221563 User submitted reviews online!!
River Valley Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (828) 497-3540
CGID5567

River Valley Campground

Camp Information
Sites
160
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   5   5   9   8   9   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
We camped here for a month and the monthly rate for a non-river spot is only $400--a great deal and well worth the money! The restrooms are clean and the showers have plenty of pressure and hot water. There is a large laundry room and a game room. The front section is mostly paved spots with full hook-ups, picnic tables and fire rings. There are smaller tent/pop-up sites along the river in the front section. The middle section is not paved, however, all of the sites that are not on the river are level pull-through sites, most with shade trees. The river side sites are back-in and they have a gorgeous view. The back section is for permanent campers, and they are very well kept and folks are friendly. There is a trail that runs along the river which is great for dog walking and enjoying the views, including a small waterfall right across the river. The staff is very friendly. The campground is about two miles up Big Cove Road from downtown Cherokee. On up Big Cove Road about another 2 miles is Mingo Falls, a nice little hike. If you're looking for a reasonably priced mountain get-away, this is the place to be! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
This was our first time to visit the Great Smokie Mountians, and we were very happy to have found this park! All sites for short term stay have level concrete pads, full hook ups, a beautiful setting by the stream and surrounded by the mountians. Very quiet location, except for the daily trash truck as a previous reviewer mentioned. The is no cell service in this area. The staff is very friendly, hassle free rates, paid by cash only. We will stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
Destination campground located adjacent to a mountain stream in the mountains of North Carolina. Campground is at the south end of the Blue Ridge Parkway at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains NP. Good, well marked access from highway. Well maintained park with lots of long term residents. Pet friendly for friendly pets. Paved interior roads. Level gravel and some concrete level sites. Average space between sites with gravel and some trees between sites. Picnic table and fire ring at each site. A little tight for big rigs but doable. Good access to utilities and all worked properly. Good cable selection . No Wi-Fi and no Verizon data coverage. Spotty to no cell phone coverage. Had to go into Cherokee to get Wi-Fi. Showers/restrooms are modern and clean, and laundry is fine. Very quiet with no train, plane, or traffic noise. Very friendly and helpful staff. Cash only-no credit cards. Good fishing in the streams adjacent to the park and in the area. Nothing for kids other than the stream . Good location to explore the National Park and area. Big Casino in town. We would return We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
The staff were very nice. There is no cell service in this ravine. The trash truck comes every morning at 7:30. For the location and no more amenities that they have, I think it is overpriced. If you have an emergency and have to leave, you don't get a refund. They don't give Good Sam discounts or any other discounts that I am aware of. If you stay 6 nights you do NOT get the seventh free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
This is great campground for adults, very nice staff and lots of shade.The river runs by the campgrounds with great fishing. The restrooms were very clean but it`s time for a remodel they are showing their age. Not setup for kids, more for the older group. Hope to camp here for many years to come. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
Well maintained cg with very friendly and helpful staff. Bathroom/shower generally clean but could use updating. Great fishing stream adjacent to several sites that attract many locals. All paved sites are available but we camped in an unpaved but level site. Would stay at this cg again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is a very nicely appointed place. Seems to be in three stages. The newest is wide open: concrete pads w/ paved roads, this is where I was placed. The second area is very well wooded and where the pull through's might be (few to none in the new area). The third area is a very well guarded and meant to be a private seasonal area. Although my site wasn't pull through, I was able to do so by cutting through an adjacent site, (otherwise it would have been difficult w/ the other vehicles in the road). That aside, this is a good place. CATV was very good (also my SAT worked well), my Verizon phone and phone card did NOT work so went without for the two days. That would be the ONLY reason for me to skip this place. It was really beautiful down by the river, and the staff was very helpful. Sure wish my VZ worked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
Very nice campground, and more affordable than Gatlinburg. We had a spot just feet from the river, which was beautiful (but noisy, if that bothers you). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
It is a clean well maintained park, with friendly staff. A nice place close to down town. I will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
This campground is all we were told it would be. We stayed on the concrete slab and we had no mud or dirt problems (it rained all weekend). There was friendly staff, a security guard 24/7, clean grounds, paved roads, and a store. You could buy fishing permits, and there was a stocked river running through campground. The sound of the river was anywhere you could go in the campground, and close to everything. Will stay here again. Very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
Nice woodsy feel to the campground. Creek sites small, and unfortunately hookups too far apart for our rig. We chose site 43 which was a good size full hookup (wsec) back to back site. Campground very quiet, although it wasn't crowded. Management was extremely helpful. Recommended several good places to eat. We travel in a Class B Roadtrek and wanted to see "Unto These Hills", the night time Indian drama. On the way back to the campground we saw an elk -- so cool. When we got back to the campground we pulled into our site and hooked-up. We sat and enjoyed the night air for an hour or so then went to bed. In the morning we realized we were not on the site we had rented! They didn't give us any problem nor even approach us about it. Bath house was clean each time we used it, showers had hot water and great pressure. Small (and I do mean small!) changing room attached to shower. There is a game room, pay phone and a HUGE laundry room. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
We have camped here before, during the spring. The campground was not crowded and was clean. This time it was very busy and crowded. The restrooms were dirty with paper and water on the floor each time we used them. The showers were not clean. We stayed five nights and I never saw the restrooms clean. The employees were friendly and helpful as before. I will camp here again, but not during the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
This is a nice campground, on the river. Very pretty area. The grounds were clean. The sites were gravel and fairly level. There are also sites away from the river, but the water could be heard throughout the park. Friendly, helpful people who took us on a golf cart to pick out our site. The showers and restrooms were clean each time we used them. TV cable was good and included in the rate. Easy access to the campground. Cell phone service is difficult at best. There is a small store nearby, the campground is about 3 miles to Cherokee. This is a campground, with fishing in the river, a pretty area, but not much else. We will stay here again because it is what we like. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
This was a nice place to use as a base camp. We got to select our site before renting. There is a river to tube. It was very busy. The sites were very small. We were close to everything in Cherokee. The sites were pretty muddy. Management seemed nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
Smaller park than some of the other commercial parks in Cherokee but if you need a base to tour, it's good. Bathrooms definitely need work, clean but in sad shape. CASH ONLY, no credit cards or checks. Nice staff, toured available sites before selection. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
We stay at this campground most every time we are in Cherokee. We love the fact that there is a running stream that you can do great tubing and fishing in and lots of shady lots. The only downfall is that you cannot reserve a specific site and after April, they take no reservations. We will continue to come to this peaceful campground because we love the relaxation but we wish they would accommodate reservations. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com