220505 User submitted reviews online!!
Medford / Gold Hill KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (541) 855-7710
CGID5552

Medford / Gold Hill KOA

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$54



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   5   5   7   7   5   7   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$54
Decent place to stop for the night. Tight turn and pull-through. Sites not paved, but good shade. I expected more from a KOA. We probably wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$37
This is a nice quiet CG with level pull thru sites. There are a lot of large mature shade trees at most to the sites. There is a complete other section for a large number of full timers. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a nice pool area and playground. They have a large pet area. It's just a short walk to the river. Pretty area and we would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This was our first stay at a KOA and a real disappointment. It is an older campground with generally small sites. Not a lot of gravel left and potentially a mud bath in wet weather. Hardly a blade of green grass except for in the permanent resident area. Pet area just an open piece of scrubland. Sites billed as being by a stream with added privacy. As small as any we have seen and stream little more than a ditch. Staff reasonably helpful on arrival and during booking process. Although near freeway - very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Typical older KOA. Staff was fine, not a very excitable group. The park was clean and quiet. All utilities worked fine, including the Wi-Fi. We stayed on the east side, next to a large meadow. Ever though we were not far from the highway, road noise was minimal. Long term campers were in a separate area in the back, short stay people in the middle, and tent campers closer to the highway. Campground is about 10 minutes west of Medford. We would stay here again as an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
We stopped here on our way to Crater Lake NP. Clean level pull through. Quiet and easy in/out. Managers were very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
Nice clean park, close to the river walk. Many aircraft fly over at all hours. Good over night stop. We would camp again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
This was an OK place to stop for a couple of nights. The feeling was that this was mainly a place to "stop for the night". A fellow guest checking in before me asked about the pancake breakfast and ice cream social and I overheard the staff person say "No, we don't do anything here". I don't think they'll be receiving a KOA President's Award anytime soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Our second stay here. Both times it was for one night. Standard KOA with very courteous, friendly staff. Our site was fairly level. Sites are close together, but again, fine for an overnight stay. Price was for long 50 amp, pull through, full hook up. No need to disconnect car from our 35' rig. We had no trouble driving through the campground to our site with the car hitched up. We would stay here again on our way north or south on I-5, as it has very easy access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
This is a very old KOA, narrow paved road, dirt/mud, very close uneven sites, mostly suited for class C units. Office is open only an hour and a half in the morning and re-opens again at 3PM in the afternoon. Night time lighting is very, very limited. We would not recommend this KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$34
Price is for full hookups. Good cable TV and strong over the air stations, also. Strong Wi-Fi and cell phone reception. Gravel, almost level sites. Some long-term campers, in a separate area. Although the lanes are narrow, the sites are wide. Perfectly fine for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
We have been here for about a month, and will stay for the rest of my contract in November. (I am a traveling RN working down in Medford). Overall we really like the park; it is nice and quiet and clean, the people are friendly and the staff is great. Very pet friendly. Probably not great for kids, but that keeps it very quiet (good for me, as I sleep during the day to work nights). The only downside for us is that is is kind of far from work in Medford, but we have looked around the area and this seems to be the best choice for us. We would definitely stay here again. We are in a 40' RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
Fortunately we are only here for 1 night. On the plus side, the pool looks clean but is small and the restrooms are clean. The sites are REALLY small and narrow. I would not recommend a back-in for anything bigger then 25'. What they call a creek is really a drainage ditch. Just mud this time of the year. The people up front who checked us in where rude. The park definitely does not meet up to the standards of KOA. I would seek elsewhere. WiFi is good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
WARNING: NOT BIG RIG FRIENDLY. This campground does not handle large motorhomes well. I would only recommend considering this park if you are 32' or less. Very narrow roads, very narrow spots. No improvements have been done to remedy this, though there is room to do so. Pool is very small for the number of users. Broken chair left by the pool. I almost fell through to the ground trying to sit in it. Playground is almost useless. Our kids were bored here. We had difficulty leveling our motorhome. Store was poorly stocked. WiFi internet access so poor, almost completely unusable. Check-in was very slow. Nothing to do here. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
We liked this park overall. It's convenient to the freeway and we didn't feel road noise was a problem. Our site was dirt/gravel and was plenty long and wide. The utilities worked great. The staff was friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2010
$32
Older KOA. Dirt sites and not that level. Store empty. Ladies restroom closed for remodel. Free Wi-Fi. Makes an OK over nighter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
The area we stayed in had nice roomy sites with lots of shade. The sites were not the most level, but with a little help from our jacks we were good. Even though it is close to I-5 the road noise was nominal. We would definitely stay here again. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We stayed here for one night on our way to the Oregon Coast. Very nice, quiet campground. Very small store and old playground would be the only two negatives. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Very nice little park. Pool was very refreshing. Nice shady spots. Store has just the very minimum, no electrical tape. :( Some full timers. A lot of happy overnighters. Would have been a 10 if the store was a little more Camper friendly as far as inventory. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This is an older KOA, but still a good overnight location near the freeway. Not a lot of frills like some KOA locations but the pool was open, no hot tub!. The space was off level, but shaded and clean. The restrooms could use a little work. The Wifi worked very well and there are lots of cable channels. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
A nice setting with lots of grass and trees, and a creek. The person who checked us in was rather surly. We were charged a rate higher than what was stated on the website. The bathrooms could really use an upgrade--one of the faucets doesn't even have a top on it; they're easily the shabbiest of the dozen or so KOAs we've stayed in. Fast Wi-Fi, many cable channels. Lots of road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
This is quite expensive for what is offered. It is closer to the Interstate than I expected and the highway noise is evident. The pull-through sites are gravel and situated in the trees. The office is closed from 10:30 to 3:00 each day so don't expect assistance during those times. On the bright side, the Wi-Fi worked well and was free. Cable TV was also provided. It is OK for an overnight stay, but I probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
The park is a little pricey, but then so are most KOA's that way. Very friendly management and knowlegeable about the area. We stopped there for two days on our way to Coos Bay. Good stopover place for one night or two. Would stop there again, easy to get to and easy to get back to freeway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
This is a beautiful park under shade trees. The staff could not be nicer! Before arriving there for our reserved weekend, we called them when we were in a find. They helped us find another KOA in the area we were in. The only reason I gave a 9 is the pad is gravel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
This is an older KOA. The staff, though rather gruff in a refreshing way, were accommodating. Sites are okay . . . gravel pads with some grass and RV hookups that were dated but okay as well. There are lots of trees around proving shade ... it is in a very pastoral setting and relaxing for a one night stay. We would not stay longer. Compared to other KOA's it's over-priced, and needs some updating, but served our immediate needs as we were tired. We would not stay there again as we found a better place north of there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$34
We stay there in April, and found it to be quiet with a friendly staff. We were in the older part amongst the trees. We would recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
Pros: Relatively friendly staff, has a pool, scenic surroundings. Cons: Tight spaces with no space between neighbors. We had to share a picnic table with our neighbor. One of our slides almost hit a large tree trunk (about 8" away from it) and another slide hit several branches. Narrow roads inside. Playground was not sufficient. No slide and mostly metal bars to climb on (making it dangerous for our 2 year old). Both of our kids got bored quickly there. Nothing really to do here if you don't want to battle the crowds at the small pool. Heard a train 3 times during the nights. I think we'll try somewhere else next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
This is an older camp and is close to I-5, but there is little freeway noise. It is located in a quiet and pastoral setting, adjacent to a farm with grazing cattle in the distance. There are mature trees to provide shade throughout the park, and sites are gravel/dirt with some grass adjacent. Restrooms and laundry are adequate (clean, but nothing special). Wifi is free and works well. Staff is friendly and helpful. The location is adjacent to Ashland’s Oregon Shakespearean Festival (about a half hour drive south) and the Rogue River is not far away for rafting. Crater Lake is also an easy day trip from this location. The village of Gold Hill is just a short drive away, and there is a grocery store (Ray’s) that is reasonably well stocked. We camped 10 nights, with no pets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
This is a decent place to stay in the farmland near the Rogue River. Not exciting, but as the sun goes down the pool is good and the surrounding farmland and hills are peaceful. It's quiet though the occasional truck goes rumbling by. We didn't see much of the tiny town of Gold Hill, but this area is close to many fun activities in the surrounding towns of the area--this part of Oregon is definitely worth a visit. This would not be our first choice in places to stay (though those were full!) but it's not a bad spot, and it was clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com