214832 User submitted reviews online!!
Northern Nights RV Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (907) 822-3199
CGID5463

Northern Nights RV Campground

Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   5   1   8   7   6   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
This was a lucky pick. The showers were clean, but very busy. I suppose that it was because everyone staying there gets two free showers. The host was very nice. They do provide free hot chocolate and coffee in the morning. I saw a sign there advertising a dessert night, but I was not there long enough to partake in that. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This was a pretty good park for an overnight. Gravel sites were level; our hookups were at the tail end of our back-in site - OK for us, but maybe not others. Pull-throughs were separated better than the back-ins. Staff was friendly; one couple was learning, but the third person very efficient and knowledgeable. Showers were good, but few. No laundry - we were referred to the town laundromat. We would stay there again for a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
Gravel sites fairly level; water good; power stable; wifi is so-so out in the park, but our "booster" brings it in just fine. Nice outfit - Good Sam usual, or $2 veterans discounts. Dump on the way out is ok for our 1-3 day stays. Showers and restrooms are clean and neat - showers have the full-size residential glass-enclosed corner units; water/electric hook-ups gets you two "tokens" per day (per camper) for 7-minute showers. Out here, the fuel/power is expensive; this technique is entirely fair and reasonable. We'd considered Kenney Lake and Copper Center, but those roads would have clobbered our camper (nearly as bad as Beaver Creek to the AK border). Seems to be Native / 1st-Nation owned and operated, and they're doing a good job. We'd definitely stay here again. Grocery store is 1-minute down the road, and hardware is 2-minutes the other way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
This campground has the potential to be fantastic. The sites are spaced and treed nicely. Even though we stayed in mid Sept and there were few people there, we still had to wait to shower ($3 each), since there were only 2 shower stalls. Also, the porta-potties were some of the fullest I've ever seen. Finally, the customer service was terrible. The owner (?) was talking to construction workers outside of the office when we showed up but wouldn't acknowledge us. After 15 minutes, we were ready to leave, but a worker finally showed up. Gave no info about the CG (maybe we're used to KOA's where you're inundated) and checked us in. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Owner/operator was rude, unwelcoming, and accusatory. Apparently she does not want Alaskans who live or work in the state to stay here. This she says AFTER taking our money. In 49 years of camping I have never been treated more poorly; she'd rather have empty RV sites than rent a site to Alaskans. She called us names, made threats, and in general was so disdainful that we will never stay here again, even if its the only RV park available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
This campground was nicer than we expected. Clean and level sites long enough for larger rigs. There were only two showers and toilets but that was adequate due to the small size of the campground and they were clean and worked well. Friday's are dessert night at the campground where the owners provide free home-made baked goods and everyone gathers around a campfire. Which felt good since even in August since this was Alaska! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Very clean park. Level gravel sites with picnic table, fire ring at each site and some trees. Could not access Wi-Fi. Went to the office where the owner tried as well without success. Finally a young female employee came in and was able to get my laptop connected. My husband never was able to connect with is laptop so he gave up. The network key given to us didn't work for either of us. Have no idea how the young girl employee connected for me. Would probably stay here again but would hope they resolve Wi-Fi issue. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Nice, quiet park and good for an overnight stop. When we made our reservations we asked for full hookups. Trailer Life Directory indicates they have sewer. When we arrived, we were told they don't. Not a problem for one or two nights, but wold have been nice to know. The Wi-Fi is very unreliable. Cash or check only. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Nice little campground, cash or check only for payment. Gravel roads and sites. Clean showers and restrooms. Good electrical service. We arrived on Dessert Night! Campground provided homemade desserts for guests, plus coffee and tea. A campfire and plenty of seating brought the guests together. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Rate is for water and electric 30 amp pull through site. Payment by cash or check. Gravel roads and sites, with both being rough. To level our RV we had be at the very end of the site, meaning we had to unhitch our toad, else it would have stuck out into the access road. Pay showers, and also has a laundry. Wi-Fi worked intermittently and as park filled later in evening, it eventually ground to a halt. Verizon cell phone coverage was excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This park has gravel roads and sites, with a picnic table and fire ring at each site. The managers have even put out propane-powered mosquito killers, so mosquitoes were not a problem at all. There are five 30-amp full hookup sites, but one is being used by the owner/manager and one other is being used by the workamper, so actually there are only three full-hookup sites available. Unfortunately, two of the those remaining three sites are on a direct migration route to the office and the dessert nights on Monday and Friday. We even had someone move our picnic table so they could cut through our site to get to their dessert, which we thought was pretty rude. The shower and restroom building is also in the row of full hookups, which brings more foot traffic to this area also. The showers are $3.00 for 7 minutes. It would make more sense to me if they ran a formal path past the shower building to the office. Right now, there is no convenient, short-cut way to get to the office or the front of the campground. However, the woman owner/manager is extremely nice, very friendly and goes out of her way to please. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
They only accept cash payments. They are making improvements to the campground, hauling in more gravel and leveling the sites better and some cabins. Some of the corners can be a little tight getting around, our fist pull through site was not long enough for the 35 ft Motor home and the toad so we moved to a longer site. No hassle at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
We camped there for one night in a 34 footer. Looks like most of the sites are pull-through with a lot of room. The camp sites are level and gravel. The interior camp ground are gravel and pretty good. The young man in the office was friendly and willing to provide local information. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Level spots, nicely spaced. Small trees around the park. Staff very courteous. They are addressing the exit congestion created by the dump station with alternate routing out of the park via the entrance. I definitely would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Tight spaces but nice owner. It has Wi-Fi and pay showers and has been noted before it can jam up at the exit/dump station. Town putting sewer in so don't know if that will help. Used my air card so not sure about Wi-Fi. Probably could not get signal or was a pay for time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$21
Small cg, but neat. We were there on a Wednesday and they had a ranger from Wrangell-St Elias NP on site to give a talk. One problem is that the dump station is on the way out, and if there are 2 rigs in line to dump, you have to wait. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Nice campground. Sites are not level. Bathrooms are clean but Showers are metered. Dump station is on the exit road so can cause a line if several want to leave at the same time. Main complaint we had which hosts have no control over was the mosquitos, that is just Glenallen. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
There are only 5 sewer sites, none available as it appears long-term people are in these sites. The park is off the road enough to cut the noise. Some sites have grass, picnic table and fireplace while other sites just have gravel by their doors. The sites are not level. Good Verizon cell phone service and good wi-fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com