217978 User submitted reviews online!!
Chief Hosa Lodge & Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (303) 526-1324
CGID555

Chief Hosa Lodge & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   4   8   7   10   8   10   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Nice setting with large trees, clean and quiet, but roads and spaces were very uneven, and the showers were some of the worst I've seen. You get 2 minutes of hot water for a quarter, then you had to get out of the water to add another quarter. There was nowhere to set clothes or shoes out of the water. Odd set up for pull throughs meant my RV door was directly across from my neighbors door, about 5 feet away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
The setting is pleasant, but right off of I-70 so road noise is pretty prevalent. The Wi-Fi is very spotty and not very good even if you have a good connection. It can't be relied on. The sites are close together. There are lots of trees and the camp hosts are very nice. It is a nice place to stay while doing things in the area - very convenient to the Denver metro. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Lots of road noise. WI-FI - useless. Sights are very small and sloped. Nice staff. No laundry. Paid in advance, but had to leave a day early due to altitude sickness - they would not refund the unused balanced. This was not a holiday weekend. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
Easy on/off from Interstate 70. Campsites are in a woodsy setting, and somewhat sloped, which makes leveling a challenge. Park staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Peaceful park despite the closeness of other campers. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
This was an old city park which has been re-configured for RVs. We were at right angles to the rig behind us and our site was sloped. It's a beautiful setting and worth a night or two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
We really enjoyed staying at Chief Hosa Campground for our last night of a great trip with our grandchildren. The restrooms were very clean, and the manager is on top of maintaining a top notch, rural campground. The grandchildren enjoyed the playground area, and could sit and watch the hummingbirds for hours. Thank you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
This is a really great campground to stay in if you're looking for some peace and quiet, mountain views and lots of hiking trails. The campground does have 5 full hookup spots but 3 of them are usually used by the hosts. We were able to get one of the full hookup sites and it made our stay very convenient. The park is on the mountainside so the roads are dirt and a little steep and curvy in areas but we saw some really big rigs come and go without an issue. The hosts were awesome and the bathrooms were kept very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
When we first pulled into the park I wasn't impressed. After a couple hours here I came to really like it. Staff is super friendly and helpful. The sites have side by side hookups but they are roomy, so that isn't a problem. The pool is large and warm. Showers are sparkling clean, large, and have great water pressure. There are 2 dog walking areas with bag stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
This was our second stay at Chief Hosa. We elected to stay just three days this time as we are not fond us using the "Blue Boys" to empty the tanks. But, at least they were available if you need them! The sites are all dirt which makes for a not so nice site when it rains. Sites are also very narrow. To me this is a true "campground" not an RV park. Lots of tent campers and children. The best part of Chief Hosa is the elevation, which is 7700 feet, so it is much cooler than Denver. Staff is also very accommodating. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
I love this campground! Yes you do have to pay for showers, however they are beautiful and very clean! I even felt comfortable without my flip flops on. Yes some of the sites are somewhat difficult to get into, but they are not impossible. You just need to have patience! You have to realize that you are camping on the side of a mountain!! I loved being under the pines. We had no problem with being level and we just a had a wonderful short stay. The attendants are very sweet people and very helpful. We traveled with two children under 13 and our pooch! I would come back here in a heartbeat!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Well treed. Steep grades in some locations. Great dump station. Close to road and highway. Road noise is present but not disturbing. Friendly and helpful campground hosts. Coin operated showers: 25 cents for 5 minutes. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
Campground personnel were directing RV's in the wrong direction, so several RV's had to back up long distances to properly park. Sites are hard to get into and not level. Not advised for larger rigs. Advertised as "full hookups" but no dump provided at sites, just a dump site for entire camp. No convenient pet area and no waste bags provided even though there was a dispenser marked "pet waste bags." We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This is America's oldest RV Park-my husband's grandparents camped here when he was a little boy! It is rustic and beautiful, with hiking trials, wildlife and a brand new shower house. The views from Chief Hosa Lodge, just across the road, were outstanding, and our neighbors saw a bear nearby. Do not expect perfect sites, though we had a level, large site for our 30' fifth wheel. The views are great, as are the staff, and you are close to Denver without the heat and hassle. Other reviews must have expected a KOA type place-this is rustic, with good hookups and wifi, but little tv reception and no sewer, though they have a dump station and even loaner porta-totes to use. We loved it here, camped for a week plus and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
It is very rustic. It's more of a tent place. We were charged extra for two of our kids. It was very wooded and difficult to move our rig around. Our friends that were with us in a tent, had a much easier time here and were not charged extra for their two kids. We would come back for an adult trip if back-packing with tents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
Let’s start out with the good. The have fast, free internet. OK, now to the bad. First, the campground is very close to the interstate. Upon arriving, we were greeted quite rudely by the lady running the front shack (i.e. office). After paying extra for kids and pets (a first!), we were allowed to proceed to our site. What a mess of a campground. Apparently, the person designing the campsite layout and the other person designing the utilities didn’t meet before construction began. I kid you not, our dining room window was not more than 3 feet from the king-pin of the fifth-wheel parked next to us. What a great view! Luckily, the voltage eventually came up to above 108V so that we could switch the fridge back over to electric with the A/C running. No way could we run the electric water heater. Our utility pole was right in front of the neighbor’s door. Depending on the site you get, you may need an extra sewage hose and extra electric cord. Our neighbor’s sewage was in the same place as ours. Remember, their kingpin is at our dining room window. Talk about a long sewage run. The sites are not very level and obviously quite narrow (our slideout came within about 12 inches of our neighbor’s trailer!). In fact, I had to use 4WD to back up into our site. The grass was literally 4 feet tall. I guess we should have known things would not work out when we had to sign a form stating that we had read and understood the rules, which was a first for us. Apparently, this park is operated by the city. If you check out my previous reviews, you will see that I typically don’t give such a poor rating. However, this park deserves it… what a disappointment! We will never stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
I'm told this is the oldest motorized campground in the US and the campsites reflect this. With lots help from the friendly work-camper hosts we were backed into a rare site in this tree covered mountain top campground with a open view to southern sky and the satellites we need for Internet and TV. If you're a big rig make sure you call ahead and reserve the site that fit your needs. We choose the South sky but gave up 50 AMP and sewer. Some have 50 Amp and a few have sewer but none have it all. The restrooms are brand new and the cleanest I've seen. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
Chief Hosa is an okay campground, for what it is. This is mountain camping. There is a dump station. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped us back into our small site. Our site was not level at all and a little cramped, but worked for our overnight stay. We would not advise anyone with a large RV to stay here. Our neighbors were within arms reach. If you want an outdoorsy setting, Chief Hosa has it. Also, it is not in Denver, but run by Denver Parks. It is probably 20 miles west off I-70. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Nicely wooded campground in the foothills about 30 minutes west of Denver. Although the address is officially Golden, the campground is very close to El Rancho-Evergreen (Walmart/Home Depot) and Genesee. Run by City of Denver and camphosts are experienced full-timers and very helpful. The campground is at 7,700' so temperatures are generally 8-10 degrees cooler than Denver. Very clean however some sites are not very level and highway noise from I-70 during rush hour can be heard. Access road to dump site is tight for larger rigs. $26/day, $156/week with water/electric, $1/day per pet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
We stayed 1 night while traveling. The campground is easy off/on the highway. Very scenic. The only drawback is quite a few site are not level and very small. For 1 night it was fine. We may stay again only when traveling. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
We stayed two weeks and really enjoyed this park. There are only a few (four I believe) full hook up spots - ask if you want one. They charge a little more but worth it if available. We have a bigger rig and trying to manage the winding steep roads around to the dump station were a little harrowing. They also offer blue boys for use. It's beautiful and shady but it is isolated. You can't walk anywhere and we didn't even find any trails within walking distance. Just dirt roads winding up the mountain. Bears were spotted while we were there. During the week it is quiet, but like most city or state type parks gets very noisy on the weekends. One weekend they had a religious army of some sort or the other preaching late with a megaphone (until 9 when it is quiet time). Across the road is a nice inclined meadow with a walking path mowed in a circle - it was a good place to walk the dog. The showers are very clean - but they are coin operated. I found .50 usually was enough for an enjoyable hot shower. There are no laundry facilities. There is no WI-FI and my Verizon broadband phone and internet access was very spotty and weak. The on site managers were all nice and helpful. And a nice bonus for birdwatchers are all the hummingbirds that are attracted to the feeders they keep outside the little office. I didn't see any pull-thru spots, but they might have had a few. Overall this was a nice quiet area to stay and we enjoyed it. We'll stay there again when traveling through although probably not as long simply due to lack of things to do without a car. Just make sure to bring lots of books and catch up on your reading! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
Sites were very close together and difficult to get into. The steep hills are gravel covered and difficult to maneuver. The sites are shaded and it is a good safe place to camp close to for visiting Denver. There is not much to do at the campground that we saw. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
Rumors are this campground is closed but it was open for 2006. Lots of shade. Bathrooms are VERY clean but be aware that the showers are pay showers. Have some quarters with you. If you don't need a resort, this is a nice place to stay in the Denver/Georgetown area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$24
In June 2003, a new shower/laundry building was under construction. Showers were made available at the Chief Hosa Lodge, a short walk away. Two sewer dumps were available, one at the main camp, another in the camp annex on the other side of I-70 (both somewhat difficult to reach at the time of park remodeling). Park is approx. thirty minutes west of Denver, at the "Chief Hosa" exit off I-70, following a long climb. Great for taking walks, offering panoramic views of the rockies. Staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com