220365 User submitted reviews online!!
McKinley RV & Campground was rated 3 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (907) 683-2379
CGID5473

McKinley RV & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
77
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   6   1   3   4   1   2   1   2   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
This place was a dump. The sites were not level and were very difficult to get into.. Road construction workers were staying here while working on the Parks Highway. The RV park did nothing to keep the place picked up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
I have mixed feelings about this campground. The negatives are junk yard aspect of old vehicles parked around, uneven parking spots, rough roads, weak Wi-Fi, overall unkempt appearance. Positive aspects; one of few with full hookups near the national park, on-site restaurant/brewery had very good food and service, AND the park staff was young friendly and helpful! I really don't know if I would stay here again. Will make that decision next time we come through! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
Staff was friendly and helpful. Showers, toilets and sinks were filthy. Walking up the steps to the restrooms was an experience, the septic tank or sewer smell would take your hat off!!! There were junk vehicles surrounding the place. The Wi-Fi worked well. Keep on driving and don't stop here. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
This has the potential to be a nice campground. When we arrived, the signs to the campground were poor and we ended up driving behind the restaurant. Not so good in a 40' motorhome towing a car. Register in the store at the gas station. It does seem to have a decent selection of things. The campground itself has trees, is off the street and space between the sites. HOWEVER, there are broken down junk vans and a bus parked around one side and the road to the campground itself has huge potholes you can't drive around. The map they pass out for the sites, gives the wrong direction into them, so get out and walk to your site before going down the campsite roads or you might find yourself at a dead end with trouble getting out. The park does not appear to be well cared for. They do offer Wi-Fi, but it was very slow and sometimes non existent. Some of the sites are pretty level, not sure about all. If you are assigned to site 1 or 2 check it out carefully as raw sewage was dumping there in July 2013. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Terrible campground. Definetly missrepresented !! Picture must have been after construction. Dumpster was near our campsite and smelled horribly. Broken stairs to climb hill to store. Bathrooms were filthy and I would not use them !! If we had not paid at time of reservation we would have not stayed. We camped here in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Bad. The roads were full of potholes. The garbage cans were over-flowing with extra garbage on the ground. They hadn't been emptied for awhile as they had quite a smell. The grass hadn't been cut, the stairs, which they show in their ad, has boards that are broken or about ready to break. There were some other big rigs but also a number of construction workers (who were friendly and certainly weren't a problem). We had a view of a mountain plus an old bus. If we weren't self contained in a motorhome, I probably would have moved on. Except they want full payment up front when reserving: maybe that's a clue! We would not stay again, but in the Denali area, there aren't a lot of choices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
A dump. Very disappointing with deep potholes on the road to the sites, very tight turns, untidy sites with old abandoned RVs. Showers and toilets were not clean. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Pictures of this park must have been taken when it was new. Bathrooms were in a portable trailer and in disrepair as well as dirty. Interior roads were rough and filled with pot holes. The trash was scattered about by the birds. It's only saving grace was the 49th State brewery and restaurant within short walking distance. They were just interested in taking your money and nothing else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This park was dirty and had horrible bathrooms and showers. Another problem was that it is next door to a bar that has loud, thumping music some nights that keeps you awake to after 1:00AM. This was, by far, the worst RV park we found in Alaska. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This park is located behind a gas station/deli and down in a hollow so it is quiet. However the turns were tight for a 37 foot fifth wheel. This has 30 amp service, pull throughs, camp on travel with some grass, picnic tables and a well stocked store. They sell diesel and propane. We probably would not stay here again due to the tight turns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
The park has rough interior roads with tight turns. If full, many sites could not be reached by big rigs. Electric was good, Wi-Fi was sporadic, water pressure was low and many sewer hookups were nonfunctional with liquid levels to the top of the pipes or leakage out onto the ground. Restrooms and showers were fifty or more stairs above campground level; nearby showers were all out of order. AT&T phone and data service were good. There was confusion regarding the Good Sam discount as the staff only wanted to apply it to the first night of our stay. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We spent one night at this park. They were just installing wi-fi, but it was only available if you stood next to the cash register. We traveled in Canada/Alaska for 3.5 months this summer, and voted this park as "The Worst". While the sites were off the road, they were dirty, with glass and trash in the most of the fire rings. Trash cans in camp were full. Overall assessment was "Dirty". It did appear to have clean sites up by the road, but they were not for larger RV's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
We spent 4 nights in a motorhome in this convenient campground. From traveling in the area we think that this is the best RV campground with full hook-ups in the Denali area. Although others provide wireless internet and cable TV their sites are on the main road and crowded. We loved the fact that the sites in this campground are hidden from the main road. The view is not too tempting but the owners are very nice and friendly. The store and laundry facility are very convenient. The campground was clean. It's a 20 minute drive from the Denali visitor center. We recommend for spoiled people like us who want full hook-up (no TV or internet). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
The entire campground was in disrepair. There was broken glass all over our site. There was sewage overflow on the ground that had not been attended to.Not all sites have full hookups.We were able to get one channel on TV. There was no Internet. Denali RV up the road has both Internet and Cable and that appears to be where the caravans. The staff at the resort was less than mediocre. There were few good places to walk a pet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com