214823 User submitted reviews online!!
North Fork Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (540) 636-2995
CGID5414

North Fork Resort

Camp Information
Sites
430
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   7   10   4   8   5   6   2   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
We stayed in C section. Sites are pull thru but extremely narrow. Not wide enough if you have slide and an awning. Very poor tv reception. WiFi is an additional cost. Do NOT purchase. Cost $3/day or 3 day for $5. Purchased 3 day plan got to use for day and a half. Spoke to office gave me a free day but the WiFi came up and then quit for the last 3 days of my stay. When it was up the connection were very very slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
We stayed here as part of our Coast to Coast membership. Some of the sites are along the Shenandoah River, but we stayed up on a hill in Section C. The site felt a little narrow, and if someone had been in the next site we would not have been able to put out the awnings, but opening the slides was no problem. The campground is quiet, though it seemed that several "seasonal" campers near us left for work very early in the morning. Although they don't have cable TV (and antenna channels were quite limited) they do have a club house with 2 satellite TVs available. The WiFi access is deceptive -- you can purchase a code for $3.00 per day, or $5.00 for 3 days, but the service was pretty slow and uneven, bumping us off time after time. All things considered we were quite comfortable here, the campground is very close to the north entrance to the Skyline Drive, and we would stay here again. We camped here in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$21
Narrow unlevel sites. Power OK at about 110 volts. Nice pools, lakes are green ponds. Many sites ars occupied by seasonals. At the Passport America rate listed it is a acceptable deal. However $42 a night would be a deal breaker. No where, worth that amount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$10
We stayed here on Coast-to-Coast points. Paved interior roads with gate-guard security. 50 amp, cable TV, and shade trees are not available in the short term areas. Grass sites are pull-through and fairly level, although not very wide. We had no one in the site on our curb side, so had plenty of room. (Although our site was pull through, we had to back out due to a large motorhome that had set up so far back in his space that he blocked the pull-out road. I guess his kids needed the space in front of his coach for a playground.) We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$21
This park scores low for us because it smells like a sewer. The rate reflects Passport America. However, we were charged an extra $5.00 a night for Wi-Fi for each computer. Save the money on the Wi-Fi for the service is slower than frozen molasses in a snow storm. Never did determine where the sewer smell came from. We were in Section "C" and there was not enough room to extend our awning. The park is on the banks of the Shenandoah River. ALL SITES slope toward the river and are NOT LEVEL. Our final step exiting the motorhome was 18". There is a Putt Golf Course that was unusable due to lack of cleaning. The park is very large and seems to have a lot of activities. There appears to be RV's stored in spots that appear as if they should be declared unfit for use. I'd say the reviews by others complaining about the park are valid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
Price was PA. This resort was easy to find. Has a gate person requiring in and out checking of card. Site had adequate room. Satellite worked well. Laundry/bathroom very clean. Good location from touring the area. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
First of all, this has the potential of being a really nice campground. The fact that the riverfront sites are filled with trashy, decrepit trailers totally ruins the appearance of the park. The upper, wooded tier seems well maintained and has nice shaded sites, many of which have decks. Along the river the sites are open and many have open views to the southern sky for satellite dishes. Although the park had at least 200 trailers in the campground, most were sitting empty during the week we were there. The price listed is for Coast to Coast members ($10 a day) plus a $5 per day charge for 50 amp electrical service. While this park is convenient to town, shopping and the Shenandoah National Park, I think I'd try another nearby C2C park next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
Steep downhill entry into CG - had to stay in first gear. Many Speed Bumps. Tree-filled area - could not get satellite reception, and very limited air card reception. Big place yet quiet and comfortable. Bathrooms / Showers clean. Price reflects Passport America discount, plus charge for 2 additional adults. Probably would not return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$44
Campground is on the river although the river site area is very roudy and loud. There are several pools, but did not use them because they were always crowded and were full of children. The sites are narrow and some very difficult to get into. Cell phone service was bad which caused a lot of dropped calls. We would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$21
Rate reflects PA discount. The entrance has a steep hill and a guard shack on top. The lady super guard may tell you to pull through and park on the downhill. It's steep. I have a big RV so I set the brake and used a chock too. Then when you leave you have to climb the hill and stop at the shack again and wait for an arm to lift. Not sure why they would restrict the exit?? The park is old and some of the facilities no longer exist. Their Wi-Fi was very spotty and not reliable at all. Overnight sites are on the hill and not level. Seasonal sites down by the river are level. Without the discount I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2010
$42
Sites are cramped and not level. WiFi was $5 charge per computer, the connection was slow and intermittent. When the office advised, they said "no guarantee: buy at your own risk." We stayed for 3 days, was ok, but wouldn't stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$10
Wow. What a difference a few years makes. I camped here in the Summer of 2003 and this was a fairly decent place. The spaces in section C were tight, but the park was well-groomed and looked nice. This has completely changed. Junky campers that appear to be placed here for the long term, uncut grass, terrible power. I'm glad I have a good surge protector for my unit. They only have 30AMP and that's unreliable at best. I can't run the microwave while the a/c is going or it flips the breaker. I will not be returning here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
I don't know why they call this a resort. The campground is huge but the sites are very tight, poorly groomed and showing a lack of maintenance. With our 4 slides out we had a 4' x 8' area of grass to sit on. They tried to charge me $3 a day for internet service that I refused to pay. We had to pay $40 for the first night then $20 with Passport America. Bottom line is that this campground is more like a $10 a night place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
Passport America rate. The pool, cafe and game room are only open on the weekend. Wi-Fi cost $5 for two days and is only good for one computer. If you have a second computer, then you have to pay another $5 ($3 for one day). Wi-Fi charges are not noted in the Passport guide. We were in section C and sites are packed in tightly. This campground is only good for an overnight stay at the Passport rate. The $40 per day normal rate is way too high. We will not be making a repeat appearance at this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Passport America rate. We had stayed here before for an overnight passing thru spot so we knew what to expect. It hasn't changed. Section C is tight (we had to ask our neighbors if we could move their table so our slide would open). Could not level well front to back, had three inche levelers on the front and sides. All section C seemed to be on a hillside. OK for a cheap overnighter, but we question how well it would be for a membership park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Passport America rate. This is a large park which is open all year round but this time of year it has only "Dry Camping". Unaware of this point as it isn't mentioned on their PA webpage. You pay the regular price but get no water, sewer, cable and WIFI is an extra $3 per day. If you arrive on a weekend then their is no discount and you pay the regular much higher rate. The 30 AMP boxes also were beat and needed repairs to make them safer. An active Railroad track goes through the middle of this camp so spend your money on a hotel room this time of year as the water isn't turned on until April. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$24
We camped there on a night with a low of 15 degrees and needed 50 amps and when we called the office they said they had it. On arrival assigned to section C which is where they put transients. This area is supposed to have 50 amps and they have 50 amp plugs but only one leg works so RV only gets 30 amps. When I complained they checked with their electrician and he confirmed what I said. They do have 50 amps along riverfront but these sites are reserved for "owners" and are unavailable for transients. With 40 foot MH it is very tight to maneuver in C section - not big rig friendly. Good 24 hour gated security. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
This is a nice park with the exception of section C. The sites in this section are very tight. The check in check out gate is narrow on top of a 10% grade hill, you have to pull down the hill about 100 feet park then walk back up. The river site we had was nice gravel and level. There are so many seasonal trailers it would be easier to count the open sites. The river is crystal clear with ducks and other wildlife. We also had cell service with Verizon. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$10
We had a full hookup site with 50 amps. It was one of the better sites, as we backed up to the river. Our site was all dirt. If it rained we would have had all mud. Very little gravel on our site. The site was level. Many of the site are very very close, looked like a storage area. If we would have had one of these we would have asked for another if available, or left. We stayed here as CDC members and at $10. a night with full hook up and back up to the river we felt like it was worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
We loved camping here during our visit to the Skyline Drive. There was a lot to do and the kids really had fun. It's in the ideal location at the foothils of the drive. I would definitely recommend it. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2007
$20
This park was very disappointing. Our site, C15 was a very tight fit. Trees were an issue as well as neighboring campers. There was no way you could even put an awning out. The majority of the people there were permanent. Looks like a trailer park- not an RV park. We should have taken these reviews more seriously. We will not stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$8
We camped here in a 40 footer. Sites are very narrow (in C section) with a table and fire ring. Thankfully no one used their fire ring. We had to move the motorhome forward to be able to put the awning out. A lot of permanent residences - no blue tarps though. Personnel friendly. Separate swimming pools. Easy access to tourist activities, ie: Shenandoah National Park, Monticello, Harpers Ferry (WV), caverns etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2007
$40
Older park in need of some TLC. Good place for seasonal family camping. Lots and lots and lots of trailers, a lot of which belong in junk yards. The trailer across from us had all kinds of crap surrounding it. I am surprised they have not been told to clean it up. But if you get past that, they do have a lot to keep kids busy. This is a Coast-to-Coast campground that also allows Passport America and another club. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$20
Stayed overnight. Staff very friendly and helpful. Had a good pull thru site, easy to get into and level. Will be back again. Had wireless, but no cable TV and could not get anything on the antenna? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
Extremely clean restrooms and showers. Many amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2006
$24
We were just looking for an over night place to camp and found this campground listed as in Passport America. The pull thru site we were assigned was very unlevel and the utility connections were reversed, which put the connections at the opposite end of the trailer. I.E. the drive thru should have been opposite to the assigned flow. Not sure why this was this way. I would guess this is an old campground by the looks. The staff attitude from calling in over the phone thru check in/check out was not all that friendly. A better place for an over nite stop over would have been a parking lot since it would have been level and not all the hoops to jump thru checking in and out. This may be a good campground for a destination for a family with kids, but I would not recommend it for an over night stop over. Save your money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com