224080 User submitted reviews online!!
Veterans Memorial County Park & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (608) 269-4123
CGID5470

Veterans Memorial County Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   8   10   9   10   5   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$27
Nice park with friendly staff. Since we were staying 1 night, they gave us the last pull-through site. Rating reflexes the lack of full hookups and other amenities. Still a very nice park for a day or so. Liked walking the dogs in this huge park. Too bad some of the seasonal folks leave their dogs off leash. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
We stayed at this park for 3 days. Staff was courteous, and efficient. Located half way between La Crosse and Sparta near the La Crosse River, and bike path. Nice grassy pull through sites more than long enough for our 62'. Far enough off the Interstate so you didn't hear the traffic. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
We just stopped here on our way to South Dakota. It was easy access and cheap so good for one night. There were kids-type play ground and trees and the park did butt up against the river so was a nice area. Low lands so I wouldn't want to be there in the rain. Older park. Good location if you are in the area. They had a nice bike trail that we walked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
Like this park for it's quiet location close to city of LaCrosse. Right on the bike trail. Quiet and relaxing. Most sites are grassy with plenty of space between. LaCrosse River runs through campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
This was our second visit to this well maintained county park. Not one problem on either visit. Will gladly return here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
Nice campground overall. Sites are simple grass covered sites with some dirt, not bad though. Nice laundry, and very nice, and new, bathrooms and showers. Hosts were a very nice retired couple, and full of life and joked with us. 60 and older gets the senior discount as we did. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
It was a Saturday night when we came this park. The place looked full but there were a couple sites available. The manager knew which one was best for us, and he was right. While the park was full, it was not wild or rowdy, just friends and families having fun together. We had no trouble getting level but the ground was uneven and there were trees lining our site so we had to be aware of lower hanging branches. The soil was sandy so we had to make sure our feet were clean or we'd be bringing it all inside with us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
This is a pretty city park with camping areas. However, there are no "RV PADS". Your site is on the grass next to the water/electric hookups. Sites have not leveled, rather they slope, rise, and dip as the natural land contours. We could not lower our jacks due to the dips and holes. Interior roads exceptionally bad with ruts and holes. Scraped many trees limbs driving our motorhome thru the park. It is pretty to look at but was not comfortable for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Love this campground. It is easy to get to and always has space available. It is quiet, even though there were several large groups camping. On the trail system and the La Crosse river. Very family friendly, and the hosts are very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
This park is very laid back. There is a new shower house that is well designed and beautifully done. Several of the back in sites are along the river. Most sites have a fire ring. There is a path to the rails-to-trails bike path. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
If you don't mind old bathrooms, then this is the place for you. The campground has LOADS of activities for the family. There are multiple playgrounds, volleyball nets, bike paths, and areas to run. The bike path is part of a large trail system in WI. We walked our dogs on it and had a nice time. The trail is wide and can accommodate a bike and dogs going in different directions. The campground host was very nice and helpful. Although there were quite a few people in the campground, it was quiet at night. My only hesitation was the condition of the bathrooms. The floors were clean, but I chose not to shower because of the old walls and rusty shower head. The soap dispensers also were not working properly. A new bathroom facility is on the grounds, but the host told us they are waiting for their final inspection in July. It looked great on the outside. I would rank this place a 10 if the bathroom situation was better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
Great place to stay while we were doing other things in the area. Not crowded. Very pretty. They are building a new larger shower facility, so some sites were not available. Still wasn't a problem to get in though. Love the rate per night, too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
We thought this was a good place to stay, and would stay here again. The price is right for the amenities. There is some train noise and some road noise (which is why no "10"), but otherwise very quiet. Unlike the other comments here, we did not have a problem pulling in a site, people did not stay up late, owner did come through a couple of times during the weekend we were here. It is a beautiful setting, with a site for every taste (shaded, not shaded, private, pull through, etc.) Loved that the owner gave us a map, and let us pick what area and site we wanted. Great access to bike trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
I camped here 1 night only. I was road weary, it was dark and I was unable to find the campground in LaCrosse I wanted to stay at. I found this place on a referral from Neshonic Campground (nice people) who were full. The campground facilites were fine, they had a nice big office and the place was almost full. However the check-in office reeked of cigarette smoke and the owner smoked constantly throughout the check in. I am asthmatic and was gasping by the time I got out of there. I was told to choose one of a couple free sites. The sites were drive through but I had trouble getting into mine because of the neighbors parking 3 campers on one site. It left me very little room to make the turn in because of trees. Nevertheless I got in and managed to step in a huge pile of dog waste while leveling. The neighbors stayed up until after midnight with loud country music blaring out an open RV door. The campground owners did not police the noise whatsoever. There were numerous other late night group parties around also. I couldn't get out of there fast enough. I stopped at the office to ask the owner directions to the park in the neighboring town that I couldn't find and his commment was, "I don't know of any other parks in the area!" Astonished, I asked if he was new to the area and did he have a phone book I could look in. He reply'd that, "he didn't give information about his competitors." Boy, did I leave that place behind forever. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com