214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Hickory Hill Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (309) 744-2407
CGID5481

Hickory Hill Campground

Camp Information
Sites
160
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   7   6   7   7   5   1   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$29
Good check-in and we were led to the site. Had a pull-through site for one night. Our site was not level, narrow and close to other units. Looks like there were several units parked here for the summer. A good overnight stop as there are not many places to stop on I-39 between Bloomington and Rockford. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
The front desk is great. The sites are a little close but they are fine. Shooting range next door is the only drawback. It kind of bothered me for the first hour but after that I forgot about it, and I was right next door to the range. If you think this will bother you when you call, request a site on the other side of the campground. I brought my own wood and nothing was said. Have fun and happy camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
I scored Hickory Hills at a 7 simply because of their front office staff (they get an 11 in my book!). We needed a port in a (wind) storm and we called the office late on a Friday and asked if they had a 50-amp site available for a two night stay to allow the 25-30 mph winds to die down on our way to Joliet. The lady in the office said it had been a long, hard day and she was just leaving to go home, but would be more than happy to come back over to the office to check us in if we would just call her cell number when we arrived. We arrived an hour later and she could not have been more helpful. She didn’t act “put out” by our last minute check-in or the fact that it was cold. They aren’t a Good Sam property, but she gave us the 10% discount anyway. They escorted us to our site and made sure we were all set before leaving. Here’s why I can’t give them higher than a 7, however: the fantastic front office staff just can’t make up fully for the quality of the sites. The overnight pull-throughs are not level at all and are very narrow. I’m glad that it wasn’t a busy weekend because if there had been a camper on the left and right of us, there would have been barely enough room to sit at the picnic table between the slides of each motorhome. The long-term sites are pretty large –that is certainly where their bread-and-butter is made. Some reviewers have commented on the shooting range next door. The overnight sites are on the very edge of the property immediately next to the road going to the range. We didn’t hear any gunfire while there at all, but it was the weekend of their annual community fish fry (awesome fish!) at the range, so maybe they weren’t in operation. We probably wouldn't make this a destination, but we were certainly glad it was available to us this weekend. We would stay here again under the same circumstances. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Second time here. Great place. Quiet, convenient, and well maintained. Glad to be here. Too many reviewers are picky. This place is great. Will come here again. 42' coach, towing and site was more than enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Less than 4 miles from freeway, gravel sites not very level. Jammed our levellers in fact. Escort to site. Good satellite reception, no WiFi, Verizon air card was fair and no reception on Sprint. Bathrooms are old, but fairly clean. The Shooting Range NEXT DOOR, is active til 8:30 pm. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
While traveling I-39 on our way north, we were grateful to find this campground open in late March. Illinois just doesn't have many offerings before April 1. It was a friendly, secure place for an overnight stay with good size sites. I would recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$20
This park was really closed, but we called ahead and they said to stop and they would allow us to park overnight. They had the water turned off, and the sewer pumps turned off, they offered electricity only at this time. Nice folks, and the park is very nicely laid out. We would stay here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
Older park with gravel sites. We were there on a holiday weekend so park was very busy with golf carts racing all about. Our satellite TV wouldn't work because of the trees. The majority of sites were taken by seasonal campers. It was OK for overnight. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Do not stay in pull through sites numbers 10, 11, 12. The sewer backs up when people dump their black tanks. The smell is horrible and there is waste on the ground! Disgusting. Our friends were in site 12 and were surrounded by this - they were not given their money back or even at the very least given an apology! We will never go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
An OK park with mostly seasonal people. All gravel and can be dusty. Pull thru sites on the south side of the park have a clear southern view for satellite reception. Unfortunately those sites are closest to the 'gun club'. You can expect to hear shotguns being blasted every 10 seconds all evening for about 3 hours. I stayed on pad 9, which was pretty level. Most other sites are shaded. A young couple own the park and are trying to make improvements. The buildings are very old. And not well maintained. Nearest big town is Bloomington/Normal - 20 miles south. Only one grocery store in El Paso [IGA], 4 miles east. There is nothing in Secor - dismal railroad town. The park is 4 miles west of exit 251 on I-39. There are not many parks along this route. I asked for a discount. They gave me a 'veterans' discount of $2 per night. No 'Good Sam' or other discounts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com