214479 User submitted reviews online!!
Golden Gate Canyon State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (303) 582-3707
CGID557

Golden Gate Canyon State Park

Camp Information
Sites
132
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   9   6   9   9   7   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
Beautiful scenery! We love this campground! densely wooded sites, so be careful pulling in and out of your spot. No Wi-Fi, but contrary to the park's notice, we DID have limited cell service through AT&T. I would have given this park a higher rating, but the camp hosts were not to be seen during our entire stay. Their rig was parked in the host spot, but no hosts. Campsites were dirty with trash and fire pits not cleaned out. Not a huge deal, but we've come to expect better from the hosts. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
Once again I give a perfect Colorado State Park a point off because of their reservation policy. However, this cool mountain oasis is wonderful camping/RVing. Huge spots with fire rings, many recreation opportunities including a gambling mecca in Blackhawk a few miles away. A word of caution. GPS does not work well here and cell phone service not existent. The primary camp area is 5 miles from visitors center with better access off 119. Roads are steep and twisting so be safe and know how to get to Reverends Ridge Camp before you try to get their relying on your electronic devices. This is also true for hiking and mountain biking. This is a destination/vacation campground as their is much to do here and in the surrounding area We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
We camped at Reverend's Ridge CG. This CG has 1 building with showers and flush toilets. Other buildings just have flush toilets. Shaded blacktop campsites (well spaced), dump station, lots of roads in the CG for bike riding. Good AT&T cell phone reception, adequate 3G. Twenty two per night + state daily park fee. We camped in a small 5th wheel, back-in site. The pull-through sites are huge. Attempted the hike to Panorama Point, but turned back after ~1.5 miles as the trail was very steep (distance noted on their map was 2.5 mi). Found out later you can drive to Panorama Point. Great view, don't miss it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
Excellent camping area! Good selection of camping spaces, many of which are pull-throughs, but you need to reserve early because weekends are always full. This is our second time here, and we had site #53. A huge site on a corner, so no view of neighbors, and our pull through was almost 80ft in length! Lots of space between sites for the pull-throughs; back-ins seemed a bit tighter, but still lots of room. Very quiet atmosphere! No clue about the previous poster's dog comments (although we have 2 dogs, Ha! Ha!). No more barking than you would hear anywhere else, less actually. Lots of places to hike, and leashed dogs were allowed on trails. Do watch out for the altitude, 9200 ft is a bit thin air! Cool evenings. Good Ranger programs on weekends. Sites are electric only, but water is available here and there. Dump station is totally rebuilt and very nice! Showers were good, but one bathroom was a wreck according to the wife. Lots and lots of trees! (Watch out when maneuvering trailers). Fairly steep climb, but short, to get to the campground from either entrance. We prefer Highway 72 to Gap Road. Last section is unpaved, so beware. The Golden Gate Canyon Roadway is fully paved, but a bit longer and twisty. All in all, a great place to stay close to Denver and Central City. As a side note on Blackhawk/Central City, it is a total casino town with little else to do. It has definitely lost its small town atmosphere with neat shops. Kind of sad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
I would have rated this campground a 9 or 10 if it were not for the dogs. Good grief, it must be mandatory for everyone staying here to have 2 dogs. I would not have cared except for with that many dogs there are bound to be owners that simply do not care that their dogs bark incessantly. Sitting around the campfire listening to dogs barking, sigh. Beyond that, the sites were clean and level and plenty of trees. Bathrooms were clean but, I used my motorhome facilities due to warnings from prior posters here about showers. There were a few ranger programs at the amphitheater, even in Sept! I had fair AT&T service (not so much for data). The dump site was easy to use. My 31' Class easily navigated up here via Hwy72 and Gap Road (I was nervous about coming up that way). Easy to make a quick trip to the Casinos if your so inclined. I'll come back for sure but I'll make sure to get a perimeter spot next time so I don't feel like I'm surrounded by barking dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
Another one of the beautiful CO State Parks. Additional $10 for reservation plus daily park pass or annual pass required. Camping in the forests is one of our favorite things. But be forewarned. Altitude is 9200 feet (according to the ranger) and bike riding was not possible for this lowlander. I could barely walk without huffing. Only a 45 min beautiful canyon drive to west Denver. Love this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
This park is actually closer to Black Hawk than Golden, about ten miles north of Black Hawk. A bit pricey since the daily $7 vehicle fee must be added to the $22 site fee. This is a nice pine tree filled campground run by the state. We stayed in the hookup loop which has electric only. There is a free clean dump and fill station in the middle of the campground. The loop has all pull through sites that are widely spaced and level. Campsites are clean with well kept fire pits and tables. There is no Wi-Fi and Verizon cell was a maybe only if you went up to the entrance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
We chose to stay here before the park officially opened for the summer. They only had two bathrooms open and the only water we found was located near the dump station which was fine for us, but they still expected you to pay the $7.00 per car per day in addition to the nightly camping fee of $22.00! The showers were not open nor was the laundry so really there were no amenities available. At one point we had three cars and it was a total of $43.00 a night. It is a nice campground but not worth the price. Heck, we could have stayed at a private campground with full hookups for that price. It was early and there were only 3 other campers in the entire park, so that was very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Fantastic! Although we have lived in the Denver metro area all of our lives, this was our first trip to Reverend's Ridge Campground. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking! Calm, quiet and very peaceful. Dense trees make it feel you are far from civilization and provide plenty of privacy from neighbors. Wide variety of sites available, some are better than others, check the park website before picking. We were in B Loop site #16. Very long pull-throughs, but be aware of your turns with many, many trees around. Some of the back-in sites were for small trailers only. Good electrical hookups and the dump station was fair. (On a slope, so my black tank didn't drain completely) The only reason it didn't get a 10, was the showers. Although modern, they were dirty/moldy with tepid water. Very high pressure, so watch out! For us, it was a bit of a walk to the showers as there is only one shower house in the area. A nice walk anyway! Lots of dogs around (A+ in our book!) And the rangers kept everything under control. The camp store doesn't have much, so pack well. We can't wait to return! A tip: Golden Gate Canyon is a very twisty 18 miles. The alternate route is Highway 72 / Gap Road, less twisty, but steep in places. We did both, prefer Gap Road! (Gap Road is NOT paved for the last 6 miles) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
To me camping is getting away from civilization. Public parks generally offer camping experiences. Private parks work best for people who are looking for a spot to park their motel on wheels. I was thrilled to find a state park so close to a convenience store. It also had multiple hiking trails and wonderful camp sites. We came in from the south up 119. It is not a bad drive. The park was almost empty when we were here: mid week after school had started. I only have two complains. The poorly designed dump site. There are two sewer hookups 10 feet apart on the same side. There is no way for 2 rigs to dump at the same time unless they are both under 10 feet. The other was the one armed bandits in the showers. It took all my quarters but refused to reset so I could rinse the shampoo from my hair. I ended up rinsing my hair in the fish cleaning area. I had to be fully clothed of course to pull this off. This has happened to me twice now in CO state parks. I don't mind putting the quarters in pay showers. But the dang things should work! I am glad to know the rangers are ticketing irresponsible pet owners who let their dogs run off leash. I have talked to 3 hosts this year who have been bitten. It is getting to be a real problem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Nice campground, but it's pretty remote. Being from the moderately flat midwest, we were not expecting such a climb pulling our trailer, and 14 miles of twisty road to get up to the campground. (Note: bring your RV/Camper up from the South instead of Golden Gate Canyon Road!) If we had realized it was so remote, we would have picked somewhere with easier access to Denver and freeways. It takes about 20-30 minutes to get to civilization. Campground was scenic and trails were great. We thought we could stay here and save a few bucks on camping fees, but then a rather unfriendly park patrolman gave me a $50 ticket for having a dog off leash. (It was an 11 p.m. bathroom run for my son, and there was nobody in our whole circle except us and my parents.) So be prepared to follow the book. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Gorgeous campground in a fabulous location, convenient to Indian Peaks, Eldorado Canyon, Nederland, Boulder, Golden. We stayed in site #40 for 5 nights. Nice hiking trails on-site, but I wouldn’t recommend the Raccoon trail – too much of it follows an ugly dirt road in the bottom of a drainage. There are too many other great trails nearby. Water and sewer are centrally located, but fairly convenient. Bathhouse was very modern and clean, but no soap provided even for hand-washing, and the coin-operated showers are absolutely awful. I got all set up for my first shower, towel, soap, etc. all laid out, undressed, only to find my shower only eats coins, and does not dispense any water. The one next to it “worked”. Rather than a shower, I would describe it as a coin-operated cold pressure-washer. On full-hot it was quite cool, and the pressure could not be reduced below my pain threshold without turning the temperature icy. So I depended on my tiny camper’s shower for the rest of the trip and grew to appreciate it even though I can’t stand up straight in it. The campground itself is fantastic, and I would recommend it very highly. It is extremely clean, the hosts were very friendly, and the rangers courteously but firmly kept people from annoying each other. The understory beneath the pines is kept clear, which provides a very pretty aesthetic depth to the woods. The campsites are well-spaced and well-positioned to maximize privacy and the impression of the high mountain forest. I would recommend loop D, where we stayed, but this campground is full of great sites. It would be hard to go wrong. Google maps pointed us up Mountain Base Rd as the shortest route. But this road is closed to RV’s and vehicles pulling trailers. We took the longer route recommended, which was not that much longer (maybe 10 minutes) and definitely safer. Mountain Base Rd is definitely not suitable for trailers or RV’s – it’s too steep and curvy. I would have been terrified if I had ignored the sign, and I’m not sure I would have made it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$9
Being a Colorado resident and over 65 years old, I got an Aspen Leaf Season Pass that let's me stay 1/2 price Sunday through Thursday, so the $9 rate. This is great park for smaller rigs but I have a 38 foot 5'ver so there are limited spaces I can use. It is a beautiful park and the 50 amp electric is nice. The dump station has a tendency to get backed up at check out time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
Beautiful campground up in the mountains. Had lots of trees, and the sites had plenty of room. Bathrooms were very clean. Had a great time. We will stay at this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
The only reason I didn't rate this park a 10 is the tight dump station and the muddy access road required for RVs. The dump station is short and on a busy Sunday checkout the line of RVs waiting lined up several deep and there is no waiting area - you have to park on the shoulder of the main access road. The main road to get to Reveneur's Ridge is a steep (19%) narrow mountain road. (The campground is at 8800 feet.) No RVs are allowed so it requires a bit of a detour that ends up on a 2 mile dirt road that gets pretty nasty when it rains (which it did). All that being said, this is an excellent park - paved sites with 30 amp electric, lots of trees, well patrolled, clean restrooms, and good Ranger led activities for families. There are lots of hiking trails, although most are pretty hilly and the view from "Panorama Point" is awesome. And it is only about an hour out of Denver! It is very popular and fills up even during the week. Reservations (for summer months) are required months in advance. But well worth it if you can plan that far ahead! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
If you're going there for a vacation, probably a good place to stay. Place was recommended to us by locals who vacation there. Not knowing the area, we must have taken the long way, because we drove a long time on two lane roads for what seemed like forever. I would not recommend it for an overnight on your way through the area. It was dark by the time we got there and we didn't see much of the park. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
If you like getting up in the mountains and camping in the forest, this is the place for you. Lots of space between sites , very quiet and well-maintained. It is a steep climb up the mountain from I-70 but the road is good. This is a great state park and a beautiful place to camp while you are exploring the Central City area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$17
This state park is located within a one hour drive from the Denver area. There have been many site improvements in the last couple of years and the facilities (shower & laundry) are first rate. There are several tent camping areas that are located in a remote section of the park. The roads and the RV sites are all paved (not the tent camping areas). There are hiking trails galore and the mountain views are excellent. Since this is a state park it is patrolled regularly by state rangers (quiet & orderly atmosphere). Overall, this is a great place to stay near the Denver or Blackhawk area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$18
This is one of our favorite places to camp. All of the sites are very well shaded. Other than A loop most have lots of spacing between the sites. There are trails throughout the park and wonderful views. Our children also have enjoyed the weekend ranger program - where they learned what to do when lost and how to build a campfire. If you want more of a wilderness experience this is a great place. There are no nearby restaurants this is more of the go to be with nature kind of place. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2005
$21
All roads are dirt and mud until you get into the campground itself making a huge mess all over your unit. When we got there we took a wrong turn that brought us by the yurts. The Yurt Parking is a joke and we ended up backing all the way out. If you have a big setup then be careful as trees are EVERYWHERE and you will have a rough time trying to get around them. The dump station is completely closed during the winter as well as any fresh water spigots. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$18
This is a beautiful park in the scenic foothills northwest of Denver. Reverend's Ridge CG has 97 sites for RVs or tents, 59 with electricity. Aspen Meadows has 35 sites for tents only. Sites are spacious, wooded, level, well separated and well maintained. Miles of hiking trails of various difficulties are available, and views are breathtaking. Bathrooms and showers are clean. Ranger programs are available throughout the summer season. Park is very popular because of its proximity to Denver and Boulder and reservations are necessary for weekends. Have camped there at least once a year since 2000. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com