214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Ike Kinswa State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (360) 983-3402
CGID5522

Ike Kinswa State Park

Camp Information
Sites
108
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   8   10   9   8   8   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
This park could use a severe grass cut. The sites are decent size. Mine had the table and fire pit behind the RV rather than the side. There was little to no room along the sides of the RV and the campers next to me decided they needed the space for their tent and hammock. The vegetation is so thick so everything stayed damp. None to little sun could get through the trees, vines, moss, etc. The sewer hookup is elevated at a sharp angle and I did not leave the valves open for constant flow. I did not have a lake side site and had no access to the lake as a result. The park is convenient for day trips to Mt. Saint Helens and Mt. Rainier. Closest shopping is about 35 minutes away. My first Washington State Park experience - I was not impressed and would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$36
This state park provides large sites, especially the lower section off the lake. Many sites have a great view of the lake or easy access. Our site was heavily covered by trees and included a picnic table and fire-pit. We were not able to get any DirecTV satellite signal. Verizon signal was very weak. Surprisingly, our site was level. We utilized this campground to sightsee some locations in southern Washington. Freeway access and grocery shops are about 30 minutes away. Rangers were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
I love this place. While it has been some time since we were last year, we keep coming back. Our stay was over the Easter weekend. The one loop that was open had only water and electric hookups, no sewer. There is one "dry camp" loop with great lake access, and the "trailer loop" with full hookups has great lake access too. This park is showing its age. The sewer hookups are the old style with a above ground 90 degree opening. Electric is only 30 amp. Trees have grown and what once was an easily accessible site is not anymore. Be very careful if you intend on bringing in an RV that is 30 or more feet in length. When hooked up my rig is a total of 45 feet in length. Took some work, but I managed to make it into one of only two spots that the park said would take my rig. The other site would not have let me open my bump out. Still, I'll be back. Book reservations a long time in advance during the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$11
This is a beautiful park! I had a nice, private no-hookup campsite facing the lake, very woodsy, mossy, green and very quiet [stayed Sunday to Wednesday--the weekend crowd had gone]. I did not use the public restrooms. Nice hiking trails along the lake. The $11/night rate reflects my WA state limited-income senior pass. Will definitely revisit this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
This park has "full hook up" sites and another loop with water/electricity only sites. We stayed in a "premium" full hookup site, mostly because it was simply a nicer site. We did not have a reservation, but they're recommended after mid-May. The restrooms were somewhat worn, but typical of other state parks we've been in. They were clean. Showers require tokens (3 min fifty cents). However, they're a long walk from many of the sites and access is via meandering trails in the center of the camping loop. Sites on the inside of the loop connect to the trails, but sites on the outside must either cross an inside campsite (many were vacant during our stay) or walk even further along the access road. This park was very shady with lots of trees. Power boats in the lake were sometimes annoyingly loud. Otherwise, the ambiance was very pleasant. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Stopped here just one night en route from Mount St. Helens through White Pass to eastern WA. Would love to come back and explore for more days. Park is right on Mayfield Lake and very wooded with lots of shade. Stayed in a standard, no hook-ups site 85 with our 23' Navion since it was our first night of our journey. Very family friendly campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
This is a beautiful, older state park. There are several sites located on the water, but most of them are not. The bathrooms are isolated, but very clean. We have a 24 foot travel trailer and camped in site 28 - our friends had a 25 foot motorhome and camped in site 26. Both had easy manuverability and plenty of room for awnings. Site 28 had a much better view of the water. We did notice that in some of the sites you would need to work around large trees. The down side is that in May it is really wet. We were prepared for some rain - but this was past rain and close to monsoon. We would stay again, but probably in August. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$6
Heavily forested State Park with river/lake frontage, although few sites have views of either. We came mid-October and on a Sunday so had the place pretty much to ourselves. The quiet was broken only by an occasional "geese-flyover," and annoying crow, and an evening frog serenade. A deer family strolled by in the mornings and osprey, loon and grebes are pretty common. The spaces are pretty typical of older State Parks, neither overly long or wide. Rigs over 30' should probably choose a backin sites and check online for site description before coming. Our 30' fit snugly but glad we didn't have a slide or were any longer. Sites are pretty level and the heavy undergrowth provides for a lot of privacy. Cell phone service is iffy at best and don't expected to find any sites with southern exposure. Open all year Restrooms are clean, flush toilets, cold water sinks and hot showers. ($.50 for 3 minutes, tokens sold at entrance.) Speaking about entrances, there is a new system being tried. You call on the yellow phone behind the entrance office and they will register you that way. All and all, its a pretty nice park with hiking trails around the lake. We used the Senior Off-Season pass available for WA residents over 65 I think. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Lovely family-oriented park with heavy forest and beautiful views. The sites are very tight for 40' MH, and mine required me to remove a log post to make the pull through turn (which I did replace neatly when I left). Choose your site carefully from the reservation website: the photos provided give a pretty good idea of what they are like. If you have a rig less than about 32', you will have few problems. If you have a rig more than 40', it may not be possible. It is peaceful, beautiful, and very well cared for, so the effort is worth it. We will look forward to camping here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Beautiful forested area with large campsites. Hiking trails throughout the park and a great place to kayak. We arrived without a reservation and spent two days enjoying this wonderful place. The park attendants were very helpful finding us a site we could enjoy for two days instead of just one and had we known of this jewel we would have reserved ahead and stayed longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
What a treasure. We stumbled onto this state park because we needed somewhere on the way to Mt. Rainier and saw it on the map. It is a beautiful park with wonderful sites surrounded by huge trees. If we had time we would have loved to stay a month! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
Rate reflects electric and water hook-ups only. Full hook-up sites were closed while we were here -- cost for full hook-ups is $27.00. Sites are spacious with fire rings, picnic tables, heavily shaded and well separated. Asphalt pads are generally level and some will accommodate the largest RV. The campground can be busy and noisy in the summer especially with all the boats and PWCs on the lake but, quiets down quite well in the evening. The lake can be fair to good for fishing for trout. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$31
This is a beautiful park. The trees are lush and for the first time in 25 trips we were not awakened when the sun came up because the trees blocked out the bright light. The park was quiet, and wild blackberries were all along the shoreline. We noticed that park personnel came through the park on a regular basis, but did nothing about campers adjacent to us who had extra vehicles obstructing the drive through the campground. This surprised us as rangers are generally really mindful in regard to vehicles not parked properly. We drove into Mossyrock to get fuel, where there was a small grocery store. We could not pick up any tv stations, but had great cell phone service, which surprised us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
We were disappointed with this park. We reserved a pull through site. When we arrived at the park after 5 to 6 miles off the hwy, our site was very uneven with large pot holes and areas where they had filled in more asphalt for repairs and left large mounds. The space was hard to get in and the exit very tight between trees. We felt it was definitely not worth the fee and reservation fee. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Great park, very pretty with lots of trees. We enjoyed our stay and will stay here again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$26
We found this park by accident. We went to a "resort" but didn't like it, and passed this park, so decided to try it. Only one part of the campground was open, and reservations were not needed. The park was clean and quiet. They had just built cabins along the lake, so some of the pictures of the sites on the website were taken before the cabins were built. There is a trail along the lake to walk. We were treated to the sight of deer in the late afternoon along the water's edge. We will go back to this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
I love this park. It's got allot to offer with the swimming area, and trails, but you have to go across the parks main entrance to use it. A beautiful setting. Hosts are friendly and helpful. I would recommend this park anytime. Off season is about the best time to go unless you can get reservation during the summer.. It always full. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
Nice country park. But very noisy with boat traffic on the lake and nearby river. We stayed there on Labor Day weekend. Would not return on a weekend due to boat noise, as loud as camping near a highway! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Varied Spaces - We have stayed here many times. This is our favorite camping spot in Washington. The park is always clean, the Hosts are always pleasant. The full service loop sites 1-14 on the lake side are too small for our 28 foot fifth wheel, the best spots are 18-24. Our last stay was in loop B with no septic but the spaces are larger and seem a little more private. You loose the beach access from the campsites here but it was a good area. Showers are 50 cents for 3 minutes now. Overall the park is pretty peaceful for the size and the lake adds a great atmosphere. The local day use area has a beach but was too busy this last visit, there was not enough parking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
This is one of the most popular state parks in the state. It is virtually booked up for weekends through the rest of the summer. This is not a big rig friendly park. I managed to find one back in spot in the full hookup area for my 31ft. 5th wheel, but it was tough going. In the dry camp area you might find more luck. This was the first place we ever camped at and we love it. But it will be crowded during the summer weekends. It is an older park, built back in the days when the largest trailer out there was 30 feet long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2005
$21
A very nice State Campground with sites that share a campfire. Nicely tall wooded area, sites and area is clean and well kept. All sites are on asphalt and easy to level your R.V. Not all sites have sewer hook up, although you can stop on the way out to dump before leaving. I will return here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com