214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Steele Resort and RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (250) 489-4268
CGID5589

Fort Steele Resort and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   1   9   4   7   4   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
This family run campground had grassed sites with gravel parking pads. Easy access for pull-thrus. An Esso gas bar with bulk propane was also available, along with a fully stocked small store. WiFi was very strong at our site. Excellent water pressure. Across the street from Fort Steele National Historic Village. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
This campsite was not worth the $42.00 overnight. The gravel roads were very narrow and overgrown with grass and weeds and had huge boulders right at a crucial turn. We had to return to the office because the first site would not accommodate our tow vehicle. The staff was not well informed about the length of sites and Motor Homes with tow vehicles. The lanes for the sites were not marked and we had to go around in order to locate the alternate site. A waste of half an hour. The grassy/gravel sites were very close. When we hooked up the water and electric, the sewer access was near the end of our tow vehicle a good 20 feet back. I would not recommend this park for the price charged and the annoying setup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
I made a reservation and arrived but was made to wait (by the manager) for service until all the store/gas customers were served first.(even though I was waiting first). When I returned to pay later, I was sternly chastised by the "asst. manager". He was very nasty to me. P.S. I have been barred. I will NEVER return and I will never recommend this place either. If you are camping they treat you poorly. I rate this less than 1. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Good staff. Well stocked general store. Lots of shade if you want it with open spaces if you need a satellite signal. Very clean grassy sites with good access. WiFi is basically non-existant except at the office. Great natural surroundings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
In 12 years of RVing and staying in nearly 160 private parks, some very nice resorts, this was the most expensive place we have ever stayed. I had an email that said the price was $34 but got the same story as someone else. Price can change without notice sort of thing. From the owner / manager. Then there was a $6 fee for a one night only stay. Then the tax to get to the over $48. Site was nothing special. We certainly would not return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
Pros: Good clean location, well stocked convenience store, friendly staff, good size pool for the kids, and a short walk to the Fort. Cons: Was a bit pricey, but not much else close but the Fort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
This park has an excellent location across from Fort Steele historic site and within view of the Rockies. We visited the accordion festival in Kimberley while in the area. We have previously stayed at this park and had good experiences. I found two male staff members were rude and aggressive towards clientele. Perhaps they are having a difficult summer due to the weather. I had reserved this location several months in advance and was assigned a lot and a price. When I asked about a substantial change in price, I was told that the staff member who quoted the price and location no longer worked here. "The owner reserves the right to change prices." One male employee tried to intimidate me when I politely asked about the price change. Bathrooms were dirty and shower outlets did not work properly or at all. Paper towels were not replaced in the bathrooms. My impression is that the owners are absentee at another site in Tofino, B.C. and several management employees are not client focused. I recommend other parks in the area considering this resort is expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Nightly rate is the "pay for 6, get the 7th night free" rate (regular rate is $41/night). Our stay was during the off season, so very quiet. On average, we were one of about 6 RVers in the park. Lots of grass, sites are mostly grass with some gravel, owners have horses, donkeys and emus near park. We stayed in a pull-through site which was fairly level, easy in and out with our 40' rig. We loved our stay here, peaceful with beautiful mountain views. During the busy season, it may be a little tight in the park, but the roads are wide with easy turns. Be sure to hang onto your receipt, as their computer booking system doesn't seem to be overly reliable. We'd definitely stay here again, very good experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
Grassy sites and generally a very quiet park. Park includes a gas station and a good sized general store: so it is a good place to stock up. Easy in and out sites. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This was a great campground.  Do not confuse with Fort Steele Campground to the south end of town, much smaller and inferior.  Several people went to the wrong campground by mistake. Very nice store, gas station, pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$60
Park has clean washrooms, a nice pool and is close to a historic town and gas station. But there are barely any trees when in big rig stalls, and the sites are close together. Located beside an emu and alpaca farm. It's over priced and has weird rules like, you can't put out an area rug, and you have to park your truck in a specified area. (?) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This is a nice park with grass sites and gravel drives. There are some shaded sites. Most of the park does get shaded until in the afternoon as the sun goes down. This was a good place to stop on our way out of Canada and back to the US. The price was good and this was with a discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$39
Signage to campground is OK. There is a large area to park and register. Office staff were efficient but not that friendly. Gravel access roads to sites are a little narrow and could do with some maintenance. Sites are gravel pull-throughs with a narrow strip of grass. Full hook-up but the sewer not in easy position for easy hook-up. It has a fairly open aspect. Sites were narrow particularly if the campground had been full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$31
The park was only so so. We stayed for 3 nights while visiting the area. The Wi-Fi service was really flaky and very slow. Laundry facilities were old and not very clean. The campsites were OK however some of the picnic tables were not placed well on the sites (Concrete tables could not move). At the time of year we stayed there was few choices, we are sure there is probably better parks to stay at if one was visiting earlier in the year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
We stayed two nights. Well run campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Stayed here in a 36' 5th wheel. Park is fairly tight for big rigs but can be managed. Lots of trees especially in tenting area. Fairly open between sites. Sites are gravel with a patch of grass between. May not be able to get awning out depending on which site you're in. Nice rustic gift store that doubles as a convenience store. Would definitely stay here again. Only issue I had was line-ups 4 deep in the morning to get into toilets. Stayed here on Canada's August long weekend so park being full was a likely contributor to the line-ups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com