218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Interlochen State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (231) 276-9511
CGID5400

Interlochen State Park

Camp Information
Sites
418
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   9   5   8   7   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Some parks just have a peaceful feel about them and this was one. We felt relaxed as soon as we had setup. The park is clean, and restrooms/showers are newer and well-kept. The park has a small store, a boat launch, beach front, and a walking trail. We attended a free concert at the nearby Arts Camp. Decent shopping just down the road, and an easy drive to Traverse City if need be. Our Verizon air card had an excellent 3G signal. Our only downsides were constant sounds from the band camps going on, and the closest laundry was in Traverse City. All in all a very nice MI State park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
Such a nice park! We moved here from a private park with electric & water only for $34/night and no shade. This is much nicer even though it is electric only. Lots of tall trees! We camped here during the week and found it very peaceful. Nice swim beach on the lake, too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Fabulous campground, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Use the state website, select a site and enjoy your stay just like we did. We were very happy with the restrooms and showers, the best we have ever seen. We have a large travel trailer and the site was virtually impossible to get out without going the wrong way down a one way street. We loved all the things to do in the area. Sleeping Bear Sand Dune, Traverse City, the concerts at Interlochen, wine tasting, swimming in Lake Michigan, etc. I could go on but you get the idea. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
Great State Park. Very clean restrooms & Showers. Nice Playground and camp store. Boat ramp to lake in campground. Shady sites in pine trees. Some sites are difficult to access for larger RVs. Beware of swimmer's itch if swimming in lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
Nice park, we've camped there a lot over the past 15 years. Big trees, good shade, you feel like you're in the woods. sites are close together, little if any privacy. Very busy on holiday weekends, make reservations for the best spots, while they have walk ons they are not the best sites, and might not be level. It can get loud and rowdy. Lake has swimmers itch. I would still recommend as Interlochen has grown over the years, and it's close to Traverse City. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
We love to camp in state parks. Sites were decent size: except by the Lake. The sites we were on were all dirt with very little grass. Bathrooms/showers were muddy when it rained from everyones feet, but once the weekend crowd left and the rain stopped it was much better. The only complaint we had was that we chose the campground because of the lake but there really wasn't much of a place you could fish from. We stayed here and spent a day in Traverse City and a day at the dunes: nice location that is woodsy but close to what we wanted to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
It is within an easy drive of the Sleeping Bear Dunes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$19
This is a beautiful campground with lots of shade and great fellow campers. Walking distance from the school and concerts. The only drawback is the lake. Horrible Swimmers Itch. Stay out. Take the time to drive into Traverse City and go to a city beach. Well worth your time. And actually, the nicest bathrooms I have ever seen in a campground. Great nature program for the kids too! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
We visited mid-week and luckily had no neighbors on either side so it made our site #349 feel much more roomy and quiet; we have a 30 ft class A. We liked the shade in this site and we found a fairly level spot in it. We needed to use our 30 amp extension cord since the electric hook-up for our site was on the "wrong" side. The sites close to the water were extremely crowded and noisy but had decent water access. Price isn't too bad for a Michigan state park (not counting the additional motor vehicle permit fees of $29 for MH and $29 for toad). Bathhouses were not close to us so we did not use them. Dump is easy to access and has fresh potable water that you can reach while dumping your tanks. Easy day trip to Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$19
Surprised there are no reviews of this very popular park yet. Interlochen is about 15 miles SW of Traverse City and less then 20 miles east of Sleeping Bear Dunes. Very centrally located to lots of outdoor fun and small towns with great shopping. The park itself is very wooded with many large sites. We prefer the south loop. There are many sites right on the lake with great views (most really don't have a beach, there is a drop). Most sites are level but be aware there are some that aren't and more for tents. 3 of the 4 shower/bathroom facilities have been remodeled in recent years to the new state park standard but the farthest south has not and is the "old" style. Still was fairly clean, considering a very busy 4th weekend and the water always hot. Was pleased with how quiet it was at night outside a few people here and there on a holiday weekend. DNR patrols at least once an hour. There is a small camp store on site where you can get ice and wood but you can easily get this stuff much cheaper at a gas station just a couple miles away. There are playgrounds in each loop as well as a ball field. Small beach near the camp store on the lake and you can rent boats and canoes. There are also 2 rustic (no hookups) loops about a half mile south of the main campground with lots of sites on a lake. We will be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com