223474 User submitted reviews online!!
United Campground of Durango was rated 8 out of 10 based on 75 user reviews. Phone: (970) 247-3853
CGID546

United Campground of Durango

Camp Information
Sites
103
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   8   8   8   9   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Lots of trees in the campground but we did get satellite signal. Sites had OK room between them. Try to get one on the front roll where you can sit at your campsite and watch the train come thru. Pretty level but nothing fancy campground. We would stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$42
We had a lovely riverview site (94/95). It was in the "longer" section and was not long enough to pull the jeep in straight behind the motorhome. There was no place to just let your dog run, just places for walking. The view of the mountains was beautiful and we really enjoyed the trains coming by in the morning about 8:15 and evening about 5. It is close to catching the trolley to Durango so you don't have to drive. We drove as it is just a couple minutes in but parking can be hard to find! We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$44
Excellent RV park. Very convenient to downtown Durango especially with one of the trolley stops is right across the road from the park. The trolleys are extremely punctual, running every 20-minutes. Yes, the Durango/Silverton train passes directly through the park several times a day but it's a very brief passing and it's part of the fun. The passengers and RVers wave at each other during each passing. Spacing for some sites is tight but most RV parks are. We joined some friends from California and we had adjacent sites that allowed us to have our front doors face each other. There was a very nice greenbelt for walking dogs. Clean up, of course. The greenbelt and railroad tracks separated the tent section of the park from the RVs. Our only complaint, and we voiced it to the management, is that because our adjoining site was comparatively large, other campers often took the liberty to cut through our site on the way to the office, pool, or bathrooms. We were surprised by this but it was happening so often we asked management if it was acceptable. They said absolutely not and gave us permission to request that the campers don't pass through. We did that a couple of times but had better success in stemming the flow by arranging our tables and vehicles in such a way most campers got the message. This was not the park's fault. Just rude campers. Lots of trees that made satellite reception impossible at our sites but the cable was good. Wi-Fi was acceptable. Slow sometimes but reasonably fast most of the time. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Great park on the river with some view sites. The steam train passes through the park six times a day to great fanfare. If you miss the turn, go around the block to avoid a tight u turn. There is very little dog walking in the area. The free shuttle goes to town three times per hour. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
This is a great campground to stay at if you like trains, as the Durango-Silverton steam train passes right through the middle of the campground several times a day. If you like sleeping in past 8:00, however, this is not the park for you, as you will be woken up when the train comes through. Wifi works well (I measured the speed at 8 megabits at one point), as long as you are located near the laundry room where their one hotspot is located. If internet access is important to you, ask for a site in that area. There are reports that sometimes speeds will get bogged down at peak times. The map distributed at check-in says the pool is open until 9 pm, and I was disappointed to learn that that is only true during peak season (starting around July 4th). During my stay, it closed at 8 pm. They need to do a better job communicating this fact to campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
Stayed here 3 times. Not a bad park. Too many trees for DirecTV to work. Small store, swimming pool, but plenty of space between RVers. The best part is it's on the trolley line so a trip downtown is free and you don't need a tow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
This park is right on the Durango-Silverton Railroad with the train passing right through the camp. The restrooms are clean and the camp is well maintained. There is a small pool and the owners are friendly. Overall it is a nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
Very nice park, just out of town, quiet, serene, and green. The pool was nice and the people are friendly. This is a great place to stay when visiting Durango. Take the train to Silverton, it is quite a good trip. The shuttle to town picks you up across the street. Gravel sites, wide, cable 100+ stations, Verizon phone & WiFi worked great. They also have WiFi, but it was low at site 57. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$38
We really liked this campground. Owner was very friendly and helpful. Gave good suggestions for sightseeing and touring Durango. All sites are pull thrus and level, with shade trees and a picnic table. We were on the last row next to the railroad tracks. The Durango-Silverton train went back twice a day and was not a bother at all. Our front windows looked out over the tracks and the tent area where deer gathered every afternoon. This area of Colorado is beautiful and this campground is very well maintained. The laundry facilities were excellent. All machines worked well and facilities were very clean. Did not use the bathroom facilities. We would not hesitate to stay at this campground again. Many things to do in and around Durango. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
What a great campground and very friendly and helpful front desk. Would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
OMG!! This was a fun park; the train goes right through the campground--twice in the morning (8:15 and 9:00) and twice in the evening. Folks gather to wave to the returning trains. The FREE trolley right at the front entrance into town was super. We had a back-in site that was plenty big and right under a huge tree with lots of shade. Friends came and had a pull in site right next to us. Sites were gravel and very level. We saw lots of large rigs on the next lower level and though close, they all had slides out and room to walk between. (But as someone said, if you wanted private sites, this is not for you.) Staff was very friendly and helpful. I did have several issues that caused me to downgrade from a possible 10: first, they have NO recycling at the campground, even though they do it in town. It's not that difficult and as campers we should be encouraging environmentally friendly policies. Second, all the rest rooms/showers have cypher locks on the outside door. I just don't see the need, if you have a diligent staff. Finally, though I got on the internet OK, it was slow and did drop on a number of occasions. But we would definitely come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
Stayed here 3 nights visiting the Durango & Silverton Railroad. Trains pass through the campground and this feature was why we chose to stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
This park is closer to town than most of the other parks in the area. The free trolly picks up and drops off out front of the campground which is a nice plus, especially for those without a car. However, the tight, unlevel sites makes for a challenging set up. Additionally, the noisy steam train literally runs directly behind the last row of RV sites and in front of the tent sites make for a disturbing experience early in the morning and again in the afternoon. There is not a pet walk or off leash area. The staff was friendly and the laundry facility worked well. We stayed 1 night and moved up the road to another park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Nice location and love the trains coming though every day. Need to dress up their restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$44
Nice place just at the end of the Durango shuttle. Free service into town, and a decent restaurant within walking distance. Staff has no computer in the office, which might explain why I couldn't pre-pay a day before to hold,...insisted I call if not going to arrive before 4:00. Sprint phone signal weak and, more importantly, Wi-Fi is horrid. Lady in office explained that system easily overloaded by too many users, and we should just keep trying. Too bad, because it's an otherwise nice facility with much to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
Great campground especially for watching the steam powered train! Ample site size - we had water & electric (dump site easy to access and use). Convenient to Durango. Not right on the highway which is elevated and helps deflect road noise. Park is very well maintained - pride of ownership shows. Would recommend for any length stay!! You won't be disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$46
Gravel sites are wide enough, but some are quite short. Place is very well kept. Bathrooms and laundry are very clean. No dog park, just a walk area along the RR tracks. Good location to visit Durango. The Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge RR runs right through the campground, which is interesting to see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
Sites are extremely small, if you are looking for a campground that offers private sites this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a campground on the Durango Trolley route, then this is a good place to stay. The trolley stops right outside the campground and runs to Durango every 20 minutes. The bathrooms were clean, the laundry facility was well appointed and clean as well. We've stayed here 2 times in the last 2 years. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
This park is close to Durango and right on the free trolley route. It has lots of large shade trees, but the sites are very very close together. Our site was gravel but level, however our sewer connection was so deep we could not use it. Cable was available. Wi-Fi was available but very slow. The Silverton & Durango RxR runs right through the property between the RV area and the tent area. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Beautiful views and the trolley to town stops right in front of the campground. The staff is very friendly; we had trouble with our motorhome after we checked out and they were very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$46
Seemed to be an older park with very un-level gravel pad with a bit of grass and a picnic table. Spaces were close together and hard to maneuver in; although, there were lots of Big Rigs were there. Wi-Fi was very poor to non-existent. Cable TV was good. There was shade. Restrooms, showers and laundry was clean and well maintained. They do run a water truck to keep the dust down. The pool seemed to be popular though we did not use it. The biggest draw for this park is the Durango/Silverton Train goes right thru the park. We spent 2 days here and would probably stay again. The Staff was not particularly friendly when we interrupted her lunch. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$51
I would give this park a higher rating, but the lady at the desk rubbed my wife the wrong way and was bound and determined to get us to stay another night. It also took a check in the mail to reserve a site because they say they have had too many credit cards pirated over the phone... The sites are very shady. The D&S RR goes right through the park so RR lovers will be able to get some great photos. A free trolley runs to downtown Durango every half-hour or so. The river runs past the campground, but the bank appeared to be overgrown. (I was wanting to go trout fishing but never made it.) I did see deer foot prints and elk droppings at the edge of the campground so you just might get to see some wildlife. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Easy well marked access from the highway. Good interior gravel roads with fairly level gravel sites. All sites are shaded with typical distance between spaces. All utilities are conveniently located and worked well. Cable offered ample number of selections. Wi-Fi worked well. Pool, restrooms and laundry room well maintained and clean. Excellent views of the surrounding mountains and very quiet and peaceful. This is the ultimate spot for rail fans-the narrow gauge passes within 50 feet of the front row sites 4 times a day-6 times later in the summer. Lots of activities for adults and kids in the area. Hiking, biking, rafting, kayaking, cliff dwellings (Mesa Verde) fishing or doing nothing under the trees at your campsite. For a rail fan, this overrides any deficiency the park might have. We have stayed several times over the last 20 years and will return. Love those trains! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
Great RV Park! Clean. Level sites. Nice and helpful people. Excellent value. Train goes through at 8:30am and 10:30am, and the kids loved it. Very kid friendly. Well maintained. Great stay. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
Sites are narrow gravel side by side. They advertise Wi-Fi but we didn't talk to anyone able to log on; we were in site 56 with no Wi-Fi. We asked for a site that would receive satellite TV off our roof top dish but we never picked up a satellite because of trees. Cable TV was limited and poor quality, we had better luck with our over the air antenna. If you are in the row closest to the train tracks and leave the park to your left there is a hole for water drainage at the 90 degree turn and the rear wheels on big rigs will go into. In the 4 days we stayed we saw every large RV leaving drop into this hole. I told a worker they need to put a grate over this to prevent damage from the twisting that occurs when a rig puts the left rear tire into this. The worker admitted it was a bad situation. We pulled out to the left to avoid the hole. The park is clean and attractive enough but at over $40 per night not worth it. Would not stay here again, there are better parks in the area for the money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$43
Nice shady spots, not that we needed them in October, good hookups. The DSNG railroad runs right through the park, so nice evening gatherings with neighbors to watch the trains come back down. Really wonderful town, with great fishing (Gold Medal Trout water), hiking, cycling and all this available on a paved trail that runs through the town, about 15 minutes from the campground to the trail site. A really big plus is the free, that's right, free town trolley stops right at the campground and will take you anywhere in the town you want to go. Would happily stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40+
We called and made reservations several days before. We asked if they had a pull through which would accommodate a 40' rig, and tow car. The answer "YES". The reality "NO". We had to unhook to even be able to park. RVs were packed like sardines, with narrow drive ways. We also asked if WiFi was available at the site. The answer "YES". The reality "NO". The signal was low and speed was terrible. We had planned to stay two nights, but left after one. Would not recommend this park and would not go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
We really liked this campground and would stay here again. The highlight was watching the Durango/Silverton train come right through the park several times a day. All the kids would get so excited as the train passed through. I have a bunch of train pictures. Lots of nice day drives from here and the town of Durango is very nice. We stayed a week at United. We thought the rates were a little high but the campground was full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
My wife and I have stayed at this rv park many times since 1971 and in recent years it has been deteriorating to the point that we doubt if we will be staying here anymore. Most years we stay 10 nights but are limiting our stay this year to three nights. The back in sites that were used for smaller rigs are now used for big rigs, even though they are still configured (water, elect & sewer) for back in spots. As I am writing this my 5 th wheel trailer is positioned right on top of one of the sewer connections and not usable. The nearest sewer connection requires two 20 foot hoses and I had to contact a maintenance man to repair the sewer pipe that is located below ground level. Even after the repair my sewer connectors did not fit properly; seems the pipe in the ground is the wrong size. There are a number of sites (including mine) that needs new gravel laid since they are dirty and muddy. When I pointed this out to the office clerk I was told that they didn't have the time to properly maintain the sites since they are sold out every night. So the two big piles of gravel will remain where they are and campers will have to deal with the dirt and mud. Years ago each site had it's own patch of grass but they have become patches of dirt. I am in full view of the WiFi antenna and yet the signal strength (using vistumbler) is very low and the speed is slow like dial up. If you do decide to stay here I recommend requesting your RV site be on the row nearest the train track, otherwise I don't recommend staying here. There is a free city run shuttle that you can take out front of the campground that will take you to town. If you plan to take the narrow gauge train ride be careful as the shuttle might leave you stranded at the train station with no return; they run on a schedule and if the train is late arriving then you might have to take a taxi back to the campground. I've checked out some of the other campgrounds in the area. Their prices are lower and they have greatly improved their rv parks. United Campground has not done any improvements, has closed down the children's pool by filling it with dirt and has neglected much needed maintenance in the whole park. After 40 years of staying here we will look elsewhere for our next visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$41
Nice, clean, campground. Sites are a little close together, but not more so than other campgrounds. The tent area has lush grass although the RV section is primarily gravel. The place is very shady and the train passes right through the middle of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
This is a great campground. I don't understand the most recent 3/10 rating. It in no way deserves that. Trains are fascinating, planes pulling gliders are too - only about 4 times a day. They water down the roads several times a day and treat for mosquitoes which I've never seen done anywhere else. Nice pool, not that close to road actually. Ponies to feed. People come out and wave at the train. Clean showers and bathrooms, lots of hot water. We stayed for a week. Decent Wi-Fi, great cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
Loved this park. The location is great. Only 3 miles from downtown Durango. They have a Trolley running all day back and forth to town so no need to drive if you don't want to. The park is very well maintained and the surrounding beauty is amazing. Lots of trees, but very little grass in the RV spaces. There are several pull-through spaces along the edge of the park that face the river and mountains. Spaces #87-99 have the best view of the river. Their tent sites are like nothing I have ever seen. So plush and green with lots of trees and grass. The Silverton train runs right along the park so throughout the day you hear the train whistle and everyone stands out to wave. We will definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$49
This place is nothing but a large dirt and gravel parking lot right next to a busy Hwy 550. The pull through spot wasn’t long enough (we’re 36 feet pulling a jeep) so we had to unhook and t-bone the car. If you want to spend $49.00 for a 50 amp spot then you will be thrilled. The pool is right next to a dirt road just below the busy highway. There is absolutely nothing charming about this park. The train goes by belching out black smoke and blasting its whistle. Planes towing gliders are constantly flying overhead. The Wi-Fi signal didn’t reach where we were but luckily our Verizon mifi signal was strong. The trees blocked our dome satellite but that wasn’t a biggie since they do have cable, although we didn’t use it. The north side of the park has apartments running along the width of the park and someone left their dog out on the balcony; it barked for hours. Finally the owner brought it in around 10 pm. Bring sleeping pills if you’re going to stay here. I’m wondering if the other reviewers stayed at the same park? We couldn’t wait to get the heck out of here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$44
The United Campground provided ample room for my 33' motorhome with two slides. A big bonus was the free trolly that went to town each day starting at 7:00 AM. The only minus in the whole park--which is common in so many RV parks--is the moldy, soiled shower curtains. (All park managers should be forced to shower in their own RV park facilities once a week) The trains going through the middle of the park each day was a hoot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
Really enjoyed our stay. The Durango & Silverton steam train came right through the park, that was very cool. Kids enjoyed the park, very clean, nice shade trees. Friendly staff. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip through Durango. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
This is an excellent destination park. The Durango train runs through the park 6 times a day until 8/12 and then 4 times a day: a delight for train fans and small boys. The spaces are a little close together but the location of the park and the proximity to the many attractions and activities in Durango and surrounding environs make it tolerable. Maneuvering a large rig can be a challenge. Lots of shade trees and unobstructed views of the surrounding mountains. We have stayed here several times, usually for extended periods. The staff is friendly and helpful and keep the park well maintained. Put this on the "must stay" list. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
The staff were very friendly and the park is in a beautiful setting, however we found that camping in a 40' RV was a squeeze. Our neighbors couldn't have been any closer. The wi-fi at our campsite was terrible. Pool was nice and clean. Tent campsites had the best spot. The highlight of this park was the Durango & Silverton train that came through the park several times a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
This is a very tight campground with many trees and turns that I saw a large rig w/dingy vehicle not being able to make w/o unhitching the dingy. Couldn't connect to the WiFi in spite of a max signal. Turned out to be another guest running a router on the same channel. Managed to piggyback on that router until they left, then got the campground's signal to connect, but the management had no clue as to the problem. The train comes right through the campground which is neat unless you like to sleep past 8 a.m. We will stay here again because it is very convenient to town and has trolley service to downtown. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Nice campground north Durango. Heated pool and Durango-Silverton steam train goes right through the campground. Free trolley runs every twenty minutes to town and back until 10pm. Wi-Fi was good next to laundry room, otherwise not so great. We bought tubes in town and the kids played in the river for hours. A black bear visited our site but fled the scene quickly. No better place to stay in Durango. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
This is a nice campground. We had site 71 and decided it was the second best site with the best site being 70. These are back-in sites at the end of a cul-de-sac style drive and so they were wider at the side and back and gave us more room than the other sites we saw. We also had a great view of the Animas River (while site 70 was empty) which runs through the campground. They have great, free trolley service into Durango. Staff was helpful and friendly. Showers were clean and nice but there was nearly always a line for the women even with 2 shower houses. Laundry facilities were nice and clean. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
Close to down town Durango and on the trolley line. Spaces are small and a little tight, but this park was very full. The train passes thorough the park. Our kids were happy to see it every morning and evening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
We loved this campground. The narrow gauge train runs right through the park. The free trolley picks you up at the campground so you can go all over town without use of a car. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We rode the Durango to Silverton Railroad. It was well worth the fare. We used the laundry here. The machines worked well and were fairly priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
This campground is a find! There are lots of shade trees, it is clean, the staff is friendly and the best part is that the Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad runs right through the park and offers great photo opportunities. We had a little trouble getting the trailer level but the site is large enough to have a picnic table and room for our chairs. You are a bit close to the slides of the trailer on the driver side once you are in: so what. This is a great place to relax and it's close to town for shopping, sightseeing, etc. Plus there is a trolley that comes by every 20 minutes that you can take into town and back. We stayed here two nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
An excellent park with ample, level parking slots. We spent 3 nights here and enjoyed it a great deal. We would stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
What a beautiful park. We had 6 rigs and the parking to register was not large enough for us all. The check-in person told us our site numbers and to go and park and return later to register. What a great way to treat your clients. Got some beautiful pics of the train as it came through. Didn't use the facilities so I only graded a 9. Exceptional place to stay in Durango and the free trolley makes it even better. No hassle parking downtown. If in Durango stay here: almost like being at home. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
Nice quiet campground with shade. The lanes are fairly tight and my 39' 5'ver filled up my site. Roads and pads are gravel, but they are wetted down frequently to keep the dust to a minimum. WI-FI would not connect in my trailer. The Durango train runs through the park which is nice. OK park, but it's not my favorite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Nice quiet campground, friendly staff, clean facilities. There is a free trolley that passes every 20 min that will take you to town. Nice shade on campground in the evening. The road into the CG is a little steep but no problem. Rated it an 8 because the sites were a little tight and the restrooms could have been a little larger, considering the size of the tent campground. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
I stayed here with three of my grandsons for a few days to river raft. There is a great rafting service right up the road and easy to get to on the trolley line. Speaking of the trolley, it is free and can take you into town to most of the attractions and eating establishments. The park is very nice. Pool area, restrooms, showers, and laundry are very clean and the management couldn't be any nicer. The train runs right through the park for great pictures. Spaces are a little tight in some places but we were happy even though we were in a space close to the road. The tent area was the nicest I've seen and separate from the RV area. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
A plain and simple park. They do not have pull through sites over 40 feet. The river view is also of an old trailer and a car. Their rate can be different after you arrive. These four RV's will not be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$44
Priced for the area. Overpriced for the facility. 2 WiFi hotspots that do not cover all of the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
We stayed three nights. The sites were level, but the entry was very steep with loose gravel. The showers were clean, but it was a long walk from the site. The Wi-Fi only sometimes worked. The campground was very pretty with the train passing through it, but a little on the expensive side. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
I stayed at this park for a week. They give a 10% weekly discount for cash. This park might not be on the water but the Durango Steam Train passes through it's grounds twice a day (4 times a day from June to August). There are great photo ops here! WiFi works well when there are fewer than 10 campers but more campers than that, it cuts out often in the evening. Verizon Digital is available but the signal is weak so you only get about 300 kbps. Still, it is much better than the local WiFi. This is a great location if you want to tour the town, ride the train and walk down the river trail to town. There is also a free Trolley that stops in front of the park, 7:30A to 7:30P. Technical note: The sewer drains in this park are unusual in that they can be 8" to 12"deep in an 8" pipe. Bring a "Straight-in" sewer line adapter. Alternate solution: Some campers just cut off their hose and stuffed it down the pipe. Kids Note: They have two very cute Shetland ponies in the barnyard. They are very spoiled. So while they will approach the kids at the fence, you really need to bring Carrots to get them within petting range. Carrots are available at the "City Market" 1.3 miles south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$44
Really enjoyed our stay here. Only complaint would be the length of the sites. They are fairly wide but short. Even though they are pull-thru you can't leave your Toad hooked up as it will block the street. A neat thing is that the Durango-Silverton RR runs right through the park. It's fun to stand by the tracks and wave to the tourists as it goes by or point out your rig as you ride the train. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
We really enjoyed this park located at the north side of Durango. We stayed here for a week in August. The restrooms, showers & laundry were very clean. The pool was heated & warm. The camp store was well stocked and open long hours. Most of the sites were shaded with large trees. Most sites were fairly short but we all fit, barely for the 40 footers. The tent sites were well kept, grassy & have a great view. The work camper staff were friendly & helpful. One even stopped by our site to visit awhile one afternoon. This park was conveniently located to explore Durango & the nearby mountains. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
This park is convenient for visiting Durango and the people are very friendly. The site we had was all gravel and very small. It took a great deal of maneuvering to get out. We will stay some where else next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
United is a fun campground. The Durango Silvertin train goes right through the campground (starting at 8am) and does blow a whistle, so if you like to sleep in, this place isn't for you. It was great for us. It is a bit congested, your neighbor is very close, but other than that, really great! Wi-Fi works great. The kids were able to smash pennies on the train tracks and ride bikes through the campground. The Town Trolly service makes stops at United every 20 minutes from 7am - 10pm and it is a short ride to the main part of town. Views are nice depending on your site. Some condos have been built close to the site impeding views that used to be here (15 years ago). Bathhouses were clean, roads were wet down twice a day to deal with the dust issue, and overall we had a great time. I give it a 9 due to the congestion issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
This is a very cozy park with beautiful old trees. The Durango and Silverton Railroad runs through the park, and offers a treat each time it comes through. Wi-Fi is good. Problems with this park are that sites are generally unlevel. It is incredibly tight getting in and out with a big rig, and they don't have nearly enough rock on the roads and the sites, creating a duststorm throughout the day each day. If I were a "camper" I would love this place but, with a big rig, it is less lovable. Still, I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$41
Great Park. Our back window had a perfect view to watch the twice daily Durango Silverton Steam Engine passenger train go by. What fun, everyone would stand by the tracks and watch it go by, wave to everyone, and take photos. We stayed three days, and never got tired of joining the whole park to greet the train twice daily. Great views of the mountains. Free Wi-Fi. A little pricey RV Parl. but we enjoyed it and felt it was worth the price. Would stay again. Very friendly atmosphere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$37
This park's amenities, including free Cable and WiFi, worked very well. The owners are friendly and helpful. The park's location at the northern edge of town was convenient. It was fun seeing and hearing the Durango to Silverton train come through the park twice in the morning and twice in the afternoon. Although the park is adjacent to Hwy 550, most sites are located far below the level of the road, and traffic noise didn't bother us. The sites are too narrow and short. The large number of huge trees in the campground pretty much block out the sun, making the atmosphere too dark and oppressive for our taste. The trees and the narrow roads make maneuvering into the sites tricky. Entering and leaving the campground is also tricky due to the bumps at the roads edge and the steep, narrow gravel driveways. For those of you who will be riding the scenic railroad, we highly recommend that you take the motorcoach to Silverton and the train back to Durango. Our bus driver, Les, gave a marvelously informative narrative during the bus ride. You get no such narrative on the train. Take note that, although it didn't bother me, my husband became ill on the train due to the constant jerking back and forth and from breathing the coal smoke. Just a note to anyone who might be predisposed to such problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
The location here is far enough from a busy highway to be relatively quiet. Cable, elec, water, all work well and WiFi good enough. There is a lot to see here so the campground stays in the background. Site sizes range from average to small. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
Very clean and quiet campground. Very convenient having the Durango Trolley stop at the campground to get to downtown on. Neat having the old steam train pass through the campground. We were pleased with our stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
We stayed here twice before, once in 91 and in 96. The most amazing thing is not one single thing is changed for better or worse, place is in a time warp. We enjoyed our stay but the bathrooms could use some improvement on the upper level and some paved roads would be a great improvement. We were in the top overflow lot and could not see the train. For just a gravel spot ,it's a little pricey, but all in all, not bad. The trolley is convenient and we enjoyed town. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
Park was well maintained. Roads were gravel and a mister truck came thru each morning to wet them down. CG is at the end of the Durango Trolley system which was very convenient. Trolley was 50 cents per adult 1 way and went to downtown Durango. Silverton NG railroad split thru the campground. The grand kids loved it. Pool was nice but closed due to thunder. Needs a playground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
All sites and roads are good gravel. All sites are side by side hookup's, wide, and not level. Views here are great, plus you have lots of large trees to park under. WiFi was free. Animas river very close to campground. Durango & Silerton train runs thru campground each day(nice to see). Campgrounds was very clean. Owners were very helpful at check in. Durango is four miles south, nice to tour, great places to eat and shop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$33
This is a nice campground right on the Durango and Silverton tracks. The sites are fairly good size with large trees trimmed so they don't damage your RV. The restrooms on the lower level were closed. The ones behind the office were up a steep walk. Not a problem for us though. Our sewer hookup was a long distance from our RV's outlet. The other hookups were within reach. Our cable TV hookup didn't work so we used the one in the empty site next to us. It's only mid-April and I suspect they are trying to catch up on maintenance. I didn't not find the owners to be very friendly. Too many years of dealing with campers I guess. Campground has some nice views to the north and east. We would stay there again. We chose a pull-thru 30A site. Above price included tax. There are no discounts given. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This is one of the nicer Durango campgrounds. They have a pool and a small stream in the campground. The river is nearby but you can't get to it from the campground. The bathrooms were clean, but they only had curtains for privacy in the shower dressing area. Like most Durango campgrounds, the sites are close together. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$37
One of the nicest parks we have stayed in. Lots of trees, quiet, pretty setting along the river. Management was nice and efficient. Wi-Fi was good. Only a few problems. The sewer location was one. It was about 20 feet from our outlet. Also, the spaces are fairly small. Finally, there are not enough bathrooms/showers for a park of this size. Otherwise a great location (close to Durango). The Durango/Silverton narrow gauge RR comes by four times a day (twice in the morning and twice in the early evening), but this is more of an photo opportunity than a bother. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
A very tight campground for big rigs. They really pack them in. An extra point for being right on the Druango-Silverton NGRR tracks. Wifi was okay. We will try another park during our 2007 trip to Durango, CO. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Nice campground within sight of the Animas River in a grove of large cottonwood trees. Interior roads and sites are gravel. Like most private campgrounds, the sites are close together. Sites were fairly level. Strong Wi-Fi signal throughout the campground at no extra charge. Small pool but little else for children to do. The Durango-Silverton railroad runs beside the park. A maximum of six trains run each day burt only during daytime hours so it is not annoying but provides excellent photo opportunities. A beautiful tent area with 90 large sites is across the railway and it, too, sits in a grove of large cottonwood trees. If the RV sites were larger and spaced further apart and had concrete pads and patios and if the interior roads were paved, I would give this park a 10. Those with small children may want to stay in a park with more amenities for kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$33
This is a nice camp. Lots of shady sites. Restrooms were very clean and the pool was nice too. The Durango steam train goes right through the camp. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
Beautiful, beautiful campground! Family owned & operated. Very nice, efficent & helpful staff. Campground is nestled in the Rocky Mountains, just north of Durango. The 1800's Durango-Silverton Railroad tracks run thru the RV park. Every morning, 2 antique trains pass thru the campground in route to Silverton, returning in the evening to Durango. The train passengers wave at the campers & the campers like to wave back. It is so neat to hear the train whistle & watch the old iron horse chugging thru the campground. The park is also next to the Animas River where we got some trout fishing in. The park offers wonderful amenties, is beautifully maintained, has nice roomy sites & is very quiet! It has become our campground of choice in Durango. We will be back!!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$29
Nicely shaded sites and free wireless internet. The owners were very friendly and helpfull. There is a Durango Trolly (bus) stop in front of the park and for $0.50 you can ride into Durango. Very clean showers and restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$40
Park is nice enough. We made reservations here 3 months ago, but were given a site that barely fit our TT. Think we'll try another CG next time we're here. This one is way overpriced for what you get. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$23
Nice park with some pretty views and level sites, no problems getting in or out in our 30 ft class A. In general we don't love side-by-side hook-ups but since we didn't have any neighbors the two nights we were there it was not an issue. Bathrooms and showers were clean and well kept, laundry also clean with plenty of room. Having a beautiful pastoral view almost made folding laundry enjoyable. Pool was not open when we were there. Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad was only running a half trip in April when we were there but it is a trip we would recommend to anyone. Especially loved the views from the open air car and got a kick out of having the train go right by our RV. We would stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Very nice park. All roads and sites are gravel. Trees in park are large, lots of shade to park under. Durango & Silverton railroad track run through middle of park. You can wave at the steam train as it makes its way up to Silverton. Staff was very nice at check in. Town is a fun place to see and park is four miles north of town, we will return here in future. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com