214554 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Whitney State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (254) 694-3793
CGID5506

Lake Whitney State Park

Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   9   8   8   7   7   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$24
Excellent Texas State Park, we've stayed here many times and will return. We were in pull through site #31. It easily accommodated my 37' 5th wheel with multiple slides. Good shade in the full hook-up loop. Good water Pressure and quality. Stable 50A electric service. Sewer hook-ups at sites good location, but some sites have high sewer opening in relation to camper. Dining hall available for a fee is large with a full kitchen and nice restrooms. Nice easy nature trail with a geocache. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Nice State park! The ranger at check in was very helpful and friendly. The site was easy to back into, paved and fairly level. Just a slight down hill slope, spot on level side to side. At least this site was(site 91). The site was close to the water. It had a covered picnic table (always a plus). Ground fire ring that was directly behind the site. 30 and 50 amp electric, with the standard water hookup adjacent to the power post. The site had plenty of room for everything and good room between neighboring sites. The trails are well marked and a comfortable walk. The bathrooms are well maintained and clean. The only negative is there is not a bathroom shower in each camping loop. It didn't matter to me since we have a bathroom in the camper, but to some it might be a bit of a walk. There is only 1 dump station near the entrance which is OK. We had a good time and will try and go back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$16
Clean State Park. I had a very good site. No one around due to the Holiday.. I would stop here again . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
Most site are pull thru and are varying shapes & lengths. Some are pretty close together. Staff was very helpful in choosing our site due to length of our RV and the weather. The first time we stopped was on a Monday of Spring Break, and then we returned on Sat. eve. On Sat. the wind was really blowing and she chose a sight that would be best for the direction of the wind. Dump station has 2 dump connections. Only had a swing set for playground area. Nice park. I'm not sure if we'd make it a destination park, but was very nice for a stopover. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Nice place. Saw lots of wildlife. Lake was way down, not their fault though. Great place to ride the bikes. Good landing strip, I've flown in here many, many times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$8
Suggest you call ahead as some weekends are busy. Nightly rate does not reflect day use fee of $3 per day per person (BUY A TX STATE PARKS ANNUAL PASS). Nightly rate posted here is the non-advertised "winter rate" which runs from 1 Nov thru 28 Feb - you must stay a week or more to get the lower rate otherwise, the nightly rate is $16. Friendly staff, clean, spacious older park. Excellent over the air TV (HDTV), cell and wireless. Be advised, most of the back-in sites are at an angle of 90 degrees from the road. Not all sites are the same length or width so tell the park personnel your rig's length when you check in. Sites are gravel/paved with W/E on side or near rear; the park no longer has W/E/S sites (except for the hosts). Good space between most sites, shade trees, lake views for some, all have covered picnic tables. Surprisingly, there is an airstrip within the park for small planes. Unless you like to fish/boat, there is not much to do. There are 2 miles of "official" trails but I walked along the shoreline and the park road for quite a distance. This is a nice place to kick back and watch the sunrise/sunset, listen to the birds and take pictures. I enjoyed my stay and will definitely return in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Parked away from the lake. Lots of oak trees for shade. The sites were level, parked on dirt. Camping is no frills, but pleasant place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$15
This is a good park if you have a boat. Tent sites with water only outnumber water/electric sites. There are lots of stickers if you have a long haired dog. There is a grocery store and plenty of eating places within 5 miles. They even have a landing strip if you have an airplane. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
This Park is great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
This is a quaint little park. It does have full hookups, although sewer connections are on the wrong side and it does take a long hose to reach. The lake wasn't close to the site we stayed in, which was just fine with us. The people near us were very quiet, unlike the campers on the lake side. You could easily drive around to the other side of the park and visit the lake. The sites were nicely isolated from each other where we were. Sites on the lake side looked to be much closer together. There is a very nice hiking trail which took about an hour to traverse. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
This park is a real gem. We arrived on a Monday & stayed for 2 nights. Just about had the whole park to ourselves. We were lonely. Big sites. Exceptionally clean. Well separated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2007
$19
Full hookup sites have sewer on opposite side of drive from water and electric requiring a very long sewer hose to reach under your trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2006
$20
This park needs lots of updating. The road in to the park is long and extremely rough. Not a nice drive. There is not much grass at the sites and we did not see any lake in site. We spent only one night here. This park is on our list as "do not stay again". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
The front gate attendants were rude. The electricity box was supplying dirty power, and the park was running out of water from their well. Lot's of weeds and trash around the sites. We came in Friday evening and left early the next morning. We were supposed to be there for the week. This was obviously for tents and pop-ups, not recommended for Class A's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
We enjoyed this campground. They had 50ft campsites (pull-through), with water, electricity and sewer. There are also trailer dump stations for the non sewer sites. It has a group recreation hall for rent for family reunions.; a fish-cleaning facility; a launching ramp; a playground; and 2 trails. Our kids loved the boating we did with some friends of ours. The lake is about 1000 acres. No limits on boat speeds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com