223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Williwaw Campground - USFS was rated 9 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (907) 522-8368
CGID5541

Williwaw Campground - USFS

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   9   7   7   9   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$14
Price reflects use of Access Pass. This is the only campground with paving that we stayed at while in Alaska. This is a self check in campground and you pick your own site. Some sites are reserved and will have a tag on the post. We chose a double site and paid a slightly higher fee. Our site was wide, level with no hook ups. Generator hours are generous, lasting most of the day,. Did not use the bathhouse and did not see a laundry. Not near any shopping so plan accordingly. There is a nearby salmon viewing station but the salmon were not running yet. Take a trip over to Whittier. Not much there but the drive through the tunnel is worth the $12 fee. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$9
Rate reflects Senior access pass discount. We thought this a great U.S. Forest Service park (thanks to rvparksreviews for telling us about it). We had our RV in a long, paved, level, pull through site with a good view of waterfalls from a glacier ("Middle Glacier"?). But the best view is as you turn into the park from the highway. Near glaciers and spawning salmon streams. Just an excellent place to stay. Some sites can apparently be reserved, but most others cannot. We stayed 2 nights and would do it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
Paved sites and road. Picnic tables and fire pit. First Come First Served (FCFS) and reservations are accepted. Most sites are treed. View sites are available. Excellent access to walking path (Trail of Blue Ice) and salmon viewing area. Located adjacent to a creek. Quite. Beautiful campground. The weather is typically not great (wind and rain). Check the Whittier or Portage Lake weather forecast. No dump station. Big rig friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
Beautiful park with paved streets and sites. Sites are level, however, as stated in website there are no hookups. Large glacier can be viewed from campsites and a fish overlook is next door. There is plenty of room for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
Great location, beautiful views of mountains and glaciers. Dry camping, no services. Hiking/biking trail. Paved roads and sites with tables and fire rings. The price is right but on the way out we saw several RV's boondocking free in gravel pullouts along the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
This is a great place to dry camp since there are no services. Paved interior roads and large separated paved sites with tables and fire pits. A good place to stay when visiting Whittier. The scenery and views of glaciers from the campground are fantastic. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$9
This is a US Forest Service campground with no dump station or water. Great setting with paved roads and sites. Plenty of walking trails and to sit and look at middle glacier. Doesn't get much better if you like to dry camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
Breathtaking glacier and mountain views. Very large, mostly level, well spaced campsites. Excellent paved interior roads. Beautifully maintained hike & bike trail network. Heed the warnings about food storage - there are bears in the vicinity. No dump station, and the only water is hand pumped, so dump & fill before you come. Would certainly stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
Williwaw campground has breathtaking views of mountains and glaciers. Hiking paths take you past beaver ponds, streams and to glaciers. We parked our 38 foot motorhome and tow car in our site. Paved roads and sites throughout. Primitive campground with no shower facilities. Pit toilets are available. Golden Access cardholders stay for half price. We highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
This was a wonderful forest service campground. All sites are wooded and private and it has the best views. We actually stayed here twice, once on the way down the Kenai peninsula and again on the way back. There are some sites that have direct views of the glacier above. And there are wonderful hiking trails here. Ask the host about off-the-beaten-path trails. All in all, our favorite campground that we stayed at in Alaska. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$9
Williwaw Campground was just the type of National Forest one that we like to visit. The sites were wooded and private and the campground had plenty of choices of sites. The drive and sites were paved and contained a table and fire pit. None had water or electricity. We camped across from the river and watched the multitude of salmon swimming upstream. A visitor was standing with his camera and said that a bear had just left the river after a dinner of fish. We never saw him but found a nice hiking trail and beautiful view of a hanging glacier above the campground. Being in a temperate rain forest the vegetation included ferns, moss, and aspen turning yellow. It is a short drive to the Portage Visitor Center and Whittier Tunnel. I would strongly recommend the Phillip's 26 Glacier Day Cruise in Whittier, a .8 mile hike to Byron Glacier on a well maintained trail and a delightful walk on the toe of the glacier, and a visit to the Portage Glacier Visitor's Center. There is a small sandwich and soup restaurant at the visitor's center of which I forget the name but it is good as well. The campground is near the road so traffic can be heard until night but it is a beautiful setting surrounded by mountains and an easy 45 min to 1 hour drive back to Anchorage. Alaska is blessed with many public campgrounds and this is one of the best we visited in our 2 week trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$9
Rate is with Senior Pass discount. Easy access, paved roads, mostly back-in sites, which are large and well spaced for privacy. Fire ring and table at each site, no hookups and no dump station. Makes excellent base for visiting nearby glaciers and Whittier. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$9
Very nice BLM campsite. Has lots of hiking sites and scenery to enjoy. Big wooded sites with lots of privacy. Tables and fire rings. Close to Whittier Visitor's Center and tunnel to Whittier. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
Wonderful National Forest park. Lovely paved, level sites with great privacy. Spectacular mountain and glacier views, even better if you drive or walk closer to the Portage Valley visitor center. Great place to stay for the 26 glacier cruise in Whittier: highly recommended. You get to Whittier via a shared 2.5 mile railroad tunnel. Eastbound on the half-hour, westbound on the hour. Trains, whenever. Williwaw creek has excellent salmon viewing. Outrageously beautiful graded and boardwalk trail, the Blue Ice Trail. Great hosts. We'd certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$19
Probably the most beautiful campground I have ever had the pleasure of staying in! Large very private spots with fire pits, extensive hiking and paved biking trails, AMAZING view of the Portage Glacier, and walking distance to the Salmon viewing platform. Close to the big animal sanctuary, Whittier glacier cruises, and the Alyeska resort/tram ride. Beware of the bears though, and keep all food scented items in your camper or car. They call this Bear Valley for a reason! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$19
An excellent campground, roads are paved as are sites, could take a rig of any size. Nice walking trails within the park and easy access to other facilities in the park. This is a great park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$9
Excellent forest service campground. Roads and pads are great. No hook-ups, but great views and very clean. Good hosts. On the way to Portage Glacier, not really in Whittier. Many large sites. No playgrounds: just a campground in the forest near glaciers and streams! Rate is with Golden Age Passport. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$9
The nicest public campground we have stayed in. The scenery was breathtaking. The mountains, the glaciers and the nearby creek were beautiful. The roads are wide and paved. We had a long, level, paved pull-through site with a fire ring and picnic table. We could not see the next site, but could see one across from us. They have a host and sell firewood. There is no dump and the water is from a hand pump. There are no showers. There are great hiking trails from the campground. Visit the glaciers in the area. Rate is with the Golden Age Passport. We would give this park a 10 if they had a dump. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
The roads through the campground are wide and clear of branches. The sites are large and spread out. Each site has a fire ring and some are double sites (which cost more). No extra charge on the pull-through sites (unless they're doubles). The views of the glacier and waterfalls are great. Road noise can still be heard but, traffic is minor since it's 4 miles off the AK1 Highway. Wind is always blowing here, it seems. Likewise, rain. We were able to find an open site to shoot our satellite (123W). It took a couple tries to find a spot that would shoot through the trees and around the shoulder of the mountain. We would stay here again. Very pretty location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
This place is located at Mile 79 on the Seward Highway, then 4 miles on Portage Valley Highway. It's a very nice national forest campground with paved roads and sites. Our 40' motorhome fit easily. Reservations can be made for some, but not all of the sites. There are both back-in and pull-through sites which are spacious and well-separated with vegetation. There is a hand water pump, firewood and a park host; however no dump station and the vault toilets are just adequate. Be sure to check out the Visitor Center and watch the film: great ending! There are miles of numerous great, flat trails from the Visitor Center including trails to Portage and Bryon Glaciers. Boat tours of the glaciers are available as are late summer Salmon viewing in nearby Williwaw Creek. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
Nicest public campground we've ever been in. Paved roads and sites with heavily wooded surroundings and loads of space between sites. Great views of glaciers. Hookups would make it perfect! While the trip through the train tunnel to Whittier was interesting, the town itself was a major disappointment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
This is a lovely, quiet USFS campground that has no hookups, but is very nice to stay there. There is plenty of trails to walk on and the whole park is paved. The only negative about the park is the speed bumps and they are really high. But I guess that's for people that don't know how to go slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
Dry camping only in a beautiful wooded area. Plenty of private room between sites. Dump and water available. Some spots are reservation only, but we arrived late in the afternoon and there were plenty of spaces available. If you can do without hook-ups this is the place. Very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Beautiful, clean, spacious sites. Close to several activity areas. Would love to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$13
Beautiful setting with a glacier visible from our site. Nice big sites. Hiking trails available and paved trail to the Portage Glacier Area. Host is friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$7
Site #24 was a very large, paved, level back-in site with lots of greenery and privacy, the road to and through the CG was paved and in great condition. We had no troubles maneuvering our 30 ft class A. We thought all of the sites looked good except for the doubles. About 18 of the 60 sites are for reservations, the rest first come first serve. We loved this campground even though there were no hook-up's, no showers, no dump and no fresh water fill (there were a couple of hand pumps so you could bucket fill your tanks). The Portage Valley was beautiful, the glaciers were fascinating and we enjoyed the visitor center. We didn't enjoy our day trip to Whittier, though, it was a $12 toll for the tunnel and with unlucky timing we waited nearly an hour to get through (tour buses got priority). Once we cleared the tunnel the town was incredibly congested with traffic and people (there was a cruise ship in port) and looked rather run down. It was interesting to drive through the tunnel but we wouldn't do it again. Price reflects Interagency Senior Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$13
This campground is one of the best in the state, and it seems they are always upgrading it. Golden Eagle Passport is honored so we paid only $6.50 per night. All comments by the previous entrant are still valid except the whole campground is now available for reservations through the USFS Internet system, yet you can still find first come first served vacancies most anytime during the week. Views are spectacular, lots of places to hike to, and streams adjacent to grounds. You can buy firewood from the camp host We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$13
Williwaw Campground was one of our favorites on this trip. The sites are huge, paved and level. Each site has a picnic table and fire pit. The sites are so large and the vegetation so thick that your neighbors are hardly visible. There is a salmon viewing deck and a 2 mile, level hiking / biking trail. Potable water is available but you can not pump it directly into your rig, you’ll have to haul it in a container. There is no dump station at the campground but the gas station in Girdwood has a free one. The western loop can be reserved; the eastern loop is 1st come 1st served but acquiring a site shouldn’t be a problem anytime during the week and by arriving early on the weekends. If you’re interested in dry camping in a beautiful, wilderness setting you’ll enjoy Williwaw. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com