219069 User submitted reviews online!!
Westbay Marine Village RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (250) 385-1831
CGID5471

Westbay Marine Village RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   4   5   6   8   7   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Wonderful stay. Overlooked the harbour in Victoria. Easy access to downtown Victoria with the harbour taxi service. Clean washrooms and sites. Booked already for next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
We have spent the last 6 months here. This park is very convenient to pretty much everywhere in Victoria. It is a very quiet place considering the close proximity to the city. The harbor views are spectacular. The walkway to downtown is almost at your doorstep. The water taxi service is a treat (available only during the summer). A propane delivery service is available upon request. Kayak Rentals, Fishing Charters etc. are available at the Marina which is only steps away. There is no playground and a steep, rocky, embankment to the ocean. Not a good place for kids. We found that, after the transient guests disappeared, the cleanliness of the park improved a lot. Long term guests pick up after their pets and looked after trash a lot better. Long term guests usually just stay for the winter as the climate is very mild. We noted only five units that were year round residents. Some were skirted but none were tacky. There were only a few “winter” guests that let their spaces and units degrade. The park is very safe. These are the good things. What we didn’t like was that services are shared by two sites. This configuration works as long as a motor home and a Trailer share so there was a little more room. Motor homes nosed into their site and trailers backed in. If you are unlucky, then your cables and hoses have to run under your unit. Sites are very close together. This is an older park not designed for today’s units with slides. They can accommodate 45 footers though. The roads are paved but tired. The sites are gravel which is well suited to accommodate the winter rains. Not so nice in the warm weather though. There is no Wi-Fi but internet is available in the Laundry Room and at the on-site restaurant. Cable TV is available but for most channels you will need a box. If you need to depend on the parks bathroom facilities they are limited but clean. Our monthly rate was about $20.00 per night including taxes. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
We stayed here for a month and as previous reviews have stated, this park is getting run down. The washrooms are inadequate for the amount of campers, about 8-10 derelict old units that were full timers. Ocean front sites are nice, but old hookups, cables everywhere and an amazing view. Staff was helpful, but far from friendly. The only thing going for this park is the location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
Place has gone down hill from the last time we stayed there. The Wi-Fi didn't work at all, they continue to charge to take a short shower and the grounds are run down. Cable TV wires are sitting on top of the ground all over the place. There are more trailers then we ever remember and full time residents. We will really think twice before staying there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$47
We have been regular guest of West Bay RV for 22 years. It has become so much like home that we have consistently rated it highly. Sadly, as we return it becomes more and more evident that little or nothing has been done to improve this park since our first visit. Yes, they did build a laundry room a couple of years ago, but the washrooms are exactly as they were 20 years ago, and woefully inadequate for the usage they receive. No amount of cleaning can make up for this. Hookups have deteriorated, sites are messy, and there are just enough permanent derelict units to present a tacky appearance. This is a travesty when one considers the location and the view. We have finally reached the point where we no longer look forward to our visits at this park. There are rumors that the park is soon to be closed and perhaps that is why no improvements have been made. Whatever the reason, the current state of the park is lamentable. To top it all off, the staff no longer appear to care much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$48
Wonderful RV Park with waterfront sites along a sea plane take off strip. Great views but sites are very close together. Good satellite reception and cable TV. Ferries are available to Victoria. Buy tokens for the bathrooms, which are new and very clean, with fresh flowers for the ladies! There are also log cabins and floating homes for rent. Restaurant on site, did not utilize it. Would come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$63
A great place to stay for access to Victoria. I would recommend making reservations as this is a very popular place. Has nice views of the harbor if you can get one of those sites. There is a walkway that you could walk to town (about 1.5 miles) or take the harbor shuttle boats for quick trips. Has lots to do and see here. The whale watching boats are a must do! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
We have used this park very recently, and have been staying here from time to time for the past 20 years. It is "hands down" the best place to flop if you are wanting to visit downtown Victoria. The heart of the city is located by either a spectacular forty minute walk around the harbor, or on a shuttle boat that will take you from the park to the City of Victoria wharf in the center of the city. The park itself is built on a jetty so your water/harbor view from the outside sites is unsurpassed. Some people complain about the noise of arriving and departing sea planes, but we feel this just adds to the panache of the place. Sites are well equipped on gravel/pavement. Washrooms while fairly clean, are older and need improvement. This park is still a jewel, but not much has been done over the years to modernize it. Overall staying at West Bay has always been a highlight in our RV'ing lives. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$47
We stayed for three nights. When we registered, we requested a oceanfront site. They were unable to give us the same site for all three days, but they did make that happen; 1 night in one site, two nights in another. The campground is secured by an entry gate and kept clean. They promoted WiFi access, but the system was down, during our stay. While it is the closest campground to the city of Victoria, that distance is via water ferry. That can be quite costly, if that is your preferred transportation. The buses do not loop, and transportation can be a hassle, if you don't have your own. The closest feasible bus stop is about 6 blocks away, up a hill. There is an on-site coffee shop/restaurant. The view is spectacular. We were rewarded with seaplanes landing and taking off, on a regular basis, cruise ships arrivals, otters and various bird life, and the usual personal boat sightings. Very entertaining. Reservations were made on line and simple. We received confirmation, almost immediately. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$48
We’ve stayed here before a few years ago and noticed this time many more full timers in all sorts of RV and camping vehicles and the park is generally losing quite a bit of its former well kept up appearance. No big deal, just a general observation and a sign of the tough economic times, I suspect. The park is still the best value for the dollar and its location can’t be beaten for visiting downtown Victoria and of course nearby Butchart Gardens. What is something to think about however is that they now charge $1.00 for 5 minutes of shower time. You have to go to the office, purchase tokens and insert them into the shower device and it is on a timer so you can’t simply turn on the water, soap up and then rinse off. Of course the noisy sea planes still come all day and go just over head as they take off and land in the water near the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
This park was great, the sites were tight but the area was beautiful. It was located right next to a marina and ocean sites were available. It was a very secure, relaxed atmosphere. There is a harbor taxi that comes right there to take you to the city, for a fee of course. There is a beautiful walking trail close by and the beauty you walk through is undescribably fantastic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
This park is a great place to stay! Quiet, clean, and well maintained, and the view from the view lots is nothing short of amazing! This park is accessible to downtown Victoria, and is right on a small Marine Village of very adorable floating cabins. The Victoria harbor ferry stops nearby if you'd like to try that out, which can take you all around the points of interest in the area. The bathrooms in the park have showers, and were kept quite clean considering the volume of people using them. There are some long term campers who stay here, but most seem to be traveling through. We received good service at the front desk, and had no problems getting access to a phone and travel brochures for information. The campground has only a little grass: the sites are mostly compact crushed gravel and are very close together with sites sharing picnic tables. Something to be aware of is the 7.30 am float plane flights into and out of the harbor on the hour. Do not expect to sleep in here! On the plus side, this camp is very quiet in the evenings starting around 8pm. Most people were asleep by 9.30pm. It seemed like some big rigs had trouble getting into place, but with our little setup it was a breeze. I would stay here again: it is much better than the local alternatives! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
We booked a site on the outer ring several months before we would arrive. If we wouldn't have done so, the park would have been full, even in June! We were lucky to obtain a front-in site, so we could enjoy the view of huge cruise-ships every night. This is opposite of the bay-view. The sites are small and narrow. As the front-in and back-in are situated next to each other, we almost leave our motorhome on neighbor's soil. We were lucky to get very friendly neighbors. We stayed here for 3 nights; they for 5 weeks (and they did this for many years already). The main reason for choosing this park is the location, which is by far the best location for visiting Victoria. We walked all the way. Almost next to the entrances a boardwalk starts and we made a wonderful walk to the bridge, crossed it and were in the center of Victoria; half an hour, that's all. We also tried to take the water taxi back, but we were refused in a rude manner by the captain, as my wife was wheel-chair bound and he judged it would be to difficult. He simply left us and I had to push the wheelchair up the hill again. We took the bus # 6 and arrived close to the camping site. On Sunday morning we wanted to leave at 8:00 to catch the early ferry and still had to wait another 15 minutes for checking out. (The waiter of the restaurant woke her up with his handy phone and offered us a free coffee; great hospitality of this guy!) Summary: It is the best place for visiting Victoria. The sites are small and narrow. There is no privacy at all. Make sure to reserve a site suitable for your size of rig. Only sites on outer circle of the campground are nice but not the back-in sites due to a total lack of a view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$45
After traveling for one year in our 36 foot 5th wheel this is the first RV park we didn't stay at and canceled our reservation. I know the park very well as we live in the area and stayed there last year for 2 weeks. It is not big rig friendly. There are some spectacular water front sites overlooking Victoria Harbour but you have to book these months in advance. The sites in the middle of this small park are horrible as there is no room. I doubt I could have backed my rig in. If I did there would be about one foot clearance on each side. You would have to park your truck outside the park. If you had a small class C it might work but not for big rigs. It is built on a circle and last year we booked early and got a waterfront site which is on the outside circle. It is still tight and not big rig friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$47
We stay here annually for 1-2 weeks in summer for the waterfront sites that face Victoria Harbour, although it is a splurge. Even during the downturn in RV'ing the campground is filling with European RV renters during the summer to take up any of the slack, so it is still full most every night in summer. The reason is because of its location in Esquimalt near the entrance to Victoria Harbour with a birds eye view of all the activities - float planes, cruise ships, Washington-bound ferries, the Victoria skyline, etc. The interior sites are less expensive but with little or no view. There is even a boat launch so you can go launch your small boat. We take our zodiak with 2 hp motor and putter around Victoria Harbour - but - beware - motorized boats must cross near the entrance to the harbour that can be quite rough, and across the busy float plane runway! Runway lights indicate plane takeoff/landing but with a slow boat there's not enough warning so you have to scan the waters yourself. Kayakers can take an alternate route. We launch here for Symphony Splash, and coming back in the dark is even more dicey - no float planes but lots of power boats leaving the event. Launching in the Gorge waterway is much safer! The 3-km walkway into town is great, but it's best not to do this alone or in the dark due to the many drug addicts in Victoria, and possibly along the trail. Also, one time after a couple of weeks staying here & walking to town frequently, I developed a respiratory infection, possibly from all the jet fuel that wafts through the air from the turboprop planes. The harbour ferries (little water taxis) also are based at the marina/campground, but it's $16 roundtrip per person to the Empress, $8 to Fisherman's Wharf. Parking in downtown is about $2/hour. If you like ethnic food, a fabulous Ethiopian buffet, the Blue Nile, is a 10-minute walk up Head St (dinner only, $14). The campground itself is mostly gravel lots with rigs slammed in close together, making getting into spots a challenge for larger rigs depending on who is already parked there. I have been coming here for years, and they have never gotten their wi-fi to work right, which is maddening for what they charge. At least now it's free, they used to charge for it! They have the attitude that if you don't like it here, go somewhere else, which is most likely the mediocre Ft. Victoria down the road. The office staff ranges from fantastic and friendly to totally incompetent and rude, best of luck there. We don't use the facilities much but they seem fine, and they finally moved the laundry to where the RV's are, rather than near the office. My ratings: Location:9, Views: 10 for prime sites, going down to 7 for other perimeter sites, and 4 for interior. The campground itself gets a 4. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
This is an OK place, very close to inner harbor and downtown Victoria. We didn't use them, but we did notice that the park actually CHARGES for showers. At $35/night, we think that charging for showers seems a bit much. The best and better RV parks do not generally stoop to this money-grubbing practice. The park was clean, but not "sparkling clean" as advertised. The sites are gravel with paved driveway. The presence of permanent-type rigs detracted from the experience. Only thing to justify the $35 price is the very close proximity to town. If you like dry camping and don't need hook-ups, there are actually two downtown 24-hour lots that charge $12 and $5 for overnight parking, and there is no "no camping" prohibition. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Rating this RV park is very difficult as it depends on your site. Waterfront sites are a 10+, inside sites are not so good. Most sites are gravel, some have grassy patches. Book very early as good sites are often booked one year in advance. Finding using Google is difficult if coming from Nanaimo but once you find the place it is very easy. Seaplanes make all kinds of noise but are nice to watch. Long term I think this would drive me nuts! Would definitely stay here again, but only on a waterfront site. USE water PRESSURE regulators here. Water pressure is varied and electricity is wacked too, so use surge protectors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$29
Great place, nice warm bath house. Very scenic across harbour to Victoria or at the marina and floating houses. Easy walk to shopping center in Esquimalt, terrific biking on Galloping Goose trail. Terrific access to Victoria by waterfront trail (2+ miles, very scenic) or frequent bus service. Restaurant on the premises, very friendly staff. WiFi free and adequate, with occasional interruptions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$45
This is a tough park to rate fairly. The location is a 10+. The views are 10+. The electricity is a 4, the sites size is a 4, and the campground is tight, tight, tight for a 45 footer. We would however, return as it's the best campground in the area by far. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Great location. Water front sites over looking Victoria. Sea planes land right over the park and make a racket when they take off, however the place is still the best Victoria has to offer. Walk on a man made path all the way into Victoria or take a water taxi that docks near the park. Nice restaurant on site that even stayed open one night when we missed dinner. Reserve your spot early, it fills up almost every night. Good luck on the M.V. Coho ferry. It was a tight fit on and off the boat with our HR Neptune. Did get a few door dings however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$50
All gravel sites with side by side hookups so one unit has to face the road and one the other way, not good as they put trailers in motorhome sites and vice versa. Older park. Sites are wayyyyyy to close together. Since Victoria harbor is the airport there is constant seaplane noise taking off starting before 7am everyday until dark and if that does not get you then the constant hordes of seagulls making noise will. Only thing going for this park is the waterfront and closeness to downtown Victoria otherwise I would rate it a 4. Way too expensive for what you get. WiFi is $9.95 day or $21.95 a month again too much. If that isn't enough they also charge you for showers! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$48
Location, location, location. Westbay is great and is in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. The park is simple, but the views are amazing. Try to get a corner spot. Lots of activity to watch from your spot like jet boats, cruise ships, ferries, sailboats, and seaplanes. The harbor ferries depart right from the RV park and will take you over to the cities downtown and all the activities. A walkway goes from the park and around the whole bay which is an hour walk. Thirty minutes you can walk to town. The staff is friendly and everything is kept clean. A ten plus plus! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com