220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Pippy Park Campgrounds and Trailer Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (709) 737-3669
CGID5530

Pippy Park Campgrounds and Trailer Park

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   1   9   5   6   3   8   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
Nice location in central St. John's. A little expensive but we did have a full hook-up and Wi-Fi, which worked very well. Park is clean and roads are OK. We traveled here in a 36' RV and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
Filthy!! It is hard to believe that the city of St John's or any city runs this. The facilities are the filthiest that we have encountered in Newfoundland and the most expensive! It's disgusting and so appalling that we will be cutting our visit to this city short. Shame on you St John's for this blight against those who travel to visit you by RV or tent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$48
Pippy Park Campground is right in the city of St. John’s. We stayed in the large open area where all the sites have 50 amps. In this area, the sites are rather basic; gravel parking with grass strip / yard between each site. There is ample room between sites and sites are very long. All hook ups are in the middle of the site and all are in good condition. As for facilities, we did not use the toilets or showers, but did check them out. While a little dated, everything was very clean and well maintained. Crews do regular garbage pick up at each site (each site has a household sized metal garbage can). Recycling needs to put in a separate bag beside the garbage can. As for amenities, there is a couple of playing ground and picnic areas, and lots of green space. Pippy Park caters to all types of campers, i.e., lots of different types of sites. The best two things about Pippy Park are its location and that its very dog friendly. As stated, the park is right in the city. You are close to everything. There is a city bus stop at the entrance to the park. There are lots of walking trails in the area and many loop around the local ponds (once you visit Newfoundland, you'll know what a pond is). Our dogs loved this park because of the trials. We extended our stay here too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Located in City of St. John's and close to all attractions. Easily accessible. Signage in park is poor and visitors easily pass the entrance and are forced to turn around in maintenance yard. Office Staff are young students and know little or nothing about camping or leveling a RV. Sites are spacious and cut out of the forest. Pleasant for camping but loops 1 & 2 are not suitable for motor homes. Loop 4 has WiFi and suitable for big rigs but we were quoted $56 daily with no discounts of any kind. Laundry is dirty, expensive, and several units were not operative. Park is owned by City which charges much more than it is worth. It's only real benefit is the location in one of worlds nicest cities. Signs make visitors aware of theft but more likely a lawyers attempt to relieve park of some liability. I'll return when prices reduce. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
This park is very convenient to St. John's without making you navigate difficult city streets. The campground is looking a little tired, but it served our purpose. We were in one of the loops without the Wi-Fi, but were were able to drive up to that loop and log on. Only one OTA TV station, ATT cell phone had reception. I'm not sure about the crime situation. There were lots of signs warning to take your valuables or leave them in the RV, but it didn't feel any more prone to crime than any other city park we've stayed in. The sites were pretty level and roads were navigable. Electric was good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
In the city so very useful for visiting St. John's, but expensive and in rather shabby condition. Campground was having a crime wave reported on each night's news TV broadcast while we were here with about 20 thefts from RVs. Restrooms were very old and often dirty and full of bugs. Laundry room dirty with large trash can overflowing. Only one open field had Wi-Fi where big rigs were parked. Young staff, did not have a feeling there was anyone with good management skills in place. Would try to find another place in the future and commute in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
This park has 4 loops. The first 3 are in trees with services and comfort stations. The 4th loop is more of an open parking lot with pull through sites all with 50A services. A cord is provided to allow conversion from 50A to 30A service. Loop 4 is the only one provided with Wi-Fi. I'm not sure of the coverage. We were close to the antenna and the signal was fine. This is a very convenient location to get to any of St. John's attractions as well as circle tours of the Avalon peninsula. The only negative comment I would have is the laundry seems very expensive compared to other equivalent facilities. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Full hookups including WiFi that really did work at the sites. The pull throughs with 50 amp and WiFi were an open gravel field. Great trails leaving from the edge of the sites great for walking dogs. Site was fairly level. Stayed there 3 nights. Great location for seeing St Johns. Would recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Convenient campground right in town. Washrooms definitely over used and not kept clean; Washers are $2.75 for 24 minutes and dryers $2 for 24 minutes; very busy place. Wi-Fi only at loop 4 which has no trees and all pull through sites mainly used by caravans; other sites are more private with bushes and trees in between; very busy on weekends; definitely kid and dog friendly. Several break-ins occurred the week we camped but there are many signs warning to keep valuables out of site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Site assigned was a gravel back-in and not level. Our site was surrounded by trees on three sides giving lots of privacy. WI-FI connection in loop 4 only. There is a picnic shelter next to loop 4 where a signal can be picked up. Just make sure your laptop battery is charged up as there is no power plug. Most sites in loops 1,2,3 do not have enough open space for reception of satellite TV. Loop 4 is open ground. Laundry has six washers and six dryers. Cost $2.75 for washer and $2.00 for dryer. Helpful staff willing to provide information on the city services. Bus stop nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
This large, well run municipal campground is within Pippy Park in the city of St. Johns. Pippy Park itself is huge, and has many amenities, but it is so large that you cannot walk to the golf courses, except for the mini golf. You can walk to adjacent Long Pond, which is an excellent place for a stroll around with your pooch. The camp is very popular with islanders and can fill up on holiday weekends. It offers several choices – a large open fairly ugly big rig pull through area with good WiFi for $39; pretty park-like wooded, private, fully serviced sites for $34 (where we stayed for 5 days), or similar E&W sites for $29. In October they offer every third night free, which lowered our average cost. To get wifi, one must drive up to the pull-through area and sit in the car to get Internet. The staff seems to be comprised of students from the huge adjacent University, and are very helpful and knowledgeable. There is an expensive laundry facility, and nice restrooms, although a friend reports the showers did not have enough hot water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
This is an outstanding city owned campground in the very large Pippy Park. Reservations are a must as it gets very busy in the summer. It is centrally located in St.Johns which makes it an ideal location. The first two loops of sites are tight to get a RV over 30 feet in. I would ask to be put in the loop on the top of the hill. ( Not sure of the number). They use this area for caravans but the sites are open, flat, large and all pull through. WiFi has a strong signal and your satellite TV will work. These are the best sites and would ask for this area. We were in the first loop which was a struggle to get our 36' 5th wheel in and WiFi didn't work. It is heavily treed so satellite TV was impossible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
A great RV park inside the city of St. John's. This is a city park staffed by part time young people in the office. DON'T expect them to be knowledgeable about parking your rig!!. There are 30 large pull-thru full hook up sites, about 80' long and 30'-35' wide The parking pads are level gravel with beautiful grass to sit outside on. There is good WiFi. We were close to WiFi antenna so had very good signal. The pull-thru sites are in an open area. There are other back-in sites which are all in the trees with good privacy. These may be hard to get large rigs into. Some have full hook up, others water & elect only. There are also no-hookup sites in the trees as well. Many of theses sites are great for tents. We saw lots of tents. Caravans use this park so the pull-thru sites will fill up quickly when they come to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
Very difficult to get a big rig into many of the full-service sites. Office staff have never taken a rig into a site, and will gleefully tell you Site X is perfect for your 55' rig ! Not ! Location is excellent for getting into town, washrooms o.k., but the area is so heavily treed, watch your sidewalls and roof ! Park needs a real cleanup and an adjustment for today's big rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
A gorgeous park in the North-east part of town, but try to reserve early. We arrived on a Tue without a reservation and had to take an unserviced site. The site was so private and beautiful that we didn’t even miss the electricity. They were able to free up a serviced site the next night and it was equally super. Very nice staff, clean restrooms and well-maintained throughout; however, the check-in organization could be better run: on our first night we finally settled in on our third assigned site because the other two had been taken by people who had been assigned other sites but had moved without telling the staff. Arrive supplied, as the store sells candy, soda and beer only. With all that St John’s has to offer, I suggest a three-night stay minimum. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com