223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Rendezvous Beach Bear Lake State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (435) 946-3343
CGID5446

Rendezvous Beach Bear Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
143
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   8   9   8   1   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$27
Don't forget to add the reservation 'fee' to your rate, unless you are a walk-in. My site had trees but did not provide any real Shade. Don't know WHY they don't have WiFi, other state parks do?! I stayed in the Big Creek campground which has full hook-ups as does the Birch campground. This is a real Back to Nature location. Along with the bald eagle sitting in the tree each morning and the trout in the stream, there was also a skunk who had made his home just across the creek from me (about 20 yards). He made his presence known each evening. The cattle farm across the street detracts from the ambiance. Antenna reception was acceptable when the weather was good. Grocery and fuel are not accessible so come prepared. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
This is a large and very busy state park. Day beach plus many separate types of camp sites all within the title Bear Lake State Park. A) Willow..which is a group only camp with a mix of RVs/tents--located on the Western end of the camp park units..by the day beach. B) Birch..which is designed for RVs with pull throughs and back ins...full hook ups, canopy over table at each site, fire ring, limited shade. C) Cottonwood..which is designed for tents, but has a mixture of RVs parked in the lot and tents on the sites. No hookups. D) Big Creek, the original campground at the park, designed for RVs with full hookups, back in and pull throughs. More shade, slightly smaller sites and a bit more congested than Birch. Small group area here also. Fire rings. On the Eastern end. There also are several no hookup campsites on Eastern side of Bear Lake, also associated with the state park..about 5 miles from Rendezvous end of lake. Vault toilets. No dump here...dump at Rendezvous. Rumor is prices go up in 2014. Boat rentals/ice/firewood sales on site at day beach. The problem with this park, in my opinion (IMO), is it can be terribly overloaded during weekends and prime summer weeks. Locals by the carload pour out of the Cache Valley (Salt Lake City, etc) and load up all sites with extra tents, relatives, sunshades, RVs, boats, kids, bikes, etc and it can look like a fairgrounds instead of a campground. Controlled chaos is the rule here. Bathrooms/showers get overloaded, trash dumpsters overflow...yet the cleaning crews/staff somehow keep up with it! A beautiful location, but needs better enforcement of the stated park rules regarding number of units and people per site. We would come back if passing through, but would avoid busy July/August season and weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This is our second time here. This is a lovely area and we were surprised to find that the camp has 50 watt and covered picnic patios. Very friend hosts. Great place for water lovers. There are many interesting day trips around and people are super friendly! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
We stayed here after the "season" was over so there was never anyone in the camp office. The park host was not around much, but that was OK because there were only 4 campers in the Birch area. It was very quiet. The sites are very large and well spaced. Gas and groceries in the nearby towns of Laketown and Garden City were very expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Want a full service campground right on the beach? This is the place!! The sites are incredibly large. The Birch campgroud has a covered patio with table at each site. Bring a tarp to hang it on the west side of the patio. It does a great job blocking the sun. If you enjoy the water, they have boat, jet skis and other items to rent. We will definitely be returning to this park!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Hard to find as it is not mentioned correctly in most travel books. It is in a tiny town of Laketown Utah. It is a big campground. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and found quite a few sites open. The sites are well laid out. Not to close to each other. Lots of people and lots of small kids. It is perfect for young kids with bikes. Although we do not have children, they were not a problem. We expected lots of late noise from the older people but by 10PM the place was quiet. Would stay here again. We liked it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$89
We checked in on Sunday at 3:00 p.m. which is their stated check in time. We had to wait for the cabin to be cleaned. The cabins are very close together with no trees for shade or privacy. You can see directly into your neighbor's cabin when you look out the window. These cabins were advertised as being just off the beach. However, the beach closest to the cabins was full of reeds and unusable. A group of 20 somethings, checked into the cabin next to our family and drank and played loud music late into the night. One of them threw up in the women's restroom making it unusable. These people scared my children and made them feel confined to the cabin. No one policed the cabins at all to ensure their rules about no alcohol, etc., were being followed. My husband went to take a shower the next morning. In the middle of his shower the power went out. Then, the water quit. We had already paid for two more nights, but could not endure the nightmare any more. We asked that our money be refunded for the upcoming two nights, but were refused. When we complained about the noise from the other cabin, the staff said, "Well, at least it wasn't us." Apparently, a noise complaint had been made about people in the cabins a couple of days previously, and it turned out to be the staff staying in one of the cabins! If you want to have a good vacation, I highly recommend avoiding the camping cabins at Rendezvous Beach Bear Lake State Park! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
Stayed in the older part right on the lake. Level sites, well spaced with three separate campgrounds spread along the lake so not crowded, great view. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
If you want to nit-pick about a campground, this is the one: some sites are close together, some sites are in the sun, some sites are tight, some sites have no view. On the other hand, many sites provide privacy, many are in shade, many have great views and many are spacious. We recommend the big Creek area with lots if shade and so-so privacy, and decent views of the lake. Apparently any electrical problems have been fixed and the sites now have 50 amps. The ranger gave us bad info about how to access the site, but we went up and around a circle and had no problems. BTW, we were surrounded by kids in tents and anticipated late night noise…how wrong could we be. They behaved wonderfully. Before they left, we found out why: a grandma offered her grand-kids a handful of M&Ms if they brought back 10 pieces if litter. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We loved our stay here! We had a beautiful beach front spot in the older campground and with the tall old growth trees we had lots and lots of shade!! We had no problems at all with the power or with people driving too fast. It was crowded but what can you expect on a holiday weekend? In the Big Creek campground there is a lot more room than in the newer Cottonwood or Birch campgrounds. We will definitely be back here again. We loved it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
We have been coming to Bear Lake for the last three years. The last two years we have camped here. Its a nice camp ground but gets very busy during the summer. This State Park is more for the people with boats or watercraft. We camped in the Birch Loop campground. These sites do not have trees or shade. They do have a shelter over the tables. I will be move to the Cottonwood campground next year because it has nice trees and shade. Big double wide back ups also. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
This park is beautiful but needs more Ranger's or someone to make sure that the guest at each site are staying on their site. Also, too many dogs (and I like dogs)and too many tents on one site. This was more so on the weekend and I believe it was the locals who invaded other peoples sites. I booked Birch Loop 2 months ago, and glad I stayed there and not Big Creek, which also has full hookups. However, the power system is old in Big Creek and the sign said to limit how much electricty you used. Not good! The Host couple from Texas was friendly, helpful and good, but we will not stay here, again, due to no control over the people who seem to think they can pitch there tents wherever just because three or four couples (along with children and dogs) booked only one site. The sites at Birch Loop are large with lots of space and many pull throughs. We just think there should be a limit as to how many people are allowed on one site. We stayed in a truck/camper. Another thing that needs to be addressed is how fast the people drive. Even though it said 15 mph some people were going more like 35-40 mph. Reduce the speed to 5 mph and enforce it!! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
This a a very large lake - 20 miles long x 8 miles wide. We stayed at the Rendezvous Beach Campground located on the south end of the lake. This is a nice lake with many campgrounds around. Our area was nice and clean. It was the 4th of July weekend so it was busy but we still had privacy. The roads were paved and there was a lot to do in the area. We would stay here again. The lake is beautiful and the water is very blue. Highly recommended if you are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com