217661 User submitted reviews online!!
Catalina Spa & RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (760) 329-4431
CGID5492

Catalina Spa & RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
482
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   6   9   10   9   9   7   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$45
The sites were wide enough, with shrubbery dividing each site. We stayed in the older section, which had more landscaping. The newer area might be better for big rigs. The rate reflects the fact that we agreed to take a tour from the marketing department. So it was $45 for the first night, and then 3 nights for free. The tour was very low key. The area we stayed in was old and needed updating. The concrete pad at our site was broken and crumbling. The pool, showers, and bathrooms were also old. Some residents volunteer throughout the facility, and did not have a customer service attitude. Won't return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$32
Rate of $32.50 is PA. Located off Dillon St, one mile down Corkhill Rd on the right. It is like Club Med with lots of activities and social events, and everyone very friendly. The resort is pristine clean and the sites are separated by shelter beds that give privacy. There are two pool complexes, one for families and one for adults only and the water is from the thermal hot springs: just beautiful. It would have been a 10 if you didn't have to pay for the WiFi. It was very quiet for such a huge complex. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$15
This used to be one of our favorite parks, but it's in need of a facelift. The pool was dirty and pool chairs in disrepair. The place could do with a good clean up. The upside is the staff are very friendly, love the security guys! Great area for lots to do, golf, hike, Palm Springs but it's a shame to hear complaints from fellow Rvers. Please take care of this once great park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
It was summer, there were not many of us to enjoy the temperature of 117 during the day. Clean, well kept and landscaped. Power was good, there were no interruptions and the air conditioners kept the rig livable. Interior asphalt roads with packed desert sand at mostly level sites - all sites back in. Good Wi-Fi signal. Laundry not air conditioned, but clean and plenty of machines. A lot to do and see in this area. We would stay again, but not in the summer!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
This is a RPI Member rate. There is two-level pricing: “Lower” w/30 amp & more shade @ $15 or “Upper” w/ larger spaces but less shade & 50 amp @ $17. They have daily activities, with most at the Upper (family pool) area. Lower pool is Adult only. Both pools & jacuzzi are mineral water fed and nice. Park is kept clean. Only down-side is little shade and pretty tight sites. We had site #60 with great shade but only 30 amp so limited air condition, but still a great location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$10
We signed up for a 4 day stay for $45, but had to commit to a 90 minute presentation. It turned out to be worth it. After over 8 years of RVing and sitting through several presentations we found this one to be a good value, so we signed up and stayed another 4 days. The park has two sets of mineral spring heated pools, miniature golf, pickle ball courts, shuffle board courts, horse shoe pits, and boche ball. It is located about 10 miles from Palm Springs with a great view of the mountain above Palm Springs. The setting is very quiet and nicely landscaped. The sites are desert gravel with a blacktop area for your outside patio area with full hookups and cable TV. There are no picnic tables or fire pits. They have a lot of activities going on all the time. WiFi is available at a cost of $4/day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$15
Friendliest staff ever! Very nice sites with green hedges to separate each other, but small. Very nice pools and lots to do in the area. Will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$18
Rate reflects RPI. This is a nice campground in Desert Hot Springs. There are a lot of repeat visitors and we didn't meet a single unhappy person in the park. The sites, all back in, are sand. It's the desert, so sand should be expected. We had no issues with leveling, etc. Hot spring "pools" on site, as well as a menagerie of daily events, including water aerobics, water volleyball and pickle ball. Saw a bocce ball court but didn't use it. Small store that has daily breakfast and lunch specials. They have a few volunteers that also serve as security personnel who really like their 'rules' and drive around continuously to enforce said rules (this is a good and bad thing at times, depending on the silliness of the 'rule'). Felt very secure in this park, but just know (if you are considering staying here) that Desert Hot Springs is not Palm Springs. We found the parks on the other side of the 10 in Palm Springs to be a lot nicer (our fault for not checking into things a little more prior to booking) with a much more expensive daily rate. Having said that, Catalina Spa & RV Park did meet our expectations and we would definitely stay here again. I would have rated this park higher, but the Wi-Fi was tragic at best. We work during the week so I called the office prior to booking to ask, specifically, about the quality of the Wi-Fi, which they said was great. It wasn't. And you pay extra for it, adding insult to injury. We bought a MiFi to compensate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Price reflects Passport America discount. This park is a bit out of the way if you are visiting Palm Springs, Palm Desert etc. But we drove in each day and it was doable. The park was pretty deserted since we were there in June so it was extremely quiet. The office staff was helpful, pleasant and efficient. The park looks okay--typical desert landscaping, which isn't too much. There is a family pool and an adult pool, which is nice, and our dog loved the dog park. Level spaces all back in. Verizon air card & cell were excellent. It was worth the Passport America price of $25 but the regular price of $50 a day out of season would have been WAY too much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
Catalina Spa & RV Resort is a membership "campground" which allows non-members to stay overnight for a fee of $50.00. We were not impressed. The rate is too high for such a mediocre facility. There is no shade nor windbreak. One's general impression is of unkempt sites and deferred maintenance. This is a windy, dusty, barren location a long way from Palm Springs; both geographically and culturally. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Liars...front page of their website said you can stay for 4 nights for $45.00...and when we talked to them they said it wasn't good until October. No dates on their website...very misleading. Average park. Terrible check-in...no-one seemed to know what they were doing. Sent us back and forth from the office to the security booth six times. Sites old, sandy/gravel, quite uneven with badly broken concrete pad. They charge for Wi-Fi so we used our Verizon hotspot. TV was OK. We paid $25.00 through Passport America. Worst camp we have ever been in...will not be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$17
This is a membership park. We were here under RPI which is suppose to be $10.00 per night. Cat Spa charges a $5.00 resort fee plus extra ($2.00) for 50 amp. Park is nice enough. Most of the sites need major leveling. They were planting palm trees along the back row, yet these sites are hardly usable. (Bad slope which makes it hard to level if in anything longer than 30'.) Lots of activities. Pickleball is so popular that people come from other parks to play (sometimes a long wait between games). Pools are great, adult and a family pool both with mineral hot tubs. Food selling and store was winding down for the end of the season even though this park is open year round. This side of town gets wind! Staff was very friendly as were most of the other campers. This home park (2 weeks in 1 out or buy week out) has a lot of members who know each other and really seem to be having a good time. This is our 3rd time here and we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$17
The rate reflect RPI plus $7 for 50-amp. Nice park with great spring-fed hot tubs and pools, yet is becoming quite dated and could use some major overhauls of buildings. Lots of activities, decent fenced dog area, Wi-Fi at a cost. (We didn’t use it as Verizon 3G worked well.) Overall nice staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$17
We spent Thanksgiving at the park with our five children. We loved the weather, the pools and the beautiful scenery. The park was half empty which was a huge surprise. The staff was friendly and professional, there is excellent security and the ground are well maintained. We were supposed to stay for 3 days and extended our stay to 6 days. We look forward to returning again soon! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$17
We stayed using our Coast to Coast membership. We paid an additional $7/night to stay in the section of the park with 50 amp sites, bringing the total to $17/night. Paved roads, with plenty of room to maneuver a big rig. Many of the sites in that section of the park were large enough for our 40' Bulgemobile with our toad parked in front and plenty of room for lawn chairs, the BBQ, etc., alongside. There are shrubs of various sizes separating the sites. The power was good, even with two air conditioners and the microwave running at once. The staff and other residents were all friendly, which is not something you always see in snowbird parks with a lot of folks who have been there together for months. The grounds are scrupulously maintained, with a lot of native vegetation planted along the paved roads. We enjoyed the lunch specials at the little café. The park is surrounded by desert where you can let your dog run free but we were there late enough in the season (mid-March) that there was a danger of rattlesnakes, so I kept our mutt on leash all the time. There is a very nice fenced pet area in the park as well. Pickleball is a popular sport here, with free lessons at 10:00 AM five days a week. One of the few residents who stays year around told us that all activities stop on April 1, until the next season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$10
A very nice park, but could be great if a little maintenance would be done periodically. The mineral springs pools are great. The shower areas could use a better cleaning. The people are friendly. The internet is terrible. It is off and on. The park should check into a service that provides it so it would stay on. I get kicked off every few minutes and I have an extender and we are parked right at the antenna. We had several power interruptions due to some wind damage. We stayed here with RPI. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$10
This is an OK park. We stayed under Coast to Coast so the price was right. They sites are very close together: we could hardly get the door to the motorhome open because the car was parked so close. We didn't have a patio area at all because we needed the space to park the car. Lots of activities. Everyone that works in this park are very nice and friendly except for the older lady that is the sales manager. She is ugly to staff, renters and potential buyers. I went to see her about a membership and was treated like I wasn't good enough to be in the park. Why anyone joins with her in charge, is beyond me. We will stay here again because of the price, other staff and activities but will be sure to steer clear of her. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$10
We were here two weeks using our RPI membership, in a back in site in the older (lower section). The site was dirt/sand with a large cement patio area. The natural hot springs pool is wonderful. Small cafe with breakfast/lunch items next to it. Lots of activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Good: Nice pool and spa, clean showers, friendly staff, chose own site, close to Palm Springs. Had several community functions during our stay: spaghetti supper, hamburger cookout, jam session. Bad: Somewhat small in length for a 40'. Parked tow car in next site over as no room in own site, but management didn't object. Rate was RPI. Charged extra for 50 amp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$10
I like the sites-separated by hedges. 2 clubhouses, 2 pools and hot soaking mineral pools. There are nice friendly people at the entrance guard shack and in the office. It is a nice location - easy hop over to Palm Springs and the other area towns for shopping and entertainment. I rated park relatively low because of lack of house-keeping. Dirty walkways into pool area. During week I was there, out 2 weeks, then back for a week, the same band-aid was on the soap dish in the shower, and same razor cap on floor of the shower. Toilets looked like they were cleaned regularly. General pool/restroom area in lower clubhouse area in poor repair. Stuff laying around that needed to be nailed back up etc. Shabby looking. That having been said, I definitely would stay there again, using my AOR membership, it's a bargain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$10
It has very friendly staff. The park is an older park BUT in pretty decent shape. It is quiet at night, NO TRAINS. We spent 2 nights here using Coast to Coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$5
Lower pool shower is old but we found it to be clean. Great staff. If you love Pickle Ball this is the place. The hot tub and pool were OK. Not all sites are level. We are new members and are glad we joined. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$17
We stayed here with RPI and because we stayed in the upper camp ground we were charged $7.00 extra. The restrooms and showers were clean but could have used some repair. One of the showers in the ladies room was without a knob so couldn't be used for the entire two weeks. The pools are great, fed with mineral springs and water changes often and are clean. The hot tub in the upper area had some problems and some days was warm and other days hot. The parking areas are sand and gravel and we had no patio. There are some in some areas of the park. They allow us to choose our own spot from those that are vacant. The staff is friendly. We were right across from the wireless internet but without a booster kept getting thrown off. One day the internet was out entirely. There are several activities. The park recycles glass, plastic and cans, and cardboard and have several recycling containers throughout the park. We have stayed here before and will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$10
Rate is Coast to Coast membership. Stayed in the lower campground. Sites could be wider. Long way to grocery. That's the only negatives. Otherwise a great park with lots of seasonal campers. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$7
Really enjoy this campground. Very quiet in summertime, but great pools. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
Not many people here at the end of April! Friendly staff. This park has graveled parking spaces with black top patios. Fairly easy access for big rigs in the upper area. Upper area has 50 amp and that's why it costs an extra $7 a day. Lower area is 30 amp only with smaller spaces (older section). Because of the park location, the wind blows here 24/7 so be prepared for that. Nice hot water in the pool and hot tub which both use natural hot springs for heating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$10
We went on a Coast to Coast membership, rate is $10 a night. Wifi was extra. Cable TV was $1 extra a day. Lower area is cheaper than the upper area that costs $7 more a day. Upper area sites have 50 amp service and larger sites. Lower area does not have tables and sites are narrower. Store is a little on the small side, but has a little cafe (3 tables) for hot sandwiches and small tv meals. Very friendly staff. I will stay there again, in the lower area. Pool in lower and upper area. Upper area pool is larger and fancier clubhouse than the lower area clubhouse. All areas are accessible to every one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
CampClub rate. Very friendly snowbird park. Structured activities, 2 pools. Went to a BBQ one night that was well attended and lots of fun. Clean but older park. Did not test Wifi. Only stayed here 2 nights but would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$10
We camped here in November 2008. We camped here on the promotional deal. Very nice sales lady. Just the facts, no hard sell at all. If we were to buy in, we would definitely consider here. Nice facilities. Two pools. Very friendly staff and residents. Excellent Aquasize classes. Sites are a little tight for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$10
This is an excellent park. I can't comment on their website as it is no longer available. There is a mineral water pool and spa in the lower area which is adult only and another swimming pool with two spas in the upper area. All pools are fed by a hot mineral water well, and the water flow through the pools is constant so very little chemicals need to be used. Wi-Fi is available for $10 a week, $16 for 2 weeks, and our reception is very good. There is not much selection of cable channels. There is a large number of organized activities including water aerobics 5 times a week. I have stayed here before and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$10
We are staying here via RPI and this is one of the nicest campgrounds we've stayed - the sites are clean, large, have some privacy with flowering shrubs - there are many, many activities, five nice swimming pools - two (the spas) at the adult center and three at the family center. The family center also has a large lodge-type facility with many potlucks planned. The adult center has a large area for games, a book exchange, poker room, pool room, and small restaurant. There is a great off-leash dog are (actually three, so dogs that do not get along can be separated) with shade trees, toys, water bowls - chairs for the parents -the works! There are two laundromats which are both very nice, and it happens to be the least expensive laundry we've found so far. The staff is also incredibly nice - we even had someone stop by and welcome us to the park. If you want cable, it costs $1/day (our antenna works fine), and 50 amps will cost $17 under RPI. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$10
This is a Coast-to-Coast affiliate park, but limits members to seven day stays from now on. This a nice, clean, well-kept park. Some spaces are a bit narrow, but still okay. Wonderful pool and nice big hot tub. Hotsprings water feels great. Staff is very nice. Would rate as a '10' if spaces were 5' wider. Nearest stores are in Desert Hotsprings, about 7 miles away. Palm Desert and Palm Springs are about 15-16 miles away. Remote, but still very nice! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2008
$10
This is a very poorly maintained park with dirty streets and sites. There were no tables. Garbage containers were removed and never came back. Sites were very narrow and short in the old section and there was no privacy at all in the upper sections. The comment about the website is so true. This park looks NOTHING like they are showing it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$10
I would have given them a higher rating but their website is really over the top on what the campground looks like. It is a desert campground, winds are likely. The sites have a cement pad to put your chairs on. The RV parks on gravel. No table, no fire ring, no BBQ grill. The website says it has a restaurant and mineral spa but I never saw them. It is and OK campground for $10.00 but nothing like the website indicates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$8
We paid $8 to stay here, because we are members of Coast to Coast. We only intended to here a few days, but so enjoyed the Mineral Spa (about 15 x 25 feet, so stayed longer. Best thing about it, we feel there were benefits from the mineral water, but there is no chemical smell or sulpher smell. The water is changed frequently, so it feels clean in spite of the fact no chlorine is used. If I remember correctly, the water is completely changed about 7 or more times per hour. Many spas are too hot for me, this one is about 104 degrees, so comfortable. Roads are paved, a bit rough in a few places, but no problem for our RV or any we saw. All sites that I saw are back in, but some may be pull through as we didnt look at all of them. The sites are sand, with a cement patio. Our site was smaller than some, probably would hold only a 30' RV, but we chose it for trees. Power, water, sewer connections were conveniently located. There are two nice pool areas. We used the one by the store the most, as it was closer to our site. Close enough to walk in our bare feet. The site was lined with trees on one side, and bushes about 7-8 feet high on the other, so we felt it was very private. Fishing is allowed in the stream, we don't fish, but watched a boy about 14 fishing and he caught three fish while we were watching. Believe it may be stocked, but didn't inquire. We will be coming back here, on our way back home from this trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$42
Quite a long run for shopping etc. but an absolutely lovely facility. Although office staff were somewhat difficult and rude, most full timers said they got used to their arrogance and their outside staff made up for their poor attitude. The location is along the desert wind tunnel and our lot was difficult to level due to the steepness along the wall, we managed with a purchase of lumber. Excellent Security, beautiful grounds, pools etc. Will definitely visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
Clean and beautiful desert park. We camped here in a ?.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com