223611 User submitted reviews online!!
DeGray Lake Resort State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (501) 865-5810
CGID5477

DeGray Lake Resort State Park

Camp Information
Sites
113
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   7   9   10   6   7   6   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$16
Have stayed at DeGray Lake 6 times now over a 4 year period. It is an excellent campground and we will continue staying there when in Bismark, AR. Not a single negative thing to say about the campground or employees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$19
Beautiful state park. Very well maintained. All facilities were clean and in excellent condition. Camping sites were large and well spaced. We attended the National Dutch Oven Gathering here. The park staff were very involved in helping with the event and organized an "Adopt a Chef" program where the general public was adopted by one of the dutch oven cooks and learned to cook a recipe with all the ingredients being provided by the program. Very enjoyable weekend. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$19
Be sure to have your leveling boards as most of the paved sites are not overly level. Satellite reception could be tricky. We asked for a satellite friendly site and got lucky. Otherwise, a beautiful park, facilities worked well (E & W only), quiet, interior roads are in good shape and paved, staff were very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$19
This is a very nice park. Lots of activities including, hiking, horseback riding, golf, boat tours, etc. Many ranger programs on the weekends. The wooded sites are very large and private, but most of them do not have lake views. Sites out on the peninsula are a little tight, but they do have wonderful views. Leveling is required at many sites, but we have never had problems getting level. The park is clean and large enough not to feel crowded even though most sites were occupied during our last stay. The lodge does have a pretty good restaurant with great views of the lake. Degray is close to Arkadelphia which has several restaurants at the interstate, also not to far into Hot Springs. Restrooms/showers were nice and clean. We love camping at Arkansas State Parks and will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$11
$11 with Access Pass, Arkansas resident. We have stayed here for over 20 years and always love it. Golf course, horseback riding right in park. Golf was $58 for two, with cart: only 9 holes, weekday. Thought that was high, but the golf course was in great shape. Campground was clean. Leveling was required on a lot of sites, some more than others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
This was our second year here for a family camping weekend. We were in DeRoche campground which has a lot of water sites which were great for the grandkids. We had 5 sites on the water and they had a ball. The sites are not too level but offer big concrete tables, grills, fire pits (which we couldn't use due to a burn ban in effect) and small pedestal concrete tables next to the grills which was handy. Most sites were shaded at least part of the day which was nice in the extreme heat. The park provides trash pickup at your individual site trash can every day. The down side to this campground is that the sites are close together with no landscape separation and some of the local campers don't understand the 10mph rule on the campground road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
The pad sites are very unlevel but can be worked around. The park has very few water or water view sites available. We unhooked and drove around and found better sites available but when we went to ask to be swapped we were told no. If you like to be in the woods and not see the lake then this is the place for you. The bath houses are fantastic and clean. As for fishing if you are boatless, there are several areas to bank fish from if you are able to walk on rocks. Otherwise there is no fishing pier or other structure to use from shore. If you like golf then by all means this is your happy spot. I was told if I wanted one of the primo spots that I would have to book at least 6 to 12 months in advance otherwise it is in the woods for you. I will come back but, I am better prepared because I wrote down the best sites for my next stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$19
For the price, this campground was fine. We did not have the best campsite as the ground sloped sharply away from the motorhome, making getting in and out a challenge. It is a pretty resort, just our particular camping spot was not all that great. There are sites capable of handling big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
This is a nice campground with many amenities in the park including dinning, fishing and golf. The golf course is top notch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
We just spent 8 nights here and enjoyed it very much. We had one of the few sites (#83, DeRoche Campground) that was even close to level, though, and we still needed several boards under one side. Quite a few sites were so sloped that their trailer tongues were on the ground! The campground is on a peninsula, and many sites have access to the water. The sites are large with concrete picnic tables, grills, a little concrete table next to the grill, and fire pits. Our site had a big supply of firewood waiting. Most sites have room for a tent, too. There's lots to do at this state park, including many free programs. We had 5 bars and 3G with AT&T the entire week. Wish they had 50amp service but the 30 worked okay even during extreme heat. They provide trash pickup every 24 hours at every site! The two young men at the Visitor's Center during check in were rude and not friendly, but other employees around the park were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed eating at the Lodge during our stay. We already have reservations for next year! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$18
We were very impressed with this park. Our camp site was spacious with room for a tent, large picnic table, grill, and fire pit. The site with a view of the lake was terrific. The best part of our experience was how helpful the staff was, especially the park rangers. We experienced a complete electrical failure in our fifth wheel. The park ranger spent considerable time trying to restore service and when he was unable to do so he brought us a heater, battery charger, and extension cords so that we would be comfortable in the freezing weather. The ranger was awesome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$19
I was disappointed in this park. This was one of the few state parks that I have stayed in that I didn't feel a sense of friendliness or helpfulness from the staff. We explained that we needed a site we could launch the kayaks from and were told site 74 would work for that. Maybe, if you're a mountain goat. We had booked for three nights but canceled one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
This park is very nice and I would have given a better rating for full hookups. Our site requires quite a bit of leveling but it was wooded, large and very private. The lake is very pretty and the marina has boat rentals (reservations are recommended during summertime). There are several trails for hiking and biking and stables with guided horseback rides for $25 a person. Also there are many, many activities sponsored by the park for your enjoyment; some free and some cost. The lodge has a spa and a restaurant. The location of the park is very close to a Wal Mart in Arkadelphia. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
Loved all the activities available. The children participated in games and activities, we rode our bicycles to the beach, took a sunset cruise. Was an excellent vacation. Nice clean bathhouses, showers and restrooms, Would highly recommend and stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
Super state park that has lots of facilities including golf, water sports and outdoor activities. The sites are very spacious with plenty of room to enjoy the great outdoors. The cleanest restrooms in any state park we visited. If sewer hookups were available, would have rated DeGray Lake a 10. This state park is an outdoor getaway because has no WiFi, poor cell phone reception or TV cable connections. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
This is a very, VERY nice park. It was clean and roomy as well as quiet. The park has all kinds of activities to do if wanted. They also have a great beach area as well as picnic areas to enjoy. There are also all kinds of trials to explore through out the park. The only down fall, if there is any here, was that the bathhouses did not have AC or even some type of vent fans to help move the stuffy warm air out of the rooms. Other than that is was one of the best parks we have stayed out in awhile. We will be sure to go back here on our next visit to Arkansas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
This is definitely a beautiful park and the campground hosts were extremely gracious. We will stay here anytime we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$15
Outstanding campground. Everything looked top notch. Originally reserved site for 2 days ended up staying 2 additional days. Great time fishing in the lake but no luck this time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$17
This ia a great State Park. We enjoyed the Lodge for their Thanksgiving Feast. There is a golf coarse, stables, beach, and marina. Great for fishing and most outdoor activities. There are not many hiking trails. The best sites are in loop "C", but it is closed right now for bath house renovations. Judging by the high quality of the other renovated bath houses, it will be great! Plan ahead during peak times and enjoy this fine place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$14
The individual camp site we were in was adequate. There were some sites that were very large. Most of the sites were not very level, however, it didn't take much to level our TT. All of the sites were very shady. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
Good variety of good campsites with improved trimmings. It's well named "resort" and a wide range of activities are accessable in the park or very close by. Good fishing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$8
I am handicapped and requested that kind of site. After having finally gotten a letter from my doctor stating my disability, I still did not get a handicapped site even though I made the reservations two months in advance. I was told they would put me in a level site. My site was anything but level. The back of the pad was missing and there was a decided lean to one side. The site was approximately 6 feet from the road. There was no room to leave the truck hooked to the trailer. The picnic table was down a slope which was impossible for me to navigate, so we did not use the table at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Very spacious, level pads, lots of shaded area. Lots of kids activities. My wife and daughter rode horses, my son and I played golf. Warning, during our stay, only 9 of the 18 holes were open, but for 18.00 a piece for 18 holes, including cart, you can't beat it. It rained on us almost one full day we were there on our trip to DC. Everything was well kept, a step above other state park restrooms and showers. Two marinas, one state run and one federally run. Close to Hot Springs and numerous restaurants all around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$17
Excellent campground!! Huge sites on the water view area. Easter activities for the kids. Friendly, informative Rangers. The only reasons for not giving a 10 rating was the lack of sewer hook-ups, and one mini van that was staying at a yurt and constantly speeding throughout the camping area. Not too fast, but fast enough to scare us with kids riding bikes. Even the less than desireable Easter weather did not keep us from having a great time at this campground. We rated this campground last year, stayed for a night and said that we would be back. We came back and are glad we did. We will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
It has a nice nature trail that is easy and short for young children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
This is a beautiful park on a beautiful lake. We stayed here one night as a stop over on a longer trip. We wish we would have stayed here longer. Three separate camping areas available. One is waterfront, one water view, and one in the woods. All sites very shady. Waterfront sites were a little close together while the water view sites were further apart and more level. We will come back here very soon and plan on staying a lot longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$25
I know most people love this park, and I'm sure I would have to IF I had been on the lake. We could not get a site on the Lake, and we live in the country so a tree is a tree is a tree. We just did not enjoy ourselves here at all. They put us in a site almost too small (though they said we would fit). We scratched our BRAND NEW Fifth Wheel on some trees that we could not get out of our way. They really need to trim the trees around the sites. We tried to move across the road to an empty site that had a "NOT RESERVED" sign on it, but they refused. No one ever stayed in that site, so after 3 nights we left. The office people seemed so surprised that we left early. We drove 6 hours for this. Lake Catherine and Millwood Lake is so much better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com