206677 User submitted reviews online!!
George P Cossar State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (662) 623-7356
CGID5608

George P Cossar State Park

Camp Information
Sites
About 30
Date of Stay
March 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   1   10   10   6   9   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
We absolutely loved this park. My oldest enjoyed fishing with his Dad while my younger son had a wonderful time playing with the other children at the playground. There are deer that can be seen late afternoon walking around in the field behind the campsites. The only downside was that the lake was low and there were not any sites that were very close to the water. Even with this, we will still be going back. The park even held a wonderful Easter egg hunt on the Saturday prior to Easter Sunday. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
There are 2 campgrounds in the park-Yocona Ridge has 35 reservable sites (Reserve America) and Jones Creek has 48 1st come 1st served sites. *There are 13 cabins near Yocono Ridge, so only 83 total campsites. The road going into the Jones Creek is gravel and bad. The pool is not in operation. The place is beautiful but showing it's age and lack of help. The road in to Yocono Ridge is OK but narrow and larger rigs will find a bit of difficulty, but sites can accommodate 40 footers. Note that SENIORS get a $20 site for $14, but you must ask for it or reserve properly. Verizon cell service works well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
I am a regular at this park and it seems budget cuts are starting to take a toll. Installed grills and picnic tables looking rough. The park itself is great though. Yocona ridge has lots of sites on the water, very peaceful and shaded. Mississippi should just raise the user fees and take care of infrastructure, and you will have a premier park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
WE DID NOT STAY AT THIS PARK. Made the reservation with Reserve America. Arrived at campground only to find out a truck was parked at my site. After getting it moved, pulled into site only to find out electric box was too far for hookup with my camper. Water connection had no handle to turn it on. Pulled out of site trying to locate a campground host or someone else while pulling my camper. Too many tight turns and other campers in area. Left campground without talking to anyone. Arrived at approximately 2:30PM CDT, no one was even at the front gate. Contacted Reserve America via email, awaiting reply. Will definitely NEVER VISIT HERE AGAIN. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$16
We camped in the Yacona Ridge area, mostly waterfront and very nice! Just the right amount of vegetation to make it secluded but still possible to pull my trailer through. It has a pool, restaurant, a beautiful view and access to the interstate. Great spot! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
This is a good park to camp. Had friendly staff, and the ranger patrols regularly. Had lots of space, level parking, electric and water was close. While it's an older par, the rest rooms and showers were clean. Will camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
The park has two campgrounds. We stay in the Jones Creek Campground. The bathhouse was old and in need of repair and cleaning. Our site had only a 30 amp service with low voltage (98 to 106 volts the entire weekend. Lots of kids for our grand kids to play with. several campers had unruly pets that keep the rest us up at night. Would probably stay at one of the near by Army Core of Engineers Campgrounds if in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$15
Nice state park, not many choices around, pool was out of order when we stayed here. Bath house needs renovation but was clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$14
Stayed here one night in a 36' motorhome. There are two campgrounds. First was full, so we stayed in the second. There was a total of about 5 families in this large state park campground. Very quiet, very shaded. Just what we like! The main downside was the lack of cleanliness in the bathrooms. Very old and showing it! We would not take a shower here. Limbs all over the sidewalk, and parking pads. What a shame, an otherwise nice park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
There is a lot to do at this state park. They offer a good disk golf course, putt-putt golf, nice swimming pool, and great playground. Our favorite thing about this area is the evening and morning deer visits. The area deer population wander through the Yocona Ridge campground every evening around 4:00 p.m. They have two campgrounds, Yocona Ridge and Jones Creek. Jones Creek is the overflow area and not nearly as nice as Yocona Ridge. We camp here a lot, but visitors should expect dirty bathroom facilities, and not so friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com