223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Mueller State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (719) 687-2366
CGID541

Mueller State Park

Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   1   5   10   10   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2014
$22
This is by far our favorite campground/state park. The sites are large, level, private, scenic, quiet.... perfect. Though we've camped here often, this was only our second late fall camping trip to Mueller. The aspen colors were magnificent. Perfect temperatures in the daytime for hikes, although there were a couple days of snow/sleet and the nighttime temps were in the 20s and 30s. Shower house is kept pretty warm and the water temperature was perfectly warm. The rangers and visitor center staff are so friendly and helpful. And there are lots of opportunities for sightseeing within fairly close driving distance. Eleven Mile Canyon is 8 miles west in Lake George if you're into trout fishing and more beautiful scenery. Buena Vista is a little over an hour drive in the Collegiate Peaks area (lots of beautiful scenery). Cripple Creek/Victor is about a 20 minute drive south. Woodland Park has everything you might need to buy (AKA Walmart). Divide also offers a nicely supplied grocery store. I cannot think of any negatives to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$22
What a great spot! Mueller is one of the best state parks in the system and we keep coming back and loving it! The paving operations were complete as of mid-September and it makes the park just that much nicer. Our space, #120, was perfectly level! Can't say much more than has already been said, except that this is a great place to get away from it all. Super quiet (and REALLY dark!) at night! A cool place to visit that is really close to the park is the Colorado Wolf and Wildlife Center located a couple of miles west of Divide. An awesome experience! To the poster who gave this park a "1" because you couldn't take your dogs hiking, get a grip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$21
One of the best campgrounds I have ever stayed in with wonderful scenery, hiking trails, showers, paved roads and pads. The place is spotless. Rangers and volunteers are plentiful and helpful. Twenty one dollars is the basic rate with electricity. There is a $7 a day use fee. If you don't want to pay the use fee and use the CO state parks frequently buy a pass. This park is filled every night during the summer. Once school starts overnighters can generally find a vacant site. The park is very convenient to Highway 24--4.5 miles away from the Divide intersection. Since this is a destination site, if you are planning to spend more than one night, make reservations. We have been here often and have never encountered a dirty restroom. Note for tenters: Walk in sites are almost always available BUT they live up to their names. They are beautiful and private and a long ways from the parking area. So if you don't want to haul your gear you might want to reserve an electric site. Most have tent pads. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
Dogs are NOT allowed in most areas of the park! This campground is not suited for dogs. Dogs are only allowed on the roads with a 6ft leash. We had two close calls with speeding cars. State Rangers strictly enforce the rules. The campground is designed for equestrian use. We did not get to see any trails or enjoy the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
We have always enjoyed this as our favorite State Park and go there 4-5 times a year. This time, the lady at the entry shack was just plain rude when my wife asked a simple question! We were also shocked at how Filthy the toilets were! The outhouse I used looked like it hadn't been cleaned all season. I went to the "visitor services" bldg. and they had two stalls. One was clogged up and overflowed and the other was filthy, with "stuff" all over the floor. The staff and management have really dropped the ball lately! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$23
Great park. The bathrooms and shower facilities were clean and well maintained, the park hosts made sure that the area was clean of trash and debris. This campground had the "woodsy" feel that we were desiring. It appears that they have been doing some repaving of the roads in certain loops within the campground. Of the three campgrounds we stayed in during our last trip, this one was by far the nicest in our opinion. We definitely would stay here again but the park books up quickly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
Our favorite park to visit. Sites are large with lots of trees and several sunny sites if you like that better. Great trail system to go hiking in outstanding scenery. Bathrooms were clean and the park is well maintained. Just a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
Amazing views, friendly staff, and pristine hiking/biking trails await you at this fine CO State Park. Every site was wide, paved and shaded. We appreciated the very nice laundry facility and restrooms. Many of the water spigots were out of order for repairs during our entire 12 day visit, and this caused a bit of a issue for us to access water. However, we were told by the staff that we could move to a site that had better access to a spigot if we wanted to do so. 100% of the trails are totally off limits to dogs, a fact we wish we would have known prior to making our reservation. Also, the only fishing available at the park is from small, un-stocked ponds, but world class trout fishing is nearby. This being said, Mueller State Park, like so many other parks in CO is truly a not-to-miss adventure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
High up in the mountains with excellent views of Pikes Peak. Huge wooded sites and many are pull through. Quiet. Wonderful hiking and cool summer nights. Clean bathrooms. Nice playground over looking the mountains. Good roads. New visitors center and museum. My complaint with all Colorado State Parks is the reservation system. I do not like the fact that all the sites are reserved. People reserve a site then never cancel and never show up so premium sites go empty on the weekend. If you plan on camping in the Colorado mountains next year make your reservations now. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$19
Nightly fee is with life time pass. This park is the jewel in the crown of CO state parks. Beautiful views, hiking trails, large private camp sites--this campground has everything I consider important in a campground. It even has electricity and water to fill your fresh water tank. Fill up at the dump site. There are water faucets in the campground, but you can't fill your tanks there. If your main concern is full hook ups and a perfectly level parking pad then you might want to stick the KOAs. If you can tear yourself away from these conveniences you will have a magical camping experience. For tenters there are beautiful walk in sites. The park is spotless. Rangers and volunteers are plentiful if you have questions or problems. This park fills up every night from mid May to mid September. Reservations are a must for RVers. Tenters who are willing to use the walk in sites can usually find one vacant on week days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
This has gotta be one of Colorado best state parks. I reserve my space as close to 6 months in advance as possible so I can get my favorite spot. The sites are nicely spaced apart with trees separating most of them. The bathroom and showers are constantly keep clean. The electricity is stable, and with a really high quality cell booster your Verizon hot spot can get 3g. The rangers are constantly patrolling the area and are are extremely friendly. There are lots of well marked trails and the difficulty level of each is clearly indicated. The only reason I give this park a 10 is because 11 wasn't available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
The campground is located within a large, beautiful wilderness recreation area. It is clean, reasonably quiet and peaceful. The sites could have been a little more roomy for large rigs, but we managed. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
Beautiful! Beautiful! Beautiful! We try to stay here every year and it is always a favorite! This year we stayed in sites #92 and #93 with friends and had a great time! Very quiet and peaceful surroundings with lots of trees. Campground is very clean and well maintained and the rangers are friendly and helpful. Hookups are electric only, but water spigots are available throughout the campground. The only "oops" I had was watch out for the trees when pulling in and out of your site. Sideswiped a small tree and sapped the side of the RV. Be careful. Can't wait to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
The whole campground is in the trees with great shade. Awesome scenery. Beautiful state park with fun activities for kids. Fishing ponds, playground, ranger talk in the amphitheatre, and a hiking trail geared specifically towards kids. There are 50 miles of different hiking trails for all types. There is a nice dump station and several potable RV water fill stations. Bathrooms are very clean. All of the folks working there were fantastic. They were knowledgeable of the area and seemed pleased to help in any way. We drove through the whole campground and noticed that 99% of the campsites were all great sites. We loved this place and will definitely go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
We've camped several times at Mueller SP, one of Colorado's newest. The well maintained campsites are along a mountain spine with great views east or west. To the east is Pikes Peak and you can see all the way to the Collegiate Peaks to the west. There are 50 miles of hiking trails. Restrooms are spotless and entertainment programs at dusk are provided on Fri. and Sat. evenings. The park maintains a stable and corral. The park is not far from Cripple Creek, Florissant Ntl. Monument and Colorado Springs. We go there just to hike and rest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Great state park, loved it. I tend to like rustic settings though. Price reflects daily vehicle entrance fee. This is an electric only campground. Tons of great hiking trails. You could spend days here just hiking. High elevation makes for cool summer camping. We didn't even run the AC for the four nights we were here. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
My wife and I escape to Mueller State Park several times a year to enjoy the fresh air of the mountains. The Park has pristine beauty and a wonderful camping ambiance. We love it there and highly recommend this Park to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
Wonderful park with amazing hiking trails and ultra clean amenities. We stayed on the Conifer Loop with a view of Pikes Peak (I think). The sites are well spaced with water taps regularly placed. The facilities are very clean and you see the rangers come through cleaning every day. It was nice and quiet with fairly level sites. There are many long pull throughs. We enjoyed it so much we are going in another couple weeks to finish out the season! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This is a beautiful mountain park. The sites are large and very private. Many of the sites have a view of Pike's Peak. The campground has many hiking trails but no map which gives you the distances. They are supposedly working on that now. The bathrooms were very clean but there was no hot water in the ladies showers. We had good WiFi with our Verizon air card and TV with our dish. There are water fills about every 6th site. We would stay here again and hope the shower issue is resolved. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
We stayed at Mueller State park last year. We were on the Conifer Ridge area. We loved this park: had lots of trees, clean bathrooms, laundry room to do your wash, and gorgeous views. I would go back to this park anytime: LOVED IT. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
We stayed at the park for our 1st trip to Colorado. So many of our friends told us how incredible Muller is and now we believe them. What an incredible park and area to RV in. We had a fabulous time. The park's staff is one of the best we've encountered. The nightly programs in the amphitheater are very educationional as well as entertaining. We can't wait to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$24
A beautiful state park with beautiful views. We stayed overnight. I wish we'd had more time here. The nightly camping rate was $18.00 and there is a $6.00 daily entrance fee to the park for a total of $24.00 daily 12n - 12n. Every site had electric and paved pad. Water faucets are avail about every 4th site. You can hook up to fill your tank then unhook. The sites are spaced but not private (where we were). The park is a long drive to/from anywhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
Perhaps the best state park in Colorado! Sites are roomy and well spaced so even "noisy" neighbors are not a bother! We were in site #93 on Grouse Mountain and loved it! Really not a bad spot anywhere in the cg. Only reason I gave it a 9 was because the trash cans were all full and had not been dumped in awhile. Vegetation was a little overgrown and brushed the sides of the TT when going to and from our site. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
This is the finest Colorado state park we have stayed at to date. Very well maintained and clean. Bathroom and showers are very clean and up to date. Showers cost $1.00 for four minutes and each additional quarter buys you another minute. Breathtaking scenery is complimented by an interpretive center with knowledgeable staff. The park is patrolled regularly by rangers who are helpful and also ensure rules are followed. Wildlife can be seen throughout the park and is home to elk, deer and bear just to name a few. Firewood may be purchased on site and is quite reasonable. Campfires are restricted to provided fire rings. I highly recommend camping at this jewel of Colorado. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
This is a beautiful State Park. We had a pull through site which was shaded with pine trees. Although there were lots of trees, we still had a "view" for our satellite system. The showers are coin operated and had sufficient hot water, but were somewhat dirty with leftover socks, razors, and shampoo bottles littering the area. All of the park staff were very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
One of the nicest parks we've ever stayed at. HOWEVER, the state of Colorado is a bit greedy, they charge a daily use fee for both the TOAD and the M.H. What is really ironic is that they do not charge the same if your living unit is towed. The nightly rate shown above reflects this. Great trails, well maintained campground, you cannot get better rving than this! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
This is a beautiful mountain State Park. We camped here in a tent trailer,and that was kind of a pain,because we could not leave anything in our camper because of bears. We will camp here again when we upgrade to a TT. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
Wonderful park-Highly recommend-if they had water to the sites it would be perfect. Staff was great-most sites are pull through on the side of the road with a grassy-tree area between you and the road and space. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
This is such a perfect place to camp! The sites are very private and surrounded by forests and mountains. Most sites are pull-thru. The roads are paved. There is water available in several sites of every campground section. There are walking trails and horse rides. And many opportunities for site-seeing nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$18
One of the crown jewels of CO State Parks!! CG is kept in excellent condition, Rangers friendly and knowledgeable. Great programs in Ampitheatre! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Mueller campground is on a wide mountain ridge. Fantastic views right and left! Charge $1.50 for showers. Laundry. Bug free. Bear country (never saw any). Consider Peak View or Conifer Ridge for best views. Reverend's Ridge for large pull-through sites. Good hiking. High altitude - but no problem if you stay well hydrated and move slowly. Excellent Ice Cream cones at the "Giddyup Restaurant" in Divide. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$14
One of the best parks in Colorado. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$16
What a beautiful, peaceful, quiet, well-maintained campground. Surrounded by forest and mountains with deer that walk through your campsite and flocks of turkey roaming around, this campground gives wonderful opportunity to be in the great outdoors. The hiking trails are well marked. The shower/laundry facilities are excellent. Hot water and clean, well worth the couple quarters it takes to use the showers. Rangers patrol frequently and campers feel very secure. We'll go again as often as possible. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$18
This is an excellent park in the Colorado Springs area near Pikes Peak. The altitude is near 8500' so it can be cold at night. A heavily used park, you'll need reservations for most weekends in season. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$18
Beautiful campground in the mountains with very spacious wooded sites. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com