206486 User submitted reviews online!!
McCloud Dance County RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (530) 964-2252
CGID5418

McCloud Dance County RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   9   7   7   5   6   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Nice park with some beautiful grassy and shady sites. Too bad there is so much highway noise. The truckers think it's fun to use their jake brakes coming into McCloud and it goes on most of the night and day. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. This park is under new ownership since the beginning of this year and they are making a concerted effort to make this a great park although there is still some updating and maintenance to be done. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Gorgeously grassy and roomy sites that were level enough are the best features we enjoyed on our one-night stopover here. The host was busy and just showed us to our site and took our money, leaving us to discover anything else for ourselves. For the price, I think we'd elect to travel a little farther down the highway, but otherwise it seemed like a great place, with a nice dog walking area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
This is a nice park with welcomed shade on a hot afternoon. Our 50 amp space was relatively level, grass, but a bit on the wet side. We put down jack pads and had no problem with leveling. Host was very friendly, helpful with directions, and a pleasure to check in with. Some sites are a bit close, but we had plenty of room for all four slides and a nice seating area. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
This park is under new management and it shows. The access roads are paved and in good condition. We stayed in site 15 which is a concrete pad, it was level and had gravel as well as grass on both sides. The park has trees that shade many sites but for those sites in the sun there are trees close by that provide shade to sit under. The bath rooms were old, but clean. We will be returning to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
The park is beautiful, but the spaces are small and way too close together. The sprinklers seem to run all day in different areas leaving flooded areas. When you pull in, your site may be full of puddles. They were also burning debris and the wind brought the smoke into our rigs. The operations - people need to plan a little better and consider their guests. Otherwise, I would give the park a "10". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
Park like setting with lots of tall pines (prevented satellite reception). Check in was friendly and efficient. The office has a few basic RV supplies and ice cream. The grounds were clean and well maintained. The sites were level. The few pull throughs are short and grass. There are some paved back in sites; they appeared quite short. Restrooms/showers were rustic but clean; good water pressure and hot water in the shower. Laundry room floor was clean but the area around the washer lids were filthy. There is a restaurant (expensive) and Chevron convenience store within walking distance. A small market is across the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
We stayed here for 1 week to visit the area. When we made our reservation we were not told of the fires in the area, some days the smoke was really bad. The park itself is nice with a lot of tall pine trees and grass. The laundry room was dirty and smelly, did not use it. This is a campground for weekenders who like to party. It is too high priced for the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
If this park wasn't located in a very convenient location, I probably wouldn't stop here. All of the pull-throughs are on grass, and I've yet to be placed in one that was level front-to-back or L-to-R. The pull-throughs are also very close to CA Hwy 89, on a slight grade, so the big rigs rumble past either climbing or decelerating. Noisy. Many of the back-ins are on concrete, but tree limbs were bent against the back window of my 28.5' fiver the times I've been in such a site. The park is otherwise tidy and in a shady setting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Nice place other then the traffic. An ear plugs park to sleep at night. Lots of cable TV channels and the Wi-Fi was "free". Sometimes it was fast, sometimes not. Easy in and out with a 60 foot truck and trailer combo. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We stayed here for one night. The park gives you that outdoor feeling. Big trees all around you. The parking was on dirt but were level and wide enough for all of my sides and then some. Perfect for a family to enjoy the outdoors. The only negative is it is next to a major road that has truck traffic. The upshifting and downshifting of the trucks was all night. I would have rated this park an 8 if it were not for the truck noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
I loved staying at this park! Lots of grass, pine trees, and little ponds in the park. There are full and partial hookups. We had a full view of Mt. Shasta from our trailer! The park attendants were very helpful when we asked for area hikes they gave us copies of local trails. It's close to lots of natural area attractions, and many people are hanging outside their RV's in lawn chairs and enjoying walks around the park. It's definitely a place you could spend a week and totally relax. Would give it a 10 but wi-fi costs extra here. I would still return because the campground is so lovely. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
We've driven by this campground for years and always thought it looked so nice nestled in the trees. This year we got the opportunity to stay overnight when passing though and really liked it. We were there very early in the their open season and there were only 2 other campers there. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. There's a mix of RV sites with everything from level concrete pads to gravel and grass tent sites. With the exception of maybe one or two sites, all are back-ins. There's plenty of shade trees, a creek running through, and a small pond. The park is right next to a well traveled two lane highway, so there is some noise during the day, but it was quiet at night. We were told this park is PACKED full around June and July, so reservations are strongly recommended. We'll most certainly come back and stay longer. Price paid reflects a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
We love to find lesser-known places of dramatic natural beauty, and McCloud fits the bill. This RV park sits near the base of spectacular Mount Shasta, adjacent to Shasta-Trinity National Forest, and there's world-class Trout & Steelhead fishing nearby. The park is immaculate, with rolling green lawns, towering trees, 2 trout ponds and a babbling brook running right through. The park-like setting is very clean and quiet, with large sites and choice of partial or full hook-ups (30 and 50-amp) or grassy tent campsites along the forest. They also have really nice luxury camping cabins for the times when you don't have the RV with you. The park staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the Wi-Fi worked great. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
Wi-Fi was weak, at times; I just switched to my air card. It was much faster, so I stuck with it. We had 30 amp service on a lightly-loaded circuit, so we could run BOTH A/C units; our travel friends two sites away, on a different circuit, avoided all other electrical draws and still could only run one A/C. They were a bit more friendly, this year. Two years ago, they were quite unfriendly (not rude, just busk). They raised our rate from $21 to $31, although they originally agreed to freeze the 2007 rate (for our 2008 reservation). Due to my health incident in Ohio, we rolled over the reservation to 2009; price rose 50%, so decided to stay only 5 nights, instead of 7 that had been pre-paid in 2007. $155.xx for 5 nights, vs. $121.xx for six nights (pay for 6, 7th night is free). They still owe me $10 refund for the unused days on original reservation. Sites near the hwy get to hear noisy logging trucks all day, some at night. Away from the hwy it's less noisy. Like many parks, they charge a fee for visitors. (Unless you persuade they're not visiting: rather drop-off/pick-up stuff or camper, only. Not using the facility.) Wanted to charge our non-camping friends to use a picnic table for lunch (they just left the park, instead). Despite the fee hike, we will probably stay here next time. Our purpose was to attend week-long dance event at Dance Country, it's so close: walking distance to the dance hall! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We enjoyed this park but were only there 1 night. If you want shade you have to pick a back in with 30 amp and no cable or sewer but that was fine since we had a satellite. The staff was friendly. Park is very well maintained. Some sites are near the highway and you would not be able to sleep with your window open. Wi-Fi worked great. Would like to come back and use it to explore Mt. Shasta. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
We stayed here for 9 days in the middle of the summer. It is a great place during the week but for a holiday or busy weekend, it can be pretty cozy as some of the sites are pretty close together. The staff are great - friendly and helpful. The place is clean and nicely landscaped with lots of grass and big trees. The WiFi was okay, the laundry room was clean and the machines worked. There is a great restaurant very close by. We did some exploring in the area and will come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
WOW what a nice park. Very friendly and great pull through sites. Stayed here for a couple days with our RV group and had a great time. Loved the town and the park. Shady spots, great view of Mt Shasta. Will come back here again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
We enjoyed this campground very much. We used it as a base to explore the Shasta area. Very friendly staff and the grounds were well maintained. The only negative was that the laundry room dryers were not working while we were there. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$33
We had to pull out early due to an impending snow storm, else we would have stayed a week. We liked the atmosphere (even in November), and would definitely stay here again. We had relatives in the area and also had reservations for the Shasta Sunset Dinner Train. Great small town atmosphere and close to lots to do in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$37
This is a very nice "grassy" park. The cable TV selection and signal quality is very good. Wi-Fi service is also very good. The only down side is the park is adjacent to the highway so it was a little noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
Great park! Nice extremely friendly and accommodating park host. Wonderfully clean and lovely grass at most sites. We went with another couple on a short notice and were able to get side by side in a full campground. Sites are a bit cramped but premium sites are more liveable mostly if wanting to be outside. They accept Good Sam Club members and allowed my four small Shih Tzus to come without any extra charge. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2008
$23
We were part of a group, we were quoted one price, and charged several different prices in each rig. We were supposed to be all in the same area, but were split up. The spaces were to small for some of the rigs, some could not get the awnings out. Their was an infestation of yellow jackets, ing the ground and the electric boxes. The voltage was insufficient at the sites with electricity, and during the peak of the day was lucky if you got 108 volts, some sites actually was blowing circuit breakers. The park itself is very nice to look at. Trees do need pruning at most sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$23
This is a park in an attractive setting. Small creeks and ponds run through the park with horse pasture and Mt.Shasta near by. Most sites were wide but not all. Good shade. Some leveling needed on my grass site(111) and adjacent sites but the concrete padded sites looked fine. No real general store but town is very close. No WiFi is a notable neg. Facilities were spotless. Hookups were in good working order. This would be a great park if traveling with a group. I'll go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
I really like the area this park is in, and the setting is wonderful. This is an old park and most of the spaces are too close together for todays equipment. There are spaces that are great, but used by monthly renters. Some of the best sites are located in the grassy center of the park but are water & electric (30amp) only. While I was there I was lucky to get a full hookup 50Amp site with plenty of room, but that is the exception. I still recommend this park as a nice place to stay while visiting the surrounding area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
Made reservations 6 months in advance and specifically asked for a shade site and when arriving at site only to discover site was in full sun! Was told no other sites available, but other shady sites remained vacant during our stay. Low voltage at site. Only one person in office so check-in was very slow as many people waiting, she was nice though. Modem hookup is through pay phone outside. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$28
This is a beautiful little park near Mt. Shasta. We used it as a base camp to explore Northern California. Very friendly and helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com