223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Priest Gulch Campground & RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (970) 562-3810
CGID542

Priest Gulch Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   10   9   10   9   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
Can't rate this campground a 10 because the roads and sites aren't paved, no pool, no hot tub, and terrible Wi-Fi. Reservations for a site are kind of hokey as some of the "buds" of the campground seem to get their same site year after year, but for the rest of us, these prime sites aren't available. Loved the relaxing river, the neighbors, the free firewood, the nice paths to walk your dog, and just generally sitting around your site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
My oh my, nothing to dislike unless you're going to sit in your motorhome and expect to watch TV all day. The location trumps any need for electronic devices. All sites are shaded and meets our expectations. The riverbank sites are "to die for". Reserve early. A week and a half notice didn't get us one. Bring your kids, fishing poles, and cameras. You will miss an opportunity for full enjoyment if you don't stay at this CG. No negatives except the absence of cable TV and this CG will overpower you without it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
This is one of the best parks we have stayed at. The area is beautiful, the staff is friendly, hiking is just across the street, and the fishing is great. Bathroom/shower facilities are spotless, nice store with goods fishing tackle licenses, etc. On Saturday mornings they have great fresh baked cinnamon rolls. We had such a good time we already made our reservation for next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
We love this campground. The staff are great people who really care about keeping things clean and in working order. The river running through the middle of the campground makes it one of the more enjoyable places we've ever stayed. Almost the entire property is shaded some sites with small lawns. The WiFi is weak in some spots but who wants to be "connected" in a place like this. The free firewood (donations accepted in the office) is a great bonus and begs for a cocktail by the fire every evening. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
Priest Gulch is a beautiful, well-kept campground. The location is scenic and mostly quiet, with a little highway noise for the campsites up front. Since the beautiful Delores River divides the campground, it is necessary to cross a very narrow bridge to get to sites across the river. We scratched one of our rear-view mirrors while crossing the bridge, so use caution if you choose one of those campsites. The campground owner provides free firewood, which is a great bonus for cool nights. Each campsite includes a picnic table, full hookups, and a fire pit. There is no cable TV, but satellite antennas work in some sites. There are a lot of trees in the campground so satellite reception is iffy. Two drawbacks to the campground are 1) no Wi-Fi,and 2) the distance to any sort of town. It is 35 miles to the closest Walmart or any other national chain stores in Cortez. There are a few shops and a grocery store in the small town of Dolores, which is 25 miles away. There is a small store in the campground office, but they don't have much there at all. There is acceptable cellphone coverage and the public showers and toilets are spotless. The laundry facility is clean and the machines work great. All in all, Priest Gulch is a great place to camp. It is a great base camp for day visits to Teluride, Durango, or the Mesa Verde National Park. Our rate is for a weekly stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Priest Gulch is one of the nicest parks I have ever stayed in. We were there for 2 weeks, on the Dolores River and it was GREAT. Nice and quite and all the Priest Gulch personnel were very helpful. Due to fire restrictions, there were no camp fires in the park. Great place to explore southwest Colorado. I would tell ALL of my friends that it is the best park around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
We love, love, love this park! We've stayed here several times (maybe 7 or so) for a week or two at a time. The grounds are beautifully kept. The spaces are level and shady. The staff is super nice. However, some upgrade on the Wi-Fi is required. We are NOT "unplugged" kind of people. And with more and more guests using the Wi-Fi in the park these days, the Wi-Fi is becoming unbearable. Wouldn't stop us from staying here again and again, it's just the only thing needing improvement. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
We really love this park. Beautiful location, great staff. On the river, wide spaces, some with grass. Tables, fire ring, free firewood. Neat custom of having guests paint rocks (paint in the office) and leave them in the rock garden. Only complaint was the Wi-Fi. Weak, and often down. It was a problem throughout the park, no matter what device you were using or location in the park. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
Easy well marked access from the main road. Well maintained gravel roads with level gravel sites located adjacent to the Dolores River in the beautiful San Juan Mountains. Utilities are conveniently located and worked properly. The sites are all under trees with many having quality grass between. Quiet setting with fishing, hiking in the area. This is one of the finest RV park we have had the pleasure to stay in. No cell phone coverage but the Wi-Fi worked kind of great, satellite TV worked fine. Free fire wood with a fire ring at each site. RV camping the way it should be! Pet friendly. It’s the totality of the camping experience with mountain setting, spectacular views, sounds of the river and quiet setting, friendly and helpful staff and clean facilities. We will be back!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
We camped here on the 'maiden voyage' in our motorhome. We picked a winner right off the bat. We only stayed 3 nights and then came back later in the summer for a week. Very serene and peaceful with roomy sites. Staff is wonderful and enforce their campground policies, which is very refreshing. It's a distance from the bordering small towns which we liked since we came to relax and enjoy the natural beauty. There is a little camp store that is well stocked with soft serve ice cream and freshly made (by the owner) cinnamon rolls on Sat. mornings. We've booked a site for next year already. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
We've stayed here twice and are very pleased with this RV park. The sites are large and very nice. Most of the sites are right along the banks of the river. It's a ways to the nearest town but they do have a small store on site that has a lot of the basics. We are already planning our next trip back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Easy well marked access from the main road. Well maintained gravel roads with level gravel sites located adjacent to the Dolores river at 8100 feet in the beautiful San Juan Mountains. Utilities are conveniently located and worked properly. We have stayed here several times since 1989 and each time the owner makes improvements when we return. The sites are all under trees with golf course quality grass between. Very very quiet setting with fishing, hiking and biking in the area. No phony baloney tourist stuff-water slides, miniature golf, zip lines, fancy over priced restaurants with bad service and mediocre food. WalMart and other business are 35 miles away. This is the finest RV park we have stayed in. If you have a bucket list of places to stay-add Priest Gulch. The negatives: no cell phone, cable or off air TV coverage but the Wi-Fi worked great, satellite TV worked fine. Free fire wood with fire rings at each site. Its RV camping the way it should be! Pet and kid friendly. It’s the totality of the camping experience-wooded mountain setting, spectacular views, sounds of the river and quiet setting, smells of pine and fir, friendly and helpful staff and perfect facilities. We will be back!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
This is an absolutely beautiful campground. The Dolores River runs through the middle, with spaces on both sides of the river. Bridge was under repair during our visit, so the far shore was vacant. Although we arrived with no reservation, we were given a space on the river front (late season). The park was only about 1/2 full for this mid-October visit. The showers and rest rooms were clean and there was plenty of hot water. Laundromat was also clean and roomy with a folding table and a rolling basket to move laundry around. Note that the Dolores address is a little misleading, since the park is 25 miles (past Stoner) up the highway. I would definitely stay here again -- though I'll come a little earlier in the year, as it was freezing overnight (catching us by surprise) leaving me with a frozen water hose (that defrosted in our RV shower). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This park is immaculately groomed & cared for. We've never been in a cleaner park with owners that oversee the smallest of details. I've also never been in such a nice laundromat - it even had an ironing board & iron (that I used). The sites are mostly level & most have their own little grass area. Don't miss the cinnamon rolls on Saturday morning - little heaven on earth!!! The river runs right through the park and it's gorgeous! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
This is a beautiful campground with the Dolores river passing through the middle. Lots of spaces on the river and each has a fire ring with free wood available. Sites are spacious and restrooms are clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Really great campgrounds, nicely wooded with lots of shade and well spaced campsites. We stayed two weeks and it was absolutely beautiful. The campgrounds even provides free firewood and the Dolores River runs right through the campgrounds that has good fishing and great atmosphere. There is free WiFi that worked fairly well, but did have a problem the last day we were there, however, there were lots of thunderstorms there every afternoon. We will stay here again and recommend this site to all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
This is one of the most beautiful RV parks we've stayed in. The spaces are nice and wide, and each one has a fire pit (the park provides firewood). Plenty of trees, shade and grass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$43
I agree with all the other comments, but the campground should not be rated down because of other campers attitude. This can not be controlled by the management if they are abiding by it's rules. As for satellite coverage I can see roof top antennas having a problem, but if you have a carry out or a portable dish and enough cable you should be able to get reception. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
I'll echo all the wonderful things people say about this park - it's indeed a lovely, well-kept campground. That being said, there are a few caveats, some already mentioned. No cell service. OK, I can live with that. The Wi-Fi is fine, though I really resent paying $20 for a week on top of $37 a night for a site. We're on a site across the river and up against the mountain, and we think we're the only ones who were able to get satellite reception since we're using a Carryout. Those with rooftop dishes are blocked by the trees. The laundry room and bathrooms are spotless. There's only one bathroom building, and it's not close at all to the tent sites, so if you plan on going in a tent, be forewarned about your long walk to the bathroom. You can fish, and even catch fish, from the river, as long as there aren't kids playing in it with their inner tubes as there have been for several days. But there's plenty of wonderful fishing upstream. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Although this campground touts itself as "family friendly," that was not the experience we had. Management was friendly, but there are apparently many senior citizens who stay here long-term during the summer. Our kids (age 11 and 15) and ourselves received glares from many of these folks, even though they were not being loud or obnoxious. I've never stayed in a place where the people were so unfriendly. We won't be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
Great campground, well kept and clean,. All spaces had a fire ring and well spaced. Staff very helpful. Wi-Fi was a pay site and not good reception. No cable but we are camping and enjoying the area, not watching TV. This is a good place to relax. We stayed a week and would have stayed longer but didn't have reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
Loved this place!! Great location on the Dolores River with unlimited free firewood for campfires. A cute little area to paint your own river rock, so bring paints for the little ones. The bathroom/shower area was always vacant. There were plenty of washers and dryers for use. Nice shaded large sites with a security gate. It was awesome!! WiFi was $6.95/day and terrible. Don't go if you need the internet. No cell phone service (you're in between two huge mountains). It's a great campground! Just go to the grocery in Cortez before driving the mountain roads to camp. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
You can read the other reviews for a description of the campground. IMHO it is a little over priced for what you get at 37 a night plus tax. We had gravel and very little grass. The wireless internet connection is a rip off at $6.95 for 24 hours. They send you a e-mail explaining that the wireless is like cell phone service and can be spotty at best. I suggest for this price that could add a few more connection points around the campground to improve service. We did not let this affect our good time but will not be staying here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$21
We stayed at this park for a month. It is a beautiful park in a great location but could be improved upon. There is much mud and standing water in the back of the park. No phone service at all which is a serious safety issue! No cable service, and limited dish service due to the trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
Fantastic park to stay! Very scenic, right on the Dolores River. Most river sites have grass in between. People that work here are very friendly. Quite a few folks that are staying for several weeks. Quite a few expensive rigs camped in there! Pretty nice to sit right along the river in front of your fire ring in the evenings! We'll be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
This is a great park for camping. Sites were large, shady with nice, grassy areas on our site and firepits. A great place to get away from it all. It was not for us, however. Wi-Fi was available for $6.95 for a 24 hour period, $19.95 for a week. Pay phone available and office phone available for $.25/local call. It had only been open for a few days, so benefit of doubt given here. Wife says her shower was hot. Mine was luke warm at best in two trys. And, even knowing it was quite a ways from any town, it was too far for us, as we enjoy going out to dinner, that sort of thing. We moved after one night and were told that the rest of our reservation would be refunded, tho I didn't expect it. We'll see. We consider ourselves travelers as opposed to campers and moved to town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
Just an absolutely beautiful campground in a beautiful location. The host are very nice but book early because there are a lot of spots already taken by campers that stay all summer every year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$17
This park was recommended to us by friends and we were going to stay July, once here we decided to stay all of August too. Well maintained and very clean. Nice river running through park but it requires a Colorado fishing license. Wi-fi was a little expensive and no cell phone service. Store is pretty well stocked and you can get an afternoon ice cream. Close enough to many sites to use as a base camp. Great hiking trails around the park. At over 8,000 feet is nice and cool. Wish they had a hot tub. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
This is our favorite campground! The hosts are extremely pleasant and accommodating, and the setting is just gorgeous. The campground is meticulously maintained. The WiFi signal is strong. Be sure to book your space early as it really fills up in July and August with Texans trying to escape the summer heat. Many people come back year after year for a month or two. It is about 45 minutes from Telluride, which is a lovely day trip. The Dolores River runs right through the campground, and the fishing is decent. Bring supplies as it is a half hour drive to the WalMart in Cortez. There are several trails around the campground which are great for walking dogs. The campground provides free firewood (contributions accepted). We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$29
This is one of the nicest parks in a rural setting we have ever stayed. Well manicured and owners are RVers themselves and know what we want. I was told by regular returning guests that the owner always tries add something new each year to upgrade. We are already anticipating returning next year and staying at least 2 weeks. We planned to stay only 3 days but ended up staying 6 days. All sights have full hook-ups and are nicely spaced. We stayed there in a fifthwheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
We loved this campground. There are lots of sites on the river and the sites have space between them so you aren't jammed against your neighbor. Good fishing in the river. Owners are very willing to please. The restrooms are very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$31
Beautiful setting in the mountains north of Dolores. Sites are large and half of the sites backup to the river. Many of the sites have large grassy areas in between each RV which gives nice separation and adds the the beauty of the park. Laundry room was very clean and they have paid WiFi. No cell phone reception and you need to go to Dolores or Telluride and stock up on groceries. It's a 20 mile trip to Dolores. Excellent park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$30
This was a nice park to stay. We were able to visit Mesa Verde and Telluride and do some fishing using this as a base. The scenery was very nice and we enjoyed our stay. Pack in some food with you because there are no places to eat closeby and also not a grocery store for about 15 miles (at Dolores). The campgroung had a few supplies such as soft drinks and bread . Security is good as the place had a gate with a code to enter. We stayed about 4 days and the owner was at the sites checking out things frequently. They even let me wash my RV while I was there. Not all sites are river sites and most of the riverfront sites do not have 50 amp service. This place fills up and you have to call early to get a good site in the summer. Only negatives were we did not have a cell signal anywhere nearby and they had no site phone service, also they did not have sufficient parking around the office area for rigs and other cars. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
We rolled in later than planned on a Saturday afternoon and the staff were still very pleasant helping us get situated. Once registered they led us to our site and assisted with the parking. When asked if we wanted help setting up the rig, I said no and they smiled and went about their way. There were 4 families and we were the first ones there due to an unbelieveable number of things going wrong. The next 2 families finally got there and they were cared for just as I was. The final 5th wheel came in 3 days later, were set up in almost the original spot, and were forgiven the missed days lot rent. The camp grounds are at 8100 feet, so the scenery is beautiful, and the nights cold. Several places to fish in the area make this a good base for dropping a line. The camp is very clean, and some of the long term stayers mow their own grass with a mower provided by the cg. The only reason I brought the site down from a 10 to a 9 is because of no pool, and I'm getting too old to sit in a Colorado river that runs through camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$27
This is a very beautiful campground. We stayed here for 5 days. Unfortunately, we were not at the campground much because we were off sightseeing. Very quiet and peaceful with the river running directly behind our trailer. There are a few cabins also. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com