206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Fall Lake Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone:
CGID5535

Fall Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
May 2010
Latest Rate
$22


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   9   9   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
Pretty, wooded sites with lots of amenities for a National Forest Service campground. Very nice bathrooms/showers, helpful folks at office. Many sites pretty tight for bigger rigs. Ok beach. Fall is a 'brown' lake (tinted by tannin in the water) with a very popular boat launch. Large, attractive group areas. Little or no TV service with antennae; Verizon broadband service mediocre at best. You are in the boonies here; stock up in Ely on the way out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$13
We stayed in site 17, a nice back-in site with satellite reception. Our 36' motorhome fit easily. Restrooms and showers were very clean and well maintained. Access for canoeing or kayaking on Fall Lake and into the Boundary Waters Canoe Wilderness was excellent. The trees and fall colors were very nice. Ely, Minnesota is only 10 minutes away for shopping, gas, and the only dump station in the area. Be sure and fill your water tank and have empty holding tanks if staying very long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
One of the best National Forest Service campgrounds in the country. We live full time in our 40 foot MH with 4 slides and we stay here twice a year . There are several sites big rigs will fit into , although it might take some work to get into them. There are huge pull thoughs as well as back ins. You are right next to the BWCA Wilderness. Its a nature lover's paradise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
We love this place! We stayed here for 8 days this year, only 4 days last year, and will definitely come back. Great sites, some with good lake access and view. This year we had site 52, and I think we were the only site with satellite reception as well as cell phone. The trade off is that we didn't have much shade for a good part of the afternoon. Nice staff, well kept grounds, with some mosquito control I'd give it a 10. As it is, we just did our own spraying and survived. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
One of my favorite campgrounds! As mentioned, beautiful setting. Paved and level aprons. Sites for big rigs decrease with length, but if you are persistent, you will find something. Few pull-thru sites. Reservation for particular sites available thru Reserve America. Rest rooms are very clean and well serviced by staff. Good boat ramp and scenic lake with Loons. Very marginal cell service,(hill by water tower) if anyone interested. Nice beach and play-ground which is away from most of the campground. Very efficient-helpful staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
Beautiful lake and a lovely setting. However, we didn't find this campground to be that friendly to larger motorhomes. For pop-ups and tents it would be great. Many of the sites (which were lovely) were multi-layer where you'd park on one level then go up/down a hill/stairs to reach your picnic table/fire. Sites are generally separated from each other by woods. Sites were not very large - awnings/slides might have difficulty. Several sites had low-hanging tree branches that could cause larger rigs problems. We drove through, looked at available sites, and decided not to spend several days here. Overall "feel" of the campground was more like a private campground rather than a State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
Do not let the lack of 50 amp service or water or sewer connections fool you. This is a top notch campground that is among some of the best maintained and planned I have seen. There are several potable water spots throughout the campground and a spot to fill your tanks by the front office. We filled our 23 gallon tank and this more than surficed the 4 nights we were here. The campground was rated as one of the Top 100 in the nation in 2003 and that was before they did a 3 million dollar renovation of the grounds. The campground is located right on Fall Lake in northern Minnesota. There are sites for every type of camper. Pull-Throughs for big rigs and bigger fifth wheels, secluded back in sites for those with travel trailers, tent campers and fifth wheels. Lakeside sites, enclosed wooded sites and more. We literally could not see our neighbors and had more visits from chipmunks than we did from other campers. The roads are all paved and the bathrooms are absolutely immaculate. There are two groups sites that can be booked which have their own shared bathroom facility, secured entry from the rest of the campground, pavilions, private docks and two fire rings to each site. One on the lake and one up in your private group site. This place was well worth the 4 hour drive from Saint Paul and we have already booked sites for a return visit. If you are in to tenting in the wilderness, most of the tent sites can't even be seen from the road. This place is top notch and to make it even better, you have direct canoe access to the boundary waters and a boat launch for your other boats right in the campground area. Can't say enough good things about this place. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com