223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Richard Bong State Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (262) 878-5600
CGID5590

Richard Bong State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
218
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   8   5   9   8   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
Great part of the Wisconsin state park system. Staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. They have horse trails, ATV and dirt bike trails, fishing and hiking. Nice campsites too! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$17
The office staff was friendly and greeted us with a smile. We found our site easily and backed in rather effortlessly. Site 201 was fairly level with plenty of grass and enough foliage to keep our privacy. The bath houses and washrooms were clean and had hot water. The playground is recent and has a lot of different things for kids to do. The beach is a nice size but empty due to being off season. The only downside was our fire pit had not been cleaned out in quite some time. We had to dig it out ourselves in order to have a fire in it. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
Very clean friendly park. Great 3G service. Wonderful golf very close. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$17
This is a lovely park in a lovely area. We were in site 231, which had some nice shade and was fairly level and spacious. Even though it was a holiday weekend, it was quiet, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Showers and bathrooms were clean. We didn't use the swim beach because it was crowded, but we did take the dogs to the boat launch and let them swim there. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
Very Nice Park. Very Quiet. We camped in the Sunset Campground for many years. The Park Office staff is very friendly. BUT unfriendly Rookie Rangers there don't seem to know their own park rules so I had to call the Park Office to "correct them" about an issue with the Motorhome & number of vehicles allowed in the site. The Ranger didn't like being corrected so he gave me an evil eye every time he passed our site. I'd give a better rating to this park but the Barney Fife Rangers there can spoil your visit. Despite all of that, we will camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
This is a beautiful park and the sites are among the most spacious and private we've seen anywhere. There is lots of space between sites and a large "backyard" with a raised fire pit and picnic table, all surrounded by trees and other vegetation. Access for big rigs is easy and we had ample room to park our truck. The only downside is the lack of hook-ups (we had electric but not all sites do). The dump station is not conveniently located for use on your way out, so we didn't use it, but it could be done. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$17
Beautiful wooded and prairie park with many lakes and hiking trails. Very neat and well kept, friendly staff. Gravel sites off well paved roads. All sites have tables and fire rings. Mostly no hookups, but some sites have electricity. If park had full service it would be a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$17
Large shaded private sites. Electric only. The last weekend of October and all running water had been turned off. Regardless we spent a lovely fall weekend here. Our site 201 was wonderful. Large and flat. Graveled area for TT. Rest was grass – no mud! Nice fire ring and a huge picnic table. Very reliable electrical service. The park itself is huge and very lovely. Lots of birds and other critters. Well groomed horse trails, numerous hiking trails – although we didn’t explore them all since it was hunting season and we did not pack blaze orange. Very close to our home so we will using this one again when we are in need of a quick get away weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$19
We camp here frequently, as we live 1/2 hour away. Bong is a long, narrow park with prairie & wetland vegetation; it is built on what was going to be an Air Force base, but after grading for the runway, the govt. changed its mind. Campsites are large, well-spaced, and some are fairly private due to trees and shrubbery. Some sites overlook prairie & small lake; those along top of hill can be windy. One loop of CG has electric sites (20/30 amp) and the others have no hookups. Water available at various stations in the CG, but not at individual sites. The 100 and 200 loops have showerhouses w/ flush toilets; other loops have pit toilets only. Most elec. sites are reservable, with a few left first-come, first-served; quite a few non-elec. sites are also reservable. Group sites (no utilities) also available. Park is popular with locals; grassy hiking & horseback riding trails are convenient to the 200 loop, with others close to the visitor center. Day-use area of park (separate from CG) hosts hunting dog training, ATV/motocross, model planes and rocketry; hunting is allowed in the park in season but not near CG, which is open all year (water turned on only mid-May through mid-0ct.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$15
This is part of the WI DNR State Park system. Sites are large and spaced well apart. They take some reservations online and leave some sites for people who show up. There are 41 miles of trails throughout the 4500 acres at this park. Separate trails for hiking, mountain bikes, cross country skiing, horseback riding, and ATV's. They also have fishing, hunting, a beach and more. The only 'problem' we had was the kids went off the trails and got some ticks on their clothes, but those who stayed on the trails were fine. Our site (#227) had great views of one of their lakes, this really a beautiful place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com