215236 User submitted reviews online!!
Northwest River Park Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (757) 421-7151
CGID5458

Northwest River Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   9   9   6   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$27
This is my family's favorite campground in the area. It is quiet, lots of trees, not crowded, and has a very friendly staff. My kids love the putt putt golf course and two large playgrounds. My wife and I like the fire pits, hiking trails, and spacious area. There is also a nice lake stocked with fish. One can also rent canoes or paddle boats. No water hook up to RV, but there are water spigots near every lot for fresh water. Only reason I don't give a 10, is the bathhouse isn't the most clean or modern, but hey, you're camping! Great, fun campground overall! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
The CG is run by the city of Chesapeake, Va. It has gravel/dirt sites, which were level. Some sites have electricity. Bathrooms clean but very rustic. Concrete walls hold the cold, so no showers for us wussy Florida types. Did laundry but had to call the ranger to make it work. They had changed how much the laundry cost but that was not listed anywhere. There was a long walk along a forest trail. It is a very wooded area. We ended up being the only people to stay the night at the CG which was a bit spooky. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Nice wooded park. There is some road noise and if you can't sleep through "the sound of freedom" (military aircraft) you might want to consider another location. This place is close to several military bases, all with air support. Roads are gravel and sites are too. Showers were nice and clean with OK hot water. The pull through site we were at was easy to get into to, but we had to unhook the toad and back out of the site to get out. We pretty much had the place to ourselves with only 2 other campers in the CG. All in all a nice spot that's out of the city. I'd stay here again. They have some nice bike/hiking trails and in Oct bugs we're not an issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
If you're looking for trees and woodsy, this is the place to go. It is reasonably priced and quiet. It is far away from the main towns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This park is a great deal. The rates are low, the staff and campers were friendly. Let me just say that I don't normally have a problem reading maps or following directions but for some reason I had a hard time finding this place. I kept calling and getting lost but they walked me through it turn by turn over the phone. Very helpful. The sites are shady which was great with temps in the high 80's but it was open, high tree canopies so it wasn't real private but felt safe. There was also a ranger parked there 24 hours which is great security. There are no trains or airplane noises here thank God! and it's convenient access to the cities although it's a bit off the beaten path, it's a campground so that's to be expected. Note to self, I was in site 45 which was close to the bathrooms. Bugs were not a problem and would have liked to rent a boat but was not able to stay long enough. Would definitely return if going to the area again. I bring my own restroom so can't comment on the facilities. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
Nice family campground and playground. BIG shaded sites. Water is communal. Nice helpful staff. That being said, the bath houses need some work, as this is a city run campground, but they could be at least cleaned more than once a day if it is busy, and it was this weekend. Make sure you take TP, you might need it! Laundry room sink was stopped up and never addressed. Quiet time was not enforced, as the Ranger just drove around with his windows up, and then you never saw him after 11 pm. Party Central. Dogs were everywhere and were tied to trees and even in the bath houses! We probably won't be back. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$27
Beautiful park with lots of trails, a lake/river with canoe rentals, fishing. Had a great time while camped there and the park rangers were very helpful and knew a lot about the park. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
We camped here with 4 other families. Although there is no pool there is plenty of hiking trails, Putt Putt Golf, River and Pond access for canoeing and fishing and paddle boats...So there is plenty of things to do for the youngsters. With that said the security of the facility is somewhat in question since when we left to go out sightseeing on both Saturday and Sunday Morning we saw inmates from the womens correctional center up the road out picking up trash and mowing and doing landscape. Not really the caliber of people I want hanging around with my kids. The sites are large and shaded and even though out in the sun the temperature was in the 90's it felt comfortable around our campsite. Do not forget the bug spray if you come here though and make sure you check your family and pets for tics after visiting this facility. Would return if I want in a group since with the 28 people we went with there are safety in numbers and the kids entertained themselves with they're friends. One thing to note this is a city owned and run campground and no alcohol is allowed in this facility. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com