are not level. I've had to use at least one board every time I have been here. The WIFI was not working and has been down for a while. They apologized for the inconvenience and said you could use get the internet at the lodge. They should have offered a couple buck discount off their $50/night fee as a bit of good customer relations. I still say that the "grass" between the sites is more weeds and dirt than grass. The pool and other recreational facilities are great. The bathhouse and laundry facilities (one building on each side of the park) are barely adequate for a park this size. In addition to the RV sites, there are about 3 dozen cabins. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
This park could and should be a ten. Park has paved roads, concrete site pads, modern buildings and pool area. Sites are well spaced, but the concrete pad is so narrow you have to walk around on the grass. The grass was 6-8 inches long and in over a week we never saw a mower any where in the park. A neighbor had a bad water leak at the hydrant and it took almost a week to get a maintenance crew to fix it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
We attended a small Newell Coach rally here from June 21-29. It is a great destination resort with all the amenities you would want....large heated pool, jacuzzis, tennis courts, fire pits, picnic areas. Long, long pull through sites with grass in between. Near Mt. Rushmore, Spearfish Canyon, Custer State Park, Black Hills, hiking, biking, etc. On site store stocked well with essentials, including wine, beer, liquor, dairy, etc. Great accommodating staff! Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$47
Paved roads and sites. Incredible play area on one side of the park for those that have children. The other side of the park, for those that do not have children. They have a fully stocked store with lots of items. They are also a licensed liquor store and offer many items and local wines, some cheaper than the wineries. The staff were pleasant, accommodating and helpful. The pool was clean. They also had a kiddie pool and 2 hot tubs with a privacy wall between them. The Wi-Fi, on our second trip, was operational. We stayed here on two separate occasions. It was knocked out by a hail storm and they were working on getting it fixed. The Wi-Fi was included in the rate. We picked a BKIN279 site, which was located right next to the playground and near the shower house. They rented bikes to those who needed them. We experienced some RV mechanical issues and couldn't make it on our original day so they changed the reservation and did not charge us. They were more than accommodating to us and our 4- and 6-year olds. The sites are all level, the cabins appeared to be nice from the outside, the tennis courts and pool area well-maintained, the grounds well-kept and the staff and manager were friendly and polite. We would stay here again. Do not confuse this with the other "Elk" parks in South Dakota. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Great park and location for all activities and sites. The manager is outstanding. Only drawbacks were limited phone service and poor WiFi. We would stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$52
A very fancy resort, getting off the ground, with new personnel in the office. We'd intended to stay only one day before we proceeded to Custer State Park. High winds and warnings to high-profile vehicle drivers on the weather band had us "hunker down" a second night. We were the smallest rig there - most were big diesel-pushers, and Elkhorn Ridge is absolutely perfect for them. The CG was sparsely occupied, and we felt we had privacy. It will be some time before the trees mature; right now it seems pretty barren and exposed, but it is meticulously maintained. The bathrooms were large and spotless. There are amenities (hot tub, pool, liquor) near the office. Our WiFi worked well only when me moved closer to the bath house. This is a great jumping-off place for a visit to the Black Hills. We feel we got our money's worth despite the $$$$, and would go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$57
I agree totally with the previous post. This is a superb RV park. The park can accommodate any size rig including the 45' motorhomes with 20' trailers behind. The cost was high for this area, but after staying in another park in the area it is worth it. There is a fenced in dog park for our furry friends. The only minus is that Verizon cell service is almost non-existent here. A cell phone amplifier is helpful, and if the park installed a park wide amplifier this park would be rated an 11. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$52
This is a top notch campground. They have paved roads, plenty of pull through long sites, clean restrooms, showers and a small store with essentials and liquor. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The views are awesome as it is surrounded by the Black HIlls. There is a Walmart within five miles and plenty of restaurants. They offer monthly rates which is hard to come by in the Black HIlls - due to the tourism market. The trees are young, so there is not much shade or protection from the winds coming through. The rates are high - but comparative to other campgrounds in the Black Hills - when you consider the amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$37
This campground is very clean and the views are pretty with the mountains all around. Check in was efficient and staff was friendly. Sites are level and paved with grass on each side. Streets are wide and paved. However, there are no trees. We had a problem with our water hookup that maintenance said they would fix. We were told to turn our water off when we left so they could correct the problem but it never was throughout the week we were there. So it leaked terribly. 2 other campers had the same problem. Need to work on their maintenance customer service. We felt they didn't really care that water was being wasted. Other than that inconvenience, it is a nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
This is a very well maintained campground. Helpful staff at check in. Road and pad are paved, level pull throughs, and big rig friendly. Very quiet. There is space around the RV and lots of trees that are still to small to give any shade. The views from the RV are very pretty. Bathrooms are spotless and the laundry is clean and well equipped. There is a large fenced dog run with pick up bags. Wi-Fi and cell are good. Plenty of great local places to eat and food stores not too far away. Pools, hot tubs, grocery shop, gift store, small cafe and tennis courts - this resort has it all. The owners have spent a lot of time and money on this place and it shows. We would stay here again. Rate reflects Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
This is our second stay at this park and we really love it. It is a high end RV park with concrete pads and patios. Everything else described in a positive manner is there. Want to address some of the negative posts. Little trees, no shade - relatively new park built on a prairie, they planted trees - it takes a few years for trees to grow. No campfires at sites, most RV'ers do not want campfire smoke filtering through their sites, bad to breath, you want a campfire go to a state campground. Price to high - This is a high end RV park with lots of amenities, you are going to pay more, want a $28 site then go to a small, old, no amenities park . This is a great park with great views enjoy it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
We stayed here about 6 years or so ago just after the park opened. The park was excellent in every respect then, but of course the landscaping was not mature. Now it is even better. The park is top notch in every category. The guest facilities are among the best we have seen, and the store and on-site breakfast bar are superb. This one of our favorite places to stay while in the Spearfish area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$51
Elkhorn ridge was one of the best campgrounds we've been to! We went here for a family reunion and the event center is very nice. The pool is one of the warmest outdoor pools we've been to! However, There are NOT any fire rings at the campsites which is a bummer. We were close to all the amenities! They also had a cool gift shop and a cafe' that serves breakfast, lunch, and snacks like slushies and free coffee. Plus, we had family who stayed in a cabin which had a loft, 2 bedrooms, a bathroom, and a living room. Overall, we had a fun time and we will definitely be back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$49
This is a large park with full facilities. There were plenty of empty spaces when we arrived. We had several negative interactions with the office. That and the high price resulted in my lower rating. Wi-Fi was not working as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
Price reflects weekly rate. Very nice resort. The store has some food snacks, a liquor store and makes breakfast and lunch. Heated pool, 2 spas, individual rest rooms with vanity’s and showers. Plenty of cable channels and lots of space between sites. All utilities were good. The only negative is very few site pads were level. All seemed to slope to the front, a lot of rigs had their wheels off the ground. Knowing this you can prepare to make your adjustments. This is the only reason for not giving the place a “10.” We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$43
I think this is my first 10. The roads are wide, the pull throughs long, plenty of grass in between, and water pressure was great. Can't say enough about it. Rate reflects weekly stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
This large park/golf course is a normal stop for us as we travel into the Black Hills. The park hasn't changed since our first visit (2003). The staff is great, the park is super clean, and the store is better than most markets. The sites are cement and quite wide. My only negative on the sites is the fact that all the pads slant. If you have a large motorhome, the level position is probably going to be with the tire/s off the ground with a leveling system. I can't figure out why they cut corners like this.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$46
Our rate was with a military discount. However, we thought that, while the staff was helpful, the campground was over-priced for the services. For such a large campground, the laundry facilities were minimal. There were rabbit "droppings" at our site when we arrived. The wireless Internet was weak and spotty, at best. We would not stay there again on another visit to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$54
This park is the best in the Black Hills. Relatively new explains the lack of shade, but the layout and amenities are first class. Within easy driving distances of all of the Black Hills sights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
Price reflects Good Sam discount. This was an overnight stop for us and was 2 weeks after Sturgis Bikers rally. Lots of bikers in the park, some partied way into the morning hours, otherwise place was quiet and we did not notice any road noise, we were in site #304. Roads were asphalt, site was concrete and level, but just wide enough for motorhome, we were able to pull through and leave our toad hooked up. We're probably about 65' or so and had plenty of room. Pools and spas are top notch, store is well stocked and includes a liquor store also, prices were fair. We had no problem with water, cable TV, Wi-Fi, or 50amp electricity. No shade here as trees are still growing. We would stay here again, although it's a little pricey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$54
It is new, big, and nice. Sites are concrete and roads are blacktop. To be picky the sites were not the most level but very doable, Wi-Fi was very weak in outer edges, and power not rock solid as it fluctuates a lot and did trip my surge protector once or twice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
The only thing I can say negative about this park is that the trees are still small so there is no shade. Otherwise it is one of the best we stayed in. Beautiful pool area and dog run. Clean,clean, clean. We plan on staying here again on our way home and spending more time in Deadwood which is only 10 minutes away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
This is a very new and well thought out RV park. Everything is top notch and the pull throughs are long and roomy. Very nice pool and sport court. WiFi worked well. We really wanted to give this a 10, but we discovered that sites do not have individual campfire rings. Instead they are spread randomly throughout the park. The closest to our site was at least 50-75 yards away. Not convenient at all and a disappointment for our group. We also noticed a fair amount of traffic noise from the adjoining highway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
This is a very nice and well maintained park. The sites were level and large. The pool is one of the best we have been in. Very helpful staff and friendly. Not a cheap place but a Good Sams park. The park looks pretty new so when the trees fill in,it will be that much better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
The only downside is that you have road noise, but it is a great development park, concrete slabs, picnic area. The best recreational area of any resort or campground. You don't need to leave here. Full snack bar, liquor store, boutique store. Awesome full basketball and tennis court, large pool, great playground. Tons of room for bike-riding and scootering for kids, safe. One of many master planned ownership RV resort community turned into a upscale RV vacation/rental spot due to the economic collapse. Close to Deadwood and Devils Tower. Spearfish has Wal-Mart, Safeway, etc. Great stay. Big rig friendly. Wi-Fi worked great. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
Exemplary park, with plenty of options for big rigs, as well as cabins and tent sites. Great facilities in every way. Two playgrounds, big pool, kiddie pool and 2 hot tubs. Plenty of room around the sites. The staff are very low key, and yet the place is spotless and managed very well. Quiet park, but with a little road noise, depending on your site. Nice dog area, and walking trail. Great access to many beautiful sights in the Black Hills. Spearfish is a really nice town for shopping and restaurants. Don't miss Sylvan Lake! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
Excellent camp resort. Pools, playground, ball courts provide lots for kids to do. Dog run holes are filled, but why try to have any grass there? Pea gravel makes more sense. Washers are a bit small, but all areas are spotless. Good store. Breakfast, lunch and snack menus are good. Major stores, restaurants nearby. Minor highway noise only reason not a 10. Will always arrange trip west to include a stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
Great large sites, level and pull through with concrete pads and tables. Paved roads. Good office shop with a breakfast and lunch available. Quiet. Everything is almost new. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
I'm torn on how to rate this CG. We were out of season, and found the 'store' to be primarily full of liquor choices. The snack bar was closed. To be handed a small 'goody' bag of travel items at check in was a surprise: a very nice touch. The washrooms were exceptionally clean: however only one shower stall didn't have peeling paint on the floor and none of the stalls had a lip, which combined with a short shower curtain made the floor outside the shower damp. We quite liked the privacy of a large bathroom (toilet, sink, shower stall) but there were only six stalls for an area that could easily hold 100 plus RV's. Only a few sites were open (it was a tough winter up here and most were still winterized) and one of the light poles near the bathhouse was broken and down on the ground. There are two good sized dog runs: one for larger dogs, one for smaller. Absolutely terrific, with pick-up bags right on the fences, but the runs also had a lot of rabbit or gopher holes and I kept hoping neither of our dogs would break a leg running around the enclosure. The laundry was super clean, but only two washers and two dryers. The washers were exceptionally small: the type I had in apartments in Europe. We weren't bothered by any traffic noise, but in early May there just wasn't any traffic either!! The grounds are nice, with statuary placed here and there. We would definitely stay here again out of season but would definitely avoid it in season, due to what is undoubtedly a shortage of showers available when the Park has more than a handful of RV's. We are in a RoadTrek 210P, so showers are important to us (we have one, but it is very small and has to be rigged up). Just a strange CG, for every plus there is an offset somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
This was a great park. Sites were pretty level and grass areas between each. Hookups were easy to use. Very few people here at this time. Office staff was great, very helpful. Lots of places to see in the surrounding areas. WiFi and cable TV worked well. Verizon phone had no problem. DirecTV worked also. Clean showers, with individual rooms. Pool was not open at this time. Very well stocked store in the office. Playground, basketball court and horseshoes. Will stay here again for sure. Rate base on AAA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$32
As first time RV campers we were very pleased with this campground. Everything was new and very clean. No trees which provided us a beautiful sky to look at. The stars were amazing. Very friendly staff and a nice gift shop and grocery area. We'd stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This is, without a doubt, the finest RV park we have been in yet. It is so well laid out, immaculate, and so family oriented. We were there in October, and the pool was still open and plenty warm. Great dog runs, wonderful walking trails, statuary throughout the park, plenty of cabins for non-RVing family members, generous camp store, and centrally located to Deadwood, Spearfish, Rushmore, Crazy Horse, and Rapid City. It's newer, so no big trees yet, but I honestly don't know what else you could want or need. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
An excellent park. All new facilities and extremely well designed. Lots of space between sites. Level concrete pads. Far enough away from the Interstate so there is no noise, The only reason I didn't rate this a 10 was because it's in the open. No shade and no protection in strong winds. However the rest of the top quality points outweighed this minor point. Definitely will go out of my way to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
We were really looking forward to our visit and found we were disappointed. In a word we found the place to be "sterile." To me it had little to offer other than paved sites, a pool but it was too cold to use. The road noise from 85 was very noticeable and we were in the back of the park. The laundry had 2 washers and 2 dryers and they had 2 facilities for laundry. There were trees growing but no shade at all. Another post stated they thought it was overpriced and I agree. There were only 15-25 spaces occupied and we were here over a holiday. They were still on their summer rates as well. Feel this is a good place for big rigs but our site was narrow and not level at all. We would probably consider a different campground in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
This is a very classy upscale park. We were provided a large pull through site for our 39 foot rig. It had a concrete pad and patio with full hook-ups. Park office/store includes breakfast options, snacks, clothes, liquor store, and RV supplies. Pool and playground worked well for our grandsons. They host family reunions and RV rallies so you might want to make reservations. Nicely landscaped with sculptures throughout. Only negative is that the trees need to grow. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
This our first time here in 3 years. Again, while I understand the superlatives others use to describe this park, others have pointed out some negatives. Many comment on the price, some on the sites being unlevel, etc. During this 2 day stay, I noticed the "grass" between sites being more weeds and dirt than grass. I still think that the original idea was to become, at least partially, an ownership park but the first few years didn't meet occupancy expections due to gas prices and and their rates. Today, their rate is too much for families on vacation and too much for Joe Average looking for a base park to visit the Black Hills. Any park in a tourist area like the Black Hills filling less than half their sites in mid-July is doing something wrong. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. This park is very nice, but I feel it's over-priced by about $10 per night. It has nice paved sites, roads and approaches with three sewer connections on each site. The check-in desk with the restaurant and liquor store are better than many. On the downside, the grass is spotty and hard to walk on. The shower floors could need some attention paid to the peeling paint. Children, teens and adults were allowed to ride 4 wheeled ATVs at much more than the 10 MPH speed limit for the park and disturb other visitors. Seemed strange that no one under 10 years old was allowed in the pool, bath house or hot-tub, without an adult. However, the same kids could run up and down the streets and off-road on the landscaped berms between the campground and the highway, without helmets on ATVs. Would we stay there again? Probably not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
I don't give 10s. This park is the must stay while in the Black Hills area. On our drives we saw many other parks and they don't hold a candle to this one. About 1/4 mile from I-90 with no noise and very easy on and off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
This is a class park. Had wonderful landscaping and huge pull through sites. We were surprised that our pad was not completely level. The bath house had individual bathrooms. Very close to all Black Hills attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
This is a top-notch place that has obviously put a lot of money and effort into its facility. Campsites are immaculate, grounds are well-kept, and the staff are knowledgeable and unintrusive. Families will appreciate the large pool and the shallow wading pool for youngsters. They will also appreciate the family showers/washrooms. The setting is beautiful, on the rolling foothills, but depending on wind, you may get highway noise from the I-90. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$47
This is a beautiful campground. While still young with no shade yet, it is very nice. The restrooms/showers are individual bathrooms and very clean. There was a nice gift shop/grocery/breakfast area in the office building. It has level sites, a great pool, a sports court and gorgeous views. Would definitely recommend to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$51
This is an impressive campground and is definitely resort quality. Easy in/out and the hookups are very well located with multiple options for sewer connections. Has an extensive cable TV lineup and is satellite friendly. Has large sites with very well maintained grounds. The office staff was friendly. However for an overnight stay, it is a bit pricey in my opinion. Unfortunately there are few cheaper alternatives that can accommodate a large rig. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$48
This park is a true resort! We absolutely loved it and have nothing negative to say about it. The facilities are absolutely gorgeous. The views and landscaping are stunning! The front desk personnel were very pleasant and outgoing. We would absolutely stay here again and again! I would not hesitate to recommend this resort! It is the best resort we have ever stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$44
Good Sam rate. This RV park is one of the best we have ever stayed in. It was planned with the RV'er in mind: pool, two hot tubs, small children's pool. There is a dog pen for large dogs and one for small dogs. You can let your dog run and the fire hydrants in the pens were a cute accessory. The showers, laundry and bath were immaculate. Northern Black Hills surround the park. Huge store here with packaged liquor and beer. It's located 5 miles from Deadwood. There is a north section and a south section. They put families with children in the north and retirees in the south. The Wi-Fi did not work well for us (that was the only downside). We definitely would make plans to stay here (more then one day) the next time we are through this area. The staff was very friendly and helpful. You must try this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$48
Beautiful resort, well planned out. Large lot on concrete pad. The center of this resort is a beautiful store/breakfast center, behind this is a large pool. Good playground area. Tennis, horseshoe and basketball area. Dog pen area is immaculate! Paved walking trail around most of the resort. Only neg is it is an hr+ from Mt Rushmore. We had plenty of room on site. Would come back if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
Great campground which should set the bench mark for all campgrounds! Level, spacious sites and a lovely open feel in a gorgeous location. If you like shade trees, then this is not place for you as there are none. We don't like trees anyway! The restrooms and showers are all immaculate and brand new. The Wi-Fi was excellent. We did laundry: washers $2 and dryers $1.50, which seemed expensive. Would definitely come here again and recommend the site to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
This is a very nice park. There are big sites-level and grass at each site. The bathrooms and laundry area very clean. The pool area and camp store very nice. There are friendly staff. It is very convenient to Deadwood, Spearfish Canyon, Mt Rushmore, and Custer Sate Park. I stayed for 4 days and would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
If any park is designated a 10, this one is. It is a beautiful place to stay. We stayed here a week. It is in a centralized location for all the day trips. It has long paved sites. The sites are not jammed together. I hope all the new parks in the future use this park as a model. It is truly a "resort". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Absolutely beautiful park and it can truly be called a 'resort'. Paved roads, long paved sites, cabins, swimming, tennis, horseshoes, and basketball. Easy access to I-90, Spearfish, Deadwood, Lead, Sturgis and Black Hills attractions. Great weekly rates and plenty to do for the week. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
The nicest resort we've been to in a long while! Very new and great location on 85 seconds from I-90 near Spearfish. Roads are wide and paved and sites are concrete although they should be wider because we step onto grass. Plenty of very big rig pull-thru sites - our bus with car trailer and SUV still have room. All sorts of amenities - pool, tennis, basketball, dog run and good shopping. Wi-Fi works sometimes just like every other resort. Verizon air card works. AT&T service is spotty. No problems with satellite because the trees here are still small. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Well maintained newer park. Large sites, lots of grass. Two dog runs, great WiFi & cable. Great base camp for going to all the local attractions: Devils Tower, Deadwood, Mt. Rushmore. Would stay here again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
This is a great campground. We spent a week here while exploring the Black Hills. One of the nicest campgrounds we have been to on our year long travels. All roads are paved, sites are big concrete pads with nice picnic tables, and the amenities are above expectations. They have a nice big pool with two hot tubs, basketball and tennis courts, an awesome playground and you are 10 minutes to Deadwood, 30 minutes to Rapid City, and about 1 hour from Mount Rushmore. The staff treat you with respect and go out of there way to ensure you are satisfied. I would definitely recommend this place to any family or individuals looking for an up-scale campground at a reasonable cost. We would definitely stay hear again without a question. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
Where do I start? We were strung out from the road and stayed only one night out of desperation. Campsite we were put in was gushing water & tripping my circuit breakers. Moved us to another site after we were all set up. Well, I filled out a comment sheet listing all the problems we had over the years. Don't ever do that! The manager called my home phone, was rude, disrespectful, called me a liar and hung up on me! This is a glorified parking lot that is way too expensive. Grass is always calf high. Not well maintained, rude staff & way overpriced. Will never, ever stay here again. I will camp at Wal-Marts if necessary. This is why they are near empty (on holidays!) when other campgrounds are full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$47
Very nice, newer park with paved roads and sites. Very substantial structures with pool, tennis, basketball courts. Nice gift shop and even a breakfast nook for extra fee. Excellent sat signal. Only negative was very long grass...maybe too much rain. Again nice stopover or destination park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
This is a beautiful park set in the Black Hills. Other parks should take a lesson from this one! It is close to I-90 and all the area attractions. The park has long pull throughs. The WI-FI works great. It is very clean, the people in the office were very helpful, satellite is no problem. The surrounding scenery is wonderful, a different view out each window. We camped here for a week and we'll be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$47
Large, relatively new campground. Owners invested heavily, and it shows. Very nicely designed. Close, but far enough away from the noise of the interstate. Paved roads, and sites. Extensive cable selections. Good for satellite. Has three possible sewer connections per site. Very unusual. Huge pool, full tennis court and basketball court. Minor negative: only two washers and dryers in each of the two locations. Close to Deadwood, Spearfish Canyon Drive, and about 60 miles from Devil's Tower. Stayed four nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
This is a wonderful resort located a little south of I-90. The layout is more RV park than campground, but to call it a “glorified parking lot” and give it a 5 as a previous reviewer did is totally unfair. We also found the staff to be friendly and competent; yes, some were young, but no one was impersonal. The whole park was nicely landscaped, but the trees were still too small to provide shade. The roads were paved and easy to navigate. Sites were paved, long, wide, level, and mostly pull through. Patios were placed at different locations on the sites so that they will match the placement of almost any RV door. Just be aware of this at check in so that you are assigned a site that matches your door. Each site had a table, and there were community fire pits near the office. Utility pedestals were lighted. The area between sites was large and contained grass. The individual restrooms/showers were clean. There were lots of cable TV channels, and the free Wi-Fi was strong. The pool was very pretty. There were tennis and basketball courts and areas for volleyball and horseshoes. There was also a very nice playground. The off season rates were far better than we expected. We have paid much more for resorts of this caliber. If we lived closer we would be here frequently. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
Very nice place to stay for a day, week or?? Large wide roads and long pull through sites. Was pretty empty in the middle of September but pool was still available. We will stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$42
Excellent RV Park! We camped here in a 40ft motorhome towing a full size SUV. Didn't unhook going to site with plenty of room left over with toad on site pad. Interior roads are paved with concrete landing and patio pads. Location is handy to interstate and local attractions. Landscaping and sculptures are exceptional. Park has pet exercise area, basketball, tennis, horseshoes and volley ball courts. Many on-site cabins. Satellite should be available on most sites. This is what RV parks should be modeled after. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$99
We where here in our 45 footer, towing a 30' trailer and there was no problem. Expensive because it was Sturgis Bike Week and everything is expensive that week. This place has everything from 100' spots to a liquor store. Anyone wanting a guideline on how to build a resort that accommodates just about everyone should look to this new facility. No problem with the larges rigs towing anything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
Great RV Park. Some of the pull-thru sites are a little tight getting parked. But overall, I had a great stay and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$44
This campground appeared to be fairly new. We stayed here 3 nights to visit Spearfish, Sturgis, and Deadwood. The pull-through sites were awesome. Would definitely stay here again. The showers were combined with your own private rest room extremely clean. The pool was the biggest we seen at a campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
One of the best RV parks around. When someone builds an RV park this is the model they should use. All paved sites and roads, very modern hookups and a pool that is like a resort poot at a fancy hotel. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$44
Well maintain, great showers, level paved sites, great tennis court and basketball area, other great amenities. Will return when in the area. This is a new park with lots of small trees. It will be exceptional when they all grow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$39
This park is only one year old and the planted trees have not yet grown enough to provide shade.Once they are grown they will in my opinion rate a 10. The staff is friendly, the sites are grassy and large. The pads are level and concrete and it is well located just off I-90. There are lots of sights to see in the area. Overall, an excellent choice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$47
We were booked here for 2 weeks and left after 1 day. The park was neat and clean but it was a glorified parking lot. The office staff were young and very impersonal. Very expensive for what you got. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$28
Signage to campground good. Access road in to campground appears to be a little narrow but in reality fine. Large area to park and register. Office staff friendly and efficient. Access roads to site wide, paved and well maintained. Large pull-thru sites with concrete pads and plenty of grass between each site. Beautifully landscaped. Good infrastructure typical of a modern full RV resort. Good pet facilities and good shower and laundry blocks. Good location for visiting the Black Hills. Would certainly stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$44
We stayed at this park for a week (9/9 - 9/16), after originally planning to stay in the (less expensive) Spearfish City Campground. The other reviews on this park are spot on. Due to the late season, there was only one other motorhome and us staying here for the full week, most other rigs overnighted, or stayed 1-2 days before moving on. The park is great, although the lack of shade may be an issue during the hot months; in the fall, winds may be an issue due to the parks exposed location and lack of trees. Park staff is helpful with nice amenities, and very clean facilities. We will definitely stay here again if we're back in the black hills area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$39
This is an outstanding RV park. We are full-timers and have stayed in parks across the country and this is one of the best. I cannot, for the life of me, figure out what the previous reviewer was complaining about. Park is conveniently located to I-90 but far enough away so that road noise is not a problem. Sites are very spacious and well spaced so that you do not feel cramped. This park can accommodate big rigs, even those towing car-hauler trailers. Utilities are conveniently located, in good condition and fully functional. If you cannot find this park by following the signage from I-90, you must be driving with a bag over your head. You can't miss it. Park has immaculate showers and lavatories, a large swimming pool and two hot tubs, two tennis courts and a basketball court. Pay heed to the following: the various rows in the parks have the concrete pads with picnic tables placed in different locations for various types of RVs. Check the pad location before selecting a site to find the row which is suitable for your RV. The park is located near Deadwood and is a good home base for touring all the Black Hills attractions. I can only think of a few parks in the country which are as well designed as this one and as well maintained. We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
While I understand the superlatives of several reviewers, I have to agree with the reviewer who had problems with the sites and hookups. My major complaint, and I did mention it to the staff, was the right to left slant on, seemingly, every site. If you do not have and expensive rig with push button levelers, you will need to raise your entire left side 3-4 inches to offset this design flaw. I do not carry enough boards for that kind of lift. I would have stayed several days if not for this problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
When you first enter this park, you are amazed: The sites are all paved, are very long and wide and ingress and egress for big rigs is great. People in the office and on the staff are friendly, and it is obvious that planning by someone experienced with RVs has been done. Then, you realize that, despite the first impression and the planning, someone has screwed up royally. Firstly, there is no visible sign from Highway 85 and many folks drive right by and turnaround. Secondly, when you walk the park you cannot believe how many sites are very, very un-level, almost to the point of giving you vertigo. Thirdly, each power post has two tv jacks--one high and difficult to get to, and one low and easy to get to. It is not until you plug your TV cable into the easy one and get inside your coach that you realize that the campground handout sheets tell you not to use the high one, but the lower one (why not put signs on the power posts?) Not too long after you are here you realize that the water faucet set up (designed to minimize freezing), is a total disaster and, we understand, parts in all of the pipes have already been replaced once. The wi-fi here is a disappointment--very weak signal and we are in the center of the park. Of course, signs on the power posts can easily be placed, the poorly designed water faucets can be replaced, and the wi-fi and be beefed up. They cannot very well tear up the paved, highly-un-level sites. While we were here (just before bike week in Sturgis), every other campground in the area was full--this one was at least half empty. If they don't fix some things here, it will not make it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
This campground just opened in the Spring of 2006 and the operators must have actually asked RVers for input. Prospective builders of new RV parks should study Elkhorn Ridge to see the way things should be done. ALL the access roads and pads are paved. Each site is surrounded by neatly trimmed grass. There are three sewer drains on each pull-through site to accommodate a wide variety of RVs. One to three-bedroom cabins are also available in the campground. Tennis courts, a heated outdoor pool, and other recreation facilities are coming, but this campground isn't designed to be activity intense like many large KOAs. No old growth trees, but new plantings are in place throughout the campground. We noted a significant number of high-end rigs and even 45 footers had plenty of room along with their towed vehicles. Nice access to I-90, but very quiet at night. Close to Deadwood and Lead, about one hour from Devil's Tower in WY, and about 75 minutes away from Mt. Rushmore. Good base for extended stay in area. Operators seem very interested in campers feedback. We paid $40 with Good Sam discount. We stayed 10 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$43
A new, opened in April 2006, premier park. Just off I-90 at exit 17. Concrete slabs, lots of elbow room. I was one of only 10 coaches in the park on this date. I will return. Park is well designed and very modern. Lots of 'new' landscaping which has not matured yet. Lots of trees which will eventually provide shade. Nice clubhouse, office with big store. Near Deadwood and Mount Rushmore in the Black Hills of South Dakota. Good wifi. I'm using it to provide this review. Check-out is 'hotel' style. You get a receipt when you depart. Credit card is not billed until the day after you check-in. Strange for an RV Park. Has some cabins. Tennis courts, and heated swimming pool which I did not use. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com