206876 User submitted reviews online!!
Farragut State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (208) 683-2425
CGID5499

Farragut State Park

Camp Information
Sites
190
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   5   9   9   6   7   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
We enjoyed our two day stay at this very large state park about 20 miles north of Coeur D' Alene. We recommend reservations since it is a very popular park. The campsites in the Waldron camping area were paved with sand/gravel tent areas. The site was raked and cleaned by the host before arrival. Sites have little privacy and are fairly close together for a state park. Bathrooms were new with 6 separate individual showers with changing areas. Baths and showers may be inadequate for the number of sites. You have to drive or bike to other areas of the park since it is a large park. The swimming area was beautiful in a small cove with a gravel beach and clear, cool water. The Brig Museum which has displays on the history of the Navy training facility that operated during WW II was very interesting. Located within 15 miles of all kinds of shopping and restaurants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This is a very nice, and very large, state park. A former WW II Navy training base. It has four different campground areas. We stayed in Waldron, which turned out to be the only one suitable for our 38' fifth wheel (not all sites were large enough here either). We had a nice pull through site, which was very large and comfortable. The bathrooms appeared rather new and were maintained to the highest standard by the hosts. Several great hiking trails and a not to miss WW II museum (free) at the old Navy brig. Overall, good location mid way between Coeur D'Alene and Sandpoint. No Wi-Fi and insufficient signal to use my Sprint hotspot. Got 2 TV channels with antenna. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
If you come here in big rig...beware!! We reserved a campsite in the Snowberry campground some months prior, having never visited the park. Upon arrival, the check in process was very busy and very slow. Once you got to the agent and had your license plate number with reservation in place it went quick. A lot of people do not know their license plate numbers and are not good with directions given even when drawn on a map with highlighter! We drove to the Snowberry campground (we have a 40 foot diesel pusher coach - BIG RIG!)...and let me tell you! Had literally 1-2 ft. of clearance between large trees and had to drive most of the way through the park to get to our site with these and trees/bushes scraping the sides all the way ...was nerve racking just on the straight parts...then around corners with large rocks on one side, trees on the other...and then on arrival at the assigned site...with help from my wife with radio, took at least 20 minutes to back into the site! A good thing no one had taken the site across the road, as I had to use most of it to get into our site. This park is even listed as big rig friendly....unless you have a lot of experience and know your big rig well, you might want to come look and give it some thought before you drive into one of these campgrounds. This park is okay for smaller RV's and truck/trailer campers. Upon leaving, we had to wait for the campers to leave from across the road to get out of our site. Once we were in and set up, we really enjoyed the park...the lakeshore trail is magnificent, as is the cleanliness and well kept campground/ campsites. No train noise, no traffic noise...a great park. Sites only had water and 30 amp electric. Sewer dump was good, although was busy as everyone leaves at the 1 pm checkout time and everyone has to empty....also no cell service in Snowberry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
This extremely well run, well organized State Park offers something for everyone. Beautiful location. Large peaceful sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
This was a very nice campground. (We stayed in Snowberry.) Sites are large, private, and well-shaded. The hosts rake the gravel after campers leave and take good care of the sites. The park is bordered by an absolutely beautiful lake (Pend Oreille). There is a fine museum in the park that recalls its days as a Naval Training Center during WWII. We also enjoyed visiting the community of Bayview. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
This was a very nice park. It was interesting to know that this was a former naval base during WW2. There was MUCH room for hiking and general outdoor activity. The only thing that was wrong was that the park was extremely loud at night. It was obvious that most of the park's campers did not understand camping manners. Unfortunately, the campground host (who normally keeps everything under control) was not handling the situation. Once it gets to "quiet hours" things should settle down. Both kids and parents were screaming, yelling, and just being extremely loud. Loud kids and loud parents. I would not camp here again because it was the loudest campground in which I have ever camped. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
First time here, looked for help from the registration volunteers for a site and campground recommendation, and did not get much help here. Ended up at the Snowberry loop, which seems to be the more wooded campground. The roads are very tight and curvy which makes navigating tough and you must go slow. We had a back in spot, which was challenging for a 30’ 5th wheel. But the biggest issue were the untrimmed trees, which were looking to rip a hole in my roof: but lost out to my clippers. Had issues with the GFCI on the post, as soon as my progressive unit would complete testing, the GFCI at the post would trip. Ran a cord to another site with the same issue. Ended up going to 20amp and using a 2-3 prong adaptor that the camp host lent me (to remove the ground) which allowed us to have electricity. Have never had an issue like this, the Ranger said it is a common one here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
One of the jewels of North Idaho. The newer campgrounds are level and spacious with clean restrooms and showers. When booking sites, choose carefully if you have a larger motorhome. The older campground - Snowberry can be a tight fit. There is 1 dump station in the park. Lots of trails for biking, walking and a frisbie golf course. It also has a lot of World War II history - worth visiting is the Brig and other sites. Negative: the campgrounds are a long ways away to the lake and swimming areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
Wow, this is really camping! You can smell the pine trees, and there are squirrels, chipmunks, and birds all over the place. Beautiful park. There are four camping areas. Waldron, Gilmore, Snowberry, and Whitetail. Of the four, Whitetail is the "non-hookup" campground, the other three campgrounds are water and electric. During my stay, Waldron was the only campground open, the rest were closed for the season. Waldon has three camping loops. Each loop in Waldron has one spot with a small, but nice camping cabin to rent. In Waldron, the camping spots are appropriately spaced apart to allow for privacy. Plenty of woods to enjoy. Some spaces are pull through, and some are back-in. Some sites have 50 amp, some have 30 amp. The sites in Waldron are all paved, with a gravel tent pad, very nice metal picnic table, and fairly new fire rings with attached grills. The rangers want you to keep your tents on the pad and not on the grass. There are grey water sink pit drains located every few camp sites. In addition to the four campgrounds, there is a "primitive" camping area called Camp Ward for around $10. You must have a "fully self contained" camping vehicle for this area. Firewood is available from the camp host for $5. Even though Waldron was the only campground open, the restrooms were shut down. Only the vault toilets were available for use. At this time of year, it was first come first serve. You check in at the Visitor Center and they give you a site. The dump station has three lanes, NO WAITING! As far as camping is concerned, I can't find any "negatives" about this park. I don't like to give 10's, but can't justify giving this park only a 9. I don't know if satellites work here, but over the air, you will get only two TV stations. Also, I want to point out that I could not use my electric scooter bike here. My electric scooter bike does not require a license (in most states), but the park requires that all "motorized" vehicles be licensed and street legal. I believe my scooter bike (powered by a battery) is a "gray area," but I didn't push the issue. Also, while I was checking in, I heard something said to someone else about, "If you don't tow your car in, you pay extra for the car." So, this park may be picky about "your tow car actually has to be towed." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
Great family park with nature related activities for the family to get involved with. Naval base is interesting. Close proximity to Coeur d' Alene and shopping. Very clean facilities and fairly private sites. We staying in the Waldron Kestrel loop. On our list for a return visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$21
A beautiful state park. Campground is 3 years old. Big pull thru's or back-ins. Spacious sites, fire ring and wood available from host. A beautiful area. Much better alternative to commercial sites in area. About a mile from the lake, and many hiking and bike trails. Laundry in town of Bay View about 4 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$21
Farragut State Park is a 4,000 acre park that lies on the shore of Lake Pend Oreille between Coeur D’Alene and Sandpoint, Idaho. During WW II, the site was the location of a Naval Training Center which housed over 30,000 trainees. The only remaining building is the former Brig which now is houses a museum that’s worth a visit for those interested in 20th century history. The park has 4 campgrounds: Waldron, Gilmore, Whitetail and Snowberry. This review pertains to the newest, Gilmore. Its’ paved sites are well spaced and most are a good distance away from the park’s interior access road. Both pull through (parallel to the road) and back-in sites are available. The park has miles of hiking/biking trails plus numerous closed roadways for biking. If you enjoy the solitude of the woods, you’ll love this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
Very nice state park with excellent camping facilities. Beautiful setting on Lake Pend Oreille with easy access to Sandpoint, Silverwood Amusement Park, and Coeur d' Alene. We camped in Snowberry Loop which is more heavily treed and the sites are all gravel with partial hook-ups. The road in this loop is narrow, so big rigs would not want to camp here, but Nighthawk, Kestrel, and Redtail loops are more open and can accommodate large RVs. Great park to ride your bike as well as for boating and swimming. We've camped here several times and would definitely go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
This is a very large state park. The sites are long and have lots of room between most sites. Only a few of the pull thru sites were close to each other. The streets and sites are paved. The only negative is that there are very few bathrooms for the number of sites at the park and with no sewer hookups, used by most everyone, so there is sometimes a wait for a shower. There is lots of bike riding as well as lake activities. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Similar to a previous post, I am hesitant to extoll the virtues of this campground as I fear it will be full the next time we visit. I will say that if you are looking for an RV resort with all the amenities, then this park is not for you. This is a wonderful, forested campground; where you can have the experience of camping from the comfort of your RV. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They placed us and our traveling companions in the newer Gilmore Loop, in a wonderful "companion" site. These sites allow two RV's or vehicles traveling together to be in a shared site. Sites were paved, level and equipped with tables and campfire rings. Note there is no sewer connection at your site, but an easy to use dump station in the park. No Wi-Fi or cable, but this was the great camping feeling we are always looking for. Campsites were well spaced; the free showers were hot and spotlessly clean; and deer and other wildlife are nightly visitors. The park is halfway between Sandpoint and Coeur d'Arlene, and on the shore of the lake; making it a great base camp for activities. We plan on returning for a longer stay! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Exceptional state park campground. Interior paved roads and sites. Many trees separate each site, but some sites are able to get satellite TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Oh my gosh! I almost don't want to tell anyone about this park, yet I want to make sure it gets the kudos it deserves. We spent the prior week in and around Yellowstone. This was a stop for us on the way back home to WA. The staff were wonderful, the sites were amazing (yet we saw some which would be icky locations, so choose your site wisely), and the park is so much fun! While there's no sewer hookup - there's a dump station in the park. The showers were complimentary (amazing for a state park) and VERY clean. You don't realize how big this park is until you get there. We only stayed a couple nights, but are already planning our return next summer - except we're going to stay a week next time! There is so much to do!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Farragut State Park was a great campground to stay at. We stayed at the new Gilmore loop, that has water and electrical hookups, paved pull thru's and backins, clean restrooms and showers, fire ring, picnic tables and good spacing. What made this campground so fun was all the things you could do there. Great hiking trails, swimming, boating, and wildlife watching. Only negative is the lack of sewer drains. You have to drive a short distance down the road to do so. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Beautiful campground. A very large park, we camped over Memorial Day weekend, and although it was full, it didn't seem crowded. The park was a Naval training base during WW2, all that is left is a museum in the old Brig. The volunteers were very helpful in trying to locate graduation pictures of my husband's father in 1943. We camped in a pull through site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
This is a great state park in northern Idaho. It is capable of large group events, has a model airplane field, it's close to Lake Pond Oreille. The sites were level and paved in the area we were in. There are dump stations but no sewer connections. A great firepit was back of us, the horseshoe pit next to it. We had 50 amp hookups and our satellites worked! We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com