206486 User submitted reviews online!!
Eagle Canyon Hideaway was rated 6 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (308) 287-2673
CGID5432

Eagle Canyon Hideaway

Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   3   4   4   10   5   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
Rate reflects Passport America. We initially wanted to stay two nights. However, there are two entry roads to the park which are 'unimproved' - actually they are a nightmare and don't dare try to enter or leave if it's been raining or else plan on calling roadside assistance to get out of there! The site we were given was entirely too small for our fifth wheel. In order to open our slides, we were jutting out in the roadway. We were next to the pool so all we could hear was the kids screaming and yelling. The site was littered with cigarette butts; someone had thrown rotting food on the ground, and there was metal trash on the ground at our site. Completely unhappy with this park. If we had known the roads were so bad, we would not have stayed. Leaving the park, we blew a tire - I've no doubt its a result of a piece of metal we didn't find that found our tire instead. We left after one night - couldn't leave fast enough! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
We made the mistake of reserving for 2 nights, we called just the night before our arrival. Upon arrival we looked at this very disappointing place and decided to stay only a single night. They said we'd be charged for both nights, although on the phone they'd told us that a No-Show is charged just 1 night. We decided to leave immediately to minimize our "penalty". We were told at sign-in (not on the phone) that there's a 30-day cancellation policy. There were only a few spots filled at the time. We left for several reasons, 1) Because it was a full mile away from the lake and if you drive there you must pay for a special pass, daily. We had been looking forward to relaxing on a lake for a couple of days! If you look at their web page they never show pictures of the actual campground. We should have been more skeptical. 2) The WiFi they advertise is available only on the porch or inside the office. 3) The advertised Cafe was closed. 4) The campsites were small dirt strips with no grass or shade, and all for the princely price of $34. The drive to get there was horrible. The last 2 miles is an extremely washboard-rough dirt road with sharp turns and steep hills. The route is very poorly marked; we had to turn around and backtrack to find their single sign. To get out, on a hot and very dry day, we had to use our 4-wheel drive! We tow a light 30' travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
We spent one night en-route to Wyoming. The park was fairly full for a Tuesday. There's quite a few cabins, which were occupied by families with kids. The sites were a little off-level but not by much. It's in a very picturesque location on a reservoir. They have a volleyball net, small but lovely pool, restaurant, and small store. The rate reflects a CampClub USA discount, which requires a cash payment. I asked for a receipt, but was told that I didn't need one, as they knew I paid. The primary drawback is the 5 miles of horrible hilly dirt road. It rained the night we were there and we had a heck of a time getting out the next morning. We had to accelerate in order to ascend the hills without getting stuck, which threw mud about 4' high all over the front of the trailer. Going down the curvy hills was fun as well; when the brakes were applied, the trailer wanted to go straight while the truck made the turn. We will never go back there again, UNLESS THEY FIX THE ROADS. If they would fix this road, I would have given the place a rating of 7 or 8. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$14
Camp is 18 1/2 miles from the highway; last 4 1/2 miles are a roller coaster on a washboard. "Doable" (I think management said it was "doable") if you don't care about your rig. Gravel, dirt, VERY bumpy, ridiculous road. Starts out okay then turns into a mess until you reach the campground. The campground is nice, not many trees. Cabins all over and in the rear of your coach, and people walking through your site to the restroom. Permanent campers (next to us, 4 adults, 4 large unleashed dogs and 15+ kids of varying ages in a fifth wheel) start going good when you go to bed. They break out the guitar and sing at ten-thirty, and by midnight are telling their 15+ kids to play hide and seek, they have the place to themselves. Screaming and yelling kids after midnight. The permanents own the store and the pool, so don't even try to enjoy yourself. First night beside them, they lit a fire right next to our slide. We asked to be moved the next day. Management was very accommodating, then came the loud remarks and staring. Just would not go back again Number 1 for road, #2 for who they cater to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Camping here for 3 months. Great location with rv and tent sites. This park has 16 wonderful cabins, with plenty of room to walk, hike. swim in the lake. Lots of trees and shade . Bathrooms and showers are exceptionally clean. There is a game room, laundry, pool, rec room, basket ball and nature trail with a zip line. Store with nice supply of groceries a nd a small restaurant. food is great and plentiful. The closest town is Ogallala and Brule . A 5 mile drive on a gravel road but very doable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
Be prepared for a long drive (approximately 5 miles) on a dusty narrow winding road to get to this park. Do not try to drive there if it has been raining recently and call the owners for instructions. Do not follow your GPS. The pads were a mix of gravel/dirt but had full hookups. No cable but we had an excellent Wi-Fi signal. Satellite reception was good. The owners were very friendly and helpful. There is a small restaurant on site which is a good thing if you want to eat out as it's a long drive to go back to town. This is primarily a fishing/hunting park, but it does have a nice pool (which was not open yet) and lots of room to roam around. Laundry facilities on site cost $1.25 for the washer and $1.50 for the dryer. This is a PA park so the rate we paid reflects that. We would not make a special trip back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Clean & quiet park. Further away from the lake than we expected and the access road in from the east was terribly corrugated - use the west access. Very friendly hosts - would stay again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
If you're looking for a real get-a-way with seclusion, this is the cg for you. It is tucked away near Lake McConoughy and is truly a "hide-away". It has great cg hosts and a quaint store, and individual shower stalls which were sparkling clean. This is a relatively new campground, so there isn't a lot of shade and the the swimming pool was a little small. The lake is about 20 minutes away with a wonderful sandy beach. We would definitely go back. If you go there, try their home made pizza! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com