223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Turtle River State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (701) 594-4445
CGID5573

Turtle River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   7   10   9   9   7   10   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2014
$25
Pretty sites but boy-o-boy the mosquitoes. The sites are level and the road in the campground is fairly negotiable. My 27' RV made it around OK but larger rigs might have a little difficulty. One site I tried had a stripped water hook up causing me to relocate to another site. The store looked to be well stocked even though I did not buy anything there. I recommend taking with you or buying at the store some mosquito repellent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
We stayed one night over the 4th of July weekend, even though full to capacity, campground was very quiet and peaceful. Staff was very friendly and went out of the way to accommodate our needs. We were VERY impressed with the showers. Unlike many state park showers/restrooms which can be buggy and not so clean, the facilities at this park were spotless. The showers were well laid out and secure, had great water pressure and plenty of hot water. Most of all, was nice to not have to deal with all the bugs that seem to end up in most state park restrooms/showers. In a truly enchanting, very GREEN setting by the river, with lots of paved places to ride bikes throughout the park. It is just a beautiful park that we look forward to visiting again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
This park is well-maintained (grass mowed, trees trimmed, etc.) with lots of space outside of the campground loops. The campground loops; however, are in a small space and maneuvering within them can be difficult. There is a narrow, two-way road through each loop and no where to go if you meet another driver on the road. The sites themselves are adequate. The paid staff was not very friendly, but the host greeted us immediately and even had treats for our dog. He was terrific. Showers were clean and the water warm (not hot). It's good for overnight, but I wouldn't want to spend much more than that here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
Large sites, little grassy glades in the cottonwood forest, where the only thing you'll hear is the warble of the tanagers and the breeze in the trees. This enchanting state park is for those who are seeking serenity and visual beauty - not much excitement is to be found anywhere near. We stayed three nights, and would have liked to have stayed longer. Helpful staff, $4/bundle firewood, Verizon 4G works great (T-Mobile does not). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
This is a beautiful park and very well maintained. Staff was great, Verizon worked well, the bugs were bad, the sites were big, you must drive almost 25 miles for food, restaurants, etc., but we loved it and wished we could have stayed much longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
What a great campground, beautiful large sites with trees and grass. Would highly recommend this park to stay for multiple days . Half of the sites are first come first serve, so you should be able to get a site. Great place, very relaxing and there were no bugs to speak of. May or may not be able to get satellite signal because of all the trees. Local channels available over the air however, and Verizon 3G was good for data and cell service. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Nice state park with historic CCC buildings and memorial. We were only overnighting and didn't find a lot to do here, but it was a nice spot to stay, close enough to the road to be easy to access, but far enough away to be quiet. Not my favorite kind of sites, though--pull-throughs without vegetation "screens" so everybody is looking at everybody. It was a quiet summer mid-week night, but it looked like a great spot for families on the weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$19
This is a beautiful park. We were here off season so we were able to hookup to both electric and water. The water might be difficult to connect if the park is full. Definitely worth a visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$14
This is such a lovely place! The campsites are in deep woods, and it's very quiet. The people who work there are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. It was not full on the July 4 holiday. The restrooms are so clean you could eat off the floor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$14
Used to camp here when I was young, and it was kept in much better shape then in terms of mowing and grooming. The trails, however, are in great condition and the rangers are very nice people and put a lot of effort into their children programs. Without a swimming pool (closed around 8 years ago) or lake, the kids might get a bit bored if they're young. If they're old enough to go off biking by themselves, they'll stay entertained. They have a nice area down by the CCC picnic area near the river, but it's not really conducive to swimming for children due to the current. IMO, Icelandic is a much better option. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$14
Very under used state park. Mid summer we shared the whole place with one other camper and the very nice campground host. Good 30amp electric, some sites have their own water. All sites are pull thru on either side of the interior road. Plenty of room for our 38' quad slide 5th wheel. Lots of trees but we were able to get our satellite dish to peek through. A nice place to stop for a few days and about 20 miles from Grand Forks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com