218149 User submitted reviews online!!
Nelson's Family Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (860) 267-5300
CGID5572

Nelson's Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   5   8   7   9   8   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
Really friendly staff, great place for kids, without being overly crowded or noisy. We were there for a week, and my grandson had a great time and met several other kids his age (11). It was also very close to Brownstone Park, a fantastic water park. We'd definitely stay there again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
Friendly campground. Lots of activities. Had a good time. Some restrooms are updated, some are old. Nice rec hall with video games and pool tables. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
The name says it all. If you want a family camp where everyone knows everyone else, this is the place for you. If you want beauty and peace and quiet, try another place. Place is crowded on the weekends with lots of people roaming around. If you are a social animal, you will love this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We really enjoyed our stay here. From the moment we checked in, we were greeted by some very friendly employees. The grounds are clean, the seasonal residents we met were extremely nice. The bathrooms, while a bit older, were very clean during our stay. Sites were large, especially in our area (B). I think these sites are larger than the sunny sites. Plenty of activities for the kids, though they were fine on their own. There were some rowdy people by us up well after quiet hours (after midnight) and someone drove by (I'm assuming management) and the carousing was squashed immediately. I was glad they handled that. The kids had a blast. Two suggestions I would make would be: more dumpster areas and expand the camp store a bit with more items. However, we did love the Keurig machine in the camp store. We would definitely return, especially when the pool's open! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$38
Decently run campground, staff experienced and helpful. Campground has a mix of wooded and open sites. Enjoyed the overall appearance of the campground. Noticed all the seasonal sites/campers were well maintained and the seasonals were the friendliest people I've ever encountered. Our campsite # B28 was a major disappointment. Our gray water and electric was located on the wrong side of the site. No small wonder why, two huge trees they would have to cut down to fix the situation. So I had to pull in forward and back out when I left with very little clearance between these trees and because of this we were in plane site of our camping neighbors which left us no privacy. Still though we enjoyed this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
This was our first time here and we will definitely be back. The grounds are clean, the pool not crowded, the staff very friendly, and it was just a great weekend. The sites are large and somewhat graveled. Even after it rained the ground dried quickly. There were even a few sites that could accommodate 2 popups if need be! The bath house was CLEAN!! I saw them in there cleaning at least twice a day! The showers were huge. I have absolutely nothing bad to say. Again, we will definitely return to this one! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$46
Wonderful family campground, lots to do. Really enjoyed our stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$36
Our site overlooked the lake, the campground is clean and well kept. There were several seasonal campers. We had a good time at this park and would recommend it to others. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$36
Our site overlooked the lake, which was nice. Clean, quiet, and well kept park. We enjoyed our stay even though it was cold and rainy. The kids kept busy by fishing and exploring. The park does not offer sewer or WiFi. The dump station tends to get backed up, but we managed. Nelson's was a good value and a very nice family park. They also have a good RV repair, sales, and parts store on site. We plan on returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$36
We were here for 2 weeks. Lots of activities for the kids and adults. Snack bar on the premises. Very, very friendly people. Miniature gold, horseshoes, lake and pool. They had a gigantic Indian Pow Wow while we were here, that was very well attended. Nice store in campground. If you have a family, this is a nice place to come. And we were here as a retired couple. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com