217766 User submitted reviews online!!
Castle Lakes Campground Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (970) 944-2622
CGID561

Castle Lakes Campground Resort

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   7   9   9   8   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
(Note: The owner of this park had a serious accident just prior to our arrival. This review assumes that the facilities would be much the same or better if he was present. The cooperation of neighbors and seasonal campers suggest that the owners are good people.) The location is beautiful, mountains all around. Utilities worked fine, wifi is limited to in or near the office. Although a fishing and "off road" park it was peaceful (aside from one camper who cared less about who was bothered). A previous reviewer noted a dirt road access (CR 30). It is about the best dirt road you will ever drive in the mountains and do not be concerned. five miles past the campground is 4-wheel country. There is a lot of wildlife in the area so use caution. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
This is a great RV park. Plenty of space between sites, friendly atmosphere and right next to a lake. Wish it was closer to where we live. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
Beautiful setting with most sites in the trees as well as a few sites in an open parking lot area where you can use a satellite dish. It is a wide and level gravel road for 4 miles to reach the campground. Very clean laundry with 4 washers and 4 dryers. The owners are very friendly, we rented a jeep to drive the gorgeous Alpine Loop. We also caught 3 delicious trout in the lake which cost us $7 to fish. Would definitely stay here again and stay longer. Cell phones do not work here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
The park is located on the Alpine loop, dirt road for 4 miles to park on winding mountain road past lake San Cristobol. Very narrow drive around park to site, very difficult with larger camper. Sites difficult to get into and close together. No cell signal for any phone service, only spot is 4 miles back down dirt road to paved road. Wi-Fi great, only available at lodge, but works great. Lake city is a very small town, and only has a general type store, very expensive, and very limited. Closest store 45 minutes away. That was all the negatives, the positives: views were amazing, well worth all the negative. Easy access to alpine 4x4 loop. Fishing in private ponds were great, we fished pretty much everyday. and came home with tons of trout. Lake San Cristobol is beautiful! The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The teenage girls who were very upset and crying the first day we were there because of the no cell service and the remoteness, are already wanting to return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
As before, this is a great campground for seeing the San Juan Mountains (Alpine Loop) by 4x4, ATV or motorcycle. The Owners are great- they have genuine concern for your satisfaction. We were able to get satellite (thru the trees) from our site but that is probably not possible at all sites due to the trees/mountains. Those in the group that fished on the private lakes caught their limit (4 fish/person/day). Laundry was clean and usually busy. Showers/restrooms were clean. There are fire rings at each site which for us, could be limited due to the smoke. The Wi-Fi works in and around the lodge but can be slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
We have been going to Castle Lakes for the past 16 years and we love every minute of it. The owners have been wonderful to us every year. We started out in our own tent, went to one of their trailers on site and now have moved up to our own 5th wheel. We have not had any problems with any aspect of the campground. The view is outstanding! And the ease to take your Ranger, 4x4, or Jeep on road trips up the mountain is real nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
This is the place to stay if you are riding motorcycles/ATVs/4x4s on the Alpine Loop. You can ride right out of the camp onto the loop- no need to trailer to a drop off point. The campground does have rules as previously posted- 5mph max speed in the park. Exceed the 5mph and expect the staff to let you know about it. Interior roads are dirt, 5mph speed limit helps keep the dust down and children safe. There are 2 stocked private lakes on site ($6./person/day to fish with a 4 fish limit, no state license required). We hade 4 folks in the group fish with ~ 50% catch rate on 12 to 14” rainbows and browns. Sites are spaced nicely apart with great shade. We were able to get 34ft rig into our site with slide on both sides and awning out. Picnic table and fire rings at each site. Restrooms were clean. Laundry was clean and all machines working. There is one local (Denver) channel. We were able to get Dish reception through the trees. WiFi available at the lodge. Looked at other campgrounds in the area, this one has the most shade and greatest distance between sites. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$37
This is a wonderful campground. Excellent owners, unbeatable view, and lake fishing. It is a bit remote, but that is our preference. Jeep trails in the mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$23
Nice park. We would stay again. A little dusty, but with the lack of rain, it was to be expected. Owner came down after hours and helped with lack of water problem. My fault! Sites had plenty of distance between them so you didn't get the "parking lot" feel but close enough to visit with your neighbors. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
One of the most beautiful settings for an RV campground that I've experienced in 14 years of camping. Extremely quiet and peaceful. Owners are very accommodating and friendly. Trout fishing in private lake is excellent. Many sites are occupied by repeat visitors that spend 1-2 months each summer. Weekly potluck dinner at small pavillion for all campers. Very nice rigs and friendly campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2004
$35
Campground located about 10 miles from the heart of Lake City. This is a great campground if you intend to ride four-wheelers on the Alpine Loop. If not, I would not suggest staying here. Campground hosts are just not 'people' oriented. We were screamed at LOTS for pulling into the RV park too quickly (5mph is too fast for them). We have also seen them yell at kids on their bicycles for going too fast (?). This is their home and business but it always feels like you are invading 'their space' when staying there. Just not a homey feeling and I do not recommend. I have stayed there twice. Once in 2001 when it was the only site available for part of our trip and onve with my in-laws in 2004. Both experiences were the same - less than stellar. Be careful with their Jeep rentals. they do not put 'off road' tires on them - street tires do not do the job on the Alpine Loop - too slippery. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
1998
$15
Nestled in the mountains above lake San Cristobal on the road to Cinnamon Pass. Quiet privately owned park with beautiful tree shaded sites with full hook-ups at about 9000 ft. elevation. Large lodge with some dining in season, jeep rentals, horse back riding, lots of family activities including trout fishing in their private lake for a fee but no license required. Only drawback is 4 miles of good gravel road to campground. We camped here in a 1998` .
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com