223354 User submitted reviews online!!
South Kouchibouguac Campground (Parks Canada) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (506) 876-2443
CGID5514

South Kouchibouguac Campground (Parks Canada)

Camp Information
Sites
311
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   9   10   10   9   3   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Another great National Park in Canada's system. There is not a bad site in this huge campground. If it is windy, however, get a site away from the water otherwise a campfire might be questionable. Wi-Fi is now available to many sites. My site was near the water in an open area and I could see the Wi-Fi tower on a building near the bathrooms. We had 5 bars of high speed Internet. Really nice for a public campground. The check in was so smooth because of the quality of the staff. The many walks along the beach and other places were memorable. Definitely recommend this wonderful place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Another great Canadian campground! Beautiful forest right along the ocean! The only downsides are having only one hook-up: 30 amp electric. But worth it! Great bike paths/roads! Awesome bog trail! Nice sites: but beware of the post site markers. They are just low enough to not be in driver's sight, but high enough to hang up on! We found this out the hard way. We were gifted with Canadian park passes so were not hit with the extra charges. Otherwise, this would've been a much more expensive stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
This is a Beautiful Place. We stayed in a wooded site #215 30 amp only. There are open or wooded sites, wooded sites tend to be more spread out and much more private. Many activities available from hiking and biking, to swimming and canoeing. We attended some great narrated sessions about the park and surrounding area. Too windy to canoe out to see the seals on island. A bit of drive from almost everywhere but well worth the adventure if you are looking for the outdoor experience. PS rate does not include park pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
There are several areas for camping. We were in site #210 which is the electrical (30 amp) section. Some of the sites are in open, non-treed areas, while others are more private with trees on all sides (210 being one of them). Our 42' motorhome was fine backing-in and on the roads. Roads are paved with gravel sites. Picnic tables and fire rings are provided. There are numerous walking trails throughout the park. Showers are clean and can get busy in the morning. Drinking water faucets are available around the facility. This is a beautiful, well run, clean and not to be forgotten park. I should mention that the restaurant described in one review is closed. A concession stand is nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Almost exact review as previous - couldn't get any better experience. We tented on site 174, we found this loop to have very nice sites. The majority of the sites closer to the river (serviced & non) are also very nice. Didn't have any language issues with staff nor with other campers. We would rate this park a little higher than Fundy National Park due to activities, rentals, trails, beach. Facilities were excellent. Spotty GSM cell phone reception, couldn't get any FM or AM, however, satellite radio reception was no problem. This is a very quiet campground due to trees between sites. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
As close to the perfect camping experience as it’s going to get. The sites are spacious and level. Facilities are clean - although why they chose to clean at 7:30 in the morning is beyond me. Great water/beach exposure, hiking/nature trails and the best bicycling experience yet in Canada. Our people experience was no different than any place else. Most of the campers and staff, regardless of places of origin, were friendly and helpful. Keep in mind that this is a very “French language” dominated region and some folks are as uncomfortable engaging in English communication as we French deficient folk are in the opposite. Walk down main street in almost any American city and sing out a hearty Bonjour and see what the reaction will be. Shyness is often interpreted as aloofness but it was not in great evidence here. Yes there is the daily fee but even when added to the campsite fee it’s still a great bargain given the quality of facilities available. If you love the outdoors be sure to consider this location. We would return here in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
We found this park to be very nice. We pulled in late in the afternoon and found the on site restaurant and had fish and chips and scallops. It seemed to be a large park with an excellent beach and biking trails. Very nice I would recommend staying here We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
The Park is nice. The only problems are it is to expensive since you have to buy a park entrance pass per day along with your campsite fee. Also this campground is flooded with Quebecers who won't even say hello to you, so if you want to stay at a campground where people won't talk to you and are not very camper friendly, please stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
This is a pretty National Park situated on both a river/bay and the Strait of Northumberland. There is good kayaking here and a great (and long) sand beach on the Strait for walking. We also swam here in late August and the water was fine (in terms of temperature). The grounds are very well kept and quite pretty. Some sites are open, others are wooded. Insects were not a problem in late summer. I have to say, however, that this park offered one of the few experiences we have had in Canada where I did not feel welcome by either the staff or my fellow campers. This is the French speaking sector of NB and we found it difficult to elicit even a "bonjour" (heaven forbid a "good morning") from others. The staff does speak English and will do so, if asked; but I felt like they would just as soon that people from the U.S. stayed elsewhere. I am not certain I would ever go back here even given the outstanding beach and the great kayaking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
On the northern, eastern acadian shore of New Brunswick on the river and bay with the warmest waters north of Virginia. This is a beautiful park with a number of campgrounds. South Kouchibouguac Campground has 311 sites and 46 with electricity, Cote-a-Fabien Campground has 32 first come first serve sites but no services and there is a number of canoeing campgrounds and backcountry sites all over the Park. South K takes reservations and the others are first come first serve. As in all Canadian Parks they have kitchen shelters for anyone to use especially the tenters when it is raining. These shelters have sinks, stoves, firepits, tables and a place to wash dishes – great for large groups. There are beaches for swimming, alot of hiking trails and there are great bike trails all over the park leading out from the campground. This summer we had to watch out for the jellyfish when swimming but on the pathway to Kelly’s Beach the bridge was a great place to stand and watch all the jellyfish swim by. They were beautiful. There are nightly programs (English & French), daily walks and one can rent bikes, boats etc. It is a great campground in a beautiful area. It is near the Irving eco-center with its long boardwalk going over the dunes (less than an hour away) – a must see. The only negative thing which I will repeat here from my Fundy assessment is that -the Canadian (National Parks) now charge for not only the campground but to get into the park (they have gone from no charge, to $5 per carload to a daily rate which I think is high $8 per adult per day). If you have children who are over 16 they are charged the adult rate per day. So, for the 4 of us the camping rate was over 30 with w/e/s and then a daily rate of 32 dollars on top of that plus the $11 reservation fee. If you are planning to stay for a few days which most campers do the fees add up. At least the US National Parks the rate charged is for everyone in the car and it is for 5 days or even more in some parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com