206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Viking RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (709) 623-2425
CGID5497

Viking RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   7   7   8   7   7   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$15
Close to Lanse aux Meadows. Owners are nice. We camped here but didn't bother with electric. There is a boil water order, but this is the way it is all the way up the coast. The washrooms are older, but are clean (not heated). It is a basic place to stay while visiting the area. Wi-Fi worked great and the prices are right. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15?
Tented here beginning of July. Lots of birds around the park. The management was nice and the $7 breakfast was excellent. I'll stay again. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
This is a minimal park, but is really the only game nearby. The owner was very nice. There is a 'water' problem, but we decided to rely on our filters and had not problems. The sites were level and the WiFi good. The dump station is well positioned and easy to use. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Rated this park a 7 because of the electric. Although it was supposed to be 30 amps it was not. We have an EMS system on our rig and it was constantly cutting the power due to low voltage. We knew the water was not treated before we came so had a full freshwater tank and just used it. In spite of these problems we loved it here. Management was great and showed a wonderful example of Newfoundland hospitality. Without a doubt would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$11
A real hard park to rate. The ladies in the office were as friendly and helpful as any we encountered in Newfoundland. But the water is pumped out of the large lake out back and the water pressure was almost nonexistent. And we shared a 15 amp site with another camper - even though we were supposed to park in the last site available - and the other camper came in after we did. And the whole park looks and feels like it's being neglected. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Rated this park as a 8 because it was very convenient to the National Historic Site at L'Anse aux Meadows. Negatives are that we couldn't drink the water while we were there, and they ran out of 30 amp sites. Recommend the "Northern Delight" restaurant just down the road for excellent food at reasonable price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Great location and this park has everything you need for a nice stay; very close to the L'ance aux Meadows site and the Norseman restaurant (which I suggest). The park is also close enough to St. Anthony's for whale and iceberg watching. They had the boil water sign on the water hookup so I just used my own. We stayed in a fifth wheel here for 2 days and I would stay here again if in the area. As I read in a previous post I have paid much more for less. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Wide Pull through sites with gravel pads and grass in between. Picnic tables and fire pits. 30 amp power but the water pressure was a little low. Clean washrooms and Showers. They are going to repave the road in which will be a great asset to coming here. This park is close to everything you will want to visit in the St Anthony area. There are icebergs in the Bays here and just off the shores of L'Anse aux Meadows 3 Km up the road. We stayed here in a motorhome for 4 Days. Will stay here again if we return to the St Anthony Area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
This is a very basic camping facility, but it was a good place to spend the night and the restrooms were clean. They did have a "boil water" order when we were there. There were only two campers in the campground that night. I have paid a great deal more to stay in worse places and would stay there again if in the area. We felt safe and comfortable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
This campground was memorable on our recent trip to Newfoundland because we were the only ones camping there. It was so welcome to find this campground after a long drive from Rocky Harbour. Be sure to drive up to L'Anse Aux Meadows for a nice dinner at the Norsemen -- if you order lobster, the chef takes you out to the wharf to pick it out. The water at this campground was a little brown from rust. Best sites are #1 through #6 right behind the office. The campground is basically a gravel parking lot, but a moose might stroll by. If in the area, we would stay here again, although there are no other options in the immediate area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$16
This is a small (17 RV, 10 Tent), basic and Spartan CG, but that’s alright because it doesn’t pretend to be anything else. It's main calling card is that it’s the closest park to the 1,000-year-old Viking Vinland landing site (3 km); as an unadvertised extra, it’s 2 kms from where Jacques Cartier landed at Quirpon in 1534. It has a couple of basic but clean washrooms (a line-up for the showers), an internet café and a restaurant that smelled divine to this cod enthusiast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com