206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Lansing Cottonwood Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (517) 393-3200
CGID5632

Lansing Cottonwood Campground

Camp Information
Sites
145
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   4   5   3   7   3   6   5   3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Interior roads are very dusty. The pull-through sites are not level and are weeds and dirt. The main breaker in the pull-through area needs to be replaced. It popped numerous times in the 3 days were were there and it was very hot and humid. The maintenance people are aware they have a problem. The office staff and maintenance people were very helpful and nice. Good place to stop for a short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
This is an old park in a good location. From here you can quickly visit the Capitol and MSU. Lots of trees so you will not be able to use your satellite dish. We had rain and our site flooded. If you are a big rig be sure to have a reservation as there are not many sites into which you can fit. Location and 50 amp service are the highlights of this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
We stayed here for Labor Day weekend and the internet was down for the weekend we were there. I guess they ordered a part two weeks ago. The pinball machines weren't working and the campground will not refund your lost money. The roads are all gravel and dusty. It is on a busy road with road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$29
Spaces we were put in not level, too small for 36' motorhome, way too close to neighbors. Not suitable for big rigs, dirt roads very poor, lot of potholes. Without a doubt we'd never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Overall the campground is your basic experience. Our site was a pull through and we were facing the entrance of the campers next to us. All the utilities worked well and we had some shade. The office staff was pleasant and helpful, especially with lending us a 50amp to 30amp conversion wire. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Not very clean park. Sites are not level. Some campsites are facing each other. Our camper faced one from a family that lived here permanently. They did not keep their site clean at all and sent their dog on a long leash outside to go potty (sure that they did not pick up the waste). The whole park seems like the owners don't care a lot. We stayed here this second time because of the location. We will not come back. Plus is the free WiFi and that there are lots of trees and green areas in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
We were lucky to snag a spot here over Memorial Day weekend, as we had been traveling without reservations and a dozen calls had turned up nothing. And I really have no complaints--it has served us well. However, sites are all over the map crazy in terms of levelness (we wished we had a Sportsmobile to back up the berm into our site), tree-dodging (to the sides and overhead), rigs and tents are just crammed into every available space. If you have children, this is a very family friendly place--pool, arcade, softball field, fishing, boats. If you have a dog, you might luck out and have some empty greenery around your site for play/exercise (no dedicated doggie exercise places). Not sure what the place is like during the week, but it's a-hoppin' on a holiday weekend--camp(bon)fires, fireworks, shrieking children, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Unkempt basic park. Fine for a one night stop. Kid in office was just there to take your money. It was quiet at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
Called to confirm availability of 50 amp site, when arrived only site available was a 30 amp. Site pedestal had a faulty ground which was reported to office. Office staff was a youth and very rude, informed us they were over booked and that their electric was overloaded. We took a refund & departed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
I spent two nights here and found the park to be suitable for my needs. Plenty of shade, reasonably quiet and convenient to Lansing. Wi-Fi worked well. Staff was pleasant. Would consider staying here again on my next visit to the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
We are staying here for a week to visit family. The office staff are friendly and the campground itself appears to be maintained. There's a lot of unharnessed potential here, but it needs work. The pull-through sites (the only sites that offer sewer hookups) are very tight and are "buddy" sites. You share patio space with your neighbor. Unless you know the person you're camping with, it's an unwelcome arrangement and one the facility really needs to give consideration too. Apart from the buddy site arrangement, it's very convenient and I'd stay here frequently. Unless you like to be packed in with people you don't know, you may wish to consider another campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
A decent park for an over night stay. It has potential but needs some money put into it to improve the amenities. For example: there are no fire rings just a circle on the dirt where people build ground fires. Very few sewer connections are available in the park. Staff was friendly. I would stay here again, just not an extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This place is a PIT. Big rig friendly my a--. Pull through: a dream in their minds. If you go to this place with anything over 34 feet you will be very disappointed. We were here to visit friends. Next time I will park 100 miles away and drive the toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
Very scenic park, friendly, helpful staff. Wi-Fi coverage was spotty, quite a bit of noise from nearby highway and industry across the street. Other than these two issues, the park was great. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We stayed here on an overnight and thought it perfectly sufficient. Laundry facilities are some of the best anywhere. Sites are gravel but not dusty (at least not when compared to New Mexico, etc.). Huge tree canopy over sites is nice in warmer weather. There are league softball games played on field in back of park so expect to hear associated shouting and ballgame banter till late into evenings. Lots of seasonal residents but overall a very nice overnight stop. We'd happily stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Pulled in to stay for the night, dusty road and NOT big rig friendly. We have a 37' 5th wheel, when I called they said it would not be a problem. well huge rocks at the corners of the dirt road and too many trees, we ended up scarping the back of our trailer, told them they should move the rocks and they just laughed. Needless to say will not recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Level but dusty sites, we had one of the 11 full hook-up pull throughs; most have shade. Many permenant campers; many run down. Easy in and out to local roads or interstates. Good laundry. Weekends get busy. There are two baseball fields in the rear of the campground that had games until 11 pm on weeknights. July 3rd, a few campers keep fireworks going continously from 8 pm until after 12 midnight: after the first hour it got pretty annoying. The pull through sites are close together and the parking arrangement puts your neighbor's door facing your's, with barely room to open both awnings. If camping with friends or family this arrangement is nice. If you like privacy and quiet; it's not so great. If you have a big rig and want to be close to Lansing, this is probably your best bet. The rate reflects weekly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
We just camped here for an overnight, so we did not use the pool or laundry, but the store and office area were very clean and the store had a nice selection of items. WI-FI did not work at our site, nor did it work at the office. There is a nice pond and we rented a row boat for five dollars for a two hour period and caught some large mouth bass. Everything was reserved in the full hook up area, so we chose a site next to the lake with water and electric. I was never able to get completely level, but it was all right for one night. There are quite a few "seasonal" residents and a few unsightly campers right at the entrance. The office staff was pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
The roads are gravel and the site I had was grassy, no pad. The site was my choice in an attempt to get internet service inside the coach but I could not connect to their server. According to the owners, Wi-Fi is generally not available at the sites but it was available in the office area. The staff was friendly. Washer and dryers were excellent and the showers were average. I have stayed there previously and would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Nice place to spend a weekend. Pro's: catch and release fishing pond, paddleboats, two nice baseball fields, quiet, clean bathrooms, close to shopping and restaurants. Con's: most of the full hook up sites are buddy sites that face each other which is not fun unless you are camping with those people. We would return if looking for a central location to meet the friends we were camping with, but probably not if it was just us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
Very nice, recently remolded, It is in the city, so if passing through nice place to stop. The cottonwood trees can be very messy. Small quaint place to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
Had a seminar in the Lansing area and this was the closest campground $25 for W/E $29 for W/E/S. Overall it was fine. I'm not much into RV park type camping and like to be in a roomier site then most private parks provide. They do have some nice sites along their pond, which can be fished and paddleboats are available too. The bathrooms seemed to be clean whenever I used them. Things seemed quiet overall at night, but traffic noise could be heard from nearby road, left AC fan on one night to drown out the noise. Overall I wouldn't hesitate to use this CG again if I'm in the area for an extended time. Not to far from I-96, and would make a fine stopover for most travelers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com