206518 User submitted reviews online!!
Roamers' Retreat Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (717) 442-4287
CGID5545

Roamers' Retreat Campground

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   5   7   8   4   8   1   6   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
Only stayed one night, passing through, but it's a very pleasant, clean, quiet park we'd stay in again. Appears to have many seasonal long-term sites, notably well-maintained, no "trailer-trash" here like we've seen in so many other places! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
Roamer’s provides a fantastic view of the surrounding Amish farm fields and you can see for several miles. We can sit at the campsite for hours taking in the spectacular view and watching the Amish farmers, their adult children and their teams of horses and mules working the fields. You can learn a lot about their way of life by just observing. They are also very friendly. We have spent, on average, about 20 nights a year at the campground for some time but recently have seen a gradual deterioration of the campground since the younger generation has taken over the operation. Their heart just doesn’t seem to be in making any major investment in upgrades, concentrating mostly on grass cutting by workcampers and trimming and repairing the roadways as they frequently wash out with heavy rains. The owner/operators don’t seem to understand the need for good customer relationships and the work needed to take this campground to the next level. Roamer's has the potential to be one of the premier campgrounds in Lancaster County. The infrastructure needs some serious work as the roads are in need of a good manicure, campsites need leveled, overgrown trees which impede vehicle movement in the park need trimmed back and the park electrical system needs substantial improvement. Also, the upper level of the campground is getting pretty junky looking. On our last trip we experienced a severe voltage deficiency at our site, which was out in the field. We had to run all of our appliances on propane for the duration of the trip, as there was just not enough voltage to run them safely. I took my voltage meter up the line and found a power post where the voltage dropped 10 volts between itself the next site, deteriorating further down the campsite line. I went to the office to request a resolution and the answer was that there was nothing they could do. I’m sorry but they could have at least opened the power box at the reported site to check voltages and isolate the cause of the power drop. Power has never been good at Roamer’s and they blame it on PPL when they should be looking at their own electrical components as well. We were prepared to make reservations for 20 days next year but after being so frustrated with the park management made our 2013 reservations at another campground in the area. I must say the nice lady in the campground office was of much more help than the owners. We have no plans to return to Roamers in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$49
A very dated and getting antiquated campground. Most trailer sites are jammed in tight, not every one has a fire ring; and a lot are on hillsides. Toilets and showers are old. No swimming pool. It's OK in a pinch if you are out and about Lancaster sight seeing; but not worth more than a couple of days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$19
Site; While here we were on three different sites. Sites 4 and 9 under pine trees, site 91 in lower loop on grass, no trees. Even though we were on long term site, because of special events and letting weekenders reserve specific sites, we had to move three times. Long term and seasonal site are different. They let people reserve sites a year in advance. We had full hookups with 30 amp electric. There are some 50 amp sites, but they are not long term. Site 4 and 9 were back ins, and site 91 was pull through. All sites have a picnic table. About half the sites have fire rings. There is no privacy on the lower loop. Laundry; There is a clean laundry with 4 washers and dryers. Each is $2.50 a load. TV, Wi-Fi, Phone; Cable TV w/25 channels. Verizon phone was good, 3 to 4 bars. Wi-Fi was good to very good on all here sites. Dog Friendly; A lot of areas to walk a dog. Amenities; no planed activities, nice playground, a few video games. Summary; We did enjoy this park other then the site changes. Under the pine trees was very dirty. The stuff was friendly and helpful. Roads are gravel and sites are gravel or grass. Low level lighting at night. There is a small book exchange. There is road noise from a very busy route 30. Comments; Located in the beautiful Lancaster County, surrounded by Amish farms. A super location for touring the area. Reasonably priced. We paid $575. Month. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
When we first started coming to Lancaster, this was our favorite Campground. As time went on we traveled away from this area and haven't been back in some years. Upon returning, we noticed the endless views have been encroached upon by the Museum next door. The campground is still a very nice place to tour the area or just relax, although increased truck traffic on Rt 30 has made it a lot noisier. The staff was very accommodating as we changed our site a couple of times due to our long absence and poor memory. The one complaint I do have was the unannounced party being held by the owners next door to our campsites with a large crowd of guests. With little or no camper etiquette they roamed around our camp sites and had loud music (not my kind) for quite a while on Saturday night. My wife and I had planned on eating out at one of our old favorite restaurants, but we were afraid to leave with all the strangers roaming around our motorhome and the excessive noise aggitating our dogs. We may return, but will definitely ask if we will be subject to any inconveniences while paying good money to relax?? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
The rate reflects Passport America and Good Sam discounts. The water, 30AMP, sewer & cable work as advertised, the wifi is very slow or intermittent. The restrooms/showers are older and "usually" clean. The sites are not level and need gravel or other hard surface; grass is too soft and muddy. There are tight turns, site space, trees, and hills are difficult for big rigs. We will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Neatly kept. Lots of seasonals. Good views. Bathrooms need updating. Lost electricity in the bathrooms and couldn't use. No windows in that area. Sites are not attractive but the location is great for the tourist area. UN-level sites were hard to maneuver. Good shopping nearby. Motorhome next to us was WAY too close. All sites close to each other. Easy pull through sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
OK, First for a piece of grass 30.00 was lot! Now the nasty part! I took a shower when we got there. The young kid had just mopped the floor. I found tissue on the floor. Needless to say he did not do a very good job! I jumped in the shower and saw blood on the wall!!! (How do I know it was blood? I am a Paramedic and have seen my share!) I informed the staff an 12 hours when I left it was still there! All I can say is NASTY NASTY NASTY!!! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Roamers seems to be doing some improvements since the last time here. The sites near the pavilion are very bad after a rain as there is no stone, its all grass or mud. At least it's not after a rain storm so I can't say if that has improved any. Our site this time is 56 and it slopes to the right side about 4 inches off level. You need to have an extra step to get into the RV. It would be great if the management would attempt to level the sites better side to side with more stone. They have added a stone roadway to the sites near the open field #2B -9B, which helps in wet weather getting in or out of the sites. This is a great place to stay with plenty of things to do and see. I just hope the owners and management continue to make improvements and bring this campground up to it's full potential. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Rate reflects Passport America discount. This could be a picture postcard campground. It's surrounded by farmland and comparatively quiet however it has been sadly neglected. The laundry room is clean but located in the basement of the store/living quarters - complete with lots of spiders. A good cleaning, a little paint and some yard work would add a great deal to this area. Hubby went to hook up electric and the box cover fell off in his hands. Some roads rutted but as of this writing it looks as if they're trying to rectify the situation. Wi-Fi and cable access are excellent. We were afraid to check the restrooms. There is no pool but that didn't bother us. We would come back just for the Amish country ambiance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Rate shown includes a Good Sam discount. Sites are gravel pull through and level. Some more gravel could have been used as our site had dried mud depressions. After looking at other reviews of the campground I was surprised at the negative views. Our site was surrounded by grass and trees. It was a good size for our 25 foot rig. Another section seemed more crowded. Cable TV and WIFI worked fine. The campground in the back is surrounded by Amish farms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This park is really run down. The interior roads were a mess: some stone and a good number of water holes from recent rain turning the dirt into mud. We were only 1 inch from stalling our M/H on the way out in what we thought was a shallow water hole: turned out to be deep and muddy. It'll take me a couple of hours to wash off the mud where the duals threw it every where. Initial lot was too unlevel and the second one still made us have a 2 foot step to the ground (even with our portable step. We got around OK with our 40' M/H, but I would not say the park is "Big Rig Friendly" by any means. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$51
This was a nice park. It wasn't in the best condition. At times we experienced very low water pressure. No pool either. The site was not level, but it wasn't anything that leveling jacks couldn't take care of. In general, we had a nice time. There wasn't much for the kids to do though. The hot air balloon was awesome, and there was no charge for a tethered ride. Nice park, but don't expect much. Very nice people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
Roamers seems to be slowly deteriorating. There are a number of little things that just don't seem to get fixed, missing box covers and the like. When the current owners took over they had a suggestion box and posted a sign saying the rest rooms would be renovated as suggested. We're still waiting. The staff is friendly as always and they now have good, free Wi-Fi but many sites are not level and the water pools in the same spots in the road it has for years. I've long been partial to Roamers and hope the trend gets turned around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
We have camped here for the past 20-25 years. Not much has changed at least in the last several years. It seems that the owners don't want to maintain the campground as the previous owners did. The sites nearest the pavilion are nice sites but are on grass. Do not go there if it has rained a lot. We pulled in to find tire ruts from the previous campers that were six to eight inches deep. Rather than put down crusher run, or stone to each site they offer to pull you out with their tractor. When asked about grass versus stone sites, the owner stated it cost $500 for a truck load of stone. If people stop coming due to the condition of the grounds especially after a rain, then the campground will suffer. This would be a shame because this is an ideal location for shopping, restaurants and the steam museum next door. To the owners I suggest that you improve the sites, spend some money on stone and bring Roamers back to what it should be! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
This is an older campground but clean. It is a good location to visit the Amish area. They certainly need to improve the laundry room. They had only one washer and it was trashy looking. Not sure we would camp here again unless it was the only campground available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$19
This campground is tired but it appears the owners are trying to upgrade the facilities. The laundry facilities definitely need updating. The location was convenient for us and if we were in this area again we would camp here again because of its location for touring Amish country. The staff were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
We stayed here for a week. The campground is well maintained and the staff friendly and helpful. This park is in the heart of Amish country and local Amish families come through the park and sell fresh produce. We stayed in the open area where we were able to get a satellite signal. The park also offers basic cable TV. We have camped here before and would definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
This is a decent park in the heart of Amish country. The hosts were great about directing us to the local attractions. There are plenty of walking and bicycling back roads behind the park (and a SUPER Amish bakery walking distance down the road). We had a grassy space with adequate room. It was not especially level. Our HWH leveling jacks did not have a problem. The guy next to use in a newer coach with air bag leveling never got level. The wifi here was free but only worked so-so. Cell phone coverage was excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
We visit this campground each fall for a getaway weekend before winter sets in. Centrally located to tourist attractions, restaurants and outlets. Nice playground and open field. The only things this campground lacks is a pool, but since we stay in the fall it's a mute point. Would recommend staying in the sites next to the cabins or in the field, especially if you have a big rig. Used AAA discount for a reduced rate. (800) 525-5605 We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$36
Staff was friendly and helpful. Centrally located to tour Amish Country. Free Wi-Fi at office and $2.00 per night at campsites. We stayed in the field below that offer a GREAT view of the countryside and still far enough away from RT 30 to remove most of the traffic noise. The only improvement I can suggest would be a bath house closer to the field campsites. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Friendly staff. Roads are gravel in park. Sites are grass and gravel. Nice clean park. Most sites are fairly level. About 1/2 are shaded. Rate is for monthly stay. Many things to do in the area. Beautiful country side. Reservation are suggested in season, especially in fall. Poor Verizon service. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Good level grassy sites, some with gravel. Very convenient to the Amish countryside. Very friendly staff. If in the area would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
Park is right on route 30, but didn't seem noisy at night. Go out to the North side and right into the Amish countryside. Quite a bit of gravel in evidence - site leveling and road filling going on. Fairly easy in and out except there's always a traffic jam in Gap. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
We camped here in October 2007 and had a great time. We camped next to a field where "spillover" & tents would go. There was a steam engine festival right next door, so it was a bit loud when the steam engine was running but otherwise it was quiet. We did not interact with the office except to check in. *** I guessed at the nightly rate. it was in that neighborhood We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
When we arrived they only site they had available was a pull in site. We were able to drop the trailer & drive thru the grass across the playground. We did have a problem when leaving. The site was on a small hill and the grass was wet. To connect the trailer I had to get a running start. Overall campground looked nice, but we will not return due to our negative experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
We were there for a rally and in the lower unshaded area..campground is older but quiet. Sites are not always level, showers had mosquitoes on the walls, needs screen doors. We enjoyed our stay and would go back, but might look for another location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
If you stay here, request a site that faces the field near the playground - you will have a shaded campsite and nice view. We stayed here 2 nights as our base for visiting the Lancaster area. Our site was nice, but not very level although this wasn't a problem. There is no pool which was OK since it was too cool for swimming, this may be an issue for summer campers. In the evening an Amish family came by each site with a cart that had tarts, pies and breads for sale - very nice touch. Didn't use the bathhouse, but checked it out and it was clean - 2 toilets and 2 showers. Overall a nice campground that is clean and quiet. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$17
Good park for touring Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Right along Rt. 30 but away from highway noise. Some sites are well shaded in the woods and others are in a grassy, semi-open area. Our site was very level. Also had nice looking cabins. Park was clean, neat and quiet. We could not get WiFi from our site but they said it was available. Passport American rate was $17.50 (Sun - Thurs). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
The pull through sites are back out sites if there is someone parked across from your site. Very hilly and muddy after rain. Campground needs more maintenance and attention to detail. The seasonal people we met were very rude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
For the Lancaster area this was a OK campground. The site we had was very large but very unlevel, however it did have a great view. While we were there we had some big storms with heavy downpours and found out our site gathered a lot of run off which made our motorhome in the middle of a nice flowing creek. This is a great campground to use as a home base while visiting the Lancaster area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$40
We enjoyed our first visit to this campground. We chose it due to its proximity to the Sights and Sounds Theatre and chose the preferred site with a view of an Amish valley. It was nice, except that the view also included a metal fence with old equipment on the other side. I'm not sure I would have called it preferred site, but it was still nice. This was a good campground to take in the Amish culture of the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com