220365 User submitted reviews online!!
South Fork Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (719) 873-5500
CGID5568

South Fork Campground

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   9   5   8   8   8   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
This park has some good points and bad points. South Fork is located just east of Wolf Creek Pass, a nice place to stop and rest. There is no over the air TV reception. There is good water pressure and electric. The Wi-Fi was mediocre, sometimes descent speed and other times just plain slow. All the spots were well shaded. The RV park is a few miles east of ‘downtown’ South Fork along US 160. With the park being 'down' from the highway, there is no traffic noise. The park has some nice quiet riverside sites, where you can sit and watch the Rio Grande flow south to Mexico. There is a rarely used railway line that runs along the highway, that makes for a nice dog walk. About 100 yards down the line, there are railway cars parked, but it makes for a nice walk outside of the park. The road leading in the other direction leads to a small number of streets with homes, that is also a nice walk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
We enjoyed our stay at this park. Nothing fancy here except the beautiful river, but it's a very pleasant park. We only stayed three nights, but lots of the folks there stay a month or even the whole summer. No cable TV and no channels available via antennae, so unless you have a satellite dish the Internet is the only possibility; luckily the Wi-Fi is good most of the time. We will be back to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
The forest fire missed all of South Fork and the entire town and this RV park are open for business. This campground has some monthly sites available for about $15 per night. The bathroom and shower houses have been completely remodeled and are great. The park hosts are the nicest people. Evenings are cool and the daytime temps are about 75 degrees. Many fishing areas and four-wheeler trails are open. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This Park is situated between Highway 160 and the Rio Grande on the east side of South Fork. The cottonwoods give plenty of shade. We were lucky to get a river side spot for one night. All facilities are nice and clean. Did not try the Wi-Fi because my iPad with AT&T 4G performed perfectly. Caught a brown trout with my fly rod, making it a perfect stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
Nice park for a week's visit. Wi-Fi is terrible. If this is factored in with the price, they should give a discount. Nice clean laundry room. Managers are very nice. Several full season residents, but they keep their sites clean. Sites could use a sprucing up with some new gravel to cut the dust. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Great campground, beautiful setting. It is very treed and shady, but even big rigs should not have a problem with clearance. The folks who run this place are great, very friendly and helpful. Will stay here again if we make it down to South Fork. If you can get a riverfront site, do it, the sites back right up to the river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
We were in a riverfront site and it was a nice setting. The park was very nice but the riverfront sites were extremely dusty. Most of the gravel that was in the front part of the campground was missing from the river sites. Our particular site also required some work to level. Overall, a nice campground that could stand some improvement. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Managers and staff are awesome here. Went out of their way to make sure all was right. The park is nice, we were in site 41 backed right up to the river. No problem with cottonwood trees or mosquitos. Power and water were good. We did not use the Wi-Fi,have Verizon aircard, cell phones worked good. We would stay here again, but would be careful on what site we chose. Some sites are very tight. Was amazed to see a large motorhome backed in to a site with two huge trees not 10 feet apart. Our site was large and level. Only issue was for other campers to get to the river, they had to go right through someone else's site. No dedicated path to river. Not so much an issue unless you have a gang of loud little munchkins heading to the river. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Stayed here 8 days. Clean park. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Lots of friendly folks. Lots of trees in most sites, so bring your portable dish as there is no antennae or cable TV, and trees block your dish. However, park staff came second day and pruned limbs to get dome satellite to work. Quiet. Some regular activities in the summer such as breakfast, etc. Gravel sites are level and adequate length. Good electrical, water, and sewer hookups. Will come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
I’m sure this park would be more desirable once the cotton wood trees finished seeding and the mosquitoes were gone. It is the only park we found with trees but I think I would rather be elsewhere next time so we wouldn’t have to deal with constantly cleaning our basement air conditioner’s grill because of the cottonwood seeds. The mosquitoes hunted in packs and we weren’t anywhere near the river. Anyone near the river will need a blood transfusion by the time they leave. Most of the sites were gravel, except ours. We dealt with dirt blowing in our face when it was windy and a muddy mat when it rained. The Wi-Fi was worthless but our Verizon cell and MiFi worked well. On a good note the laundry room has 7 washers and 6 dryers and very clean. There is propane on site but you couldn’t get a big rig in there to fill up. Good for filling your BBQ bottles. Nice friendly staff and an RV repairman on site. Rainbow Grocery Store to the west of the campground and in Del Norte to the east (about 13 miles) there’s another grocery store. There’s a fenced in play yard for the kids with a swing set. All the campers were friendly and as other reviewers have mentioned a lot of them are return campers that come back each summer. I didn’t notice a bunch of “yard junk” as another reviewer mentioned because I was busy combating the mosquitoes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We stayed here overnight. Friendly staff and plenty of shade. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
The people here are tremendous. The battery in my Jeep died and the owners drove me to the nearest place to get a replacement. Such service! Even though South Fork Campground does not have cable TV, there is plenty to do outside the RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
This is a very nice park with lots of shade and nice river side spaces. It was easy to get into, clean, quiet and the managers were very nice and helpful. It is the only park in the area with lots of shade trees. All the trees were trimmed so there was no danger of overhanging branches damaging our motorhome. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
This was a very nice campground for an overnight stay. There are pull through sites, as well as back ins and river sites. It has friendly managers and is a very clean and scenic park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This is our 3rd year at this campground. It has more shade and bigger sites than others in the area. The campground hosts are "people friendly" and make everyone feel welcome. I read a previous comment about the campground that mentioned those of us that are seasonal and all our junk. We have signs with our names, solar lights, screen rooms, bird feeders, flowers, etc. that help to make the park appear homey and friendly. And, true there is a RV repairman with his sign out in the park, but, he is very busy and it is handy to have someone come to your RV to do repairs instead of driving to Colorado Springs, Pueblo or Denver. He is busy in all the area and has helped many of us RVers. We have recommended this campground to our friends and they are as pleased with their stay here as we are. We are here for the summer and will return next May. Great Place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
When we drove in it looked croweded and trashy. The first thing you see is a mobile RV repair guy's sign at his space. The park was full of seasonals from Texas and Kansas that come here every summer, so they put out a lot of yard junk. Our site was large and okay other than small debris on ground, ie: butts, fish hooks (!), pop tabs, tent grommets. It needed a good raking. There is hardly any grass, mainly gravel and dust. Quiet at night. Site backing to the river would be best. The managers were nice. RV parks in South Fork are pretty crummy, but this was the best. We would stay again in the Autumn after the mosquitos and seasonals have gone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
I like this campground because it has trees and is next to the river. The people working here have done some work on the park since we were last here. The laundry room is real nice and the playground has shiny new paint. The bathrooms and office have a new roof. The best part is the people and campers were very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We just stayed here one night, but enjoyed it. The grandkids played in the river. We had a riverfront spot, which was extra, but worth it to us. A shady, nice park. Staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't use the laundry, but it looked clean. Definitely will stay here again, longer next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Nice campground, friendly people. The only problem is the mosquitoes!! They need to spray occasionally. The staff is great, laundry very reasonably priced. Sites fairly level. Wi-Fi is okay. Not a whole bunch of bandwidth to let several on at a time, so you sort of take your chances. Lots of trees, but we lucked out with a spot to use the satellite. We'll come back!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
We were located in space 39 on the Rio Grande river which was nice and spacious. The river access makes this the nicest park in the Southfork - Creede area. The principal objections we had were as follows: (1)our reservations were messed up and we heard this problem echoed by other occupants, (2)the park needs a good tree thinning in order to improve access, and (3)some stray dogs were in the area. The new managers assured us that the kinks in the reservation system were going to be improved. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Park is located about 3 miles east of town and is off the highway and down a slight hill so there was little road noise. About half the sites are in the trees or along the river and there are about 15 nice pull-through sights in the middle of the park that are in the open so you can use your satellite. The Wi-Fi worked good and the staff was very friendly. The laundry room was newly refurbished. The sell propane and firewood. This is a nice, quiet campground to spend a few days or all summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
This campground is older and appears to need some refreshing. Even the entrance sign needs to be replaced. Many sites are too close together even on the river. The river sites are the nicest sites but are basically dirt sites with some gravel and hookups. The campground personnel were friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi was fine. The laundry room was spotless with new machines and open 24 hours. There was a problem with loose dogs roaming the campground from the house trailers adjacent to the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
We camped one night and were lucky enough to get a riverfront site. It is very pretty to view outside your rear window. The park is a little old and tired but has shade trees. The people managing the place were nice and showed us to our place. It has washers and dryers. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
We had a river front spot for several nights. This place is great. The staff is friendly and helpful with directions. The campground has lots of trees and was very quiet. We used the laundrymat/TV room by the office. The office has great internet access strength. The laundrymat was clean with lots of machines. You have to make a day trip into Creede. The town is small and has that wonderful mountain town feel. Try Mountain Man Tours for a river rafting trip, we loved it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
This is a very scenic, well-run campground. There are many trees, and it is right on the Rio Grande. There are quite a few sites right on the river. There was a friendly, helpful escort to our riverfront site. The park was quiet, and the other campers were pleasant and friendly. There was reasonable space between the sites. It did not feel like a parking lot on the river, although the pull-through sites were closer together. The (free) WiFi signal was intermittent on the river sites, but strong closer to the office. There was a nice area to walk and exercise the dogs. Definitely the nicest park in the South Fork/ Creede area. We will certainly stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$23
This is a nice location right on the river. Lots of trees and shade. Rained a lot while we were there which left the roads very pitted and challenging to maneuver. Hosts were nice and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
Quiet campground with several sites right on the Rio Grande River. Lots of shady spots, somebody checking things frequently. Laundry room was very clean, we did not use showers and rest rooms. If you like walking there is a shady, quiet residential area right next door. The small town of South Fork is 4 miles West where you can find just about anything at the Rainbow Grocery and Hardware store. We would stay again if looking for full hookups in the area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$18
Primitive next to the lake with no amenities. Nice fishing and views though but typical of primitive facility with portable toilets and no other real facilities. About 18 miles from Elko, NV though so you can go into town, and only about 10 miles from the store in Spring Creek, NV with restaurant, and small shopping center. Cool if you're wanting a close place to go to the lake! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com