223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Estes Park KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (970) 586-2888
CGID548

Estes Park KOA

Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$53



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   10   7   5   7   7   2   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$53
The term sardines comes to mind. Extremely close sites. They try to fill every square inch of space. Big rigs should certainly avoid this place. We had a back in space for a 35 feet motorhome, with an unusable table at the rear. The site was so narrow, we could not put out the awning, it would have touched our neighbors slide out. Restrooms are totally inadequate. One urinal and two stalls in the men's room. Estes Park is beautiful, but we will not return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
Great park for exploring Rocky Mountain National Park. Staff very friendly and helpful. Like all parks in Estes Park, grass is at a premium and spaces are tight. Very clean park, good cable, and good Wi-Fi. Nice location. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
Convenient free shuttle service stops right in front of campground. Rather tight spaces for large rigs but no problem for my little class B. Typical KOA, clean, well kept and friendly staff. I will stay here again next time in Estes Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$41
The staff was friendly and the store had a lot variety. Interesting park layout. The back-ins look to be tight if you have slide outs with very little space between neighbors. There are 3 tiers. Across from the back-ins on each tier are parallel park sites. I had one of those for my teardrop. I commented that it looked like they had more cabins than RV spots and turns out that is accurate. This is a fair price as other spots in town outside the national park are more expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
We love KOA campgrounds because we always know what to expect and have always been happy with the ones we have used. This one however is extremely cramped. Our neighbors can look into our windows, we cannot let out our awning and can barely walk out our door. The people working here are very nice, but they have crammed everyone in like sardines which defeats the purpose of camping. There is NO privacy. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$49
Several of the sites required parking parallel to and against a wall with the trees above the wall (not at the level of the RV). So, there was the wall on one side and the road on the other side. No place to really walk a dog since there was private property and residence immediately adjacent to the KOA. Hosts were kind and helpful. Lots of hummingbirds and of course very close to Estes Park downtown, and the mountains for hiking. So very glad there is a KOA here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
Nice place to stay for a few nights. Great location close to town and park. Friendly staff. Only back in spots and not much space to park your tow. I would give it a 10 for the camp but the sites are very tight and not much space between. I will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$54
The staff is friendly and helpful but this where any upside ends. The sites are more than small, we were not able to extend our canopy and cooking meals outside was an adventure. We had to move our car from our site to satellite parking to allow other campers to pull out of their sites. This campground crams everyone in like sardines and is not up to KOA standards. We will not stay here again and do not recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$49
Very friendly staff. Booked a last minute site when we had fridge trouble and needed to move to a campground with electrical hookups. Provided the name of a mobile RV repair service who fixed the problem (not cheap). Site was not great. No shade, pull out on the side of the road site. Paid $5 per night for each person over the first two. Made the nightly rate $59. Enjoyed the pancake breakfast-choice of blueberry, chocolate chip or plain. Can take the shuttle to town or Rocky Mountain NP, but can take awhile. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$56
This was our first RV trip and our very first campground we stayed and was really impressed by the cleaning of the camp, organization and the service provided by the staff members. The camp has everything except the BBQ in the site but there are designated areas where is available. Also has a nice playground for the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Everything was nice except for the dog excrement, and it was everywhere. Had to clean dog waste from our spot after we parked. I do not like dog waste. The people with dogs need to clean up after their dogs! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$80
Nice park less than 5 minutes from Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. I gave lower rating due to the high price. Very tight gravel spaces but it's what you'd expect in a resort town. Good Wi-Fi even at back of park. Park is terraced on hillside and most spaces have deck area with picnic table on the terrace. If you have a larger trailer, 5th wheel, or motorhome, call first to see if they can shoehorn you in. Narrow roads and sharp corners to negotiate here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
This a small, terraced park on the eastern edge of Estes Park. The facilities (FHU, cable, and WIFI) are good but the sites and the park, in general, are probably too tight for many larger RVs. Others may have a problem walking up and down the terraces. There are a couple eateries within 1/2 mile to the west, but the center of "touristy" Estes Park is about 2 miles. There are mountain views to the south and west. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Other than the small sites for trailers with slide-outs, this is one of the very best KOAs anywhere in the country!!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
This is not the campground for you to use if you want a wilderness experience. There are plenty of campgrounds in Rocky Mountain Nat'l Park for those of you who want that type of camping. This park is very convenient to the Park and the town of Estes Park. The staff is very nice and helpful. The Wi-Fi is strong and free. The sites are level, back in sites and very close together. Our site was great, in that we did not have a neighbor on one side. Nice picnic table and great views of the mountains. They do not have 50 amp service, but do have cable and sewer. The park is clean and well kept and I would stay here again. They are booked solid from about June 1 to the end of August. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Very tight sites. No grass at sites all gravel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
A very tidy park. Very friendly staff. Yes, some of the sites are tight, but a nice touch is a patio/deck with picnic table at the back of each site which gives a view of the beautiful mountains. There are trees which do not afford too much shade, but give a woodsy feel. The roads are paved, not dirt. The sites are gravel. Close proximity to everything in town and RMNP. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$43
This was the closest RV park to the Rocky Mountain National Park, and therefore get a lot of business. It advertises itself as a "RV Resort" but I'm not sure why. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the park had reasonable amenities. However, the grounds were not very well cared for. Their was a poor excuse for grass growing randomly around the sites and it had not been cut recently. The roads in the park are dirt, and therefore any slight bit of traffic creates a dust cloud inside the RV. The sites were fairly level, but sparse gravel made them uneven to walk on. The sites are built on a terraced hill so many of the sites are very narrow. I had a site in the "A" row and there was not enough room to put a chair out next to the RV without being on the slope up to the next RV. When my awning was extended it was literally an inch from the next RV. It was close to the town and close to the National Park, but by no means a "Resort". The office wanted to charge me a premium if I wanted 50 amp service, and to hook up to the park cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
Clean and friendly! Pancakes($) every AM, ice cream($) every PM. Free shuttle to many places including RMNP. Nice laundry facilities and wifi worked great. Beautiful setting. Staff knowledgeable and eager to answer all questions. Only downside is tight fit for some campers. Would return and highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
I gave them a 6 because of the positive attitude of the newer owners. Very nice people. The park itself is a parking lot. With my 39' rig I could extend my slides but nothing else. No chairs or awning room, unless extended into the road. Good location but too tight. Should have listened to previous reviewers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$47
Stayed here for the Fourth of July 2007. The whole campground is tight and they allow large rigs to park on the ends of the rows narrowing access to the interior sites. The staff member who escorted us to our site tried to get me to back into our site crooked. I was trying to line up on the timber dividers buried in the dirt. He insisted I back in crooked and became angry and left before I finished backing in. I got in straight thanks to my wife. We brought our dog with us. The dog run was approximately 20 feet wide and 50 feet long. There was a receptacle for the dog droppings. It was overflowing when we arrived and was even more full when we left the next day. We will not stay here again especially when there are far superior campgrounds further up the hill. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
This is not camping. If you want to camp like this, park in the Wal-Mart east of here where it feels like less of a parking lot. They literally have to help guide you into the spot as if they worked for an outdoor concert parking service or for an airport. The guy in the camper next to us listened to Radio Free Europe day and night and his antiquated camper emanated smells varying from some type of fried animal to stale "human-like" smells. Considering we never saw him and I have 2 little kids, it made me all the more nervous. Oh, don't let me forget to tell you, the campground is about 30 yards (literally) from US-34 which is the main artery feeding into Rocky Mountain National Park and the town of Estes Park. The hum of 18 wheelers rumbling by was constant. I was not the only disappointed camper as I noted many people either pulling in and then leaving as well as those making a quick exit in the morning. Add in the yahoos dancing on the picnic tables while downing copious amounts of wine coolers and this was possibly the worst experience of my life. From now on, any camping trip will no doubt include a lot more research on our destination. When considering a campground don't go here and thank your lucky stars as you drive by this place. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2000
$22
The sites were too close together, if you are going for solitude and peace and quiet this is not the campground for you. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com