218863 User submitted reviews online!!
Poverty Point Reservoir State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (318) 878-7536
CGID5625

Poverty Point Reservoir State Park

Camp Information
Sites
54
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   7   7   9   8   8   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$18
We were planning on boondocking near here for the night and decided to check in to this park, got a discount rate (half off) with my hubby's MD State Disability Golden Access Pass so we only paid $17.50 for the night! The lady at the front desk was soooooo friendly. Even my teenage sons liked this park, the walking trails and nature all around. All sites are paved and level, and we were able to access over the air TV channels with our regular antennae. Bath house was clean and beautiful. I would stay here again if in the area. Less than an hour drive to West Monroe if going to Duck Commander!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$14
Rate is based on Senior Pass Discount for LA resident. This is a nice enough state park. There are some historic mounds located on the park itself. The laundry room was clean. Power is steady and water pressure was high. Sunday–Thursday…this park is a 10. It is very quiet, through it stays fairly busy. There is a lot of traffic though the camping loop which includes outside visitors for the splash park. Most people including the staff ignore the 15 mph. On Fridays, the park becomes a 1. Any sign of rules is out the door. First time in a state camp ground we've seen 2 wheeled camping units allowed in one site. Golf carts, though against park rules, are brought in and freely used by anyone with a handicapped placard available to them regardless as to whether they are mobility impaired. Pet leashes were ignored. We saw children in one camp urinating on the lawn with an adult standing there in approval. The one positive thing we can say about the weekends was that quiet hours did tend to be observed. We might visit here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
The rate is for a 50 amp electric and water pull-through site, which is considered premium and is $6 more. There is a $6 reservation fee even though we did not have a reservation and were just walk-ups. So, the stated rate of $22 per night is not bad but once you do the add-ons, it is very expensive for a simple overnight on the way to a destination. The lady checking us in was perhaps the most unhelpful and unfriendly campground worker we have come across in a long time. We tried asking her about the sites available and she was either unable or unwilling to provide any information. The campground is nicely laid out with some very long sites. There is little vegetation for privacy. Only a few sites have shade. Once we got to the campground, we changed sites to get one with shade. There is noise from the highway that goes by in front of the park, not the Interstate which is about 3 miles away. It is not bad at night. There are no big security lights which makes the campground nice and dark at night, which we like. There is WiFi but it was very slow and you are restricted from going to many sites, so we were unable to use it. Our Verizon phone and data plan worked well. The very interesting Poverty Point State Archaeology Site is only about 14 miles away and is definitely worth a visit. Because of the cost, we would likely pass on this campground as a simple overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$26
This is a nicely laid out campground with nice spacing between sites; concrete pads. The 50 amp electric power and water pressure were right on target. Nice walking trails, not a lot of tree cover yet in the FHU site areas. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$26
This is a lovely park in a beautiful setting. It has wonderful walking trails, very nice large sites. It is very well designed. It was not very crowded while we were there, but enjoyed the area and the solitude. We did enjoy the surrounding area. If we are in the area again we would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$24
This is a beautiful park that is an easy drive from I-20. The staff is great and shopping is not far away. They have WiFi but we did not use it. Our Verizon phone and data worked great. The sites are large and it was easy to get around with our 37' RV. I rated it an eight because there is quite a bit of road noise because the park is very close to a busy state highway. It did quiet down at night, though. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$26
A nice surprise. The pull through sites are long, wide, and paved. We did hear some traffic on the nearby road and the train in town could also be heard. The park offered several nice hiking trails and a large lake. The Wi-Fi had a strong signal. It had restrictions on streaming downloads (read Netflex, etc) that also restricted other sites we normally use. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
A nice State Park, clean, friendly people and very helpful. The park is 10 plus years old, but it seemed newer. Lot of hiking trails, nice lake. In sites 38-42 are BIG pull thru, sites 43-54 are shade sites I was in a 38footer if I knew these where there I would have park there. Nice camp ground I would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Very nice and quiet park, not far at all off I-20. Ask for a shady site, as not all have shade. Plenty of room to run our dogs. Nice water fountain play area for children. Well kept bathrooms. No problem backing into our site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
A very nice park. Excellent bath/showers. Nice level spots and very quiet surroundings. Strongest Wi-fi since I left California. You will like this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
We absolutely love this campground. We have family in neighboring areas and this is a great place to meet. We have a family reunion twice a year here and all of the kids that come love the water playground. Sites are nice and easy to get into. This is a newer park so most sites do not have mature trees as of yet but they have been planted. The sites in the back of the campground do have lots of shade, but those sites do not have sewage connections. The staff is very friendly and is always working to make your stay the best it can be. The showers and restrooms, along with the washer and dryers on site, are always nicely kept. Oh Yeah: the fishing in the lake is also very good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
We camped in full hook up with sewer, there are other sites available for less cost. Level sites, easy to enter, nice water pressure, lots of space between sites with greenery and landscaping. New campground and shower/bathroom/laundry facility - very nicely kept. Splash playground for kids. Hiking/Biking trail, cabins on the lake and in woods. Fishing lake - very pretty. Will come back in warmer time of year to enjoy cabin on lake with friends! Fish off the balcony. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
We discovered this park 2 years ago on our trip West. We opted to stop again this year. This is a fairly new State Park. The facilities are in great shape, it is kept clean and in good repair. There are paved pull-throughs on Loop 2 that will accommodate the biggest rigs. The only negative is that the hookups are located at the beginning of the pull-through rather than in the middle requiring electric extensions or detachment of toad. The large lake has the gamut of water related sports, there are cabins for rent for RVers looking for a place to hold a family get-together. Staff at check-in were helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
This is a very nice campground. Like people have said in the past, it is missing mature shade trees. There was a lot to see and do here. Nice level back-in sites that had good space. Just missed the shade and some privacy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$13
We stayed here 2 weeks, the rate is with our Golden Age discount. Beautiful park, well maintained landscape, generally kept very clean. Wifi is very good, didn't watch TV, but others said signal is ok, electric worked great, no spikes or fails, water pressure is high. Sites are spaced well, plenty of room between neighbors. If you get full hook up sight, these are on the "inner" loop of the campground...orientation is not good and most sites get full sun throughout the day. Back loop sites are huge, but same issue with full sun. Back row do not have sewer, but have good shade in most spots. Swimming area is a few miles down the road with little store. Staff is present and friendly, ranger is very responsive. They had 2 camphosts, but we never saw them doing anything "camphosty" and they are not particularly friendly. Over Memorial Day, there was a noisy camper at 3AM, it was handled quickly and decisively by the enforcement staff, ie,:camper left...other than that, it was the quietest state park I've ever been in, even when full. Trash cans are plentiful and emptied regularly. The trails are not extensive, but nice to walk. Roads are easy to walk and bike. Lots of rabbits and birds here. We will absolutely visit here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$21
Wonderful park as described by others. Nice laundry facility and the free Wi-Fi is a nice feature. You can tell that it can be buggy and hot here. The campground is some distance south of the lake, so no lake views from the sites. There are four huge pull-through sites, the others are back-ins and there is very generous spacing between the sites. Electric and water hook-ups are poorly placed in some sites. I am giving the park a less than stellar rating because the posted rate was $18.00 for my site. As a walk-in, without a reservation, they charged me the $6.00 Reserve America Fee despite not having a reservation. I have volunteered in several parks that use Reserve America and have never imposed a national reservation fee on a walk-up camper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
Great park. The water playground in the campground is great and the comfort station is very clean. There is very little shade. My complaint is that the State of Louisiana never finished the nature center. There is a beautiful, two year old visitor’s center building sitting there with no exhibits and cobwebs hanging on the doors. Also, I did not see any bears. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
We have camped at PPRSP twice in the past 12 months. This is a very nice state park. Only problem is very little shade. Most trees at the sites are slow growing oaks and have a long way to go to provide shade. The shady sites do not have sewer connections. It is a clean well kept park with a very nice lake. The staff is very friendly. We will return to this park but only during the spring or fall months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
Very nice park. The cleanest bathrooms I have ever seen and lots of room. The hiking trails were nice and well-maintained. Very level for my children to ride their bicycles. Water playground a great feature! We look forward to returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
This is a beautiful new park with large pull through sites for big rigs (we booked a premium site). The sites were asphalt and completely level. Each site was separated from the next by a wide grassy area with grill, firepit, and table. The park has many amenities (swimming, boating, fishing), a playground for children. This is a huge clean lake. We stayed here on our way West, but would love to return for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
A surprise anthropological location just up the road that is very interesting! The park has real WiFi problems that the state of LA does not seem to want to fix. Most LA parks have excellent signal and this one does too BUT data transfer is limited to about a minute and then stops. Signal is great but no data. Quitting and restarting will get you another minute of data flow. The local staff are aware but no fix in site. The park has a great play area for children with flowing water and slides. In the brutal summer heat this is a great place to play. FHU sites have no shade to speak of. Shady sites are W&E only. Nice big lake nearby. Deep woods with spooky trails. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$12
This is a nice park with good level sites. LA State Parks honor the Golden Age Passport. Has a nice staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
This is a nice park. It has great Wi-Fi reception. It is very new so there is no shade yet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$8
This is a new park so there is little shade, although the park has planted trees at each location. The bathrooms were brand new, beautiful and very spacious. The lake is in walking distance from the campground. There is a playground for the children and the playgrounds have water spouts. We would stay again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$21
A nice quiet and clean park. It looks new and fresh. It had the longest pull through that I have seen. There is great fishing and golf in the area. We stayed only 1 night, but would stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
This is a beautiful new Louisiana State Park campground located on a large man-made lake. The sites are wide, paved and level with convenient hook-ups. ADA sites are available with addition concrete around the pad, fire ring, BBQ grill and picnic table. The lake provides good boating and fishing opportunities. The campground has a water playground, but no pool. There is a marina with beach access a few miles north of the campground at the north landing site. Security is good and all the facilities are kept clean. Since this is a new campground, there is little shade in the area with the sewer connections. However, there is some shade around the sites without sewer. The pull-through sites are long and wide, but also do not have sewer connections. Wi-Fi is available for no additional charge and worked very well. The only thing lacking is cable TV, but several broadcast channels are available. Reservations for specific sites are easily made through Reserveamerica and were quick and accurate. Check-in was easy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$18
Nearly new and extremely well maintained facilities. For example, my grill and fire ring were actually painted and rust free. Privacy is somewhat lacking but there are lots of newly planted trees so that will improve with time. I thought the w/e sites, not in the main loop, were the nicest if you can do without a sewer hookup. There is a smaller loop, also w/e, with some of the largest pull through sites I've ever seen. WiFi is free and works well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
The previous posts were right, this park is wonderful. If it would have had larger shade trees, I would have rated it a 10. We were looking for an overnight stop between Florida and Arkansas. I had read the posts and decided to take a chance. This is easily the cleanest state park we have stayed in. Bathrooms - wonderful. Playground - wonderful. Sites, most are back ins, but very easy to back in to. Someone with some obvious knowledge of RV's had a hand in designing this campground. One section had available handicap sites that were very large, very wonderful. Unfortunately, we only stayed over night and did not get a chance to check out the reservoir. This is obviously one of Louisiana's best kept secrets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Nice little park adjacent to the Poverty Point Reservoir. Level sites. Many, many trees have been planted and will take years to provide shade but it will be very nice for future generations. Bath facilities are new and very well maintained, probably the nicest we have seen. Very friendly staff. The 'Park Rules' specifically list that loud music will not be tolerated but didn't seem to be enforced. A group staying there apparently had a bluegrass band complete with PA system. It wasn't a big deal as they shut it down before 8pm but it could be heard throughout the entire park. The prior evening, the folks a few sites down had a boombox blaring. Looked down the way, saw that a park ranger was there visiting and sitting by the fire. A nice place but you may not find peace and quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
This park was amazing. It has some of the friendliest personal I have ever met. It is has the cleanest restrooms I have ever seen in a state park. They have the automatic flushing commodes and automatic sinks. Every site has 20, 30, and 50, amp hook ups. The have a marina with everything you may need. They also offer many learning opportunities from a ranger. October 28th they are having a big fall festival and we look forward to attending. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$18
Although Poverty Point Reservoir State Park has been open for some time, the campground just opened on June 1, 2006. A 2,700-acre, man-made lake is the centerpiece for the park. Located about 2 miles north of I-20 (exit 153) on LA 17, the park has very easy access and superior design. The campsites are level, paved, and spaced properly. Although a few sites have some shade, the majority does not. All campsites have water, 50 amp electric, and 37 of the 54 have a sewer connection. Most sites are back-in, but there are a few pull-through. The bathhouse is one of the finest I have seen, and includes coin-operated washers/dryers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com