220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Kearny State Recreation Area was rated 7 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (308) 865-5305
CGID5519

Fort Kearny State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   5   7   8   8   7   8   10   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Overall, this park was fine for an overnight stay. The park itself was pretty with all the cottonwood trees in full bloom and the ponds. They don't offer water or sewer hookups, but they do have a dump station and water available to fill your holding tank. The bathroom was so-so and we were going to use the shower until we discovered that you have to pay for it! This, after paying $20 to camp and $5 for entrance to the park, was a little much, especially with only electric hookup. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
The rate reflects $18 for a 30 amp electric site and $5 entrance fee. This is a nice, large state park with hiking and biking trails and close to the Audubon Rowe Sanctuary for Sandhill Cranes, which also has great hiking trails. As noted, it is about 7 miles off of Interstate 80, but well worth it for us for the peace and quiet. It was a bit disappointing that we could hear the Interstate even that far away, but it is certainly better than camping right on the freeway. There is fresh water at the dump station for filling a tank. The roads are paved and the sites are gravel. The sites are well separated, but there is not a lot of vegetation for privacy. This was not an issue during our visit since there were only a few other campers in the park. As noted, some are a bit unlevel, but it worked for us. There are some pit toilets, but there are also modern restrooms and showers. Most sites would not get satellite but we found one where we could get a signal through the trees. Our Verizon phone and data (4G) worked well. We were only able to spend one night at this park because of our schedule. We would certainly stay here again and for more nights if possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
Would not go out of the way to go to this park. Windmill State Park and Morman Island State Park are both right on I-80 and are both much nicer than this park. The bugs were bad and many sites only have 30 amp and they are all uneven gravel pads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
The rate quoted is not entirely accurate since there is a $5 charge for day use in addition to the camping fee. If you are also towing a toad then you are charged for that vehicle too. But, this is a nice rural park and considerably nicer than the RV park in town - and substantially cheaper even with the day use charge. It is about 7 miles south-east of exit 272 and I-80. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
There are 6 lakes (ponds) that you can camp next to. The sites are mostly level with plenty of space between sites. Showers are available. Very peaceful setting. Besides the $18 camp fee, you must also pay a day use fee of $5. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
A great place to see the cranes migrate in the spring. Very nice campground, lots of open space. Showers/restrooms dated, hard to rate older facilities as they were as clean as old facilities can be. Did not use shower. $18 for electric only. Be sure to stop by the Fort Kearney State Historical Park, interesting displays. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
$18 electric (plus $5 more for day use fee--g-r-r-r) = $23 for an overnight. Very pleasant park, easy off/on I-80, but far enough away to feel like one is really in a wilderness. Sites varied greatly in terms of maintenance and degree of levelness, but we enjoyed the large amount of space/elbow room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$12
Off season camping so the restrooms were closed. The campground was lovely. The facilities were very well kept. We were the only people camping here, but there were people using the park to walk, etc. It was a few miles away from the roads, so very peaceful and quiet. I would definitely stay here again. Price with electricity during the summer season would be $17. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
Just a lovely state park. Sites are far apart and easy to back into. The gate staff person was very friendly again. We stayed here last year. Convenient to I-80; however, away from noise. Definitely on our list of "will stay here again" parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
We stayed three nights for a family reunion. Grassy sites, none of the sites used by our party were level. Trees and narrow road made it difficult to back in a trailer of any length. Grass had been recently mowed/swathed, large piles of dead grass lay on top of live grass covering your shoes on every trip to the one restroom. Restrooms were dirty, and you usually had to wait in line to use the restroom or shower. Seventy five cents for three minutes in the shower, no hot water. Only water available was old fashioned pumps. Hydrant was at entrance to park. Plenty of shade. I don't plan on staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$21
The rate was with the $4.00 parking fee charged by the state park. This is a nice state park, however I am used to the Virginia State Parks that go above and beyond. Also you had to pay for the showers. No one was there to check us in so we did not know this until we walked to the bathhouse. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
A wonderful state park close to the Platte River and about 5 miles away from I-80, which meant quiet and peaceful. Staff friendly upon entry. Site was back-in, easy to do at a good angle and level. Nebraska requires $4 entry fee on top of campground fee. We had already paid visiting a non-camping State Park earlier in the day. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Typical state park. Nice staff, but you are charged for the site, a $7 reservation fee, plus $4 per vehicle, that is $4 for the motorhome and $4 for the car. The nice ranger at the gate did not make us pay for the motorhome, but we were just lucky and only staying for 1 night. That is why I gave this park a 6. Too expensive for only an electrical hook up. With discounts we could have stayed at a full hook up park for less money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$15
We stay here pretty often and have always enjoyed our stay. Kids love the fishing and we like the area with the nice trees and ponds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$15
Sites a bit tight for a state park, but pleasant area. Can be buggy, due to the multiple small lakes in the park. Interior roads can be a bit tight for larger rigs, especially when the campground is full, as cars/tow vehicles often park partly in the roadways. Reasonably clean, considering heavy use over the weekend. Rangers friendly & helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
Lots of shade. Small "lakes", more like ponds, but added to the experience. Nice stop over not too far off of the interstate. Sure beats a more expensive park if you just need somewhere to put down for the night. Very safe and patrolled. Great walking and biking area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$10
We self-registered and selected our site, being the only campers in the park. Electrical at sites but no water or sewer connections. Several very small lakes, actually more like natural pot-holes. Did not use showers which are in a modern building. Toilets, however,are pit toilets. Paved interior roads and level graveled parking pads. Space between many pads allow for privacy. Beautiful area to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
We overnighted here without reservations. It is a beautiful, quiet, simple park. Lots of trees and several small ponds. Absolutly the cleanest bathrooms/showers ever. They are pay showers, but I think you get 5 minutes for $1.00. Very peaceful. The $18 fee included a $3 Nebraska vehicle tag. Nice park hosts. Great spot for our road weary family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com