220931 User submitted reviews online!!
Lackland AFB FamCamp (Military Camping Only) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (210) 671-5179
CGID5422

Lackland AFB FamCamp (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
November 2012
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   9   10   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
Stayed here for a month. Park is military but civilians can stay with a military sponsor. Rate is slightly higher. You have to leave the base for one day every 30 days. The rate includes full hookups no charge for electric and the laundry is free. Nice park most sites have shade except for the partial hookup sites.These are pull throughs with a paved surface. The full hookup sites have concrete and pavement. Nice place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$14
Camped here nearly 6 months. A very nice place to stay. I was here last year for 4 months. Some changes are taking place here that military RV folks should know. You still must move from your site for at least 24 hours after every 30 days. What is new is now you must leave the installation - no more parking in the overflow for your day out. Also, the road up to the FamCamp from Growden Gate (the only gate that will safely accommodate most RVs) is closed for months. For at least the Summer and probably Fall of 2012, you will need to use either the Luke gate, or the Valley Hi gate, as they have movable barriers that the SPs can slide for you to get through. Once the road work is completed, you will likely be sent back to the Growden Gate. Full service site monthly rate still $420, includes everything including the laundry, Free Wi-Fi is spotty, and could use an upgrade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$22
Very clean and well maintained park. Showers and laundry room are very nice. Most spots have shade and they all have grass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
Arrived expecting to spend a week or so; checked out 4 months later. Parking your rig and an extra vehicle or two is easy here. Loved my stay here, and will return often since San Antonio is my home base. Sites are large enough and on full concrete (on the 20 some full service sites). The only gripe I had about this place, like many military camps, is the requirement to move your RV every 30 days and spend 24 hours in a overflow site, or off the base, before you can come back. I had no problem returning to a full service site each time I had to do the 30 day "penalty box" parking. About half the full service sites had adequate shade trees. All pull through sites are on cinder rock and offer no shade at all (until the newly planted trees grow up). Be sure to use the Growden Gate when towing your rig on/off the base. Some guards will allow you to TRY pulling your rig into some of the other gates - they are not supposed to do that - but you WILL damage your rig if it is more than 25ft long, including the tow vehicle on the security posts at the various gates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
Great place to stay if you want to go downtown. Very clean showers,laundry, bathrooms, and day room with TV, a few books, games, and mag's. Friendly staff. Close to downtown 15 minutes. No diesel on post. Pull throughs have no shade or tables and are gravel but fairly level. Very quite. Large dog run with pick up bag dispensers. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$18
Great place to stay if you're in San Antonio. There are two types of sites, and we used both. There are full hook ups which include cable TV, and there are partial hook up sites which have just water and electric. There is a dump station on the premises. The wi-fi worked well. We streamed movies from Netflix for the kids without any problems. Overall, another great Famcamp! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$17
We were allowed in this park via a base pass to attend basic training graduation for a relative. It made it convenient to spend base pass time with our airman. The sites are close side to side but adequate. There is free laundry, nice restrooms and showers. Wi-fi worked great. 29.3985, -98.6143 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$17
This is a RV park located on a military base. Access is limited to Military personnel / DOD civilians. The RV portion was located on the back corner of the base and was quite. Had plenty of shade, free washers and dryers, and access to all military facilities. Also located next to US90 which provided quick access to San Antonio. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com