217870 User submitted reviews online!!
Rocky Point COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (903) 838-8781
CGID5486

Rocky Point COE

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   4   9   7   8   9   10   9   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$11
This is one of the nicest COE campgrounds we have camped in. The park is very shaded with good asphalt roads and level asphalt RV pads. In addition, each campsite has a raised packed gravel pad which has a fire ring, picnic table and grill on it. There is enough room on the pad for lawn chairs, etc. The number of sites that are suitable for satellite use are somewhat limited due to the trees. Also, on some sites it may be impossible to fully extend awnings due to the trees. We camped here on two different days, a Saturday night and a Tuesday night over the past two weeks. The park was less than 1/2 full and very quiet on both nights. The park is probably very full on holidays and spring break, thus it is much noisier than normal then. Rate reflects Senior discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$26
Pretty place to camp; however, sites are very close together. Camp was very noisy, even during quiet hours. We do not plan to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$10
As I have mentioned before - we love ACOE campgrounds. We have stayed at another ACOE before and since this was on the way to our destination we again decided to stay here overnight. Many paved sites overlooking the lake with a gorgeous view. Unfortunately, for us it was pouring rain during our stay this time. Even though we had trees around us we were able to get Verizon Internet and TV satellite. Price reflects Golden Age Passport. During peak season I would definitely recommend reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
Very beautiful views at this park. Nice hiking trail which leads to Piney Point Park, but we did encounter wild hogs on the trail so beware! The shower area was clean with hot water. Pet friendly, decent areas to walk dogs. There did appear to be some long term campers here whose extra vehicle's were spilling into adjacent sites. Had to ask one person to move his truck so we could get into our site. The local's do use this campground as a party area on the weekends. They congregate between the lakefront sites watching their friends out on jet skis who are riding way to close to the shore. Park ranger said that the area between the sites is "public" and they were welcome to continue their party, this was a group of about 25 people! Not sure if we will return, strange thing with the local folks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$11
Price reflects Golden Passport discount. Park was a little difficult for us to locate, but it is a beautiful setting on a lake. Lots of trees made satellite reception difficult, but we did get a signal and had a good Verizon signal as well. I was a little surprised to see some longer term campers and it was fairly dark at night but the stars were nice. We only stayed two nights and had to clean the tops of our slides as the walnuts and acorns were falling. We would definitely stay again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$9
This is one of the best Corp parks that I have stayed in. Very clean, very spacious sites, and close to Atlanta, TX. (12 Miles), It is close to Super Walmart for groceries. I am definitely staying again when I am in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$11
When we arrived, we had to take another site because they were cutting trees down at our reserved site, which had sewer hook up. We were able to get a site on the water with a most beautiful view. The staff were very nice. Sites are well spaced with concrete picnic tables. There is a lot of privacy between sites. It is very quiet here, a lot of nice shade trees, and the grounds are well kept. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$10
Great COE park. We paid senior rate with Golden Access card. We chose a site without sewer so we had the water view. Some roads are tight for motorhomes but not a problem if you go slow and be careful. Computer wireless card service was poor but phone was OK. Our site was nice and level but some are a bit sloped. All in all we spent a great 6 days here and will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$10
This is a nice park. Sites are large with a nice picnic table. We camped here in a 45ft motorhome and found some of the turns very tight. A lot of the sites are unlevel. There are a few sites with full hook-ups. Convenient dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$9
This is probably the nicest campground we've ever stayed in. All of the roads and sites are paved (blacktop) and extremely shady due to all the trees throughout the park. All of the sites are huge...our site was on the end and just our patio area alone was bigger than a 3-car garage. Each site has a picnic table, fire ring, charcoal grill, prep table and trash can. The restrooms and showers were very clean. There were quite a few kids, but the park was very quiet after dark. A very nice paved boat ramp is right there at the campground. We would definitely stay here again or at any other Corps of Engineers park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
Waterfront sites have easy access to the lake, not a steep cliff or long walk through the weeds. Sites very well maintained. Most of the better sites are back in. It's best to get here before sundown so you don't get lost, it covers a pretty large area. With the Golden Age passport it's half price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$9
Typically nice COE park. Rates went up as of Jan 1 2009 by $2, ($1 for seniors). I had hoped for more choices of sites, but it was pretty full for early April. Cell modem service is good via Alltel which Verizon considers part of its "extended" network. Very friendly and helpful park hosts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$8
We found getting there very difficult as the campground was VERY poorly marked from highway 59. Look for the Shell station. The entrance is next to it. We really like this place. The lake is great and the majority of the sites are very well shaded. Most you can reserve but a minimum number are first come first served. Not all sites have sewer hookups however. We would definitely camp here again. The Golden Access pass halved the daily rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$16
Paved roads and sites. Sites with gravel on site with concrete picnic table and pad, fire pit, area for tent or tent like shelter, charcoal grill, and side table. Easy to get to from Hwy-59. Nice large sites with beautiful view of lake on wooded setting. Was able to get satellite with our rooftop dome. Big rig friendly. We were in site C-2 (30 amp). We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
Nice campground with plenty of sites. This is an excellent COE park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2005
$13
Wonderful, spacious park. The only real minus was the Looonng wait to check in. It seems the staff works at one pace, slow! They seemed unconcerned about the people waiting to check in. This is a US Corps Of Engineers park, but it seemed that the office staff was a private company and not Corps personel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com