223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Pinewood Lodge Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (508) 746-3548
CGID5600

Pinewood Lodge Campground

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   8   6   9   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$55
Nice place, but very woodsy. It's cut out of a pine tree forest. Many seasonal people, and they all seemed to love it. Great place for family and kids. We liked it because it was only 4 miles to downtown Plymouth, which turned out to be a great town. Loved Plymouth, Pinewood is OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
Large sites. Nice swimming lake with sandy beach. Huge white pine trees. Stayed here to see Plymouth. Good Sam rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
Nice clean park...wooded and private...close to Plymouth, Ma and close to commuter train to Boston (45 minute ride) WiFi is free for 1 hour daily and then $4.00 for 24 hour...very strong signal..park is patrolled. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$41
This campground has a nice balance of a "wilderness" feel with modern amenities. The fairly large sites are packed dirt and level. The fire pits are made of local stone - hand set without cement, and are quite nice. The proximity to the nearby Plymouth attractions, the whale watches, museum, and of course "the Rock", make Pinewood a good vacation spot for families. About half of the campground is a designated dog section. The site utilities all worked well, with good voltage and water pressure. The Wi-Fi system only allows one hour per day at no charge, with additional hours requiring payment. Our Verizon cell and data service worked well though, so we did not try the campground Wi-Fi. Despite being close to many area activities, the campground is very quiet at night, and we would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This is a big campground with multiple areas. We were lucky and were put in a quiet zone - there are family areas which are nicely designed for families but seem to be quite loud. There are plenty of pine trees for cover. We didn't feel comfortable using the laundry as it didn't seem very clean. We wouldn't go back but if you are several families wanting to camp together with safe areas for the kids to play this site would definitely work for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
We stayed at this campground over the 4th of July weekend. We had called ahead for reservations the previous week and had gotten a site with a full hook-up. When we arrived, it was clear that the campground was probably near capacity, and we were somewhat apprehensive that it might be uncomfortable. We were very wrong. Our site (#96) was very large, measuring about 40 x 60 feet. The neighboring sites were equally large. The sites behind use were beyond a wide section of woods, and were a bit hard to see. The overall campground is the same way. While the sites are not paved, they are level, and have a firm sand base with a topcoat of pine needles from the densely wooded area. The camp store has an attached banquet hall with game room and bar for social events. It has a rustic character that is reminiscent of many camping-themed movies. The lake is fairly large and nice to look at, but shallow. We did not swim in it. We were very pleased with this campground and would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
A beautiful scenic and quiet campground set amongst white pine growth and a welcome relief after the Interstate. CCUSA rate available - check rules. Lots of sights nearby. Used laundromat which was fine. Friendly staff and good camp store. Some facilities are on small lake. Good level pull-through site. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$48
Beautiful campground. Pull throughs among tall pines with nice stone fire pits. Baths and showers nearby, but quite a walk up hill to lodge. Very friendly people. Nearby to everything for sight seeing. Wi-Fi only worked up at lodge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
We camped here for over a week and really loved the campground. There were so many nice sites and the staff was very helpful when I was selecting a site. The campground staff really takes care of the sites and grounds. For someone planning an extended stay, the campground offers honey wagon/pump-out service. The electric service was steady throughout our stay and never came close to being inadequate. We ran our A/C all week with the fridge on electric. The water pressure was steady and we even had cable TV on our site. The camp store is small but fine for camping needs. They have an ice cream window and a restaurant in the lodge. They serve breakfasts on the weekends and coffee/muffins during the week. In that same lodge building there is a game room and a bar on the weekends. The lake is beautiful with good fishing and the boat rentals for a very reasonable rate. It is right in Plymouth and so it's really easy to get to the Plymouth attractions but also easy to get to an x-way to head into Boston or down to the Cape. I had read earlier reviews where people had mentioned being bothered by the nearby airport or the shooting club. We were there for 10 days and honestly were not bothered by either. We did hear planes here and there and we could hear the gun club activity for short periods but it was nothing that was bothersome. This was one of the best campgrounds we have stayed at and we will absolutely return here when back in the area. You will not be disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$52
This is a wonderful place to camp. The staff is excellent and helpful. The sites are large and can fit any rig. Great location for sightseeing. The lodge is very nice and has breakfast on weekends. Very good, I might add. This place has good security. I would give it a 10 but the the Wi-Fi connection is not the best, and the coin showers are OK but should run more than 3 minutes. The shower by the tent sites run about 7 minutes The bathrooms could use some sprucing up. I really like this campground and would stay here again. The staff is very pleasant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
This is a beautiful campground. There are sites to fit all size campers. There are also tent sites. We had a pull through with electric, water and cable TV. You only get 1 hour of internet per day, but you can purchase additional hours ($4.00 for 24 hours). Staff was friendly. There is a great lodge area where you check in. No swimming pool but there is a lake for swimming. This park is close to Plymouth sightseeing. Would definitely camp here again. All sites are under large beautiful pine trees. We used our own showers. Bathrooms and showers could use a bit of sprucing up, but that is a very minor fault to an otherwise great campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
I agree with virtually everything reviewed by others so I won't be redundant except to reiterate the complaints about dogs. It was insulting to charge $5 per night per dog. We have 2 dogs that together don't make up the size of a Cocker or a Beagle and it cost us $10 per night extra. Furthermore, the pet areas available are some of the least desirable including one loop that is over crowded with virtually all seasonals and another with no cable. My impression is that these folks don't give a hoot about dog owners. What a shame because it is a pretty good park otherwise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
Make sure you come with plenty of quarters. The showers are a quarter, if you plan to shampoo your hair plan on having a second quarter. The quarter machines for the showers are very tricky and frustrating to use. Another concern with the showers, which I found to be odd, is that there is no ceiling, the ceiling is like a chicken wire fence. To do a load of wash, the washer takes $2 in quarters and the dryer $1.75 in quarters. I found the washer to be on the small size and the dryer had to go two times to dry my clothes. There are no machines to convert dollars into quarters. The bathrooms for the most part were clean, however they are in disparate need of updating. The playground is old and in need of updating, the equipment is quite dated and I found missing parts on the seesaw, swings, and slide. You really need to watch you children and inspect the equipment before you allow them to play on it. The campground has a lot of pine trees which weep, we had water dripping off the trees all the time. At first we thought it was temporary and would stop, but it continued day and night the entire time we were here. We stayed in the middle of summer and was surprised by how empty the campground was. There are a lot of permanent mobile homes which were empty when we were here. I found the staff to be both nice and nasty. Nice if you don’t have any concerns, but nasty if you do. They also have a no refund policy, however they do not inform you of this when you make reservations. I will not stay here again. It was very expensive for what you get. We camped in a tent and the site was approximately $50 per night, then on top of that add in the $3 a day for Wi-Fi and the showers, laundry, etc. Its just not worth the expense. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
Rate reflects 2 children and Good Sam discount (be sure you have a current card as they will ask for it). Place was great. Went for two nights and stayed a 3rd. It was during the week so it was not crowded. There is an airport and shooting club nearby as mentioned in other posts, but it was never bothersome (we had site 103). Close to Plymouth Harbor. Wi-Fi was good, but they only give 1 hr a day free and I had to ask for it. We really liked that they have a separate section of the campground for people with pets. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$44
Over all a nice campground but I don't like that dogs were only allowed in certain area. It is not a big area. I understand having certain sites for dogs and not letting them at the beach and playground, but I like to walk my dog and explore the campground. I would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
In general this is a decent campground and a good place to stay if you are visiting Plymouth, although it is a bit noisy. The site we had was very shady and fairly level. The trees are mainly tall pines and the lots are sandy. The noise is due to small planes flying overhead and what sounded like shots being fired during the day (the Plymouth Municipal Airport and the Plymouth Rod & Gun Club are nearby). The lake and beach area are good for swimming, and the play areas are OK. We rented a canoe for one hour ($10) and that was more than enough time to explore the lake as there is not much to see. The swimming area is clear with a sandy bottom, but much of the rest of the lake bottom is covered in plants, so your paddle often gets caught. One major complaint is that the stone fire ring at our site was right on the edge of the campground road. (I'm not sure why it was like this. Some of the sites had the fire rings set about half way back where I would expect them and others had them very close to the road.) We usually enjoy sitting around the fire at night and relaxing, but could not as we had vehicles passing dangerously close to us and blinding us with their headlights. It was not safe so after the first night we waited until our young daughter was in bed to start a fire and parked our truck at the very edge of the campsite to try to create a bit of a barrier, but the passing traffic was still an issue. A second complaint is that the morning we were checking out, there was no water when we woke up. Calls to the office/emergency line were not answered and after an hour or so of waiting, we drove out to go buy coffee. The employee at the gate could not tell us why the water was off or when it would start working again, so that was frustrating. The water did finally return about an hour later, but there was never any communication. (They had my email address from when I made the reservation and could have communicated that way too.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$65
This is a very beautiful, family run park. It was easy to find using the park's web site and very easy to pull into. The sites are natural (pine needles), and ours was nicely level. It's located close to the Plymouth attractions, but is still quiet and peaceful. Our water heater decided to stop working and the park's RV service was able to replace the faulty board. That was a very nice perk. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$43
Good spot to stay if sightseeing in the area. There are only sort of pet friendly. Only can use a certain area and allow only certain breeds and 2 pet max. There is also a $4.00 charge per day per pet surcharge. Good electric but low water pressure. There is very few spots that are not under the pine trees and very few grass sites, but they have a great cable TV system with over 50 channels. Site was level and extra charge for Wi-Fi (very good signal and speed). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$46
The other issues raised by previous posters is still accurate. Lots and lots of rules, and fees to go along with them. Fortunately we had no children or visitors to pay for. When we checked in, there were brochures on the counter, and some in the rack on the wall. One stated no dogs allowed, and the other allowed dogs with an extensive list of about 15 prohibited breeds. Pet restrictions are also everywhere in the park. A small area in the lower section was allowed for walking dogs, but all the other loops had signs stating "no dogs past this point". That included any access to the lake. The odd part is this campground is a forest, there are no plants or shrubs to worry about! The sites are dirt and oddly shaped. We stayed here because our first choice was sold out. I doubt that we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$65
We enjoyed our stay here for the most part. Only complaint would be there are a lot of rules there. For the price we were paying to stay there they wouldn't even let my wife's sister spend the night with us. Security also made my wife and i put out a fire earlier than we would have liked for no apparent reason. You can only have 2 adults per site. However, they had a good playground and good pond for the kids to swim in. Very close to the Plymouth waterfront as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$91
It is very expensive - we were charged $51 for a couple and an additional $10 per teen (we have 4 - coming to $91/night even though they hardly used the facilities). It is the only place - in 12 excellent campgrounds we visited this summer - with pay showers. Otherwise it features friendly staff, a beautiful lake and good facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
Nice campground! It was a little discouraging to see that the nightly rental fee does not include the children. At other places that we have stayed, the nightly rate includes 2 adults and 2 children. At this campground it is more expensive than other campgrounds we have been to at the rate of $34.00 per night plus we had to pay for each child. The atmosphere was nice, but it does not make up for the costs of the site and the dirty bathrooms and shower area. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$56
I have mixed feelings about this CG. It is a beautiful facility, with mature tall pines and a gorgeous lake, but there are some negatives that I find difficult to overcome. They charge extra for EVERYTHING! WiFi, extra car, kids, dog, visitors: with a $50 base, this quickly becomes unreasonable. When a Cg charges for WiFi, I would expect it to perform exceptionally well, but this one does not. It seems to run in fits and starts, with many stalled periods. Not acceptable, especially since cell service was barely usable in the area, so our aircard was useless, too. Water pressure was marginal @ 35psi and we were at the bottom of the hill. It must have been only a trickle up top. Laundry room was clean enough, but the equipment was near the end of life, and several machines were out of order. I doubt we'll be back to this CG, only because the total cost in the end, was not reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
We really enjoyed our stay at this campground! Our site, in the east woods area, was clean and very level. We would have rated higher, but the place really needs a pool. The kids enjoyed swimming in the lake but we would have enjoyed a pool more. Several evenings we went fishing and had a blast. The lake is crystal clear and very pretty. The bathrooms were clean, however the showers needed new curtains. Finally, this location is great for day trips exploring Plymouth and Boston. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$62
Nice place for a family vacation. The beach at the pond is nice but go early on weekends or you will not get a spot. Our site was near the office and very quite. My husband and I felt like we were the only people up past 10pm but this for me is far better than loud campers keeping my kids up all night. The only complaint I have is the price. It was pretty expensive to spend a week in a full hook-up site and then there were fees for the kids activites. The park was nice but definitely not worth the overblown price considering there wasn't much to do other than swim in the pond. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$64
Some sites are great and some are awkward back-ins. If you need an easy to get into site, be sure to ask then you make your reservation. The lake was lovely, but we prefer a pool. There is a charge for hot showers which seemed wrong at over $60 per night. WiFi was free for one hour per stay, but it was available for a daily or weekly fee. Location was great for Boston, Cape Code daytrips and a day in Plymouth. Would suggest it to other people with the caveats above. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$79
We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at Pinewood Lodge. We used it as a base for visiting Plymouth, Boston, and Cape Cod. Our site was wooded, very easy to get into, and private. The bathrooms were very clean and the showers were wonderful. The lake is beautiful and a few in our party rented a small boat and fished for an evening. We did not take advantage of the snack bar or lounge. The store has very few grocery items. Our nightly rate reflects the addition of 2 extra adults. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$48
This was a very nice, clean campground. The lake was very clean and the surroundings were nice. The site was somewhat small, but private. Nice stone firepit. Arcade and store was very nice, Nice deck looking out to the lake from store. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$45
This place is very nice. LARGE spaces, very wooded, tall trees, no satellite TV, but they do have cable. My site had 30A service only, perhaps there are other sites with 50A. No WiFi was a minus, but the layout of the park would make network infrastructure difficult. The campground is off the beaten path, and you drive thru a residential area, past a cranberry bog/farm and winery to get back here. In the rain, at night, with tons of pine needles on the road, made it difficult to find the park office but managed. The staff are extremely friendly, the camp ground is located on a large lake, but there is not much happening on the lake in the middle of October, except for the great fall colors. I would have scored a 10 if we had WiFi and 50A. One major drawback is NO PETS... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$43
We camped here with 2 other couples over Labor Day weekend. The campground itself is impeccably clean. It is very nicely wooded with large sites. We were in the area called "deer park" and I would select this again as it is more private than some of the other parts of the park. It is a fair distance from there to the lodge/lake/store, however. The lake is really more of a pond, and as such the water looked a bit murky. There is a nice sand bottom up until you get to a depth of about 4', and then the bottom turns very weedy. There were many activities planned during the weekend (horseshoe tournament, toe nail painting, crafts, bingo etc) but the only one we went to was the DJ dance on Saturday night. I really wish that campgrounds could have a dance night and/or time for adults and one for kids. This dance was nearly all young teens and the music was pretty much all from "High School Musical". The DJ did throw in one slow Elvis song, and the adults took over the dance floor! The store was very well stocked and the prices were reasonable. One caveat is that they just don't get enough Sunday papers! We were in the store about an hour after it opened and they were all gone! T his campground is very conveniently located less than 10 minutes from the Mayflower II and Plymouth Rock. The area outside the campground is chocker block full of every store you might possibly need. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
We had a great time here. The park is wooded, sites have plenty of room and are laid out well. Our site was a full hookup site with sewer, all connections were placed well for our trailer. When we backed in, the trailer was level with no adjustments required. Nice stone fire ring that was clean and raked out. There are some pull through sites that are setup for easy access. The employees were very nice and answered all questions. The lake is great, and it is worth renting a kayak or canoe to explore it. Bathrooms were clean! Showers were set up well with individual changing areas and glass doors. But... they were pay showers (a negative for me at better campgrounds), but the timer was long, almost 10 minutes per pay. Camp store is not real big, but well stocked. Close to attractions (Mayflower II, Plymouth Village, etc). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$37
Campground is very nice. It has clean facilities. We hope to return before the summer is over. We have actually been camping here in a tent off and on for the last 13 years. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Pinewood Lodge is a rustic campground, close to all of the Plymouth attractions (The Rock, The Plantation, The Harbor, Restaurants, etc.) The registration lodge is located on the other side of the park from the entrance. The road is punctuated with speed bumps. After registering, you have a rather tight turn around to go back down the road to get to your camp site. Families will love it here because there is much to do for all. Swimming in the lake, fishing off special piers, canoeing, boating, and kayaking, are all waiting for you. There were children of all ages riding their bikes on the forested roads throughout the park. Most of the staff seemed pleasant and more than willing to help out and answer questions. On the down side... There were numerous seasonal sites, a few were well kept, but many were in need of someone telling the residents to get their act together and pick up trash, old decking, and other assorted pieces of junk just left lying around. In general, the park looked like it could use a good cleaning. There were far too many cigarette butts, bottle caps and pull tabs lying around. Although we were not bothered by mosquitoes, it did seem like they could be a problem if there happened to be a prolonged wet period. There are only two dump stations that we could see. Both of them are difficult to get to. One was back up the entrance road at the registration lodge, and the other was across from a playground up a small side road. We'd probably camp here again if we couldn't find something else in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$48
This is a big beautiful family campground. Staff was friendly. Campground was very clean. Two nice playgrounds a little old but in good shape and clean probably should be updated soon. Nice beach area, one of the playgrounds is right at the beach which is nice. It was their halloween weekend while we were there and the park was packed with tons of familys. If you go during this weekend bring extra candy for trick or treaters. We ran out! We camped in the safari area with a nice open area in the middle with two small pavilions and wash sinks for anyone to use. Lots of area for the kids to play! We liked this campground and will probably go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$38
This is a very nice, family oriented campground located off Rt. 44 3 miles west of Plymouth Harbor. There is no swimming pool, but they have a lake and sandy beach which is nice. There is a good mix of sites available, from tent only to sites large enough for big Class A motorhomes. Our full hookup site was huge, and more than accommodated our 30 ft. fifth wheel. The two nights we were there we saw older, retired couples in large rigs, semi-retired grandpa's and grandma's like us, families with small kids and babies, and everything in between. The campfire rings were natural stone, not tire rims, with a large headstone. The staff at the office were friendly and courteous. They have theme weekends throughout the summer. It was western weekend when we were there. The campground is well off US Rt. 44, so there was no road/traffic noise. It is located nicely for visits to Plymouth Plantation or Cape Cod. The only drawback for pet owners is that no pets are allowed. We don't have one so it was not an issue for us. We would go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
We found this campground by accident through the visitor center in downtown Plymouth. The center had a direct line to this campground and reservations were extremely easy. Only 4 miles from historic downtown, easy access to the Mayflower and Plymouth Plantation. The entrance is gated and the sites are beautiful, heavily wooded, fantastic clubhouse with nicely stocked store. Planned activities for the kids, cabin rentals, manicured beach and playground. Each campsite has a custom made fire pit that are a work of art in itself. The staff were friendly and helpful and they even offer on-site RV service. This campground reminded me of a 50's style resort that you read about in history books. The only downfall for some campers will be that they do not allow dogs in the campground. We didn't realize this until we were set up, but since we were only there for the night, we kept junior in the rig until we left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$63
Must drive through a residential area to enter the campgrounds. Site had a sewer gas smell. Campground didn't know what to do, even though we had approved sewer connections. Never had that problem before. Charged us over $60 a night even though we camped after the July 4th weekend. Didn't find out about the outrageous cost until we received the bill. They refused to adjust the cost. Charged us $10 for a 10 piece bundle of wood. We've stayed in State Parks that are much nicer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com