218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Mountain Shadow RV Park and Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (250) 234-3333
CGID5604

Mountain Shadow RV Park and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   10   4   7   10   8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
Beautiful location, nice folks, extremely well maintained. Privacy suffers with only well manicured grass between sites. View rates a 10! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
Very nice park. Pull through sites don't take advantage of the view, but very long and easy to maneuver. Road down is a bit steep but easily doable. Wi-Fi is consistent. No sewer connections at site, have to use a dump station on the way out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Stayed here in late September for one night, when most parks in BC are closed for the season. Hosts were incredibly nice, waiting for my late evening arrival and providing a nice welcome after a long days drive from the Yukon. There was only one other motorhome in the park that night so no issue with crowds, noise, waiting for the bathroom, etc. It was below freezing so the water was turned off but the 30 amp worked just fine. Internet was slow, but that's to be expected in an area this remote. Since I had no running water at my site I used their restroom and shower. Restroom was big and spotless. Shower was coin-op, Canadian loonies ($1 coins). Worked just fine. Park is on a gentle slope with a lake and mountain view. Sites are terraced into the hillside and plenty level. Beautiful place overall although I was spoiled by the fact that it was very uncrowded. Overall, a very pleasant experience at a park run by super nice people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This campground offers serenity after a day's drive. The views are magnificent and the hospitality very obliging. The grounds are immaculate and attention paid to every detail. Would stop here again next trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
All previous comments about the campground are correct, it is lovely! But the infrastructure is poor at best. Wi-Fi was slow and a poor connection even less than 5 feet from the park antenna. The 30 amp power read between 101 and 108 volts. We have a 30 amp RV and still tripped the circuit breaker twice, even though we were running our refrigerator and water heater on propane. Customer service was also lackluster. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
There is a long downhill drive to get to the park. There was a sign at the top of the hill saying they had openings. After the drive down it would be a disappointment if they did not have room. There is only one bathroom for the whole park, but it was clean. The water pressure is very low. The dump station is actually on a slope. I am not sure how you are supposed to get your tanks empty because of the slope. The owner was very friendly and lived on site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Had to think about the rating for awhile. Considering the remoteness of the area, this park is definitely a "10". Sure, didn't have TV - but the views were all the entertainment you need. The sites were long and level. The grass was lush and green with plenty of space for all slides and toads. Thirty amps and water with a dump station easy to use. Have to agree with the previous review. We found this to be a gem of a campground. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Beautiful mountain views surround this clean, neat park. Smooth gravel roads lead to spacious pull-through sites separated by strips of lush grass. Electrical and water connections were convenient, though water pressure was rather low. There was no sewer hookup. Available WiFi is strong, but the underlying Internet connection is not useful for larger downloads like photos, skype, etc. Bathrooms are large, clean and convenient, but showers cost extra, and one wonders if there might sometimes be lines with only one bathroom per gender. The fresh feeling in this park, and the short hike to the lake, make it a place to which we'd like to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Depends upon your tastes. This place is exquisite, from our point of view. LEVEL gravel sites - pull-throughs are long enough for tandem tractor-trailers. Water is good, 30A is stable, WiFi is via satellite, so don't abuse it with video/music/movies/pictures (ISP "Fair-Use" policies). Plenty of grass - and space between sites, washrooms clean and neat. Mountain views are perfect for a gin-tonic in the evening - as is a ten minute walk to the lake shore, where one can contemplate, from a nice bench, why one shouldn't live in the lower 48. No, there are no playgrounds for the kids, no entertainment events, no "activities," no "trinket" stores, no big-box grocery-runs, and no bothersome noise (road, people, trains, boats, airplanes, or otherwise). Just peace and quiet, and opportunity to remember what's important... This is absolutely the best place we've stayed in two and a half months on the road (from Florida to Alaska - and now on the way back). If you could "bottle it," you'd make a fortune in a week. Cash gets roughly 10% discount - no Good Sams/AAA, but who cares? It's outstanding! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This is a beautiful park, like an oasis in the middle of nowhere. The grass is meticulously maintained. The owners are friendly and the sites are spacious. We were able to get satellite, but limited Wi-Fi. The water pressure was poor and the dump station was on a slant making our fresh water run out while we used it. The electric dropped in the morning and we had to turn on our generator. That said, I think they do the best with what is available. We would recommend staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
This is a beautiful RV Park that is surrounded by mountains. Since it is late into the season the internet was great, I'm sure during the peak season it could be slow. The rest room/showers are some distance from the camp sites. The sites are long (pull through) and can handle the larger rigs. There are no trees to block views or get in the way of slides and/or awnings. If they would put dumps and some type of TV channels at each site, this location would be at or near 10. I would recommend this location and would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
Clean and well maintained campground. Long, level, gravel pull-through sites with water and electric (back-in sites same). Good dump station on road out of campground. Sites are terraced with lots of grass between sites and around the campground. Overlooks large lake with walking trails. Owners very nice. Long drive down gravel road (good road) to campground. Would recommend and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
I agree with the earlier posts. Take the trail to the lake to get nice view and reflection of the mountain. If you are in a motorhome using a pull through, go in opposite the normal route and pull the power underneath to have a view of the mountains from your windshield. The showers and restrooms are a long walk from the back in spaces, but are close to the tenting spaces. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
Excellent RV park. Beautiful view of the lake and mountains. Very friendly owners. Nice long level sits with grass in between. Good Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
One of the prettiest CG's I've ever stayed in. The campground is well kept with a beautiful view at every site. Owners were very helpful. Full hookups except sewer which is not uncommon in BC. Mosquitoes will eat you alive. The area is in a lowland which is home for the little critters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Very quiet, immaculately clean park in a beautiful valley surrounded by mountains. If approaching from the north, it is a very tight turn to enter the park road -- need to move over to the left as far as possible before starting the turn. Electrical voltage drops at night which necessitated having to run our refrigerator on LP. Wi-Fi was slow during peak times, but was great late evening and early morning. Office person was very friendly. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This nicely designed park is meticulously maintained and provides quiet beauty and peacefulness. Utilities were good though the W-Fi was rather slow. Slow Wi-Fi and lack of TV would be petty quibbles considering the remoteness of the park. Shower/restroom facilities were clean, but limited to one per gender. The access road to the park and to the pull-through sites is fairly steep, but the sites themselves are level gravel. The price reflects a discount for cash. We would be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
We were so impressed with the scrupulous cleanliness of this park we stayed longer than planned. The owner-hosts were kind and welcoming, the views were really beautiful, wildlife abounds and it's quiet. There are smaller sites nestled in trees and sites large enough for big units. This is a place to unwind and relax. Showers were fine but new ones are being built. The only shortcomings we experienced were low water pressure and very slow WiFi. For the remote location, that's to be expected. Fuel and groceries were available nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Rate is daily rate for a full hookup 30 amp pull-through site. Long downward sloping entrance road, but park posts available type of site on a sign at the entrance for the highway, a very considerate touch. Located in a beautiful valley setting that still allows for satellite connection. Long pull-through sites and roads are gravel. A good stop on the Cassiar Highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
What a gem in the middle of nowhere. This campground is meticulously maintained. The grass is like at a golf course. It is down a steep 1/3 mile driveway so there is no road noise. Spectacular views of the mountain, and there is a small lake at the end of the park. The Wi-Fi didn't work at our site as we where at the bottom of the park. It did work up close to the tower on the barn. We would give this park a 10 if the Wi-Fi was better and they had sewer hook ups. They do have a dump station with a sign "do not Flush your tanks". There is a smaller area up in the trees for tents and small RVs. There is a lot of shade in this area. There where about 10 sites there. They offer no discounts and do take credit cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
Clean, spacious, peaceful and in a stunning setting. Located down the hill off the Cassiar, they have a billboard out on the highway listing availability so you don't have to go down the hill to find out if they have space. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
This park is in great condition and the location is beautiful with views of mountains and year round snow. There is a 1/3 mile driveway down to the office and the sites are down from there not to far from a lake. The roads and pads are very well graveled and the sites are level with well kept grass in between them. There is good free Wi-Fi but downloading and uploading are only available from 9 pm until 4 am. There are no sewers but they have a dump station. It is very easy to get into and out of the long sites and with our 33 foot 5th wheel and truck there was still lots of room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
This is a great little park. Very well maintained and plenty big enough for our 45' coach. A very pleasant surprise out in the middle of no where. They had good Wi-Fi, a good sanitation dump. Elbow room was fair, but good enough. One of the best campgrounds in northern BC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
The park is obviously well maintained and very nicely laid out. We only stopped for one night but wished we could have stayed longer after seeing the campground. I was a little concerned what we were getting into when we first turned off the highway because the turn coming from the north is fairly tight and downhill. There was wi-fi available at the site but because the sites are built into a gentle slope the signal was blocked by other coaches further up the hill. I was able to receive a signal when sitting in our tow car. If wi-fi reception is important to you, be sure to check the location of the antenna before getting completely set up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
If you like quiet, you'll like this park. Located about half a mile off the highway this park looks new because it enjoys a regular and ongoing program of maintenance. The access road is well maintained and wide. The spaces do not have trees but are long, level, and well spaced. The setting is beautiful with mountains to the west, a small lake, and surrounding forest. Thanks to the owners of this park for sharing the area with us, we would gladly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This is an extremely clean, well kept park-another one of those campgrounds that shows the owner takes pride in. The owners were friendly and presented us with tasty blueberry muffins when we checked in. The entrance road is gravel and a little steep but in excellent shape. The interior roads are gravel and in very good condition with level gravel sites. There is adequate grassy space between sites but no trees or landscaping. Our back-in site was easy to maneuver into and long enough to park our truck. The view of the mountains is gorgeous and there is a nice walk to a beautiful lake. We had wifi on site, although a little slow, and the water pressure was low. We camped here in a fifth wheel and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This park has gravel pull-through sites that are level and fairly roomy. There are no trees of any size in the park, but there is a stream that runs behind the back-in sites. There is also a lake that is an easy walk from the park. The park is one-third mile off the highway, so there is no noise. The Wi-fi was somewhat unreliable. There is no TV. The park is very neat and clean. Did not use the bathrooms or showers. This park is an excellent choice for absolute peace and quiet. If you go, look for the fox dens about one-half mile south of the park entrance on the east - right on the road - we saw a vixen and two kits several times during our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This is a nice clean RV campground with level and clean sites. It appears to be fairly new. The sites are level with easy access both back-in and pull through. There was a nice hiking trail to a near by lake. There are no shade trees but some have been planted. The owners were helpful and friendly. The water pressure was really low making it difficult to take a shower in our 5th wheel. We stayed here one night, and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
Park is very clean and well organized. I had no problems moving around my 38' 5th wheel. The access road is about 3/4 mile long, but it is very well maintained. Please take time to walk down the lake trail, it is about a half mile long. At the end of the trail you find yourself surrounded by the lake and mountains. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
Great spot to stop when taking the Casiar hwy. some ways off the road in a beautiful valley. The sites are very well cared for, with even grass dividing the sites themselves. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
I agree with the prior post, and would only add that the foliage presents an incredible sight in the Fall. Would rate the park higher if there were TV, 50 amp service, and sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
There are no sites with sewer, but a dump is available. No TV, even on antenna. WiFi works well throughout the park. The park is off the highway and very quiet and has a nice view of mountains and a river. The sites are wide and long, no problems getting in or out in a big rig. Low water pressure. Caravans stop at this park, so check ahead or be prepared to move on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com