214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Camping on the Battenkill was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (802) 375-6663
CGID5638

Camping on the Battenkill

Camp Information
Sites
111
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   3   8   8   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Great clean, quiet campground right on the Battenkill river. One of our favorites for rest and relaxation that is located in southern VT. Storm Irene nearly wiped it out but they have rebuilt almost completely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Nice clean park. Quiet. Wooded with a river, so bug spray being required should be obvious. Staff was friendly. Easy to maneuver around sites. No pool, or other activities were noted. Playground was an old swing. If bringing children, they may be on the bored side. I would return, but only as a layover while traveling. This is only because my kids would drive me nuts there over a weekend without much for them to do. Without kids, you will find it quiet relaxing and a pretty park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
Really enjoyed our stay here. Quiet,everything works,site a little off level but doable. Great dog run,river is pretty and close to good day trips. Very nice folks, good signage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Site was very small, and it was hard to park because of the trees. If wi-fi or cable were available, we weren't told. Office was closed when I tried to call for information. We were only given 20 amps. Kept tripping it. Bathrooms have curtains instead of doors on stalls. Very embarrassing. Serious dis-repair in showers. Mirrors almost black. A great shame for a place in such a beautiful area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
We enjoyed our stay here. The website was very helpful in choosing a site. The sites are well laid out and roomy. We stayed on site 12b which is a pull-through site with full hook-ups. There are a few very nice W/E sites right on the river. The restrooms were clean, but lacked hand soap. Also, the toilet stalls had a curtain rather than a door for privacy. My son was a little disappointed that their ice cream cooler was empty, and they didn't have any candy, probably due to the season hadn't opened as we were there before Memorial Day Weekend. We would recommend Camping On the Battenkill to anyone looking for a nice peaceful campground. It is everything the website claims and more ! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
A very tranquil setting in the picturesque Green Mountains. Excellent cycling from the campground. Easy access to surrounding areas and two covered bridges within a 5 mile radius. Seasonal campers are weekend warriors with nice clean rigs and sites. Park would receive a 9 but their pricing structure is aggressive with up charges for almost everything on your rig, +3 for AC for example. Strong Verizon signal. Only downside is the weekend tent campers turn the place into a smokehouse with all the camp fires. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
Spent two days here. It was more like a state park setting than a private park. Lots of trees, huge lots, even though there were a lot of families, the kids were very well behaved. It was a great place to base from to see the area which is beautiful. The owners were outstanding. My wife is a quilter and asked about quilting shops and she put her in touch with a lady who lives here in the park for the summer who quilts. Needless to say my wife was happy and when she is happy I am happy. I highly recommend this place. Obtw, fishing is good on the Battenkill. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
This is the prettiest setting we have found, the sites are well spaced apart. The rest rooms are old but fairly well maintained - could use some paint this off season. Nicely located to tour attractions in Southern VT. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
This park is easy to access from old Route 7A leaving Bennington, VT. The sites are nicely separated from each other giving everyone their own little wilderness. It was easy to maneuver our travel trailer around the campground to our site. The campground is clean and well maintained from what I was able to observe. We parked in the field area so our site was a bit close to the other campers but we had not made reservations in advance. Pets are welcomed but of course must be kept on a leash. The owners have even constructed a very nice enclosure so that your dog can run and play while safely confined. Dog waste bags are provided for cleanup. The entire campground was peaceful and quiet. You have access to the Battenkill River beach which is small, but clean and free of debris. The water is clear and on one of my walks I spied a trout fisherman angling in the river. You can tube on the Battenkill, but need to bring your own equipment. Wi-Fi usage is limited as you need to be near the office to use their hot spot. An additional fee is charged for WiFi usage. I did not use the bathrooms or showers; but was told by the other half that the toilets lack privacy: only have a shower curtain to block the outside world. However, this would not stop me from visiting again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed in our 3+ years of camping. Roads and sites are all level and consisted of a hard packed gravel/sand, which made for great bike riding for our kids. Sites are very large and really spaced apart very nicely. The river is beautiful, and the campground was very quiet both day and night. The only issue we had was with the bathrooms - they are quite old and not well maintained; but considering we probably spent all of 15 minutes total in them, not a big deal. We would absolutely go back and highly recommend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
Great place to stay while seeing the Bennington area. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The site we had was large and secluded, as were most of the sites. We spent 2 weeks here while we visited the area and we enjoyed every minute of it. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
Great location on the river and close to shopping at Manchester Center. Level site and area around picnic table and fire pit were nicely raked. My wife complained about no soap in the bathrooms, but they were clean and functional. Well shaded and very quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
We loved our site directly across from the Battenkill River. The campground is heavily wooded and surrounded by mountains. The sites are spacious, well kept and not crowded together. They could easily pack in twice as many campsites, but that would defeat the campground's charm and natural beauty. The bathrooms are in need of some updates like doors on the stalls instead of curtains, but they were still clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful with our other destinations around Vermont. We would definitely come back again someday, and next time we would bring our fishing equipment. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
Beautiful location. Almost all sites are well-spaced and wooded. Owners on premises; very pleasant and helpful. Firewood is delivered to your site. Internet access was hit or miss but we were warned about this. This was our second visit and we plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$31
Very wooded and picturesque. We were next to the play field with elec/water, but no sewer. Had shot for our satellite though. Then moved to a full hookup site in the woods, but couldn't get satellite, but had cable. Place was kept very clean and neat. Beautiful swimming hole on the Battenkill River. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com