218867 User submitted reviews online!!
North Shore Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (530) 258-3376
CGID5584

North Shore Campground

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   5   1   7   6   9   2   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
Nice campground in forested area near the lake. Lots of hiking trails in the area. Be sure to bring your bug spray. The electrical system in the park had a problem maintaining voltage in the afternoon when everyone had their air conditioners on. 105 to 108 volts was typical in the afternoon. When we turned on our AC, it dropped below 104 and tripped our power line monitor, taking us off line. So we couldn't use our AC during the hottest part of the day. I checked with the AC manufacturer the next week on the minimum voltage acceptable. Turns out that 105 volts and below will start burning the AC components up, so it's a good thing that the power line monitor kept cutting out! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Rustic setting. While the age of the campground is evident throughout, the beautiful setting outweighs any detriment. The grounds can use some sprucing up, (i.e) clearing of overgrown brush. The location is perfect for touring the Chester, Werner Valley, Lake Almanor area. We viewed other campgrounds in Lake Almanor, and Northshore has the most spacious sites. Bathrooms and showers are very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
This place was rustic dirty. Stayed here 3 nights. Seems lots of camps had campfires going and it was very smoky. Doubt I would return. Restrooms were good. Store is well stocked. Probably good if you are a fisherman. Lake was pretty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
I arrived at this park at 10:30 am on a Saturday. I was told we couldn't enter the park because the check in is 1:00 pm. I had friends there who arrived Friday. I was told by them the site I was assigned was vacant. The office staff told me to go into to Chester, Find a place to park and wait until 1:00 pm. I asked to see the manager. She told me the reason why they don't allow anyone in before 1:00 was because the roads were to narrow for two RVs to pass. I mentioned to her this was Saturday morning. Not many RVs leave on a Saturday and if they do they either leave early or just before check out. Now they had a list of who would be departing. All they needed to do is find out if the departing RVs were ready to leave at that moment. From the main office to the site I was assigned couldn't have been more then a 1/8 mile. I ended up parking in the over flow area and waited until 1:00. A total of 3 RVs left between the time I arrived to check in and 1:00. Every once in awhile I have run into park managers or owners who feel it is an honor for you to stay at their park. They have it backwards. Without us as customers they will be out of business. It is plain and simple this is BAD BUSINESS. I will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
The RV park is nicely wooded, right on Lake Almanor. The office staff was friendly and there was a small store. The waste dump was easily accessed. There is access to launch your boat. No discounts available. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. We would give a higher rating, but there is no pool or other amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
The sites were narrow and not level. I felt like we were in a parking lot, not an RV park. The internet at the office was very good. No sewer hook ups, only water and electricity. The access to the lake was nice and easy. Shower and toilet were clean. The people at the office were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
Stayed here over the July 4th holiday for one week. Will definitely come again. Had a waterfront site. Each site has a campfire pit. Wonderful family atmosphere. One main restroom/shower building and port-a-potties located throughout. Weekend brings in a lot of campers so hot water at night on a weekend is hard to come by, but otherwise nicely cared for. Wi-fi service is only available around main office/check-in building. Laundry facility is available at the office, and they sell detergent in their little store. Playground on premises. Boat slips are available as well for a fee; they also charge to launch. We launched across the lake at the free launch and drove over to dock in a slip. No sewer hookups on any site but if staying for 1 week they offer a pump out of your holding tanks for free. If you need more than one pump out they will do for an additional fee. Dump station on site as well near front gate. They are strict on rules about visitors, etc. But it's worth it to keep the nice family atmosphere. Hope to be back next year! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Have stayed here before with family outings. Good news is that Lake Almanor actually has a good deal of water; bad news is that the sites are still tight, VERY non level and you have NO sewer hookups. The dump station is far from big rig friendly and you have to even disconnect your sewer fittings to get the hose into the ill-fitted dump cap. Great location, nice setting, just needs some attention to detail to warrant the price! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$49
North Shore Campground and RV Park is very conveniently located just outside of Chester. From what we could tell, it is also the nicest RV park in or near Lake Almanor. It is extremely clean, quiet and well managed. We were given an excellent waterfront site and from what I could see, there were many nice lake view sites available as well. These sites would have been slightly cheaper at $37 per night. While tents are allowed, they are not allowed in RV sites and there is a special designated tent camping area close to the lake. The staff were courteous and efficient. The only drawback that we could see was there were no on site sewer hookups. However, you were allowed to use the dump station at no charge. For those who travel with their family K-9's, there were lots of potty stations throughout the camp. No discounts were advertised for AARP, AAA or Good Sam. If they do offer discounts, they don't discuss or offer this information during the registration process or in their brochures. The only reason we did not give this campground a full ten rating was the expense. Even though we only had two adults in our party and you are allowed up to four per camp site. We were still charged extra at two dollars each for our two very small and well behaved dogs. We would recommend this campground to anyone traveling through California on Hwy 36. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
As noted, water level is quite low, so our "waterfront" site was more of a view. Rigs are packed in like cord-wood. Certainly family oriented, so if you are looking for a quiet, tranquil setting, this may not be the place for you. Staff was friendly enough. Would try someplace else next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$37
Arrived on opening weekend. Park was quiet and peaceful. We rented Kayaks and explored the shore line. Also went into the cute town of chester and explored the gift shops. Staff were enthusiastic and helpful. Temps got cold at night, so we bundled up and listened to the geese squawking on the lake. Would definitely stay here again if we stay in the area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$49
We payed a lot of money for a "premium" waterfront site. It turns out that the lake is very low in October, so the water was about 1/4 mile away. For the amount of money we paid, a sewer hookup would have been nice. Duck hunting season started that week, so it was very loud. The office staff was not overly friendly or helpful. If we travel to the area again, we will likely look somewhere else to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Have stayed here 2 years in a row, in large part because can't find anything better that's above the valley heat. Long list of rules that are draconically enforced is first problem. Pretty place, but very dirty because of unpaved roads/sites & soil-type. Great bath/shower rooms. Lake is low, but no problem for us. Lots of birds (herons, eagles, turkey vultures, pelicans, etc) & some deer. Small camp store, but decent grocery/restaurants in Chester, 2 miles. Easy access to Lassen Park & easy 50-mile drive to Susanville (with a number of nice photo-ops) if you really need a Wal-mart. Very nice golf course 3 miles with many others within 25 or so. We'll probably stay here again in future, but wouldn't hesitate to jump to somewhere else if it could be found. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$32
We arrived late in the season so the park was not crowed at all, hunting season had started and the gun noise was a wake up call every morning at first light. Our site was very nice but you should be aware that numerous water front and the better trailer sites are already reserved for the up coming season, seasonal rentals. Also be aware that site map does not accurately reflect the size nor the location of shore power and water hook-ups. Unless you are familiar with your site you may want to ensure you bring plenty of hose and extension cord for shore power. There are no sewer connections, dump station is at the very end of camp grounds so I recommend wheeled tote if stay is more than a day or two. Some sites are terraced and narrow, this will allow your neighbors to look right into your windows. OK, my big complaint, $2 per day per pet, there is no pet area or walk area, they just state to clean up after your pet. naturally. So why the cost? This cost is showing up more and more, possibly just a way to increase income. One last item; many back in sites will place you looking away from the lake and at your neighbors trailer wheels, think about this when making your site reservations. Happy Camping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
Right on the shore of Lake Almanor. We chose the premium site as we could pull straight in and have a view of the lake out our front window. Many sites are rented for the entire season. WiFi available near the front office only. Good fishing and the nearby town is very nice to visit. Many places to visit nearby, including Lassen National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$31
Park is in a beautiful setting -- gorgeous lake and mountain views. Grounds and restrooms very clean and everything well maintained. Staff are friendly and helpful. We had a premium, "lake-front" site, and moored our boats right in front of our RV. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
We go camping most weekends throughout the summer months. We understand that workers have to drive through the park throughout the day. However, I felt like we were being harassed by the workers at this park. Again - this is only opinion. But, never have we been hounded to move our car - we actually had notices placed on our car twice in three days. Our spot was not long nor wide enough to fit our car. And the designated parking was across the park. We came with a party who had 5 boat slips altogether - they gave away our boat slips. We were with a very large group of people and on more than one occasion during the day and night we were told to be quiet. Before quiet time. This park is nice - it is nicely located. We enjoy going here. BUT, I don't want to be harassed or watched while I am on vacation. And, they do drive and walk around a lot. I do want to mention that you have to share hook-ups at this sight - which can be inconvenient unless you have extension cords for your water and electricity. We have been there three times this year and have had the same experience each time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Excellent park. Very Clean, Staff very friendly. Had a nice little store and clean park area. Boat rentals available. Only draw back was no sewer hook-up. $10.00 to have them come with a mobile sewer truck. 35 minutes from Lassen National Park. 2 miles from small town of chester with a Supermarket. Very quiet at night. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$42
We agree with the above review. A nice campground that has a great location and is well kept. We have been coming to this campground for the past 5 years, and have always chosen one of their premium sites closest to the lake. The only negative I can mention, is that the new owners of the campground of only 2 years, are considering changing more of the premium sites into their seasonal sites. And for us that stay for shorter periods, will be condensed into their regular smaller sites. Otherwise a great place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com